Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXII-30,360 in ROI(1,781 deaths) 8,035 in NI (568 deaths)(10/09)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

theballz wrote: »
    This thread is so full of negativity and constant belittling, it’s madness. People need to take a step back and stop getting so caught up in it all.

Nothing in life is to be feared; it is only to be understood. Now is the time to understand more, so that we may fear less.

If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, change your attitude.

Yes Mammy. Sorry Mammy.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Dunno how you can say that... imagine what the cases would be without the lockdown.

Lets see what they get to in Tipperary. Presumably the virus should run amok there with it not being locked down in spite of a number of factory outbreaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Local lockdown for Kildare not doing a whole lot except burning a hole in people's pockets.

Same as any other lockdown then!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

robbiezero wrote: »
    Lets see what they get to in Tipperary. Presumably the virus should run amok there with it not being locked down in spite of a number of factory outbreaks.

How’s the rate there comparing to LOK? If it’s close to them now or a par then why is it not locked down yet? Penny dropping they’re an expensive waste of time? Surely not!

road_high wrote: »
    How’s the rate there comparing to LOK? If it’s close to them now or a par then why is it not locked down yet? Penny dropping they’re an expensive waste of time? Surely not!

I think at its height it was similar, but I stand to be corrected.
    Perhaps one of the good lads with the figures will inform us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

road_high wrote: »
    No reason to lock down Tipp if all the cases are trackable.

That wasn't there when I posted originally.

Thank Feck for Leo, he's the only ruling politician that I have a higher opinion of now than before this began.

I don't much like Leo, but I do think it was a real pity that we had to change Government right in the middle of the pandemic.

I think Leo and co were getting a feel for how much they could take advice from NPHET, but also bring the people with them with both a carrot and a stick approach.

That seems to be have been lost in the new Government. I think the restrictions on spectating on outdoor sport was a poor call. Yes it might have prevented a tiny amount of transmission of cases (debatable),
    but from talking to people, I think it was a tipping point for a lot of people in terms of obeying and respecting restrictions and it will be hard to put that genie back in the box.
    The example for me was GAA games in St Annes Park the weekend after the restrictions, there were bigger crowds out watching matches if anything, even people in their 80s - "Just out for a walk - within the guidelines" as one ould lad sarcastically observed.
    Seen similar again today and the 15 person limit for training has just been roundly ignored.

No reason to lock down Tipp if all the cases are trackable.

If the Tipperary spikes had occurred before the LOK counties, do you think it would have been locked down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Just catching up with the news of the day. The CMO Dr Ronan Glynn said this time is crucial and asked us to reduce our contacts.

I suppose for a lot of people they follow this advice and keep their close contacts low. Others will have a high number of close contacts and they will increase the average and the R number of the virus. I suppose many people will probably need a special degree to gain an understanding in how to keep close contacts low during a pandemic.

If the Tipperary spikes had occurred before the LOK counties, do you think it would have been locked down?

It depends on the source of the infections - traced clusters, community etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Halfdane

I don't much like Leo, but I do think it was a real pity that we had to change Government right in the middle of the pandemic.

I think Leo and co were getting a feel for how much they could take advice from NPHET, but also bring the people with them with both a carrot and a stick approach.

That seems to be have been lost in the new Government. I think the restrictions on spectating on outdoor sport was a poor call. Yes it might have prevented a tiny amount of transmission of cases (debatable),
    but from talking to people, I think it was a tipping point for a lot of people in terms of obeying and respecting restrictions and it will be hard to put that genie back in the box.
    The example for me was GAA games in St Annes Park the weekend after the restrictions, there were bigger crowds out watching matches if anything, even people in their 80s - "Just out for a walk - within the guidelines" as one ould lad sarcastically observed.
    Seen similar again today and the 15 person limit for training has just been roundly ignored.

The new restrictions are pointless. Nobody cares anymore and barely anyone will follow them. People are tired of restrictions and are willing to go against them for the sake of some normality in their lives now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

owlbethere wrote: »
    Just catching up with the news of the day. The CMO Dr Ronan Glynn said this time is crucial and asked us to reduce our contacts.

I suppose for a lot of people they follow this advice and keep their close contacts low. Others will have a high number of close contacts and they will increase the average and the R number of the virus. I suppose many people will probably need a special degree to gain an understanding in how to keep close contacts low during a pandemic.
    I have a friend who has been completely locked down since this started, a model citizen. He has to go back in to work this week coming and is not happy with the measures his workplace are taking, so his attitude has been "who gives a sh!t". Last week, when his suggestions to keep staff safe were shot down, he went straight out and did a pub crawl with the lads. He hasn't been home since. He's texting me to come to a party right now, there's about twelve of them at it having the craic.

His logic is that his workplace (where he is obliged to go) isn't safe, why the hell would he go out of his way and take pains to be protecting himself in his down time.

If there was low community transmission then no

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

s1ippy wrote: »
    I have a friend who has been completely locked down since this started, a model citizen. He has to go back in to work this week coming and is not happy with the measures his workplace are taking, so his attitude has been "who gives a sh!t". Last week, when his suggestions to keep staff safe were shot down, he went straight out and did a pub crawl with the lads. He hasn't been home since. He's texting me to come to a party right now, there's about twelve of them at it having the craic.

His logic is that his workplace (where he is obliged to go) isn't safe, why the hell would he go out of his way and take pains to be protecting himself in his down time.

We should stand up to these stupid employers. I walked out of a job and told them to shove their job. We should all be doing that. To fcuk with them. They cannot be getting away with putting lives in danger because people are losing their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

Dunno how you can say that... imagine what the cases would be without the lockdown.

Sweden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,698 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Onesea wrote: »
    Sweden

Denmark.

Are we just naming random Scandinavian countries that were nothing like Kildare before or during this crisis?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭growleaves

Denmark.

South Sandwich Islands

(am I doing this right?)

I hate to agree with you but you are right. Many people are following the guidelines but their biggest threat to their health and for picking up the virus will be their workplaces. What's the point in living like a hermit in the hopes of avoiding the virus when many employers will gladly throw their employees under the bus?

Halfdane wrote: »
    The new restrictions are pointless. Nobody cares anymore and barely anyone will follow them. People are tired of restrictions and are willing to go against them for the sake of some normality in their lives now.

I don't disagree and this where I think politicians needed to have their finger on the pulse of peoples mood and maybe sacrifice implementing some of the more petty restrictions in the hope of keeping people onside for the more important ones.

#Golfgate has had quite a big impact obviously also, but I think the last set of restrictions did a lot of damage to peoples trust in the restrictions.

HSE Daily Operations Update

31 in hospital, no change.
    2 confirmed cases in hospitals today, both at St. James'.
    5 in ICU and 3 ventilated, no change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,698 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Speak Now wrote: »
    3500 :) good one Toby :P

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

According to this we have 3579 active cases currently. But maybe the ''recovered'' is not updated.
    What is our active case total? Must be high? I mean we've had 1000 cases roughly just in the last 7 days, so why is it impossible to have 3579 active cases, seems low if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,698 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It feels on here that yesterday total vanishes with the announcement of today's totals.

What is 3 week total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,045 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

We should stand up to these stupid employers. I walked out of a job and told them to shove their job. We should all be doing that. To fcuk with them. They cannot be getting away with putting lives in danger because people are losing their jobs.

I would dearly have loved to tell my idiot manager that but unfortunately he threatened, sulked, pestered, cajoled until he got me back in my car doing my job

The same guy is not at all familiar with Irish society and is all at sea in many ways but if I said to him f u I’m refusing to go back to work that would’ve been curtains for me and I can’t do that as I’ve a missus and kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Nickla

your friend went from work last week on a pub crawl and hasn't been home since - does he change his clothes? if he's been locked down since this started then he doesn't work in a food factory or in health care so there really isn't any reason for him to decide to become a super spreader out of spite. If he was genuinely concerned he would be doing everything he could to minimise risk - his crowds ridiculous behavior could result in a cluster damaging the business of any of the pubs/restaurants they are enjoying now, or worse still all businesses affected by a lock down. Lots of people have been working since the start of covid. If he feels at risk of getting covid at work but happy to spread it around then he's an arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

If there was low community transmission then no

Low community transmission in Kildare, almost all spike cases were traced.. didn't matter tho.... Government wanted to make an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,665 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Whatever about covid, are you not worried about your friend going on a week-long bender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

You could be watching the news from any point in the last 6 months "the next 2 weeks are critical in how we handle....."

The next 2 weeks are also very important.. apparently

Nickla wrote: »
    your friend went from work last week on a pub crawl and hasn't been home since - does he change his clothes? if he's been locked down since this started then he doesn't work in a food factory or in health care so there really isn't any reason for him to decide to become a super spreader out of spite. If he was genuinely concerned he would be doing everything he could to minimise risk - his crowds ridiculous behavior could result in a cluster damaging the business of any of the pubs/restaurants they are enjoying now, or worse still all businesses affected by a lock down. Lots of people have been working since the start of covid. If he feels at risk of getting covid at work but happy to spread it around then he's an arsehole

Reads as if he was following the guidelines and keeping contacts low. Chances of him having virus is low. Really he's not spreading anything right now.

No, but doing a good job of trying to catch something that he can then spread. What wonderful person he is!