Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

eagle eye wrote: »
    It's the best strategy until we know enough about the virus to be able to manage things successfully.

We know its not dangerous to the vast majority. Yet we still force the vast majority to lockdown.

Manslaughter !!
    Would you go away ourra da!!!!

check the latest IFR rates (close to 0.2%), and now with WHO saying 10% of world pop. has had the virus that can be closer to 0.1% .... now whats that common illness with an IFR of 0.1% called again ??? on the tip of my tongue ..... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...

flu ? maybe ?

What makes you think every death has been recorded?
    Your 0.1% figure is using an unrelated numerator and denominator, the number of confirmed deaths/ number of estimated cases. Come back when you have the number of estimated deaths given the low reporting in much of the developing world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

What happens if Nephet are right and there are 42 per day being admitted to hospital by Nov 7th given ICU capacity below.

https://twitter.com/davidcullinane/status/1313236405703913477?s=19

We have the option of private hospitals.

Of course the HSE are totally against it.

At the end of March as the pandemic began to take a hold in Ireland, ICU capacity was increased through a €100 million deal between the State and 20 private hospitals.

The three-month deal was made despite recommendations against it by the HSE, with the State later opting not to trigger a two-month extension period in May as the number of patients in ICUs decreased throughout the month.

100mil is peanuts in the grand scheme of things.

Hurrache wrote: »
    Like you say, they just made recommendations.

Can't see where over stepping their mark comes in, when that is basically what they're there to do.

By publicly releasing their recommendations prior to reviewing with other stakeholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Manslaughter !!
    Would you go away ourra da!!!!

check the latest IFR rates (close to 0.2%), and now with WHO saying 10% of world pop. has had the virus that can be closer to 0.1% ....
    Be careful about reading things that haven't been said.

The WHO said that infections worldwide were likely to be around 10%. They made no comment about the deaths.

While it is very likely that the true IFR is quite low, it is also reasonable to assume that if the true infection numbers are 22 times higher than reported, then the death rate is also considerably higher than officially reported tally.

Perhaps not 22 times higher, but definitely higher.

We may never properly consolidate these figures. The 1918 flu pandemic has estimated fatalities varying from 17 to 100 million. Which goes to show how difficult it is to properly measure these outcomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

What happens if Nephet are right and there are 42 per day being admitted to hospital by Nov 7th given ICU capacity below.

https://twitter.com/davidcullinane/status/1313236405703913477?s=19
    if figures continue rising in in 10 to 14 we go to level 4 same again after for level 5 which bit of the levels dont you understand ?.

Leo's point I thought was valid you goto 5 it doesnt work then what ?

we are already on the cusp of a debt downgrade. Portugal has said it wont go to full lockdown whatever because it cant afford to. I suspect we are in the same position.

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1006/1169771-coronavirus-garda/

So no extra powers for gardaí to enforce staying within the county etc. Yeah, level 4 here we come. "Better enforcement" and "additional powers" that was said yesterday seems to already have been backtracked... g'way with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Great!

And then what ?

And then what? Well Level 3 is working so don't go to Level 5 for starters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Netherlands looks like **** is going to hit fan there soon enough.

https://twitter.com/AuroraBorealice/status/1313364649656700928?s=20

They won't be as vocal with a respirator tube down their throat.

Probably the same odds as winning the lotto looking at the age of people in the photos from the last march. You don't have to come, you can stay under your bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Rx713B

How we fixed today...I miss the beer baron :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,715 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

They started this **** show on Sunday night, sending the country into a panic and leaking info.

It's still not known where the leak came from.

But jaysus, the panic was hyped up by the media ffs. 6 months later and people still think a recommendation by NPHET goes straight into implementation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Probably the same odds as winning the lotto looking at the age of people in the photos from the last march. You don't have to come, you can stay under your bed.

Nothing to do with hiding under a bed, just complete ****wits attend these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1313446211895078913?s=20

Sweet mother of god this is who we are dealing with

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Darwin was on to something

In what way exactly? Explain, this will be interesting. What was he onto?

Blondini wrote: »

Agreed, put them all in one place so we can laugh at their ridiculousness all at once.

Will you be able to see from under your bed??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

He handled it appallingly. Surprisingly there's still a good lot of the public who fail to understand that NPHET don't take anything else outside their remit into consideration when making recommendations. Why is it still open for discussion?

Government then take these recommendations and decide what to do with them. But for Varadkar to turn on them for making their recommendations, knowing why they do what they do, for not taking the economy into consideration was dumb.

Leaking a letter to the press without consultation with the elected Govt or the HSE was an appalling misjudgement on the part of NPHET.

Severe recommendations that will impact the entire country in a really adverse way needs to be questioned.

If they had answers to the questions we'd be in Level 5 now but they couldn't give simple answers.

By publicly releasing their recommendations prior to reviewing with other stakeholders.

They didn't publicly release their recommendations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

It's still not known where the leak came from.

But jaysus, the panic was hyped up by the media ffs. 6 months later and people still think a recommendation by NPHET goes straight into implementation?

6 months later and Tony Holohan still thinks a recommendation by NPHET goes straight into implementation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭crossman47

He was not responsible for cervical check scandal he asked for time to review

Exactly People have forgotten. The cervical check "scandal" was about not letting women (who had cancer and were being treated) know that an audit of their cases showed the cancer could possibly have been found - it did not affect their treatment. Again, the service was run by the HSE - he is not running the HSE.

They didn't publicly release their recommendations.

So you think it was the government or HSE that leaked it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Will you be able to see from under your bed??

I'd have to lose a lot of weight because my bed is a divan.

Don't lock horns with me covid tough-guy.

Good luck.

petes wrote: »
    Nothing to do with hiding under a bed, just complete ****wits attend these.

I'm sure numbers will start dwindling as attendees are struck down with this deadly and dangerous disease. Same as all the BLM protestors, all the beach goers, all the bank holiday gatherers. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Leaking a letter to the press without consultation with the elected Govt or the HSE was an appalling misjudgement on the part of NPHET.

Was it really, the government still manged to shut all pubs/restaurants until god knows when and look like the good guys.
    Their new PR company had to have a fist in it somewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

The scary thing is this guy was elected to office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The whole "we have the strictest restrictions" line is false.
    The fact there is no enforcement means that recommendations are pointless.

528441.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

regarding the leak - just ask yourselves who had more to gain by leaking it, and who looks better in the eyes of the public today?

What a dopey prick. Now anyone following politics knows how much of a gombeen that clown is, but he owes the CMO an apology for asking where he's been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭stockshares

We have the option of private hospitals.

Of course the HSE are totally against it.

100mil is peanuts in the grand scheme of things.

Any reason given by HSE?
    if figures continue rising in in 10 to 14 we go to level 4 same again after for level 5 which bit of the levels dont you understand ?.

Leo's point I thought was valid you goto 5 it doesnt work then what ?

we are already on the cusp of a debt downgrade. Portugal has said it wont go to full lockdown whatever because it cant afford to. I suspect we are in the same position.

Some tone from a Moderator.

I understand the levels.

The point made by Holohan in the letter is that if Level 5 restrictions are introduced later they will only have the effect of Mitigation.

You are suggesting that it's fine to introduce level 4 and 5 later but the rate of increase of the virus might already be out of control by then.

You don't seem to understand that or are ignoring it because it doesn't suit your ideas on the economy and debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

froog wrote: »
    regarding the leak - just ask yourselves who had more to gain by leaking it, and who looks better in the eyes of the public today?

Bingo!!