Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIII-33,444 in ROI(1,792 deaths) 9,541 in NI(577 deaths)(22/09)Read OP

niallo27 wrote: »
    Its the balance we need, do we stop the majority from having a normal life to save a few, we didn't do it before why would we now.

Simple. We didn't •need• to do it before. We didn't have a very serious and very infectious virus circulating in a widespread manner without a vaccine. Never happened in our lifetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Well my mother in law was, thinks the government are a shower of bastard's for what they've done to them.
    Look at all the posters that haven't visited their parents or brought the grankids over, won't let them hug them etc. It's wrong on so many levels. Were not protecting them were terrorising them.

Living In fear, Granny crying herself to sleep, terrorising people (that's a new one). Get a grip of yourself, you're hysterical and it's the likes of you that are the only ones trying to scare people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see that our minister for health has said at a FF parliamentary party meeting that it’s the opposition and media that are confusing the message. That’s a bad sign if true to blame the media. The media are just turning on the camera and covering your words live. The media can’t be held responsible if the government rabbit on and talk about trampolines amongst other things.

Jesus I actually forgot about the trampoline ramblings, so much pure nonsense has been spouted since then :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Thread has hit level 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭SPDUB

I hear in future, though, it may be five days (one weekday for each step)

Where did he get 5 from ?

There's NPHET , new committee , Cabinet subcommittee , Cabinet , That's 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,141 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

SPDUB wrote: »
    Where did he get 5 from ?

There's NPHET , new committee , Cabinet subcommittee , Cabinet , That's 4

Add on a few days for the PR company to tell MM what to do as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

spookwoman wrote: »
    Living In fear, Granny crying herself to sleep, terrorising people (that's a new one). Get a grip of yourself, you're hysterical and it's the likes of you that are the only ones trying to scare people.

True story, wake up to the mental damage this is doing. I'm not trying to scare anyone, quite the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see that our minister for health has said at a FF parliamentary party meeting that it’s the opposition and media that are confusing the message. That’s a bad sign if true to blame the media. The media are just turning on the camera and covering your words live. The media can’t be held responsible if the government rabbit on and talk about trampolines amongst other things.

Trump like stuff. Blame everyone else for your incompetence. He's way over his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

the economy and those jobs can come back someones granny can't

So full lockdown, hundreds of thousands out of work, who is going to pay for your granny in a nursing home if she needs to go or if she needs to go to the hospital. Health services need a healthy economy would you not agree.

There's going to be an Exodus from dublin this weekend, there's 60,000 odd dubs making a dash to holiday homes...

Were you talking to each one of the 60,000 individually? Or did they all give you a text to let you know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 466 ✭✭DangerScouse

I see the usual heads in the sand brigade over on the restrictions thread are spouting out more of their BS and there isn`t even a full moon tonight.

Just read it there for the first time earlier. :confused: Surely that stuff should be in the conspiracy forum? Weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭MOR316

Looking like NPHET might make the recommendation tomorrow with a decision on Friday.

However it's been suggested in future it could take five days for a decision to be made. Which seems bizarre considering the time sensitive nature of the needed response to the pandemic as it unfolds.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1306323747507507202

But, I don't understand.

For example, if the decision is made on Friday and the bars/restaurants/museums are open and say I travel to Dublin (I have to go up to the city to do something, pay someone and meet a friend) how can they cease trading on a Friday and does that mean I can't leave the county?

I said it a few months back that we'll end up looking worse than Boris' handling of the whole thing and we pretty much have, in spades! :D

At this rate, Donald will be looking over his shoulder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

True story, wake up to the mental damage this is doing. I'm not trying to scare anyone, quite the opposite.

B*llox! No one is using words like that except you and a few others of the same mindset.

So full lockdown, hundreds of thousands out of work, who is going to pay for your granny in a nursing home if she needs to go or if she needs to go to the hospital. Health services need a healthy economy would you not agree.

What sort of economy do you think will be left without any preventive measures? Or health service for that matter?

Simple. We didn't •need• to do it before. We didn't have a very serious and very infectious virus circulating in a widespread manner without a vaccine. Never happened in our lifetimes.

My reply was to a poster that said we should continue the way we are living now after covid is gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

We can borrow the money off someone surely. Every nations in the same boat at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

0 restrictions in Belarus, no lockdowns, Taiwan isn't in europe.
    Considering they didn't scare the bejasus out of their citizens they deserve a medal.

At the hieght of lockdown, early April, Belarus was the only live sport anywhere in Europe. Fans in attendance and all. Fair play to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I see the usual heads in the sand brigade over on the restrictions thread are spouting out more of their BS and there isn`t even a full moon tonight.

Another one of the brigade brigade...

No parent or grandparent (etc) yourself?

Eod100 wrote: »
    What sort of economy do you think will be left without any preventive measures? Or health service for that matter?

I never said no preventative measures, my question to you is what kind of health service is left with any economy. Im just saying there needs to be a balance.

No parent or grandparent (etc) yourself?

I know all about the fair deal scheme and I do worry about it if the economy goes tits up, probably be first to be cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

spookwoman wrote: »
    B*llox! No one is using words like that except you and a few others of the same mindset.

Jack Lambert calling for people to be done for manslaughter today....if you think this all has no effect on the elderly your living in a bubble, I didn't lie when I said my mother in law was crying. Wake up and see the damage that's being done to the elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Just because they are old or have underlying health issues doesn't mean they aren't worth saving.

No it doesnt.

They can't be saved though, they would die without Covid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Well my mother in law was, thinks the government are a shower of bastard's for what they've done to them.
    Look at all the posters that haven't visited their parents or brought the grankids over, won't let them hug them etc. It's wrong on so many levels. Were not protecting them were terrorising them.

We're grandparents and were cocooning. We have struggled with the restrictions, particularly with regard to seeing our kids and grandkids. But, get a grip . We're not crying ourselves to sleep at night. We appreciate the government, health authorities and bulk of the public are doing their best to suppress the virus and we are willing to do what we must to help too. We're far from being terrorised.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    We're grandparents and were cocooning. We have struggled with the restrictions, particularly with regard to seeing our kids and grandkids. But, get a grip . We're not crying ourselves to sleep at night. We appreciate the government, health authorities and bulk of the public are doing their best to suppress the virus and we are willing to do what we must to help too. We're far from being terrorised.

Each to their own and good on you.

I know a 76 year old and he bricks it when he sees a headline, doesn't read the article, demands everything be locked down or we're all gonna die.

Then, he moans about not being able to go places, even though he can.

So, your whole "get a grip" approach in your response to the above poster is nonsensical, as it doesn't apply to everyone. A lot of people think they can deal with it but, the reality is, they're not

And you are doing exactly the same thing now and also previously when you attacked posters who didn`t agree with your blinkered "facts" and have alo accued other and were also previously told by a mod to quit your hyperbole and you now have the brass neck to accuse me of being aggressive. Wake up and smell the coffee and get off your high horse pal.

Stop posting about people having their heads in the sand just because they their challenge your views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

What are you hoping for?

Like when will you stop cocooning?

Are you willing to continue indefinitely or maybe until a vaccine in 3-4 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Not a virus but TB wasn't a bed of roses here or still today abroad. HIV isn't great either, neither is polio or malaria/dengue/zika/ebola in other countries or even the rise of EV D68 recently etc etc:(

I know a lot of them are beatable nowadays but I presume you mean Ireland?:)

And you are doing exactly the same thing now and also previously when you attacked posters who didn`t agree with your blinkered "facts" and have also accussed otherswho didn`t agree wityh you a beig igorat. and were also previously told by a mod to quit your hyperbole and you now have the brass neck to accuse me of being aggressive. Wake up and smell the coffee and get off your high horse pal.

Did Ian Botham ever walk to you for Mencap?

Your a grandparent and your on boards, I doubt many are, your probably on the Skype calls and zoom to your grandkids, the vast vast majority of grandparents are not as technical as you.