Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Kivaro wrote: »
    This is a consequence of the nanny state .... unfortunately. The backbones that existed a couple of decades ago is nowhere to be seen in our elected representatives or in much of the electorate. It appears that, compared to other European countries, many Irish people have turned very soft with a lot of hand-holding required for even the most basic functions of living. It is very embarrassing.

The UK Gov was reluctant to bring in hardcore state enforcement simply because they genuinely didn't believe the public would stand for it or follow it.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    ALL of what you listed? Talk about changing the goalposts.
    Wuhan, France, Spain and Italy's lockdown rules were all stricter than ours.
    You can charge us with being slower to come out of lockdown but to pretend we were micro-managed more strictly than in other countries is fantasy stuff.

In the past 2 months my parents and siblings have been back and forth from the following countires:

- Eng & Wales
    - Holland
    - Greece
    - China

All more relaxed and sensible than Ireland.

My sister has just moved to Beijing. She is delighted to be there and she says nowhere near as micro managed as in Ireland...and this is China FFS. The city is buzzing as before just everyone wearing masks, (she lived there before).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,149 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Someone posted on here last night about the 30% myocarditis rate among BIG10 college football players.

Shocker, it’s not true.
    https://twitter.com/BonaguraESPN/status/1301644428025540608?s=20

Yeah he wouldn't be one for posting anything remotely unfounded on twitter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think this would be a good idea.
    just release a weekly figure & inform people if there is an outbreak in a certain area to social distance etc.

With the way how they report the locations by county, wouldn't that mean all the county has to social distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The way we're treating our publicans and restauranteurs at this stage is just farcical. Why the heavy handed penalties on publicans not fully complying? This has been a red herring topic for weeks meanwhile holiday homes in the west of Ireland every weekend are utterly thronged with young people having house parties that strangers inevitably get invited too.

Open pubs in a controlled environment and at least give them a bloody chance. What information do we hold about pubs that the rest of Europe (including a one hour spin up the M1 to Newry) supposedly is blatantly ignoring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

MD1990 wrote: »
    I think this would be a good idea.
    just release a weekly figure & inform people if there is an outbreak in a certain area to social distance etc.
    To be fair, if the media stopped reporting the daily numbers, people would be less inclined to seek them out. It's headline news on RTE every day.

The HSE should continue reporting the data, but the fanfare about it need to go away.

Social distancing will be with us for a while. When we're talking about outbreaks, we're talking about taking additional measures on top of hygiene and social distancing.

If we were to move to a "go back to normal unless you hear about a local outbreak" status, then the virus will take off like a rocket.

They will though need to come up with a simpler system of alert levels like New Zealand have had since April, rather than this piecemeal nonsense of tweaking the restrictions and guidance every two weeks.

In the past 2 months my parents and siblings have been back and forth from the following countires:

- Eng & Wales
    - Holland
    - Greece
    - China

All more relaxed and sensible than Ireland.

My sister has just moved to Beijing. She is delighted to be there and she says nowhere near as micro managed as in Ireland...and this is China FFS. The city is buzzing as before just everyone wearing masks, (she lived there before).

I know people might not like Leo... But he is Tanaiste of the country and even he admits that we are not living with this as well as other countries.

From all the accounts I have heard, many other countries are getting on with things and handling things a lot more sensibly than us.

I wonder is this some hatred of the bars by SD

Europe gets on with life, FF brings out the cane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Someone posted on here last night about the 30% myocarditis rate among BIG10 college football players.

Shocker, it’s not true.

Is this the one you are talking about? I'm shocked tbh.

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/reply/2058106893/post/114511741

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Shocker, it’s not true.

Everytime I see an article like that I assume it's sensationalist fearmongering bollocks.

I'm almost always correct with that assumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

Shocker, it’s not true.

Shocker....:rolleyes:

And this is the problem. I'm sure others passed that on to friends and family who passed it on to others and is now just taken as fact.

The truth wont be passed around the same way as its not as miserable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Kivaro wrote: »
    This is a consequence of the nanny state .... unfortunately. The backbones that existed a couple of decades ago is nowhere to be seen in our elected representatives or in much of the electorate. It appears that, compared to other European countries, many Irish people have turned very soft with a lot of hand-holding required for even the most basic functions of living. It is very embarrassing.

Jaysus I wish we were this hard with the bank bailouts? We rolled over fairly fast on that one . Now we are all too ‘soft’. I wouldn’t say soft or hard. I’d say dumb and dumber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭the merchant

98 new cases 0 deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

Holy **** 30-35% of big 10 athletes who tested positive had myocarditis.
    Reason for it cancelled.

https://twitter.com/EricTopol/status/1301602057967689728?s=20
    https://twitter.com/EricTopol/status/1301604281364037633?s=20

Are you going to put up a "holy **** they were so fu**in wrong sorry for yet again trawling twitter for misery and causing some people panic" type post?

98 new cases 0 deaths

Thanks Ronan. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

big syke wrote: »
    Are you going to put up a "holy **** they were so fu**in wrong sorry for yet again trawling twitter for misery and causing some people panic" type post?

So a doctor in penn state said something and retracted it? Why should I say sorry . Citizen trawled and found something. Fair play.

https://www.pscp.tv/w/ciDUMnR3LTE2MTcyMTAyMTB8MW5BS0VBUnFQcmdLTH9LljY6rwtg6UHFD7K45EgD8fdMHvtXtIRFGD4jAT0a?t=12m47s

I know people might not like Leo... But he is Tanaiste of the country and even he admits that we are not living with this as well as other countries.

From all the accounts I have heard, many other countries are getting on with things and handling things a lot more sensibly than us.

Yes and that is certainly my experience here in England. The same in Sweden and now my sister in Beijing says it is way more relexed.

Just got a message earlier saying "Beers tonight"". Don't mean to rub it in but yes I can go for beers tonight. No drama. No mandatory ordering of food. The world is not going to end. It is more civilised if anything and everyone sitting around chatting. I can get up and go to another bar or even get a cheeky burger.

Let the people decide what and how they want to play it. No need for this crazy OTT State intervention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

If my calculations are right, the 7 day average drops to 104 with 98 new cases today - the lowest number since the 18th of August

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, if the media stopped reporting the daily numbers, people would be less inclined to seek them out. It's headline news on RTE every day.

The HSE should continue reporting the data, but the fanfare about it need to go away.

Social distancing will be with us for a while. When we're talking about outbreaks, we're talking about taking additional measures on top of hygiene and social distancing.

If we were to move to a "go back to normal unless you hear about a local outbreak" status, then the virus will take off like a rocket.

They will though need to come up with a simpler system of alert levels like New Zealand have had since April, rather than this piecemeal nonsense of tweaking the restrictions and guidance every two weeks.
    I'm pretty sure that in New Zealand they tell people if there was somebody who was in a particular building at a given time who has tested positive. Their reporting is much more comprehensive than our daily figures with no discernible value or meaning.

If my calculations are right, the 7 day average drops to 104 with 98 new cases today - the lowest number since the 18th of August

As suggested in the Times by several doctors the daily misery of numbers needs to stop and instead a weekly figure.
    Ridiculous meltdown each time there is a spike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

98 new cases 0 deaths

Stubbornly stable.

At least it is keeping Brexit off the news which is going to have a far worse impact than Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

France coronavirus cases remain 'exponential'
    Covid infections in France remain "exponential", according to the national health body, with more than 7,000 new coronavirus infections registered on Thursday for the second time in two days, Henry Samuel reports from Paris.

The cumulative total of confirmed cases rose to 300,181, up by 7,157, just beneath a 7,578 record set on March 31 during lockdown.

While the number of tests rose to more than 850,000 in the week of August 24 to 30, the proportion of those tested rose from 3.8 per cent to 4.3 per cent in that time and continues to rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭eigrod

Dr Ronan Glynn on the Late Late Show tonight

SD making a right fool of himself again on the news

fritzelly wrote: »

Are you surprised? Talked a reasonably good game in opposition but when he had to step up he has shown himself to be incompetent and creating one mess after another. I think MM is going to rue the day he accepted SD into the party let alone made him MOH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Last 24 hours will probably be another day of 12,500 - 13,000 tests completed. Which will give in the region of 130-190 positive tests if the rate remains the same.

If it's 98 new cases today, my concern is that will leave us with a backlog of 100ish positive cases (30-odd yesterday, 60-odd today) going into the weekend.

OTOH if the positivity rate today is well under 1% then it could be a very good news day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,828 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Thats nuts... whats happening there in France jesus..

Then again... im outside a starbucks in sutton sitting in my car in the carpark right now.. there are about 10/12 what id guess are 5th years... in close proximity... messing... play fighting.... ONE kid with a mask... just like nothing is up... going home to family... probably siblings or parents with asthmas or other underlying issues... depressing... you can educate all day but if kids dont wanna listen... parents though.. gotta start parenting.. i know that is unfashionable but....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,301 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

fritzelly wrote: »

Someone should ask him for a list of all meals he has had in pubs and retaurants for the last 28 days and if he would mind them being published in the media.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Nobody has concerns like Ireland does.

We flat out refuse to try living with this virus. Only a fool would try to suggest otherwise.

Show me other countries that have tried to dictate how far you can travel, how long you can spend at a place, how much money you need to spend on food, how many people you can have in your own house...

I can't think of any country that has tried to baby / micro manage its people.
    odyssey06 wrote: »
    Scotland, Italy, France, Spain, England, Florida...
    You don't think other countries had restrictions on how far you could travel, for what reason, whether you could even have visitors, when you could leave your house and for what reason; whether you could leave your province.

In Florida they were tracking the VAT receipts on only allowing primarily food based pubs to open.

You need to pay more attention.

This is from Scotland:
    https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-what-you-can-and-cannot-do/pages/seeing-friends-and-family/#:~:text=up%20to%203%20households%20can,to%20observe%20this%20daily%20limit&text=stay%202%20metres%20apart%20from,need%20to%20distance%20from%20anyone

If meeting socially indoors (for example in your home or in a pub, café or restaurant):
    up to 3 households can meet at a time, up to 8 people in total
    do not meet more than 4 other households a day, except for under 18s who do not need to observe this daily limit
    you can stay overnight
    stay 2 metres apart from people outside your household, except for under 12s who do not need to distance from anyone
    you can use the toilet in someone else's house

From France:
    The basic premise of the lockdown in France is that you are only allowed out of your home to make essential trips, and on every trip you need to have with you a signed, dated and timed permission form.

https://www.thelocal.fr/20200331/can-i-contest-a-fine-for-breaking-lockdown-rules-in-france

That's one I hadn't heard about Florida doing checking of VAT receipts to allow only food pubs to open - can you link something on this, sorry can't find it (not suggesting it's incorrect).

Jack Daniels point is absolutely fair imo. You'll find lots of countries doing certain things, but Ireland is doing it all. His main points about how long you can spend at a place, how much money you need to spend on food are OTT precautions only applying here. Scotland as you linked has a limit on people, which is worldwide, but isn't saying get the feck out after 1.5 hours and make sure you eat a substantial meal worth €9 (jesus, even the cost factor is bureaucratic nonsense, I'd nearly understand a minimum amount of calories e.g. plate of chips :) ).

The France reference is from last March, not sure if it is still in place today.

Regardless, the Government response led by Varadkar/Harris (neither of whom I like, but am beginning to admire when faced with MM and SD), called on the Irish people to make sacrifices to flatten the curve, and while not eradicating the virus, allow our health services to cope. Achieved. What's going on now is a feckin mess, there's no two ways about it. And most of the population are rightly getting sick of it.