Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Is that what they're calling it these days?

not nice to call his other half that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Mr.S wrote: »
    Well it's not like the employer can fire them, so I don't really get the issue if you are comfortable with random people seeing your nudes, which obviously you are if you are doing only fans.

Anyone who does OF properly would assume that pictures on OH = public essentially, it's not a big secret if it's behind a paywall, because...the internet.

100k banked in a few weeks, all before you're 25 is impressive without leaving your room. Power to 'em tbh.

Your post has so many discriminatory sentences towards people in the adult entertainment "industry" - people make porn, who cares?!

Who cares? I don't, just giving my opinion. I don't think about it that much but this thread was made to ask people what they think about it, and that's what I think about it. It's not exactly a well respected profession is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,797 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Have a friend who makes a couple of grand a month doing it, no nudes, no videos, and nothing sexual. Just snaps posing in her underwear. You’d honestly see more flesh on any beach.

She’s a very good looking girl with an amazing body so I guess that’s why she can make money on it without having to go any further than posing in her bra and knickers.
    Tbh there are young ones posting more risqué content for free on Instagram so I think fair play for getting a bit of cash for it.
    She’s using it to supplement her income and will be in a position to buy a house soon, only because of this extra income. Because there’s no nudity she doesn’t really care if they get leaked, they’re nothing she’d be embarrassed about her friends/family seeing.

That said I know someone else who does very.... intimate videos on it, for lack of a better term, and I do worry she’ll have regrets in the future for putting such explicit content online. She seems happy out for the time being and is making a fortune too though.

If I could do it without anyone I know finding out I’d do it 100%. Unfortunately I’m one of those people that cares too much about other people’s opinions so the risk would be too big for me to chance it.

It's not a good way to live. I don't just mean in regards to the subject of OF, I mean in general. I'm the same, though, and it's not healthy in general to care more about others opinions of yourself, rather that your own self worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Your post has so many discriminatory sentences towards people in the adult entertainment "industry" - people make porn, who cares?!

Not many care as in ohmygod! like you are implying. But people do have a natural tendency to evaluate and hold personal opinions, plus some sensory imprints are rather lasting and formative. You cannot stop that happening no matter how you would like to normalise public masturbation as a useful part time profession. If one of my colleagues was directing work affairs using their brilliant technical know how and scientific acumen I would still remember the sensory impressions I had retained if I had seen them furiously **** themselves in public for a few bob. Not to say I would think oh you are despicable, but it would definitely and helplessly provide atmospheric context in my dealings with anyone if I had seen the gallery selection of their enthusiastic and effortful money shots. Because I am human and have a brain that easily retains memories and impressions.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,797 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I think anyone who does OFs is perfectly entitled to make their own decisions, as long as they are of age, no issue, everyone is free to live as they please. The only issue is the example and the trend it sets, and now you have 1000's of kids signing up, using fake ID's and getting on there, and OFs take no responsibly, the law regarding that needs to change.
    You can't fake ID your way to a drivers license, so not a lot to ask of a site like OFs worth millions to verify their users correctly, not this bull of ''are you robot'', ''or click here if your over 18'', or to bypass their verification process using a simple scan of your ID then editing the date of birth by 4 years to make you 18. That does not work in real life when applying for a job, or a drivers license , or passport,so on. So it shouldn't work online.
    You look at Government websites, how you prove your identity, should be same process on OFs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 Phil Bogan

So girls are now whoring themselves online? Guess the future really is female :D

What ever happened to the poster on here that said she was going to set up an OnlyFans and start posting her feet (I think) has she reported back?

Which is strange considering the vast majority of people watch porn at some point :D

It's really odd.

Porn is consumed by hundreds of millions on a daily basis yet it's still viewed as a scruffy profession.

Last year, on Pornhub alone, enough porn was watched to last over six and a half centuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If I can get through all the free porn on the internet, I might start paying for it
    Utterly astounded at the amount of people who pay for it. Then again, people buy bottled water when it's virtually free from the tap.

It's hardly anything new. Cam girls were very popular two decades ago. Dunno why onlyfans receives so much attention..

I paid for them ages ago. There's a different feel to it compared to porn, and the interactive nature is kinda addictive for a while, due to the personality of the presenter (There was also the novelty factor since it was relatively new).

Ultimately the superficial nature of the whole thing becomes too much. At least for me... I guess some people prefer to escape from reality. I just got bored... but it held my interest for a month or so. Since then, I'd say I've used such a site maybe once or twice in ten years? Depends on how lonely I was at the time, and how frustrated I was with the dating scene.

Which is strange considering the vast majority of people watch porn at some point :D

Yes exactly. That's the issue with the world. :D

People (including myself) don't respect sex workers, or people who do only fans for a living yet watch porn at some point in their lives.. Us humans are such hypocrites.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It's really odd.

Porn is consumed by hundreds of millions on a daily basis yet it's still viewed as a scruffy profession.

Last year, on Pornhub alone, enough porn was watched to last over six and a half centuries.

It is a a grubby profession. It’s a profession that’s ran by psychos and sexual predators who run vulnerable young women through the mill of increasingly extreme acts before they’re tossed on the heap a few months later with a drug addiction and a prolapsed arse. All so saddos sitting at home can **** themselves off to the sort of disgusting gonzo porn they need to get hard.

What the **** are you watching?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

What the **** are you watching?

I don’t watch porn. Porn is one of the reasons there’s so many angry and maladjusted young men around at the moment. Those tube sites are turning their brains to mush.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I don’t watch porn. Porn is one of the reasons there’s so many angry and maladjusted young men around at the moment. Those tube sites are turning their brains to mush.
    Aren't you the guy that said computer games are doing the same thing? Everything in moderation man.

giphy.gif

John is obviously one of the great thinkers of our time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

:) i think you are not giving your truthful opinion here but you do have a way with words. Not all porn is gorno style but there is a lot that is. And it is true that some of the ladies might have rather badly weathered bottoms after their empowering experiences. Nothing sexier than an anal fistula.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Guarantee this was typed one handed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Gruffalox wrote: »
    :) i think you are not giving your truthful opinion here but you do have a way with words. Not all porn is gorno style but there is a lot that is. And it is true that some of the ladies might have rather badly weathered bottoms after their empowering experiences. Nothing sexier than an anal fistula.

Its something that seems never warned about but I often wonder what is the level you can go until the hinges fall off. Are there women up and down the country risking this happening with once a year birthday treats or do you really need to go to extremes, or is it something that weathers overtime, has it happened to our significant others but they hide it from us?

Who knows. Its time somebody broke this taboo.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭CertifiedSimp

I get very jealous when I see these young women that seem to be earning big money. It's the easiest money.

At the same time if I had a daughter I wouldn't want her working in the sex industry. I don't think the girls realise they are working in the sex industry. I'd say they just see it at the same level as posting gym pics on instagram.

There has to be a reason why there's been so few irish porn stars. Must be because Ireland is too small and you'd be known throughout.

The pics get posted all over the internet, in the whatsapps. Not sure if the women doing it know this either. In the whatsapp I'm in (max capacity of randomers) some birds pics were posted and they got her facebook and messaged her boyfriend. He started threatening about the guards, how she can't leave the house etc. Pure spoofer. Once the pics are on a website, they can't be stopped.

I doubt most of them women will ever go on to have regular jobs like accountant or software engineer. Maybe won't matter too much if they're only ever set out for supermarket or takeaway jobs anyways though.

On a broader note, amazing the amount of women that just post softcore porn basically on Instagram. Bend over at the gym, bikini mirror picture, going out pic with the tits hanging out. There's nothing left to the imagination at all.

When I get a woman she won't have any of this stuff up. I don't want my friends seeing everything but lips and nips. Leave something to the imagination ffs.

Imagine you telling your parents you're with this bird and they look her up on fb and there's nothing left to the imagination at all. Open for all to eye.

^^^^

Username definitely checks out.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭CertifiedSimp

Yes exactly. That's the issue with the world. :D

People (including myself) don't respect sex workers, or people who do only fans for a living yet watch porn at some point in their lives.. Us humans are such hypocrites.

Hardly.

I don't watch porn for the acting or storyline. There's a chemical in my body somewhere telling me that I need to pull myself. It's a natural thing that a penis desires naked women.

There's no chemical in anyone's body telling them they need to make porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I get very jealous when I see these young women that seem to be earning big money. It's the easiest money.

At the same time if I had a daughter I wouldn't want her working in the sex industry. I don't think the girls realise they are working in the sex industry. I'd say they just see it at the same level as posting gym pics on instagram.

There has to be a reason why there's been so few irish porn stars. Must be because Ireland is too small and you'd be known throughout.

The pics get posted all over the internet, in the whatsapps. Not sure if the women doing it know this either. In the whatsapp I'm in (max capacity of randomers) some birds pics were posted and they got her facebook and messaged her boyfriend. He started threatening about the guards, how she can't leave the house etc. Pure spoofer. Once the pics are on a website, they can't be stopped.

I doubt most of them women will ever go on to have regular jobs like accountant or software engineer. Maybe won't matter too much if they're only ever set out for supermarket or takeaway jobs anyways though.

On a broader note, amazing the amount of women that just post softcore porn basically on Instagram. Bend over at the gym, bikini mirror picture, going out pic with the tits hanging out. There's nothing left to the imagination at all.

When I get a woman she won't have any of this stuff up. I don't want my friends seeing everything but lips and nips. Leave something to the imagination ffs.

Imagine you telling your parents you're with this bird and they look her up on fb and there's nothing left to the imagination at all. Open for all to eye.

JFC

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

is the porn industry ran by " psychos "

heard it was ran by jews myself ?

PS , above meant to be brass eye kind of funny

Hardly.

I don't watch porn for the acting or storyline. There's a chemical in my body somewhere telling me that I need to pull myself. It's a natural thing that a penis desires naked women.

You act as if men are the only ones who watch porn. Porn isn't made just for males you know. Women have that desire too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 Phil Bogan

It is a a grubby profession. It’s a profession that’s ran by psychos and sexual predators who run vulnerable young women through the mill of increasingly extreme acts before they’re tossed on the heap a few months later with a drug addiction and a prolapsed arse. All so saddos sitting at home can **** themselves off to the sort of disgusting gonzo porn they need to get hd.

The men are exploited too.

Hardly.

All living things' most basic instinct is survival.

Food is required for survival.

Money is required for food.

A job is required for money.

Porn is a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

100k banked in a few weeks, all before you're 25 is impressive without leaving your room. Power to 'em tbh.

Not really when you consider those earnings will dramatically decrease when the 'car-crash' rubberneckers unsub. Which they will if your content is you having at yourself with a rampant-rabbit in a caravan in your parents' garden and not noticing the fly that's just landed on your breast.

And no, I didn't sub, I'm just watching the current TikTok quarrel-fest.

It's also about putting posts on TikTok crying to the camera about having anxiety attacks because you're having surgery next week, making out that it's like you have cancer, then you see the same person boasting on Twitter the same day about having cosmetic surgery next week to have ass-cheek implants.

She's a car-crash. None of this is going to end well for her. Expect her to collaborate with a hack next year on publishing a book along the lines of "My OF Hell" when the clout and money dry up.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭gooseygander

Exactly. She knows its likely many are.

And i am certain a lot of clients have even told her. And told her the wife doesn't know.
    You act as if men are the only ones who watch porn. Porn isn't made just for males you know. Women have that desire too.

Surely it’s mainly a male dominated audience. Maybe 40 or 50/1 in favour of males. Maybe I am way out with this estimate, who knows