Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,133 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Terrible

What's terrible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Terrible

Why terrible?

Realistically it's to be expected that we'll see cases that impact on schools. What i'm surprised at is that whole classes are being sent home/isolated when we were told that even all the people in a pod mightn't be considered close contacts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭sekond

greenspurs wrote: »
    child wakes up with a cough ..
    mother rings doc -- you have to be tested for covid …

you all have to self isolate...

mother rings partner at work.
    he informs supervisor
    he has to go home.

A cough.... a fcuking cough.
    Same as most kids get when they return to school , every year.
    Paranioa is fever pitch.
    The hysteria is real.
    Congrats NPHET & our 'Government' .

From first realisation of "she has a cough and can't go to school" to "negative test result" in our house it was less than 36 hours, and that included waiting for the GP to open and then phone back, waiting for the test appointment etc". Its not brilliant, but it's a relatively minor inconvenience in the grand scheme of thing.

Older sister was back at school this morning as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Jaded Walker

Why terrible?

Realistically it's to be expected that we'll see cases that impact on schools. What i'm surprised at is that whole classes are being sent home/isolated when we were told that even all the people in a pod mightn't be considered close contacts.
    They're all sent home because they don't want to get caught out in their 'predictions'.
    If they leave them in school and another develops coronavirus then the schools have to close. Sending them.home means we won't be hearing about another case from the same class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Why terrible?

A high degree of caution, especially as it happened a few days into the year and our numbers are not where we want them to be. It'll serve as a useful test case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Why terrible?

I think it's probably due to the initial panic but as schools nd parents become more accustomed to there being cases we should only see pods being isolated, that is part of their purpose after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Locotastic wrote: »
    I think it's probably due to the initial panic but as schools nd parents become more accustomed to there being cases we should only see pods being isolated, that is part of their purpose after all.

My son is in 5th and there is two to a pod (two at each desk). At break time each class has own space in the yard but they don’t stick to their pods. In fairness 10/11 year olds won’t stick to playing with one child and it would be terrible to expect them too. So if a child in his class tests positive I can’t see how the whole class won’t get sent home for 14 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

Are these HSE guidelines regarding symptoms and school attendance "logical AND" or "logical OR" ?
    Or a mixture of both?

POS0rMW.png

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/40e9c-protecting-your-child-from-coronavirus/

eg. Could a child go to school with a cough if a doctor said it was ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭isup

What age are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

josip wrote: »
    Are these HSE guidelines regarding symptoms and school attendance "logical AND" or "logical OR" ?
    Or a mixture of both?

POS0rMW.png

I had a kid in here today, coughing, spluttering, runny nose and watery eyes, was at the doctor but the kid was in bits. Obviously just a cold but the kid was in no condition to be in school and they were worried about coughing as people would stare. Parents called and kid brought home for TLC.

Even if there was no coronavirus I would have rang for that child to go home as they were miserable and it was so unfair on them, wallfalling.

I wouldn't mind but the child's parents would be sensible enough but looking at this poor kid this morning should have been enough to say X needs a day in bed with TLC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭KerryConnor

Pods my arse... Of course someone sharing a room for 5 hours (perhaps 1m away), using same toilet facilities and playing in yard together is a close contact.
    If they start sending only pods home, then i think they actually want the virus to circulate for herd immunity reasons.

mohawk wrote: »
    My son is in 5th and there is two to a pod (two at each desk). At break time each class has own space in the yard but they don’t stick to their pods. In fairness 10/11 year olds won’t stick to playing with one child and it would be terrible to expect them too. So if a child in his class tests positive I can’t see how the whole class won’t get sent home for 14 days.

I think most primary schools are set up the same way, few kids to a pod indoors and altogether as a class bubble outdoors.

I don't think outdoors running around with each other for a short space of time is considered close contact is it?

Sending the whole class home will not become the norm for one positive case, if you recall all positive covid cases were admitted to hospital at the very start but very quickly only those needing medical help were admitted.

It's being very cautious initially and seeing what the public health teams deem necessary.

josip wrote: »
    Or a mixture of both?

POS0rMW.png

In all likelihood doctor will send them to be tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Pods my arse... Of course someone sharing a room for 5 hours (perhaps 1m away), using same toilet facilities and playing in yard together is a close contact.
    If they start sending only pods home, then i think they actually want the virus to circulate for herd immunity reasons.

Ah sure we all know it pods my arse, but what can we do? The kids are in their groups sorry pods and then out mixing on yard. We know children do not get as sick as adults and that a small number of them get it but we also know that they can spread it and it is airborne, so a ticking timebomb.

We can only do our best. Put the children in pods, wash their hands copious times a day, which takes 15 minutes a time, so that is about 7 times a day not including trips by the child to the bathroom. They cant share anything but the air they breathe and pe has to be no contact but also not to exhilirating to raise their exhalations thus spreading droplets and yet they can run around the yard in their class, sorry bubble, mixing the pods.

Tis a minefield to be shure. But shure be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Fair play to the principal in local school today . Due to the heavy downpour the organised lines went a bit haywire this morning . By 11 am every parent got an e mail explaining how a rainy day would be organised and where to bring the child .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

pwurple wrote: »
    That's not correct. All close contacts are tested at the moment. That's why they are running at 62,000 tests a week, with only a few hundred coming out as positive... people are tested, symptomatic or not.

Not so - not all children in a class will be automatically considered close contacts it depends on the public health team who will base their decision on a number of factors including numbers , layout SD etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

isup wrote: »

No restrictions up to and including 2nd class.

khalessi wrote: »
    I had a kid in here today, coughing, spluttering, runny nose and watery eyes, was at the doctor but the kid was in bits. Obviously just a cold but the kid was in no condition to be in school and they were worried about coughing as people would stare. Parents called and kid brought home for TLC.

Even if there was no coronavirus I would have rang for that child to go home as they were miserable and it was so unfair on them, wallfalling.

I wouldn't mind but the child's parents would be sensible enough but looking at this poor kid this morning should have been enough to say X needs a day in bed with TLC.

Eldest was snuffling and sneezing yesterday evening and a bit off. Woke up this morning coughing a bit and still with nasal symptoms. We knew straight away it was post nasal drip causing the cough but still kept him home. Spoke with the gp and told to keep him home for 48 hours and if the nasal symptoms are all the remains go back Friday.

GP told me that strictly speaking the mention cough drives him to refer, except the more detailed guidance they have also allows them to have a 48h monitoring period for kids where there is a strong belief that symptoms are not Covid.

Good common sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

DD in isolation with us all this week as brothers had a temperature on Saturday and had to be tested for covid19.

Not sure how we'll cope if it's like this forever...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    DD in isolation with us all this week as brothers had a temperature on Saturday and had to be tested for covid19.

Daisy Duke?
    Daffy Duck?
    Danny DeVito?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

They're all sent home because they don't want to get caught out in their 'predictions'.
    If they leave them in school and another develops coronavirus then the schools have to close. Sending them.home means we won't be hearing about another case from the same class.

As a teacher I am relieved that the "bubble" was asked to isolate and be tested in the schools that have had cases so far. I have my class in pods but some depending on their location, some children are closer to people in other pods than they are to members of their own pod (6 per pod in my class). Considering that they are getting up out of their seats several times a day for handwashing, they are well within a metre of children from different pods. They all mix within their bubble outside too though I'm not as concerned about that as the environment indoors. If I knew that my class would be asked to isolate and be tested should a case arise I would be much more comfortable with the whole situation. To only test a pod, in the context of my classroom, would be a very concerning move in my opinion. I'm only speaking for myself here though, I must add.

Blondini wrote: »
    Daisy Duke?
    Daffy Duck?
    Danny DeVito?

Daisy Duke now or in 1981?

Blondini wrote: »
    Daisy Duke?
    Daffy Duck?
    Danny DeVito?

His daughter, get with the programme :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

khalessi wrote: »

But but but work, and coffee mornings and I need the little fcukers out my hair. ....

Don't forget wine o'clock and gym :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Coz that's how all "mummies" behave. I..... wish.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

You always know who is not getting any sex...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

meeeeh wrote: »
    You always know who is not getting any sex...

Personal issues
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭KerryConnor

Very cautious? So you think the teacher and the rest of the class should just continue on while the 'pod' isolates? The only logic behind that would be if we wanted to spread the virus faster.

I honestly think the public think these 'pods' are physical barriers... all a 'pod' is, is an arms length distance between groups of childen sitting in a room all day long, same children playing together helter skelter in a 7m x 7m space outdoors for 40 minutes (classes playing in 'bubbles' during yard has had the effect of making the physical space available to play in a lot smaller).
    I think most primary schools are set up the same way, few kids to a pod indoors and altogether as a class bubble outdoors.

I don't think outdoors running around with each other for a short space of time is considered close contact is it?

Sending the whole class home will not become the norm for one positive case, if you recall all positive covid cases were admitted to hospital at the very start but very quickly only those needing medical help were admitted.

It's being very cautious initially and seeing what the public health teams deem necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

Back teaching secondary a few days. As expected, social distancing is impossible, unless you wanted to be a stazi member on a corridor and breaking up lunch chats between old friends. Even in the classroom, the spaces you had measured out quickly shift by 10cm here and there owing to diff body shapes so the social distancing in the classroom is obsolete.

That being said, it's good to get back to work, kids are in good form. No one wants to go to the overflow room as it's a pain in the bollix, so kids are sitting in chairs on corridors almost to stay part of class. Still have some parents complaining about procedures and airflow, some the opposite and saying when are we getting back to full time extra curricular.

As a staff member, I knew this would be the case, and I'm happy enough so far as I know the risk. You only have to look at this thread to see the evolution from "ah we are looking after staff concerns" to "ah the virus isn't that bad, relax". I'm just hoping that the death rate stays at 0 and there are no long term effects.

To be be honest, all the measures have mitigated risk basically **** all, it all just feels like a placebo, but I'm happy to go along with it. I'm now more inclined to say, just open up the country now. If we are open, everyone else can no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Personal issues
    >

Tell that to Smellyoldboot...