Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

s1ippy wrote: »
    I was out around Cork today for about eight hours. Saw not a single guard, shade car or paddy wagon anywhere. Nine ambulances though.

Dublin is the hotspot. Cork is grand, great city one of the first to allow outdoor dining.

I Know Dublin has followed suit. But you lot were the first and fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

You sound panicky. You might have had it already and you will never be sick from it. That is a possibility.

I think I did , in March .
    Its work I am worried about as it was bedlam in April and May especially .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

growleaves wrote: »
    I predicted a month ago that people would adopt that posting style and now they have.

So you knew a month ago that virus numbers and hospital admissions were going to increase dramatically in the month to come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,415 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Would a rule where anyone coughing 3 times within 5 minutes in a pub or restaurant got fooked out on their ear save us and anyone stupid enough to be with them locked up for 30 days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,462 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Dublin student accommodation footage shows alleged party scenes

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/shocking-dublin-student-accommodation-footage-18953676

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

bb1234567 wrote: »
    That is true, the inconsistency is odd. Although the 7 day average is now almost 90 not 50.

The ICU admissions are hard to argue though, there's no inconsistency with reporting there, growin by over 500 in less than a week and now stand at over 1330, that's an unbelieavble spike in ICU admission in a tiny timeframe.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1306522638416830464

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Arghus wrote: »
    Well, obviously a controlled environment.

But, I think that either/or binary choice is a false way to frame the situation. 

First of all, I have my doubts about how controlled of an environment a lot of pubs actually are - and how controlled a lot of their patrons often are to boot. I'm sure there's lots of pubs out there that follow every rule and never stray from any guidelines - but we all know there are plenty, plenty, out there that don't.

We all know this.

Also we also all know, even from just reading this thread alone, how many people boast about having a feed of pints and not giving a flying fck about restrictions, time limits - any of it.

I amn't saying everyone is like that and every pub is like that, but this picture of pubs always being these lock-tight-everything-above-board-ultra-sticklers for rules - well, I'm not sure to believe that one Citizen. And now, I don't know about this for sure, but if I was to go back deep into your own post history would I maybe find one or two posts about you yourself staying for hours and getting well plastered in some of these "controlled" environments? If not you, then I'll certainly find literally hundreds of other posters boasting about exactly that. And that's only boards, I don't how many times I've heard of it outside of here - countless, countless, times. Controlled environments? Sometimes, Citizen, sometimes. But, I'm not green enough to believe it all of the time.

And look, people who are going to have house parties are still going to have house parties. Their desire for the craic is not going to be extinguished by two hours in a public house, that's if it sticks to the rules in the first place, of course. Closing time is 11:30 these days. What do you think most groups will do at 11:30 at night? Things are just getting started bro! And you want more rules? - that'll make the pub an even more viable alternative to a house party to those inclined to have one alright - eh, what?

People who go to pubs and obey the rules are not the ones who then will have house parties without the pub being an option. And they aren't the problem.

The problem are the ones who do have the house parties - and I don't believe opening pubs, under strangulated rules and regulations, is going to have much of a material difference in the amount of house parties that take place. The pub usually compliments a party, it's a pit-stop on the journey - in my drunken party going experience; and I have a lot of experience.

If you're going to have a house party then a pub being open or closed isn't going to stop you - they are still going to go on. They've existed for a long time before lockdowns and restrictions. And this is even when pubs were open all the time - some of them even past 11:30 at night!

We were talking earlier about what you think should be the approach. And you seemed to think that there should be greater emphasis on cracking down on private gatherings and house parties and as well as further regulation of wet pubs:

I agree the issue is home gatherings, as opposed to the wet pub. But wet pubs aren't open - it's very hard for them to be the issue if they aren't open.

Limit home gatherings.

That sounds very easy, but I don't think that it is really enforceable - both in terms of the logistics and the basic legality.

There's been limits on home gatherings for ages and they've been widely ignored. Would you be comfortable with legislation that would give Gardai the right to enter private dwellings and start dishing out fines and maybe more, totally upending our culture of policing and the inviolability of private dwellings? Just to make sure, indirectly, that people go to the pub?

And lets say the government went through the tortuous and fractious legal process of signing something like this into law. How many more Gardai would be required to actually police this - dozens? hundreds? I'm sure taking them away from other police work to knock on doors, all across the land, where they suspect a party to be taking place isn't going to prove problematic. And why are we doing all this again? - oh, yeah, because we want pubs to be open.

In reality the government can only do so much. And I'm glad of it. I personally would be concerned if Gardai had the right to enter private dwellings, just because they strongly suspect craic to be taking place - I think that's a step too far on the state's reach. I don't foresee it being a reality, in any case. I think it's a legal minefield and the resources simply aren't there to police it.

The government really can't do much more in real terms to stop people drinking in "uncontrolled" environments. All they can do is place restrictions on the "controlled" environments that, given what is known about how the virus spreads and our specific drinking culture, stand a more than fair chance of being places where the virus can spread. It's something they can do. For the rest - then they have to rely, without coercion, on people being responsible and trying to do the right thing.

It comes down to personal responsibility. People are not obligated to have house parties, people are not obligated to disregard rules on gatherings. It is a personal choice. It is a lame excuse, a total disavowal, of your own capacity for decision making to blame it all pubs being closed. Everyone knows now that house parties and social gatherings are driving rates of infection in the country, ignorance is not an excuse - it's up to individuals to modify their behaviour and try to do the right thing.

It involves sacrifice. Everything in this absolutely shite period of time for everyone involves some form of sacrifice. It does not follow that pubs are closed, ergo, I must have a house party. People should just take responsibility, not whinge constantly and expect the government to hold their hand on every last little thing - and moan when the Goverment does try to hold people's hands - and knuckle down and do our bit until we have this under control again and accept that, given their nature, pubs are always going to be amongst the first places to feel the brunt of restrictions.

I'm pretty sure I agree with every word, but I can't remember the first half of this post - it's been so long since I first started reading it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes I will listen to you rather than our leader who guided us through first phase and is medically trained.

To be honest I have spent many more years both in college and working in hospital than Leo has attended the Dail..but you do what makes you comfortable ;)

And to add , yes credit where it is due , he did a good job , when he was Taoiseach, for the pandemic crisis , I will admit.

I think he has reverted to type now though .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Hmm guess we'll wait and see I suppose , really looks like it's going to just get worse for Spain rather than better though. Respiratory deaths of this number are certainly not normal for this time of year in Spain no matter what Ivor is trying to swing , it's also days out of summer rather than nearly winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

From five or more years ago now I reckon. Anyway any of these student co living places have a guardian or two. Easy to call to Gardai, but will they respond?

If Gov are insistent that house parties are vectors for spread of disease, the owners,agents, lessors of these places need a right kick up the backside. And the Garda need to respond too. But no one cares, and the rest of us are blackballed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Dublin is the hotspot. Cork is grand, great city one of the first to allow outdoor dining.

I Know Dublin has followed suit. But you lot were the first and fair dues.
    Yeah, I hope you're right about that. The sirens around town are always audible cos the sound carries up to our gaf. Luckily we were just evicted so that's probably not going to be as much of an issue soon :D

It's good to see the low numbers in Cork and most people have cop on, but there's a lot of stupid eejit behaviour as well. A scummy lookin feen in the petrol station today wouldn't stand on the social distancing markers in the queue and kept encroaching until he was about a foot away. There were about eight people in the queue when he joined the back and I couldn't move up further because then I'd be too close to yer man in front of me. I started quietly coughing kinda backwards over my arm, not at him per se but just subtly in his general vicinity. He shuffled back a bit and the next time we moved up he stood on the marker but he was definitely trying to get a rise out of me by doing it. What a spoon.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    To be honest I have spent many more years both in college and working in hospital than Leo has attended the Dail..but you do what makes you comfortable ;)

Thanks for your CV. Goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://www.google.com/amp/s/english.elpais.com/society/2020-09-17/spains-civil-registries-detect-10-excess-mortality-during-second-coronavirus-wave.html%3foutputType=amp

Huge increase in excess deaths detected particularly Madrid in last two weeks of September, 29% above normal for this time of year in Madrid. 10% nationally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Wtf Spain and France.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/english.elpais.com/society/2020-09-17/spains-civil-registries-detect-10-excess-mortality-during-second-coronavirus-wave.html%3foutputType=amp

Huge increase in excess deaths detected in Madrid in just the first two weeks of September, 29% above normal for this time of year .

And could be attributed to anything like heart attacks cancer patients. Chill man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Totally out of control in Spain again, over 400 deaths in the last 48 hours, 1330 in ICU. I do not undertsand how this can happen with restrictions, so much testing, hygiene awareness, how can cases grow to this extent that so many people are dying again. I don't get it at all how they have been taken by surprise by COVID yet again after having learned so much from March and April.

The tourism ‎€‎€ is why they been hit again.

Why is there so many cases in louth lately. Good bit away from Dublin, especially Dundalk.

It could be that its main corridor from the north, travelers flying in from maybe Brazil etc to London but final destination is ROI via Belfast.

or

Maybe just something more local. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=114259288&postcount=9270

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Children don't spread.

Give one example in ireland where a child spread it to another child or an adult.

I love your certainty. Leo Varadkar is open to the idea it has weakened (hes a doctor) and a high ranking politician who has guided us through all this. Why are you so certain?

I love your certainty or rather gullibility. I posted a few examples haven't heard back.

Do you accept now that human children can pass it to other human children in the confines of a school?

https://twitter.com/RomanShortall/status/1306683833471979521?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I think we may have the ultimate reason here why NPHET recommended in the indoor dining stuff. Like I said earlier plan isn't worth the paper its written on.

"NPHET also drove home the point that they believe cafes and restaurants should close at this level.

Documents prepared in advance of the NPHET meeting reveal that the medical experts also disagree with the Government on what Level 3 should be and wants to discuss a ‘number of options’ within Level 3."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40050803.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭joeguevara

[/B]

I love your certainty or rather gullibility. I posted a few examples haven't heard back.

Do you accept now that human children can pass it to other human children in the confines of a school?

I don’t know the ins and outs of school infections but reading the letter you posted (and I don’t know either way)but there is nothing definitive that transmission is from child to child. It could equally be from household to child. It just states children are infected. Thinking about it, if it was child to child it would probably mean a much larger infection number due to proximity to each other in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭kingshankly

gmisk wrote: »
    In fairness there were plenty of people on here saying there wouldn't be a second wave.

There was an awful lot of them but sure nobody is an expert we are all just guessing here .at least the sugar coating has stopped 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭mollser

The virologist lady on Prime Time last night - after hearing about the dire economic consequences of what's proposed, she just started laughing saying how she wouldn't be qualified to speak on economics, show's a complete lack of 'roundedness' of these people. Quite insulting actually.

These people need an economics lesson in their own pockets to give them some perspective as to how the world actually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

mollser wrote: »
    The virologist lady on Prime Time last night - after hearing about the dire economic consequences of what's proposed, she just started laughing saying how she wouldn't be qualified to speak on economics, show's a complete lack of 'roundedness' of these people. Quite insulting actually.

These people need an economics lesson in their own pockets to give them some perspective as to how the world actually works.

Her job is a virologist,

You wouldn’t want health advice from an economist. Why should that be any different?

She gave her professional opinion, it was correct too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 brighterspark

Is it not time we moved to a period of acceptance - we need to learn to live with it. These experts and politicians are running round like headless chickens and looking for the next cohort of people to blame - youung/old/etnic group/ employment group/publicans/GAA/county - who is next? We have a basic human need to be sociable and this cannot be repressed indefintely which seems to be the current position. Put our efforts into healthcare provision and protecting vulnerable and let people exist and economy survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭prunudo

Regarding the increasing icu numbers, do they release the ages of these patients. Also, again with the recent deaths, are they releasing the age of these people. They used to but the level of information they report daily seems to change depending on what the message of the day is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,591 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Golfgate2 shows that we're incapable of following basic guidelines and shows that we lack personal responsibility and common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭prunudo

Golfgate2 shows that we're incapable of following basic guidelines and shows that we lack personal responsibility and common sense.

Less of the 'we', its a minority ruining it for the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭mollser

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Her job is a virologist,

You wouldn’t want health advice from an economist. Why should that be any different?

She gave her professional opinion, it was correct too.

Absolutely correct. It was her laughing at the economic consequences which was galling.

[/B]

Other posters haver replied to you. 100 cases of coronavirus in children week before schools opened. Why wouldn't there be cases of children infected who are attending schools. We were told to expect cases in children when they are back in school. Point is children dont infect other children or their teachers. What are you afraid of? Your children are more in danger of t he flu. Covid is not a big risk to children.