Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

Boggles wrote: »
    Or they may have been sent to school awaiting on a test result.

The question is, is that policy or reckless parenting?

Or is the media fúcking this up and they are not positive cases at all but close contacts of someone awaiting a test who turned out positive.

There is not a single shred of evidence that a single child was sent to school while awaiting a test result, yet you are inventing a narrative to assume the worst based on nothing but supposition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

There is not a single shred of evidence that a single child was sent to school while awaiting a test result, yet you are inventing a narrative to assume the worst based on nothing but supposition

Supposition based on a very limited time line where community testing averages 3 days.

With a 98% + negativity rate, I don't see how that could be a mental concept.

Boggles wrote: »
    Supposition based on a very limited time line where community testing averages 3 days.

With a 98% + negativity rate, I don't see how that could be a mental concept.

The median is about 2 days, and mean just slightly higher, meaning more than 50% are completed in less than 50 hours. School kids are also getting prioritised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭sekond

We were specifically told (not that I needed to be), that while waiting for a test, and then when waiting for the test result, that not only the child but the whole household should remain home. Officially child self-isolating, family restricting movements, but it amounted to the same thing. So certainly in my area there is no policy for sending the child to school while waiting for test results.

The median is about 2 days, and mean just slightly higher, meaning more than 50% are completed in less than 50 hours. School kids are also getting prioritised

We were 32 hours from first call to GP to test result. Which included wait for call back from GP, and wait for test appointment.

School kids are also getting prioritised

Are they?

Is not aspirational and hasn't happened yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

sekond wrote: »
    We were specifically told (not that I needed to be), that while waiting for a test, and then when waiting for the test result, that not only the child but the whole household should remain home. Officially child self-isolating, family restricting movements, but it amounted to the same thing. So certainly in my area there is no policy for sending the child to school while waiting for test results.

Responsible people like yourself wouldn't send them.

Others, who can't wait to get rid of their children for a few hours would (you know who you are).

Blondini wrote: »

Others, who can't wait to get rid of their children for a few hours would (you know who you are).

I'll confess that over the last two days as she bounced around the house, interrupting video calls, looking for snacks and clearly being perfectly well other than a nasty sounding cough, I wished I was one of those people.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Digs

We rang the GP Monday at 5pm. Referred for testing at that time. Received a text msg at 9:05am Tuesday morning with a test for that day at 3:35pm. Received a text today (Thursday) at 10:17am stating negative.

Child being tested was 21 months. Older sisters 4 & 7 were taken out of school Tuesday and Wednesday, Thursday as precaution. Eldest went back to school today at 11 as soon as result received and other girl will return tomorrow.

We had 65hr turnaround from ringing GP to result and 38hr from test to result.

My only slight gripe is I specifically had to ask the GP and then the tester if I should be keeping siblings at home (obviously I know they should) but others might “choose” to be less informed so the point should be pushed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Made the same point the other day and got attacked for it. Some people aren't fit to raise a dog never mind children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

All in all, I think the school re-opening has been a great success.
    Hundreds of thousands of children are back in school and learning, as they should.

A huge leap in trying to get back to normal.
    Sure, there will be some infections where classes will be sent home or schools closed for a time, but over all its a positive development.
    I think now, its time for teachers to do their job and teach, and not act like health consultants or engage in moral panic about 'someone on Twitter said this!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

markodaly wrote: »
    Hundreds of thousands of children are back in school and learning, as they should.

Sure, there will be some infections where classes will be sent home or schools closed for a time, but over all its a positive development.
    I think now, its time for teachers to do their job and teach, and not act like health consultants or engage in moral panic about 'someone on Twitter said this!'

Marko me auld mucker. If it has been such a success why do you feel it’s time for teachers to do their job? You seem a little confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Teachers are teaching. Stop attempting to create a narrative that they aren't or don't want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

While I'll agree with most of what you've said, I do feel for the teachers, in reality they are right at the pointy end now, where our healthcare providers were at the beginning and still are, the teachers aren't getting anything like the same sympathy.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Teachers are teaching. Stop attempting to create a narrative that they aren't or don't want to.

Some are indeed teaching, but just a look back on this thread for the past few weeks, one will see large scale neurosis about the prospect of teachers going back into a class, with all the moral panic coming from their unions to boot.

The sky has not fallen in, and people are not dropping dead like flies.

bladespin wrote: »
    While I'll agree with most of what you've said, I do feel for the teachers, in reality they are right at the pointy end now, where our healthcare providers were at the beginning and still are, the teachers aren't getting anything like the same sympathy.

That is their own fault to be honest. Constantly complaining and giving out, while all the public want of them is for them to teach their kids. Nothing more, nothing less.

Some are indeed teaching, but just a look back on this thread for the past few weeks, one will see large scale neurosis about the prospect of teachers going back into a class, with all the moral panic coming from their unions to boot.

In your own words the reopening has been a great success. Who do you think is responsible for this success?

The health authorities and the government for not giving in to spurious hectoring from teachers/Unions/Media/Twitter mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭booooonzo

That is their own fault to be honest. Constantly complaining and giving out, while all the public want of them is for them to teach their kids. Nothing more, nothing less.

you're a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Made the same point the other day and got attacked for it. Some people aren't fit to raise a dog never mind children

Ah here, leave it out :cool:

its time for teachers to do their job and teach,

Yeah, the teachers are not due back in until next week, they will ruin it forever one then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭alroley

wtf do you think has been going on in this great success of the schools re-opening?

I don't know if anyone suggested that exact scenario.

But most schools have been back since only Monday and a lot of them are only at half capacity until next week.

I'd hold off on the "Mission Accomplished" for a while yet George.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Schools not even open a week in post primary, many haven't even all students back yet, another school getting covid cases every day, fantastic success so far ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

My daughter started PP. An induction day for students and parents last Friday. Uneventful. SD and staggered arrival times and first years only. Tuesday was the real restart. First year and third year are in the same lunch area/staggered break. Tuesday was well organised and daughters feedback was good.

Since then it has all gone down hill. The school bus is disorganized already. No enforcement of who sits beside who. The hand sanitizers aren't being refilled in the school. Toilets crowded and filthy. No supervision during lunch breaks so no SD in operation. The corridors are rammed when changing class. That said the class rooms are restricted to 18 students at 1m apart. 4 students use an over flow area. Daughter has her own laptop which she will need for this over flow set up. Only 22 in her class in total. Lockers aren't been used, so its a repack job every evening. No big deal. That's how I had to do it in the 80s. For me it looks to be going backwards already, but I'll keep my eye on it, especially if there is a confirmed case in her year/class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Schools not even open a week in post primary, many haven't even all students back yet, another school getting covid cases every day, fantastic success so far ffs

Those covid cases have happened regardless of the schools having opened or not,they did not happen because the schools opened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,697 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Grandeeod wrote: »
    My daughter started PP. An induction day for students and parents last Friday. Uneventful. SD and staggered arrival times and first years only. Tuesday was the real restart. First year and third year are in the same lunch area/staggered break. Tuesday was well organised and daughters feedback was good.

Since then it has all gone down hill. The school bus is disorganized already. No enforcement of who sits beside who. The hand sanitizers aren't being refilled in the school. Toilets crowded and filthy. No supervision during lunch breaks so no SD in operation. The corridors are rammed when changing class. That said the class rooms are restricted to 18 students at 1m apart. 4 students use an over flow area. Daughter has her own laptop which she will need for this over flow set up. Only 22 in her class in total. Lockers aren't been used, so its a repack job every evening. No big deal. That's how I had to do it in the 80s. For me it looks to be going backwards already, but I'll keep my eye on it, especially if there is a confirmed case in her year/class.

That's not very hopeful :(

To thine own self be true

The health authorities and the government for not giving in to spurious hectoring from teachers/Unions/Media/Twitter mob.

I hope they are all Garda vetted and registered with the Teaching Council!!! How are they coping with Aistear and Mata sa Rang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭virginmediapls

booooonzo wrote: »
    you're a clown

I'd say he is more of a complete and total gowl.

And a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Grandeeod wrote: »

Since then it has all gone down hill. The school bus is disorganized already. No enforcement of who sits beside who.

This is something that I've been wondering, who is meant to enforce things on the bus?