Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 11,639 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Where I work most of the Sinn Fein voters are rabbiting on about this ****e. Should be an minimum IQ level to be able to vote

What does Sinn Fein have to do with anything?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Population of Dublin is a lot more than 2.5 times Cork . Closer to 9 times !

dublins over 1.5 cork is over .5 do us a a favour there and see if you can make out the ratio use a calculator there if you want :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,543 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

spookwoman wrote: »
    density 2016 census (cases) (population)
    cork 72.3 (1807) (542,868)
    Meath 83.2 (983) (195,044)
    Kildare 131 (2468) (222,504)
    Louth 155.4 (975) (128,884)
    Dublin 1459.2 (15,717) (1,347,359)

Ha , that's why I'm not a numbers gal , thanks ;)

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    That is irrelevant as counts are for counties.

Even so the ratio is still close to 2.5

554000 v 212000 by city.

Yes, yes , I'm wrong and you are all right ..in this ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Where I work most of the Sinn Fein voters are rabbiting on about this ****e. Should be an minimum IQ level to be able to vote

This is what happens when presented with unclear leadership.

If you create a vacuum of "what's the point of this?", It will be filled with whatever sounds good instead. No such thing as a virus? Great, at least that has an actionable outcome, like protesting.

Simply dying slowly as a country with neverending lockdowns is not inspiring or hopeful. It's aimless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Gradius wrote: »
    But that's the real problem. There is no guarantee of a vaccine, and it really feels like governments are basing plans on that.

Not to mention that even IF a vaccine is created, the uptake is going to be ineffective.

The conspiracies are flying and the longer this is dragged on the lower the number who will trust a vaccine.

It's time to start planning on reality right now, and not on contingency. It's a small window of opportunity.

We don't know the outcome so overthinking it will cause more stress for you.

The point I was trying to make was that we will just have to relax and do what is in our control i.e wearing masks etc and being sensible without going to the extreme with that either.

Cork is like Sweden, large pop but also large area.

Yes largest county .
    Anyone good at Geography ?
    Is Dublin the smallest county area wise?
    All those people squished together instead of Spaced Out in Cork!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

We don't know the outcome so overthinking it will cause more stress for you.

The point I was trying to make was that we will just have to relax and do what is in our control i.e wearing masks etc and being sensible without going to the extreme with that either.

That won't do much good for all those who have unnecessarily lost their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Population of Dublin is a lot more than 2.5 times Cork . Closer to 9 times !

What country do you live it?

petes wrote: »
    You keep mentioning end goal and now cure the problem, what do suggest then rather than giving out about it, herd immunity?

It is useful to point out that the current strategy is doomed. Not maybe doomed, 100% doomed.

Another strategy is necessary. Those effective strategies were made available to governments years ago. It's the politics that are standing in the way.

We have a biological problem. It won't be fixed with politically motivated solutions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Yes largest county .

Dublin is 3rd smallest after Louth and Carlow

Cork largest, take 3 hours to drive from Youghal to Lambs Head to get the cable car out to Dursey Is

Thats East West

North South is nearly 3 hours too.

Mizen Hd to Charleville.

Christ you'd be nearly in Belfast

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

It is useful to point out that the current strategy is doomed. Not maybe doomed, 100% doomed.

Another strategy is necessary. Those effective strategies were made available to governments years ago. It's the politics that are standing in the way.

We have a biological problem. It won't be fixed with politically motivated solutions.

What is your proposal?

mean gene wrote: »
    dublins over 1.5 cork is over .5 do us a a favour there and see if you can make out the ratio use a calculator there if you want :rolleyes:

Ok . Have you anything else to contribute?
    I was comparing cities and as other posters who I trust for their good sense have pointed out that was incorrect here.
    You are just living up to your name with this ...post .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Yes largest county .

That would be Louth if I`m not mistaken.

What is your proposal?

Thousands of pages of simulation, direction and strategy are in the hands of every government, made by people who predicted accurately every step of this pandemic before it even existed.

But it isn't politically expedient so it remains ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,850 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You don't need to be a psychiatrist to know socialisation is good for children. As for projecting fear, I have seen many of your comments. If there was no fear in your house you wouldn't be homeschooling your children till a vaccine is found. You said this. The thing about common sense it's not that common. Take care.
    Obviously socialisation is important for kids but they won't be scarred for life by missing a few months with their schoolmates. We have at least one playdate every week with another family who are keeping their kids at him.
    Before they went back to school we had lots of playdates with kids from families who were staying safe.
    There's no fear here, just being careful. I have lots of reasons to stay safe besides my kids including my extremely high risk other half.
    All my decisions are made using math and preparing for the future as well as the present. I don't have to sit down and do math, it's just my natural way of reasoning through issues.

I read everything I can get my hands on as regards covid-19. There's lots of stuff that doesn't make sense, there's lots of stuff written a certain way to try and get the reader to think a certain way as in there is an agenda with much of it.

Just as an example there's people going through age groups trying to make arguments that primary schools are safe by comparing infections with other age groups. What are they leaving out? They are leaving out that there's lots of families that will have kids in crèche, primary and secondary schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Akabusi wrote: »
    Just looking at that choir video, there seems to be about 25 in the room with a couple wearing masks. I wonder if those that wore the mask didn't become infected?

Love to hear the figures on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,677 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Yes largest county .

I think Louth is the smallest county.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Lads what the **** is this obsession with Cork about

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Thousands of pages of simulation, direction and strategy are in the hands of every government, made by people who predicted accurately every step of this pandemic before it even existed.

Ah great, we have another who won't answer a direct question.

Again, what is your suggestion/proposal rather than withering on about politics?

If cases keep rising at the current trajectory then the proposal you posted about last week may eventually have to be implemented. I still can`t see it happening anytime in the near future though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

No push notification from RTÉ today about the cases!!

Yes.
    Apparently all warned 5 years ago about getting the health and other services ready for just this scenario.
    But no government in this country has ever done more than lurch from crisis to crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Santy2015 wrote: »
    No push notification from RTÉ today about the cases!!

I got one

I think some people are trying to wind other posters up.

Its doing above average at the moment.

Every county is fcuked at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Polar101

I think the idea was to point out that just because they've had some cases, they don't need to be locked down right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Just got to level 3 already for the above average counties. Get it over and done with

• Registered Users Posts: 6,001 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

spookwoman wrote: »
    Would have thought there would have been some bleed over of cases into kerry with skibbereen.

Takes about an hour to drive from Co.Kerry from Skibbereen

Polar101 wrote: »
    I think the idea was to point out that just because they've had some cases, they don't need to be locked down right now.

Maybe not right now but it could be a different story in another few weeks.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,215 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I think some people are trying to wind other posters up.

Its doing above average at the moment.

Every county is fcuked at this stage.

Sligo is grand, we have a border set up and are ready to shoot out of county folk on sight :p