Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Roger_007 wrote: »
    This was the problem that the famous, all-singing, all-dancing, app was supposed to do. The app was yet another expensive supposed solution to all our problems.
    I’m surprised none of the journalists ask about it at these pressers.

Be interesting to see the figures around the app and how they tie in to figures. As the location is not stored and if someone was on a bus and infected a dozen others and they all had the app installed. When the initial person uploads their contacts and the people on the bus are alerted and get tested and if any are positive.... Technically it would be classed as community transmission as the app doesn't store the location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Very vague talk about outside dining but quickly palmed off to councils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    No, it's 6 outside/other people from the one household - in addition to your own

The guidelines says 6 people MAX.

“In your home or garden
    Depending on the prevailing public health advice for the county or other defined geographical area:
    Visitors from 1 other household to a maximum of 6 people only OR your own household only“

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Do you reckon the lockdowns will have ended by then?

It'll be the new normal or at that stage just normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Quite an improved briefing on what's been served up in recent times and Martin a lot better than he's been.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Boggles wrote: »
    Has Google and the rest of trillion dollar tech companies been closed down?

Nope as all of their employees are working from home

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So. Can we go on our ols down the country or not! If we go, will we be turned away from the locals :)

Stheno wrote: »
    Nope as all of their employees are working from home
    Till July next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ohmeha wrote: »
    The actual real numbers for Dublin below and not your made up numbers confirm your are talking through your arse

Day Month Date Dublin 7 Day 14 Day
    Saturday August 29th 59 52.43 43.71
    Sunday August 30th 24 50.29 44.29
    Monday August 31st 25 43.43 45.14
    Tuesday September 1st 103 55.71 49.07
    Wednesday September 2nd 53 50.00 51.50
    Thursday September 3rd 51 52.43 51.50
    Friday September 4th 24 48.43 50.14
    Saturday September 5th 133 59.00 55.71
    Sunday September 6th 68 65.29 57.79
    Monday September 7th 56 69.71 56.57
    Tuesday September 8th 182 81.00 68.36
    Wednesday September 9th 51 80.71 65.36
    Thursday September 10th 107 88.71 70.57
    Friday September 11th 121 102.57 75.50
    Saturday September 12th 75 94.29 76.64
    Sunday September 13th 156 106.86 86.07
    Monday September 14th 108 114.29 92.00
    Tuesday September 15th 218 119.43 100.21
    Wednesday September 16th 136 131.57 106.14
    Thursday September 17th 119 133.29 111.00
    Friday September 18th 116 132.57 117.57

On that table numbers have doubled in the last 12 days.

Back in April numbers doubled every 3 days at one stage. That was expontial growth in the context of covid 19.

Like several politicans you also seem clueless about what expontial growth is in relation to covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Boggles wrote: »
    Has Google and the rest of trillion dollar tech companies been closed down?

That reply is seriously awful!! Not just the FDI companies that contribute!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Interesting that there was absolutely nothing in his speech about travel, airports, testing, along travelers come in untested, travel unrestricted and untraced.

This is the elephant in the room for me.

All the strict restrictions are to stop people movement, but when it’s international travel we are not strict on people’s movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The guidelines says 6 people MAX.

“In your home or garden
    Depending on the prevailing public health advice for the county or other defined geographical area:
    Visitors from 1 other household to a maximum of 6 people only OR your own household only“

Could you have 6 people in your front garden and 6 people in the back garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Taoiseach says since schools returned there have been many referrals for tests for those aged under 10, but the positivity rate is very low, and around 0.5%

Again deceptive figure that hides the actual truth.

In the last 30 days, instances of the virus in under 14s have almost doubled.

If that were scaled up and applied to the rest of age brackets we would have 1,000 cases a day.

Children get the virus as much as anyone else.

Why do journalists come up with these convoluted scenarios?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Every time Ryan pipes up from the corner I've forgotten that he was there.

One of the most useless politicians we've ever had - and that's no small achievement in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭crossman47

Yes to both.

But someone brought up the nonsense of that one on the radio during the week too.

6 only from one other household.. Grand. When they go home you can immediately have another 6 over. Or - as I take that further - what if you had a BBQ in the front garden and they stood outside your gate?

Completely unworkable and the Gardai will have no powers to check anyway

Don't think about what you can do within the law but what you should do. The latter is clear to anyone with half a brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

Meehaul: Ronan is the "healthspert"

If I had 4 years of experience as health minister, I feel I'd be able to answer at least some health-related questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Santy2015 wrote: »
    That reply is seriously awful!! Not just the FDI companies that contribute!!

Take them out so and give me that figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Interesting that there was absolutely nothing in his speech about travel, airports, testing, along travelers come in untested, travel unrestricted and untraced.

This is the elephant in the room for me.

All the strict restrictions are to stop people movement, but when it’s international travel we are not strict on people’s movement.

This government will sort that through inaction

If Ryanair pull their winter base there will only be the Aer Lingus Heathrow flight left in Cork after octo3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Ah Leo and Avril Lavigne made me laugh anyways :D:D:D

Shin

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

is_that_so wrote: »
    Till July next year!

My office has a hybrid model now permanently

We will never go back to the office full time

No because that would be 12 in your household

6 could stand just outside your garden wall though I'm sure. Or even more than 6

Plus six in the house, six in the shed, and six in the loft. It’ll end up like an illegal immigrant crash pad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yeah "voluntary" is the problem.

From the start a large number of Irish have shown themselves either too stupid or too selfish or too edgelord to actually do the right thing.

Every time Ryan pipes up from the corner I've forgotten that he was there.

One of the most useless politicians we've ever had - and that's no small achievement in this country

Oops I thought you meant the Toyman, Mr Turbidity. I’d have said Boyman, but I dont have the necessary permission to use that copyrighted name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Is there any kind of breakdown on transmission type for each individual county?
    Community transmission makes up say 30% nationally, could it be that it's actually much higher in Dublin, hence why they have no issues opening pubs in the rest of the country.

crossman47 wrote: »
    Don't think about what you can do within the law but what you should do. The latter is clear to anyone with half a brain.

Doesn't affect me personally. Rare enough I'd be in Dublin these days anyway despite being from and employed there

But childish insult aside, what's clear is the politicians are making it up as they go - despite only a few days ago announcing a new plan with "clear" levels that they have been fudging ever since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

There you go!.......we are all too stupid to understand these things.

Based in this thread alone today, plenty don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,156 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

gonna be interesting to see our economically conservative government swallow its pride, and take on a sh1te load of debt, to sort this one out