Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Regardless of your point on the argument re should pubs open or not, I feel very sad for 'life' as a thing tonight, flowing through people.
    Some say life is God experiencing himself. Well it must be f*ckin woeful and he must have a grade A pain in his Swiss.
    Old people should be out doing their thing, whether it's ceilis in Banagher or raves for Baron 'Castle' Leslie.
    Young people should be thinking they just invented every damn **** and occasionally clinching a winner. F*ckin hell, never mind online dating, what must it be like to to be stuck with this sh1t?? I think young people have been great, considering.

Yes it's a killer virus but you only have one life (I believe in reincarnation but that's neither here nor there; it's uktimately a tragic perspective). It's not just mad partying, it's a young lad with little to average social skills chasing the one.

I fully agree with the rules in place, though I miss the craic of the Brewery Tap in Tullamore. Your own pub is in your blood. But b'é under no illusion, things more important than accomplishments are being lost in this tragedy. I have 4 degrees above level 7 and I'd give them,and the effort required, all away for the freedom to have a buzzing Tap and 12 brandies or 15 glasses of red wine, or none, as takes my fancy.
    Meanwhile lying on a couch realising that a crowd called Murray Head sand one night in Bangkok.
    Be de hokey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Great news guys!

I went to the pub tonight.

After reading loads about the pubs being closed, turns out the one I was at this evening was open.

Had many pints of Guinness and, may I say, the pints were delicious.

Looking forward to more pints in that, or another, pub soon!
    To prevent covid avoid any indoor places unless they bring in fresh air.that includes bars.places that serve food that is not outside.churches gyms hairdressers etc
    Spend as little time in supermarkets.wear masks use hand sanitizer you are going to get a large wave this winter so you don't want to be in the ICU when they run out of ventilators I would look at wearing eye protection you can't drink Guinness on a ventilator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

bobbyy gee wrote: »
    To prevent covid avoid any indoor places unless they bring in fresh air.that includes bars.places that serve food that is not outside.churches gyms hairdressers etc
    Spend as little time in supermarkets.wear masks use hand sanitizer you are going to get a large wave this winter so you don't want to be in the ICU when they run out of ventilators I would look at wearing eye protection you can't drink Guinness on a ventilator

I had the misfortune to be in Tullamore A&É ón Friday. The woman beside me (10ft) was talking about Pork and runs and reports and factories. Then she mentioned Edenderry.
    Quick google. Rosderra in Edenderry, 600 workers, outbreak in May, DF in in force in mid August to set up and run mass testing.
    Nurse on duty, when I mentioned it, said oh they're grand. Constant testing. Maybe so. But we're definitely going into a hairier time ahead. I was 6 hours in there and glad to get out. Any longer and they could have just taken my body for research and we'd layve it so :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Great news guys!

After reading loads about the pubs being closed, turns out the one I was at this evening was open.

you must be lying, I was told the pubs are closed.
    I also read on here the government were anti alcohol....yes those very words.

I also read on here from those whining about the need for social interaction and how pubs are needed and essential for human interaction, but only the pubs that dont serve food it seems. For some bizarre reason social interaction is not as important in in a pub that serves food....imagine that.

You must realize all these people upset over "wet pub"...oops...I must not use that term and upset people...I mean the non food serving pubs , are important because all those complaining are now suddenly interested in the importance of the little local pub...yes those same pubs that were closing by the hundreds before the covid, they did not care then, but suddenly in the middle of a global pandemic, these pubs that not that important before are now priority things to complain about.

Imagine that....but I am sure some people in a desperate effort to deflect, will attack the poster instead of the content of the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,618 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

you must be lying, I was told the pubs are closed.
    I also read on here the government were anti alcohol....yes those very words.

Yes, pubs closed on the 15th of March, and remain closed today.......
    yes those same pubs that were closing by the hundreds before the covid, they did not care then, but suddenly in the middle of a global pandemic, these pubs that not that important before are now priority things to complain about.

Yes, small towns are unable to have as many pubs as the 1970s, could that be anything to do with the urban shift in ireland?? and yet the number of licences have stayed consistent, and again I don't think you know what the word priority means......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Great news guys!

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Yes, pubs closed on the 15th of March, and remain closed today.......

Reduced to calling people liars now are we ?

Keep showing yourself up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Reduced to calling people liars now are we ?

Keep showing yourself up.

Only person showing themselves up in this thread is you, all I see is people giving opinion that you keep saying are "crying". Get over yourself.

What that person was in was a restaurant, restaurants are open pubs as pubs are not hence the title of the thread your posting in.

If you cant tell the difference then read up on the definition of what is currently open in Ireland (I'll give you a hint under law its a restaurant) or just go back to trolling dart players. Either way your rhetoric having read the posts is quite frankly boring at this stage.

Great news guys!

Many pints ?? I find it hard to believe that in a restaurant you could knock back "many pints" with your food in 105 minutes.

Unless of course you were in a non compliant establishment. Surely not after your pontificating recently.

Many pints ?? I find it hard to believe that in a restaurant you could knock back "many pints" with your food in 105 minutes.

Unless of course you were in a non compliant establishment. Surely not?

6 or 7 in an hour and three quarters would hardly be a stretch.

6 or 7 Guinness on top of food in 1hr 45 minutes.

Is there Olympic qualification on or something ?? Its quite a large stretch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

So my local opened on Thursday getting food from the chipper 2 doors down.
    I booked a table for 5.30 yesterday for 2 of us. No bother. All 2 metre spacing between tables so could stay as long you wanted. They gave us a small menu from the chipper and they let us drink away until ready to order so we had about an hour and a half of pints. Then got our pizza and chicken burger and chips.
    It was okay. It’s just not the same but I will support the bar once every two weeks. Can’t be having takeaway every week.
    I feel seriously sorry for those pubs that can’t open.
    I’m not listening to any crap from certain posters saying pubs are open, essentially the “pub” I was in was a restaurant.
    A pub is a place where you go to have a few pints, no obligation to have food and no limits to your time there.
    As some might have seen on the news today, mass protests are happening around Europe to stop lockdown and restrictions. We need to live with this virus and get on with our lives.
    Just another point I’ll make. An old lad came into the bar I was in yesterday, asked could he have a drop and a Guinness and not get food, it was his first time out since early March. You should’ve seen the joy in his face taking that first sip of creamy goodness. It was brilliant to see. He stayed for an hour or so, couple of pints and off he went happy. That’s what it’s about. The loneliness some of the older generations are suffering is chronic. Let’s hope all pubs get to open in a few weeks as this bull can’t keep going on and it’ll lead to excess mortality, it won’t be the virus that kills!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I had never realised there was such a substantial anti-booze lobby in Ireland until the start of the pandemic. I always knew that people were not into pubs, but I never expected them to be so prepared to corrupt the lifestyle.

No doubt in my mind at this point the entire item has become highly political and that TD's are terrified of the issue. We are the only country in Europe now without wet pubs. That's right. I mean we are famous for pubs globally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭HBC08

I went "out out" today. First time since March. Two separate places, food in both. Urgh! Not worth the hassle to be honest.

Great pint of Guinness, but common sense has been outlawed, with both establishments having their own, at times stupid, interpretations of the guidelines.

To be honest, a quiet pint in a quiet old mans pub would have been much more enjoyable and I suspect much easier to manage for management.

Also, the music was too loud in the first place we went. I thought music wasn't allowed?

Live music is not allowed I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Santy2015 wrote: »
    So my local opened on Thursday getting food from the chipper 2 doors down.
    I booked a table for 5.30 yesterday for 2 of us. No bother. All 2 metre spacing between tables so could stay as long you wanted. They gave us a small menu from the chipper and they let us drink away until ready to order so we had about an hour and a half of pints. Then got our pizza and chicken burger and chips.
    It was okay. It’s just not the same but I will support the bar once every two weeks. Can’t be having takeaway every week.
    I feel seriously sorry for those pubs that can’t open.
    I’m not listening to any crap from certain posters saying pubs are open, essentially the “pub” I was in was a restaurant.
    A pub is a place where you go to have a few pints, no obligation to have food and no limits to your time there.
    As some might have seen on the news today, mass protests are happening around Europe to stop lockdown and restrictions. We need to live with this virus and get on with our lives.
    Just another point I’ll make. An old lad came into the bar I was in yesterday, asked could he have a drop and a Guinness and not get food, it was his first time out since early March. You should’ve seen the joy in his face taking that first sip of creamy goodness. It was brilliant to see. He stayed for an hour or so, couple of pints and off he went happy. That’s what it’s about. The loneliness some of the older generations are suffering is chronic. Let’s hope all pubs get to open in a few weeks as this bull can’t keep going on and it’ll lead to excess mortality, it won’t be the virus that kills!!

Yes there are protests all across Europe to stop restrictions and lockdown but look at what happened here when a few thousand people did it. The media has everyone so brainwashed they said "a few hundred far right people" attended the protest. It's just reported in other countries, not here, the news has to have their little say on these "mad conspiracy theorists"... and yes I'm aware there was some elements of conspiracy theorists at these protests but the point being it's time to get back to normal, we're only going backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭HBC08

Great news guys!

The whole theory that people change their behaviour after a few pints has been debunked here.
    Mr Stuffins still posts the same sh1te even when hes steamed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Unless of course you were in a non compliant establishment. Surely not after your pontificating recently.

Yup, many pints.

Think I had 6 or 7. They were delicious. Watched the Community Shield, made a few bets on the phone. Didn't even have to queue at the bar, they provided table service. Made sure to give the lounge girl a nice tip upon leaving as I remember my days as a lounge boy. Good days indeed.

Honestly lads, you should try it. Despite you thinking there are no pubs open, they actually are. Might go again during the week.

How are people finding the table service? My closest pub (haven’t been in it during this) was always a disgrace for service when you went for food in normal times so I wouldn’t fancy being able to fit many in. You’d want to be buying in threes. It’s the one part of the whole new setup really putting me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

HBC08 wrote: »
    The whole theory that people change their behaviour after a few pints has been debunked here.

Imagine how insufferable he is in a pub.

Yes there are protests all across Europe to stop restrictions and lockdown but look at what happened here when a few thousand people did it. The media has everyone so brainwashed they said "a few hundred far right people" attended the protest. It's just reported in other countries, not here.......

First line of this article, from our national broadcaster, literally says there were 18,000 in Germany.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0829/1162041-germany-covid-19/

Goes on to say that over 1,000 people attended one in London, where David Icke was among the speakers....... which tells you everything you need to know :pac:

HBC08 wrote: »

This is actually pretty funny! Wish I could thank this twice :pac:

How are people finding the table service? My closest pub (haven’t been in it during this) was always a disgrace for service when you went for food in normal times so I wouldn’t fancy being able to fit many in. You’d want to be buying in threes. It’s the one part of the whole new setup really putting me off.

I find it has worked pretty well in the pubs I've been in recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I do like the QR code and PAYG with credit card (although they have a sneaky service charge)

Other places its the tab system (which can be a pain) and you have to try and flag down a waiter

Grand for the short term but would like to go back to PAYG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,168 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Very good.
    Fewer punters, more serving staff plus they want to move people on when done. The downside is all pre booked, no walk ins.

Yup, many pints.

Think I had 6 or 7. They were delicious. Watched the Community Shield, made a few bets on the phone. Didn't even have to queue at the bar, they provided table service. Made sure to give the lounge girl a nice tip upon leaving as I remember my days as a lounge boy. Good days indeed.

Honestly lads, you should try it. Despite you thinking there are no pubs open, they actually are. Might go again during the week.

Great so you didn't leave after 105 minutes then. Thanks for confirming after your pontificating during the week. Any €9 meals seeing as you were in a restaurant ?

Oh I've been out, I was out last night but I was in an establishment operating as a restaurant and I left after 105 minutes.

I'm sure she was glad of the tip to see the back of you no doubt.

Always used lounge service whenever it was available, was my first job in the industry and can be quicker than going up yourself. Not a whole lot of places still had lounge service though pre covid

Great so you didn't leave after 105 minutes then.

I don't remember saying this.
    Oh I've been out, I was out last night ......

Nice one! Hope you enjoyed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    No doubt in my mind at this point the entire item has become highly political and that TD's are terrified of the issue. We are the only country in Europe now without wet pubs. That's right. I mean we are famous for pubs globally?

I think our fame might be the reason we are taking it slowly!

I don't remember saying this.

Well you watched the community shield, that was longer than 105 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

I've found it grand in any pubs I've been in.

And if I'm drinking Guinness it's great as I don't have to stand waiting at the bar in the pretence that the two part pour is doing something!

Always used lounge service whenever it was available, was my first job in the industry and can be quicker than going up yourself. Not a whole lot of places still had lounge service though pre covid

I hate it and the idea of it at all (I like sitting at the bar anyway), though that may be down to the aforementioned pub and it’s snooty little waitresses leaving you sitting. Especially now that they really have the power to.