Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,016 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Any reported cases of someone asymptomatic becoming ill more than 14 days after initial infection? Given we are 6 months into this I am sure there must be plenty.

Ye have followed drunkmonkey down a rabbit hole and are now flailing wildly and descending down an equally spurious rabbit hole

Another Dr , Cardiologist in the Mater, has said that cases who were asymptomatic , with no underlying conditions , being admitted to the Mater with inflammatory heart conditions.
    Reported in the IT last week .
    Already posted here a week ago so link there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭babyboom

I am sorry to hear that. Can I ask what age bracket they would fall into?

As far as I know they were in their 80s. Their grandson tested positive but asymptomatic as did 6 of his work colleagues. He works in a pub which is still open apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I know they've not gone with NPHET advice before

https://twitter.com/ShaneBeattyNews/status/1301270586111463426?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Varadkar is incredibly machiavellian

When the pubs open there should be a thread get together, somewhere with bouncers preferably.

Clowns to the left of me , jokers to the right of me , Here I am , stuck in the middle....

If an asymptomatic person can get myocarditis then how is it a respiratory disease?

Viral myocarditis is a result of the immune response.

https://pmj.bmj.com/content/77/903/4?__cf_chl_jschl_tk__=bd6f5a3aa140b3a48c3c5a371416fc33027630c8-1599082319-0-AVc-6wap2S4EUJTyxq3ALuDmaU2qrpPeKLVEHdCmqeuw6XcBrBApD_7kGwbyRVxs8a3AwvVSxvzXsabzECrMtgl2naCQvLg7dMAmKP1PzxfjMrGX6Ago57LnN6OGxR48Y18WpfODawwqJtDcM2OKIa30l7A7lo16qJ6orFx_wMjGP_G4ugjBcKj6UHHLm4deGhyHtkEekhV7QCsjQECHaZGCAinyHG8ZoaOYR9hKtKQ2k4uSgk2LnVo9hLWR7d3Uw7S89Axgm0FNIzDsXAM32aw66rzPmnpbjDpfvgqtN0ui

We are also detecting mild myocarditis in patients showing no symptoms of the condition but are detecting them due to the current studies. I can’t find and studies that examined patients who recently had a mild or asymptomatic adenovirus (common cold) to try to detect mild myocarditis even though it is one of the most common trigger viruses for the condition

Yes ! + 100 on this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I think it's time someone informs Leo he is part of government, we already have an opposition. Although it is time balance is brought into the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,216 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

"A strong case" has been put forward by Vintners according to Niall Collins, FF, on the tonight show.

What was their strong case, says Matt Cooper?

"Eh, eh, eh it's a strong case" says Collins. No point actually explaining that strong case, because Niall Collins doesn't actually know the specifics, aside from being told to get that line out - it's important to get that sound bite out there before changing the subject, with a distinct look of spoofing unpreparedness in his eyes. Please don't ask me the details Matt.

Matt Cooper let's him off - sure he's only tonight's government lackey sent on to spout and swallow shyte, go easy on the man - because it's enough to be seen asking the question.

SF, who have said a grand total of fck all about pubs being closed up to this point, now figure it's an easy political win so they might as get behind it while the going is good. The publicans have made a "strong case" says fellow guest, SF's David Cullinane.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Pawinho wrote: »
    It is a joke.
    Next lockdown when they introduce digital currency (winter 2021), ,destroy economy, lets people be depend on state, introduce Universal Basic Income and then download wallet on your phone to receive your payment.
    Then global reset will be done. New Bretton Woods.
    Easy peasy.
    But now let people talk about how deadly is covid.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonbrett/2020/03/24/digital-dollar-and-digital-wallet-legislation-surfaces-in-the-us-senate/

Nobody in media talk about money. I wonder why?
    Please read the Opening Post and in particular the warning to take Conspiracy theories to the relevant forum (which is not this one)

Amazing how he always manages to not be there when bad news is being delivered, but is always there first to a microphone when ever the positive kites are being flown.

I didn't actually give Leo credit for being that slick of a political operator.

Viral myocarditis is a result of the immune response.

https://pmj.bmj.com/content/77/903/4?__cf_chl_jschl_tk__=bd6f5a3aa140b3a48c3c5a371416fc33027630c8-1599082319-0-AVc-6wap2S4EUJTyxq3ALuDmaU2qrpPeKLVEHdCmqeuw6XcBrBApD_7kGwbyRVxs8a3AwvVSxvzXsabzECrMtgl2naCQvLg7dMAmKP1PzxfjMrGX6Ago57LnN6OGxR48Y18WpfODawwqJtDcM2OKIa30l7A7lo16qJ6orFx_wMjGP_G4ugjBcKj6UHHLm4deGhyHtkEekhV7QCsjQECHaZGCAinyHG8ZoaOYR9hKtKQ2k4uSgk2LnVo9hLWR7d3Uw7S89Axgm0FNIzDsXAM32aw66rzPmnpbjDpfvgqtN0ui

We are also detecting mild myocarditis in patients showing no symptoms of the condition but are detecting them due to the current studies. I can’t find and studies that examined patients who recently had a mild or asymptomatic adenovirus (common cold) to try to detect mild myocarditis even though it is one of the most common trigger viruses for the condition

Eh, yes , we know thanks .

This virus is known to trigger an inflammatory response, in some it causes respiratory symptoms , which are the ones that are used to describe 'symptomatic ' illness.
    However more and more other silent inflammatory conditions are being found such as myocarditis and neurological conditions, which as yet appear rare as some of these are only being studied now in presenting patients .

This is not a virus to be minimising .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Arghus wrote: »
    Amazing how he always manages to not be there when bad news is being delivered, but is always there first to a microphone when ever the positive kites are being flown.

Eh was he not the one who announced the first lockdown?

He can’t win with some people.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Another Dr , Cardiologist in the Mater, has said that cases who were asymptomatic , with no underlying conditions , being admitted to the Mater with inflammatory heart conditions.
    Reported in the IT last week .
    Already posted here a week ago so link there somewhere.

No one is denying Covid can cause myocarditis. Just like the flu, the cold, mumps, chickenpox and a range of other viruses. If someone is admitted to hospital with myocarditis and we don’t know the cause it is usually put down to being triggered by an unknown virus, that may well have been asymptomatic with whatever that virus was.

Also, most cases of myocarditis will resolve themselves with the “sufferer” being unaware of ever having had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Arghus wrote: »

Varadkar gave us the worst of news during the worst of the pandemic. He now realises it's time to open back up but he can't make that call . I'm far from a FG supporter for what it's worth.

Also, most cases of myocarditis will resolve themselves with the “sufferer” being unaware of ever having had it.

...because they've died

Now that is just wrong.

Wrong or bullsh1t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Pawinho

Beasty wrote: »
    Please read the Opening Post and in particular the warning to take Conspiracy theories to the relevant forum (which is not this one)
    Conspiracy theories?
    https://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonbrett/2020/06/23/digital-dollar-hearing-round-2-us-senate-to-examine-future-of-money/

Do you think change monetary system could be introduce like that? Open your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Being mild or asymptomatic doesn’t mean you are immune. Severe have much stronger antibodies. Asymptomatic may produce strong tcell response but no evidence of that yet.

https://twitter.com/alinouriphd/status/1301269093002162176?s=21

Eh, yes , we know thanks .

This virus is known to trigger an inflammatory response, in some it causes respiratory symptoms , which are the ones that are used to describe 'symptomatic ' illness.
    However more and more other silent inflammatory conditions are being found such as myocarditis and neurological conditions, which as yet appear rare as some of these are only being studied now in presenting patients .

This is not a virus to be minimising .

It’s not a virus to be exaggerating either. Myocarditis is far more common than we believe, simply because most cases have no lasting effects and are often not noticed, and is triggered by a vast array of viruses, not just COVID-19.

Covid will kill more people than the flu or common cold, but the range of complications associated with it are very similar to those virus including inflammatory diseases, auto immune diseases, chronic fatigue and others. The death rate is high compared to a lot of other conditions, but the Long term effects aren’t new, they may just be more frequent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

And worst of all he's getting away with it

No one is denying Covid can cause myocarditis. Just like the flu, the cold, mumps, chickenpox and a range of other viruses. If someone is admitted to hospital with myocarditis and we don’t know the cause it is usually put down to being triggered by an unknown virus, that may well have been asymptomatic with whatever that virus was.

i don't disagree, but your whataboutery ...

Having 2 family members affected with previous virus infection I unfortunately know all about viral inflammatory complications.

One is totally recovered as far as we can see, and hope...
    the other has a badly damaged heart , at a young age , but lives as healthy a life as he can , albeit having nearly died a couple of times.

Point is we don't know what this virus brings and it is more dangerous than a lot of other around at present , as there is no vaccination or treatment.

All of those you mention were similarly dreaded not so long ago , but have been managed or vaccinated against now and are not such a threat.

...because they've died

You don’t even know what it is do you?

Acute myocarditis can cause permanent heart damage or even sudden death, however most cases resolve themselves with no permanent damage, and that’s just the ones that are detected.

It’s not a virus to be exaggerating either. Myocarditis is far more common than we believe, simply because most cases have no lasting effects and are often not noticed, and is triggered by a vast array of viruses, not just COVID-19.

Covid will kill more people than the flu or common cold, but the range of complications associated with it are very similar to those virus including inflammatory diseases, auto immune diseases, chronic fatigue and others. The death rate is high compared to a lot of other conditions, but the Long term effects aren’t new, they may just be more frequent

I am not exaggerating , are you minimising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Pawinho wrote: »
    It is a joke.
    Next lockdown when they introduce digital currency (winter 2021), ,destroy economy, lets people be depend on state, introduce Universal Basic Income and then download wallet on your phone to receive your payment.
    Then global reset will be done. New Bretton Woods.
    Easy peasy.
    But now let people talk about how deadly is covid.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonbrett/2020/03/24/digital-dollar-and-digital-wallet-legislation-surfaces-in-the-us-senate/

Nobody in media talk about money. I wonder why?

Feck it, the jig is up lads. Those people playing dead globally, you can get up.now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,510 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

such a stupid take the government has been rejecting NPHET recommendations for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,510 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

I don’t get the Irish Examiner headline, its new that over 75’s are testing positive? erm were a loads testing positive in the spring? ie030920page1-1015x1536.jpghttps://www.broadsheet.ie/2020/09/02/thursdays-papers-48

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Eh was he not the one who announced the first lockdown?

He can’t win with some people.

Back when people were scared and a lockdown was widely supported. His personal approval ratings rocketed immediately afterwards. You are missing my point.

Any unpopular decision during the Summer was more or less left to NPHET to announce. Anytime good news about phases or, even better, speeding them up was being announced - you could bet your bottom dollar Leo would be at that press conference.

Anytime there's a whiff of unpopular decisions then you won't find Leo at that announcement. MM, Donelley, fck it, you might even see Éamonn Ryan there for the craic. It's no harm to have the media asking why is the Tainiste noticably absent, it's hardly because he disapproves of these unpopular decisions is it...

Anytime there's a balls up that seems vaguely FF in origin, there will be whisperings already out in media that Leo strongly disapproves of all this. Any good news or potentially popular ideas will have his name nebulously attached to it in media reports a few days beforehand.

He's become a way slicker operator in how to not be associated with unpopular ideas in the media and the minds of the public. That isn't necessarily a criticism, it's a display of political skill to be honest. He's better than I gave him credit for.

You seem to be dodging the question a bit.

We know (or we have googled) that other viruses can cause similar ailments in people.
    The point is the scale of it - how many people right now are suffering from a wide range of symptoms connected to covid?
    Anecdotally it seems like there's a huge amount, but that's completely unverified.

You don’t even know what it is do you?

Acute myocarditis can cause permanent heart damage or even sudden death, however most cases resolve themselves with no permanent damage, and that’s just the ones that are detected.

I do know what it is, I was just trying to be funny

sorry