If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Have NPHET lost the attention of people?

Its funny and sad, but I have read and listened to lots of stuff during Covid from the Government, NPHET, medical experts, scientists, journalists etc. A lot of people that earn huge salaries.

And I get a lot more common sense talking to friends and people on boards that are probably average people in average jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

I think they would regain a lot of public confidence if they released the reduction positive test numbers, trend lines of cases, hospitalisations and so on that they deem are required reduce restrictions or conversely to tighten things back up if the figures are bad.

They are meant to be working with a plan led by
    the science and statistical modelling not gut feeling so they should have this type of information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yeah...i'm pretty much done.

I'll continue with hand washing and masks but the narrative is stale. Those in the high risk categories need to be the focus of restrictions and the rest of society needs to carry on. As has already been said, we now need to live with the virus and get on with life, i'm done with cowering and as for the gardai kicking down my door without a warrant - No. Just No.

Those who found they quite like the new normal are welcome to keep it.

The NPHET spiel, in which they spin the message for fear that giving all the facts will lead to a lack of fear is losing credibility by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,159 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I didn't vote for NPHET to run our country but that is this piss weak governments fault for giving them too much influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Those in the high risk categories need to be the focus of restrictions and the rest of society needs to carry on.
    Will that include everyone who comes into contact with the "high risk" categories?

Will nurses and doctors also have to be restricted? How about nursing home workers - I'm presuming they will also have to be cut off from the rest of society "carrying on"? Will any family with someone who is immunosuppressed have to isolate themselves from society? How about someone who is in a vulnerable category and works, I presume they will have to give up their job?

How long will they have to keep this up - forever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

https://twitter.com/i/status/1301430902405451776

Have to say, like her or loathe her, Ciara Kelly is spot on re Covid and has been for months.

In late Feb/early March she opined it was a bit like a flu, I heard her as I was driving so nearly crashed though a hedge.

hmmm wrote: »
    Will that include everyone who comes into contact with the "high risk" categories?

Will nurses and doctors also have to be restricted? How about nursing home workers - I'm presuming they will also have to be cut off from the rest of society "carrying on"? Will any family with someone who is immunosuppressed have to isolate themselves from society? How about someone who is in a vulnerable category and works, I presume they will have to give up their job?

How long will they have to keep this up - forever?
    I'll leave that up to the individual citizen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

In late Feb/early March she opined it was a bit like a flu, I heard her as I was driving so nearly crashed though a hedge.

Do you think she was the only person in Feb/March that thought this was only a flu. The HSE was busy emptying hospital beds into Nursing homes that worked out so well.

The next 2 weeks are critical.

That old chestnut again. Like clockwork, every 2 weeks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭karlitob

sydthebeat wrote: »
    no one at all has questioned the individual actions required.
    These were required during lockdown, and are still required today.... and even after all this has passed they are still actions which are positive and should be continued.

Nothing at all to do with this thread though

It’s exactly the point of the thread. The OP specifically referenced how the public are not taking anymore notice of the basics of infection prevention and control. And asking had NPHET lost the attention of the people.

You, and other people on here, moved off the point and politicised the situation.

quote="gifted;114506154"]When this pandemic first occurred NPHET were out and advising a lot of precautions which people actually took notice of....just recently I've noticed more and more people that I talk to are saying they're taking no more notice of NPHET as they just seem to be repeating the same warnings as before...hygiene...social distancing...etc....and just seem to be going through the motions now at these briefings they give.

Have they lost the attention of the people?[/quote]

To answer the OPs question - most definitely.

And I think there’s a few reasons why - it’s very hard to keep the entire public’s attention on anything for any length of time. And secondly, people risk assess for themselves all the time. At the start of this, it was all a complete unknown and people had real and genuine fear that they or their loved ones could really be harmed. Since then, while people may know others who have been infected, and maybe even some quite harmed and affected - most of the population don’t know many or even anyone who has been harmed by Covid. So it’s hard to stay focussed on prevention when the harm is not near - no different to why people drink or smoke or don’t exercise ....you know it’s not healthy, it’s just very hard to see an effect that’s years away.

rob316 wrote: »
    I didn't vote for NPHET to run our country but that is this piss weak governments fault for giving them too much influence.

Blah blah blah.

You didn’t vote for the guards who enforce the law, the teachers who teach our children, the civil service who implement policy, you didn’t vote for nurses who care for patients.

How is justice policy developed if government aren’t informed by experts in AGS and the dept of justice....same with teachers, etc etc.

What did you vote for exactly?

How do you expect a handful of people in government to ‘run’ the country? Or are you only focussed on evidence based expert advice from people who have given their careers and a lifetime to know this information.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1301430902405451776

Have to say, like her or loathe her, Ciara Kelly is spot on re Covid and has been for months.

Yeah, she’s not wrong but to be fair
    I) the HSE/DoH would, as always, be crucified for not providing information and be accused of ‘cover ups’
    II) she’s has her own show on a major media station - stop talking about it then. No one is forcing you to talk about it just because there’s a briefing by the HSE/DoH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

To answer the original question I fear the answer is yes for some sections of society

Some of the more let’s say dysfunctional elements of society were never on board on the NPHET recommendations

This has grown to include the disillusioned in the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Its funny and sad, but I have read and listened to lots of stuff during Covid from the Government, NPHET, medical experts, scientists, journalists etc. A lot of people that earn huge salaries.

And I get a lot more common sense talking to friends and people on boards that are probably average people in average jobs.

By common sense you mean people that agree with you. This same stuff is happening on a global scale. It’s not simply in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I was very much on board for the first few months, when both NPHET and the government - in fairness to them - explained to us what we were being asked to do, why we were doing it and what the outcome would look like within a reasonable time frame. Now they're saying I'm alright to risk my health in work, where I have 15+ close contacts per day, but I can't have a few friends around for my birthday or the Guards will come after me. How are we supposed to make sense of this current regime, let alone accept it and row in behind it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,119 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Absolutely yes and that’s no harm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

By common sense you mean people that agree with you. This same stuff is happening on a global scale. It’s not simply in Ireland.

People can not watch a match from the sidelines here in Ireland, can you tell me where else watching sport outdoors is forbidden?

Denmark never closed any bars or restaurants. Think about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,402 ✭✭✭✭L1011

A lot of people might just be sick of listening to an unelected government

The Government were elected - they commanded more than 50% of the vote

That's how PR-STV works.

Just because one political party in particular is upset about a voting system (that they are entirely in favour of in NI...) and spreading gibberish about "unelected Taoiseach" and so on doesn't change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Ned Led Zeppo

People can not watch a match from the sidelines here in Ireland, can you tell me where else watching sport outdoors is forbidden?

The UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Well she had it herself and worked right through it from home. Also she is a GP, maybe she knows a thing or two about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

North Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,766 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Denmark never closed any bars or restaurants. Think about that.

They may not be messy drunks, like many Irish are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

The UK.

They had fans back in for the rugby last week, and football down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Wanderer78 wrote: »

You have obviously never been out with Danish people, they are cracked. Its a myth we are messy drunks. I travelled most of Europe in my last job and most countries are just as messy if not worse than us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well she had it herself and worked right through it from home. Also she is a GP, maybe she knows a thing or two about it.

She knew something about it once she got it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,402 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Wanderer78 wrote: »

They drink quite a bit- at home. And its quite obvious why:

Bottle of Jameson (they do drink quite a bit of Irish whiskey) - €16 (price from Fotex, major high end store). 6 500ml cans of Royal Export (a Danish beer that isn't Carlsberg, its fine) - €4.80 (Price from Rema 1000, a discount store cause it appears Fotex doesn't sell beer!)

500ml of beer in a bar in Copenhagen - try a tenner. Often sold in smaller servings for what look like decent prices (4-5) until you realise the size of the glass!

The price differential home:pub compared to here is insane.

If you just mean how they act when drunk... just go drink with some. Its a Scandi trait that Ireland got it from.

She knew something about it once she got it!

She says what she says having had it....that seems to be lost on you, most people here have not had it so in my view she knows better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

No. I think they've done an outstanding job tbh.

niallo27 wrote: »
    You have obviously never been out with Danish people, they are cracked. Its a myth we are messy drunks. I travelled most of Europe in my last job and most countries are just as messy if not worse than us.

Definitely, you should see them on the Canary Islands in the Winter drinking pints with Breakfast. Make the Irish look like light weights