Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

@KKV please don’t put that 10W40 in the car anyway. That Megane would have a DPF being 2015 so it needs Low SAPS ACEA C3 RN0720 spec which is typically 5W30 sometimes 5W40 meets to above also. In other words if the oil is dirt cheap then it’s most likely the wrong oil. If you use the incorrect oil it will mess up the DPF.

Mobil Super 3000 or Castrol GTX 5w30 both meet this spec.

CIP4 wrote: »
    @KKV please don’t put that 10W40 in the car anyway. That Megane would have a DPF being 2015 so it needs Low SAPS ACEA C3 RN0720 spec which is typically 5W30 sometimes 5W40 meets to above also. In other words if the oil is dirt cheap then it’s most likely the wrong oil. If you use the incorrect oil it will mess up the DPF.

Mobil Super 3000 or Castrol GTX 5w30 both meet this spec.

I'm not claiming to be an oil expert, but is the 10w40 not supposed to be better for prolonged higher temperatures (ie; me sitting in the car for 12+ hours straight)?

Sounds great! I think you were right not to get too caught up in spec's. Id sooner a better overall car with a few less toys. Day to day once a car has central locking and electric windows anything after that is luxury to an extent.

Best of luck with it, post a few pics when you get your hands on it.

Yeah, I agree. If I have Air-Con and Cruise Control I'm generally a happy camper. Anything beyond that is me probably being picky. Ability to play bluetooth music is a benefit (the screen on the car had a bluetooth symbol on the audio menu, where you could choose CD, AUX input etc. but the bluetooth symbol was blacked out a bit).

I'm hoping it's not a case of bringing it to Renault to have it "enabled", but more just a case of i hadn't got my phone bluetooth on to pair. Either way, it'll be grand, but i broke my Phone 3.5 jack so bluetooth would be handy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Kkv if suggest if your getting oil go to likes of autocare, get the 25ltr drum if going to do yourself, I've done this with Octavia and Mondeo as ran them on.....

They have 24 month service interval or 20k km or there about. As with the mileage your doing there is no need to be doing early oil changes as you aren't stop starting constantly.
    Obviously you will hit the km interval as I've done now myself 3 times since I got the megane.

Find it a super car but as it 86hp it's dead and just no fun at all..... Has all the gadgets though but I do have difficulty getting in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Lads can someone clarify something for me? My jimny failed it's nct on a rear bearing so it's 30 days to get it retested or it's a full test again. Question is, is it 30 days to book a re-test or does it have to be tested within those 30 days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Wailin wrote: »
    Lads can someone clarify something for me? My jimny failed it's nct on a rear bearing so it's 30 days to get it retested or it's a full test again. Question is, is it 30 days to book a re-test or does it have to be tested within those 30 days?

Tested within those few days.

KKV, having worked in Micks... Don't buy oil, it'll be delivered smashed and leaking everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

@kkv well wear. Those Megan's last well if given a little care. I failed to break ours!

Tested within those few days.

KKV, having worked in Micks... Don't buy oil, it'll be delivered smashed and leaking everywhere.

Ahh.. a bit late.. I ordered antifreeze, too, and an air freshener.. if it all starts mixing the postman might think he's delivering a (scented) bomb. :o

I bought deflectors, too. Oil says 'in stock' and can ship tomorrow. Deflectors say 'in stock' but wont post out to me until next wednesday. I don't grasp how it's any different, unless they're lying, and mean 'in stock' with their supplier, who ships it to them, and they ship it to me...?

Also, unrelated, but does anyone know of anywhere to get cheap snow foam? Halfords have 5ltrs for ~€15. Seems to be decent value, but before I get some tomorrow, i wonder am I missing anything?

(They used to sell that in 25ltr drums, i picked it up twice - was great value, but they don't have it anymore) :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

ba_barabus wrote: »
    @kkv well wear. Those Megan's last well if given a little care. I failed to break ours!

Nor I. Over 10 years fairless ownership, apart from track rods needing replacing. There fact it was a diesel, no longer a requirement for us, was the main reason to sell.

Ahh.. a bit late.. I ordered antifreeze, too, and an air freshener.. if it all starts mixing the postman might think he's delivering a (scented) bomb. :o

I bought deflectors, too. Oil says 'in stock' and can ship tomorrow. Deflectors say 'in stock' but wont post out to me until next wednesday. I don't grasp how it's any different, unless they're lying, and mean 'in stock' with their supplier, who ships it to them, and they ship it to me...?

In stock can mean in Park West, or in the suppliers, or in the suppliers suppliers, or in the UK warehouse (which is now gone) and you won't be told if there's something missing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I've a mad horn atm for an LS460

Also Hi

I've a mad horn atm for an LS460

Also Hi

What's for swaps Jim :pac:

A big bag of 50's

What's your budget :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I'm not claiming to be an oil expert, but is the 10w40 not supposed to be better for prolonged higher temperatures (ie; me sitting in the car for 12+ hours straight)?

Nope the correct grade oil will be suitable for long run times. 5W30 for example is the viscosity when the oil is cold and then at operating temperature. Obviously a correctly running engine should keep oil at a fairly steady operating temperature no mater how long it runs using the oil intercooler and all that stuff.

Standard 10w40 would be high ash content oil which will block a dpf eventually.

What's your budget :P

I'll have to check the size of the bags i currently have.

Depends on the car tbh

After one in a darker colour with a black interior, cream and walnut combo looks like a coffin.

The Megane RS with KW's and semi slicks has my poor arse broke, i need to waft.

I'll have to check the size of the bags i currently have.

Depends on the car tbh

After one in a darker colour with a black interior, cream and walnut combo looks like a coffin.

The Megane RS with KW's and semi slicks has my poor arse broke, i need to waft.

Messaged you on FB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone here have any dealings with Cassidy Gearboxes Dublin?

Aware that the wheels on the Megane look sh/te, i was talking to my brother about them and i assume my phone was listening, as i started getting ads for alloys straight away :rolleyes:

Naturally, i got curious and had a look. I've always liked the Optima wheels that Kia use, and some lad has a set for sale on t'internet:

https://www.donedeal.ie/alloyswheels-for-sale/5x114-3-alloys-5-sets-5x114/25832567

Does anyone here know anything about wheel sizes? The wheel nut fitment is the same. I changed wheels before on a car and had to fit spacers as the new wheels were buried in the wheel well, but this time I think the problem is the other way around - the Kia wheels are wider. According to this wheel site I am gonna run a tad closer to the suspension, but the image provided doesn't look like it's at all risky, and it doesnt actually say it will or won't fit (despite the site being 'will my wheels fit' haha).

Anyone got any advice? (other than laughing under yer breath). The little wheels on the Megane are the only thing that really let it down, in my opinion. Plus yer man is selling those wheels for little more than the cost of a new set of tyres, so if i sold my current wheels it'd effectively cost me nothing (assuming i run down the tyres i have a little bit first).

wheelchant.jpg

Renault: 205/55R16, 6.5Jx16, ET41, 5x114.3
    Kia: 225/45R18, 7.5Jx18, ET46, 5x114.3

Bollocks - had multiple windows open, got mixed up, and ordered the 10W40 oil off Micks. I ordered deflectors that are holding things up though, and the order isnt due to ship til next wednesday (a full week). Any hope of them letting me amend/cancel the order and get the right oil? Or will I have to post them back to them?

I don't use them very often. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Since when are 16" wheels 'little'?

The 18" ones are lower profile, which will mean a harsher ride and they will be more likely to suffer tyre/rim damage if you hit any kind of pothole.

Not your ornery onager

Bollocks - had multiple windows open, got mixed up, and ordered the 10W40 oil off Micks. I ordered deflectors that are holding things up though, and the order isnt due to ship til next wednesday (a full week). Any hope of them letting me amend/cancel the order and get the right oil? Or will I have to post them back to them?

I don't use them very often. :o

PM me your order number and the part number of the oil you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

The 2 Dealers selling the Megane estates that KKV has been posting about must be wondering why the adverts are suddenly generating so many views and no calls. Lol

One of them should reconsider their tactics and putting the battery in if the one is knackered.

I mean they will put it in when it is sold, and it isn't end of the world if the car can't start after sitting in the yard for a while, but:

1. have they considered it isn't best first impression when selling a car?

2.was that even an option for them that this car will never be sold hence they won't put it in, because I can't see any logic there tbh.

Just curious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

wonski wrote: »
    One of them should reconsider their tactics and putting the battery in if the one is knackered.

I mean they will put it in when it is sold, and it isn't end of the world if the car can't start after sitting in the yard for a while, but:

2.was that even an option for them that this car will never be sold hence they won't put it in, because I can't see any logic there tbh.

Just curious...
    Isn't that the one he bought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

It is. It worked lol.

wonski wrote: »

Just curious...

They commented that a few of the batteries are knackered. I just presumed it meant they aren't exactly bowled over with customers or perhaps some of the less desirable stock sits for a while before being bought? Although they did have some fresh stock there, including a Kadjar they were listing that day (that i thought looked nice, myself).

I think it'd make more sense to just start each car and leave it running for 5 minutes each day, but maybe it's just the two of them there, and it works out easier to just jump them if they die, if someone comes to visit them. Or wherever they're sourcing the cars, has the cars sitting for a while, too?

I'll ask them tomorrow. I'm curious myself.

Esel wrote: »

The 18" ones are lower profile, which will mean a harsher ride and they will be more likely to suffer tyre/rim damage if you hit any kind of pothole.

I've had 18" wheels before, and they're grand, but my concern is more the mechanical aspect. I can be a good judge of pothole avoidance, not so much a good judge of 'wheel might rub on suspension'.

16" isn't small, i suppose. I'm just not mad about the wheels on it for some reason. They're the only aspect of it that kinda feels a bit 'meh' in a car that I'm otherwise generally happy with.

The 90s were 20+ years ago, times have moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Since the Golf Mk3 finished production. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭E36Ross

Got a Pass/Advisory on my tracking today, Result was -5

Pass/Advisory says Its between +/- 7 to +/- 14

Am I correct in saying thats wrong? 0 would be perfectly straight and -7 to -14 would be to the left and +7 to + 14 to the right for an advisory.