Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

road_high wrote: »
    Good to see some countries still using scientific evidence for decision making rather than our “make it up as go along” approach

Most countries, ours included, are using scientific evidence for decision making. It's being interpreted in different ways though. This thread is really just a bash the government thread. Damned if they do, damned if they don't.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

OTHER EUROPEAN CITIES have a virus incidence rate double than that in Ireland’s capital and have not imposed the kind of restrictions under consideration for Dublin, according to Tánaiste Leo Varadkar.

“If we choose, therefore, to act regarding the situation in Dublin in the coming days, far from being slow to act, as some would argue, we will be one of the first movers in Europe in taking action early, ahead of cities and city regions in Europe that have not yet imposed the kind of restrictions that we may need to impose in Dublin.

https://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-european-countries-restrictions-5207451-Sep2020/

This is beyond bizarre. I love the logic though, so you have these modern EU cities that do not impose restrictions when their covid numbers are higher than Dublin, and this genius thinks that imposing restrictions on Dublin ahead of other EU cities is the "act now, far from being slow to act"

You could not make it up :D

Penfailed wrote: »
    Most countries, ours included, are using scientific evidence for decision making. It's being interpreted in different ways though. This thread is really just a bash the government thread. Damned if they do, damned if they don't.

Incorrect.

Our country does not use "scientific evidence" for decision making.

If we move to level 3 this weekend in Dublin, we will close our museums and galleries. Can you please (obviously you dont have any scientific evidence about covid arising in museums because it does not exist) take a guess at "scientific evidence" govt will be "looking at" when shutting down Dublin's museums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,863 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Well you’re talking to a FG voter here. Part of this woeful government. So I’ve no agenda to bash the government just calling out their utter incompetence and ineptitude. If anyone thinks these clowns are going to stop an endemic respiratory virus in any meaningful way then they are deluding themselves. As the past 6 months so vividly illustrate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Aren’t pubs open in level 3?

So pubs will open in Dublin if we move to phase 3?

Open the pubs and close the museums. It's the only way forward!

OTHER EUROPEAN CITIES have a virus incidence rate double than that in Ireland’s capital and have not imposed the kind of restrictions under consideration for Dublin, according to Tánaiste Leo Varadkar.

“If we choose, therefore, to act regarding the situation in Dublin in the coming days, far from being slow to act, as some would argue, we will be one of the first movers in Europe in taking action early, ahead of cities and city regions in Europe that have not yet imposed the kind of restrictions that we may need to impose in Dublin.

https://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-european-countries-restrictions-5207451-Sep2020/

This is beyond bizarre. I love the logic though, so you have these modern EU cities that do not impose restrictions when their covid numbers are higher than Dublin, and this genius thinks that imposing restrictions on Dublin ahead of other EU cities is the "act now, far from being slow to act"

You were in Paris recently. Police were enforcing the wearing of masks. They're mandatory outdoors ...but yeah, the restrictions here are terrible. Sakes.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

Incorrect.

Our country does not use "scientific evidence" for decision making.

If we move to level 3 this weekend in Dublin, we will close our museums and galleries. Can you please (obviously you dont have any scientific evidence about covid arising in museums because it does not exist) take a guess at "scientific evidence" govt will be "looking at" when shutting down Dublin's museums?

Why don't you ask the government? Wasn't it you that said they are reading and taking advice from this thread a few weeks back?

Varadkar only a few days ago was pretty much against any new Dublin restrictions, said they weren’t needed...

Why don't you ask the government? Wasn't it you that said they are reading and taking advice from this thread a few weeks back?

In an unsurprising fashion you have absolutely no clue as to what scientific evidence our government will be "looking at" when shutting down Dublin's museums this weekend for 3 weeks.

You dont disappoint thats for sure.

Varadkar only a few days ago was pretty much against any new Dublin restrictions, said they weren’t needed...

Same Varadkar that was surprised end of August pubs were still closed in Ireland :D

In an unsurprising fashion you have absolutely no clue as to what scientific evidence our government will be "looking at" when shutting down Dublin's museums this weekend for 3 weeks.

The public servants that work in the museums are tired and need a few weeks off.
    I can't blame them, they've been inundated with tourists all summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,253 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's Leo. He will ALWAYS go with whatever he thinks will serve him best on the day, even if he said the complete opposite the day before.

And yet we have lots of people wishing he was still Taoiseach :rolleyes:

The public servants that work in the museums are tired and need a few weeks off.
    I can't blame them, they've been inundated with tourists all summer.

Seriously I cant stop laughing. Every post from you is golden :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭growleaves

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It's Leo. He will ALWAYS go with whatever he thinks will serve him best on the day, even if he said the complete opposite the day before.

And yet we have lots of people wishing he was still Taoiseach :rolleyes:

We live in a therapeutic culture now and Varadkar, like Bill Clinton, "feels your pain".

Seriously I cant stop laughing. Every post from you is golden :D:D:D:D:D

I just hope people can see how absurd it is.
    I've been trying to book a few school groups into Museums over the last month or so and they wouldn't accept any groups of more than 6 from 2 different households.
    This was when our cases were in very low digits.

We have something in common. You don't know either. Any word on your government friends that read and take advice from this thread?

We have multiple things in common actually :)

Well I havent been posting in this thread since early August. I took early retirement, but like McGregor I come out of it (where similarities end btw).

In all seriousness, what did museums ever do?? Dublin museums the "covid hot spots" of Ireland?

I've been trying to book a few school groups into Museums over the last month or so and they wouldn't accept any groups of more than 6 from 2 different households.

Bizarre. Museums are spacious, very spacious. Irish museum workers are a bit like French train drivers, tough crowd to negotiate with. Its their way or the highway.

I am, in an unusual fashion very interested in governments announcement tomorrow. I am 75% sure they wont move Dublin to level 3. But the other 25% just keeps me very curious.

I don't understand how anyone can't see how absurd our plan is.

Dublin was placed 2 days ago in level 2 and a bit to ensure that pubs don't reopen, then immediately it is placed in level 3 but in level 3 the pubs can still reopen so let's call it 3 and a bit and keep the pubs closed.
    Meanwhile in level 3 museums and galleries (which obviously are the cause of increasing numbers) must close :confused:.
    But now the pubs which can reopen in level 3, can't reopen either because maybe we didn't think that one through enough before releasing our plan.

Who thought this stuff up?

Bizarre. Museums are spacious, very spacious. Irish museum workers are a bit like French train drivers, tough crowd to negotiate with. Its their way or the highway.

They are a lot safer and more spacious than supermarkets or shopping centres and we could even offer to have 1 adult leader per 6 kids enforcing distancing and mask wearing etc, but they would have none of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,338 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I don't understand how anyone can't see how absurd our plan is.

Dublin was placed 2 days ago in level 2 and a bit to ensure that pubs don't reopen, then immediately it is placed in level 3 but in level 3 the pubs can still reopen so let's call it 3 and a bit and keep the pubs closed.
    Meanwhile in level 3 museums and galleries (which obviously are the cause of increasing numbers) must close :confused:.
    But now the pubs which can reopen in level 3, can't reopen either because maybe we didn't think that one through enough before releasing our plan.

Who thought this stuff up?

They want to put dublin on level 4 but they haven't got the balls to make the call. Micheal is a weak man.

growleaves wrote: »
    We live in a therapeutic culture now and Varadkar, like Bill Clinton, "feels your pain".

He does. On his 6 figure salary...whole thing is a political circus. God help anyone thick enough to believe these cabbages are any sort of “saviour” from an endemic virus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

pjohnson wrote: »
    I should know better than to hold you guys responsible for anything ye say.

Weasel away, my post was clear. Enrol more students. One day you will contribute something. I hope I don't miss it.

I am, in an unusual fashion very interested in governments announcement tomorrow. I am 75% sure they wont move Dublin to level 3. But the other 25% just keeps me very curious.

Museums were just an easy box to tick in the farce of Covid political optics- “look at us we are”doing” something”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,034 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

polesheep wrote: »
    Weasel away, my post was clear. Enrol more students. One day you will contribute something. I hope I don't miss it.

Oh so now its back to enrolling students. Are you sure thats what you meant this time? You seemed to forget that and started talking about already qualified nurses that had returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Enroll and recruit day after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Poor kids. A museum isn't any craic.
    Hopefully they'll get to do something fun instead.

It takes between 10 and 14 years to become a doctor.

I suggest you look that up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,338 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

How is enrolling more students that will qualify in 4-6 years going to help us in the next month? Please, explain it to me and stop making snide jabs that make you look an ass.

xhomelezz wrote: »
    :D only to read last few posts of yours tells me confusion is somewhere else.

Enlighten me.