Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,618 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

my beloved offies ?

I dont drink at home...nice try, but a FAIL nonetheless.

And about time we had someone acknowledge pubs were dying long before this global pandemic.

we are getting there.

Yes, businesses exist to make money and some of them fail.......

We are getting there.....

Glad I don't have kids, home schooling is hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Thought the biggest issue was crisps and peanuts?

Well that would have been the obvious tightness of the pub owners.

But anyway, it is just a rant, Direct your ire elsewhere.

I don’t understand why people that don’t like pubs or alcohol feel the need to talk about it so much.

Just don’t go... it’s that simple.

Why does it matter what our culture is?

We’re never going to be the type of people that eat garlic bread outdoors on a wonderful evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,770 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Pubs aren't open and you've to be off the premises of restaurants by 11.30.

Poster can't just go for a pint.

Your in a restaurant, you've been talking sh1te all night with absolutely no idea how the trade works.
    No idea about costs of running a business verus reduced capacity

some pubs are open and that is reality, not all food serving establishments are restaurants.
    some will be restaurants and others will be pubs with restaurant licenses and others will just be pubs which serve food.
    i'm not sure you know the costs of running a pub either going on your posts but it's ultimately not our job to do so anyway.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭questionmark?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Pubs are open
    The pubs just have to open

Amm.......which one are you going with?

some pubs are open and that is reality, not all food serving establishments are restaurants.
    some will be restaurants and others will be pubs with restaurant licenses and others will just be pubs which serve food.
    i'm not sure you know the costs of running a pub either going on your posts but it's ultimately not our job to do so anyway.

Walk ins available but bookings preferred
    Host/hostess at door who seats you with a menu
    Table service only
    Drinks only with food
    Pay at the end

Pull all the technicalities you want, that's a resteraunt......

I don’t understand why people that don’t like pubs or alcohol feel the need to talk about it so much.

We’re never going to be the type of people that eat garlic bread outdoors on a wonderful evening.

i have no issue with the culture at all given i take part in it all be it not through the pub.
    i do find it baffling though the whinging over some pubs not being open when there are plenty that are open where one can go to and have a bit of food with their drinking, or there are cheaper alternatives available.

both statements are fine given he was replying to different posts which stated different things.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Both.

Pubs are allowed open. Most of them are open.

Some are not even though they can. These ones just have to open and they can do business.

Try to keep up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Look anywhere open is operating as a restaurant, you can talk about licences as much as you want. Pubs operating as restaurants are open, they are restaurants until advised otherwise, pubs open as pubs are not open.

Until you can go into an establishment and not order a €9 meal your in a restaurant simple as.

If there were there wouldn't be debate about it.

Oh and by the way I do yes, worked in pubs and stuck up a very good friendship with the publican I worked for so yes I would have a good idea of the costs being faced and the impact of covid on the business.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I was actually enjoying our conversation, but unfortunately playing the gemma card gets you put on ignore.

Ah, triggered by the truth were we?

See you in the pub for a pint and a snack box ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Who are these people you refer to ?

I love the pub, and loved my lash of drink whilst in the pub and the craic.
    However I am smart enough to know that during a global pandemic, that socializing and getting drunk in a pub is not only stupid, but selfish as I have to consider my health and that of my family. I have waited this long, and if i have to wait months more so be it.

The pub is not a priority, no matter how much people cry and try to make out it is.

I think you are wrongly assuming that people who do not agree with your mentality, must therefore be anti pub or anti alcohol.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Walk ins available but bookings preferred
    Host/hostess at door who seats you with a menu
    Table service only
    Drinks only with food
    Pay at the end

Pull all the technicalities you want, that's a resteraunt......

not automatically, it depends on the establishment and what they were set up to operate as.
    so an establishment can have all of the listed above and still be a pub, because there are some restrictions in place but normally the establishment wouldn't have some of what is listed dispite serving food.
    Look anywhere open is operating as a restaurant, you can talk about licences as much as you want. Pubs operating as restaurants are open, they are restaurants until advised otherwise, pubs open as pubs are not open.

If there were there wouldn't be debate about it.

Oh and by the way I do yes, worked in pubs and stuck up a very good friendship with the publican I worked for so yes I would have a good idea of the costs being faced and the impact of covid on the business.

if they normally operate as a pub then they are a pub.
    so not automatically restaurant.

I love the pub. Love a rake of pints. Love watching the sport in a bar with my mates. Worked in pubs for all of my teens and most of my twenties.

However, there is currently a global pandemic threatening the lives of our most vulnerable. Is my "want" to go and get locked more important than the lives of those people? Absolutely not.

Is there a way I can enjoy the pub and still protect those people? There is and that option is open to me and everyone else right now? Well brilliant, everyone wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They have basically given Doctors being given supreme power over the country.

They want us to base our drinking around meals. A meal along with a couple of glasses of wine. Nothing more, because thats binge drinking. This is to drive Bars closed. NPHET are probably trying to justify this all in their heads as Covid related but we all know full well there are sneaky background issues at play.

I can see things turning real nasty for NPHET soon. They are abusing their power and out emasculated government are anti-alcohol too. Varadkar is a doctor FFS. Martin is a former health minister. They had been lobbying him for years.

If NPHET get their way, you'll have absolutely tons of pubs closed, minimum pricing of alcohol brought in to stop us drinking at home and we will be limited to spending less than 2 hours per visiting to an alcohol licensed premise. This is their dream. Covid or no covid, this has always been the dream of people involved in the health industry.

Both.

Pubs are allowed open. Most of them are open.

Some are not even though they can. These ones just have to open and they can do business.

Try to keep up

Nah. It's a case of you not keeping up with your trolling. You keep repeating pubs are open but then screwed up by going against what you had typed god only knows how many times. Maybe you were in the pub/restaurant too long tonight. Try to keep up with yourself.

I love the pub. Love a rake of pints. Love watching the sport in a bar with my mates. Worked in pubs for all of my teens and most of my twenties.

However, there is currently a global pandemic threatening the lives of our most vulnerable. Is my "want" to go and get locked more important than the lives of those people? Absolutely not.

Is there a way I can enjoy the pub and still protect those people? There is and that option is open to me and everyone else right now? Well brilliant, everyone wins!

Will you feel the same for winter flu season? In 3-4 years time when there is no Covid, will we see pubs closed for winter flu? Up to 500 people die from winter flu from November to February per year (that's from the HSE themselves). We have had 14 deaths in the last month from Covid . Fourteen FFS. And some of those were from back in April and May.

It is nonsense and it is bollox. Winter flu is far more deadly than his reduced strain of Covid. We supported pubs being closed in March, April, May, even June but is ****ing Nonsense.

They want us to base our drinking around meals. A meal along with a couple of glasses of wine. Nothing more, because thats binge drinking. This is to drive Bars closed. NPHET are probably trying to justify this all in their heads as Covid related but we all know full well there are sneaky background issues at play.

I can see things turning real nasty for NPHET soon. They are abusing their power and out emasculated government are anti-alcohol too. Varadkar is a doctor FFS. Martin is a former health minister. They had been lobbying him for years.

If NPHET get their way, you'll have absolutely tons of pubs closed, minimum pricing of alcohol brought in to stop us drinking at home and we will be limited to spending less than 2 hours per visiting to an alcohol licensed premise. This is their dream. Covid or no covid, this has always been the dream of people involved in the health industry.

hold on.....ye were all complaining about the government getting pissed on golf meetings and how the law dont apply to them. but now the government are now against alcohol.

make up your minds....there is no consistency just whining for the sake of whining

both statements are fine given he was replying to different posts which stated different things.

Disagree. Just looking for consistency from that poster. If their going to keep spouting nonsense then at least stick to the same script.

Nah. It's a case of you not keeping up with your trolling. You keep repeating pubs are open but then screwed up by going against what you had typed god only knows how many times. Maybe you were in the pub/restaurant too long tonight. Try to keep up with yourself.

oh, so someone says something that upsets you and ergo it has to be "trolling" cos you said so,

what next, you going to claim to put them on ignore as well ?

hold on.....ye were all complaining about the government getting pissed on golf meetings and how the law dont apply to them. but now the government are now against alcohol.

make up your minds....there is no consistency just whining for the sake of whining

The same parties that brought in the nonsense restrictions, went out and flouted them a day later.

If some of them said (and especially Phil Hogan) that the restrictions are nonsense, total bollox, and we're not adhering to them, they would have went up a notch in my books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

There is certainly an element of truth to this. As much as Ireland is synonymous with the pub there is a not insignificant anti pub movement in the country. Especially amongst a section of the medical profession and I would personally know a few of them who would blame pubs for half the country's ills. This current situation has given free reign to put the squeeze on the public house sector again. And they will be reluctant to release that squeeze any time soon.

oh, so someone says something that upsets you and ergo it has to be "trolling" cos you said so,

what next, you going to claim to put them on ignore as well ?

I'm not upset. What would give you that idea. I called a poster out on their inconsistency which comes across as trolling. Maybe the poster isn't, maybe they had too many pints of Guinness which they keep banging on about. Who knows!
    Let's go with the too many Guinness for the craic.

P.s. I don't put people on ignore lists as I don't need to live in an echo chamber.

not automatically, it depends on the establishment and what they were set up to operate as.
    so an establishment can have all of the listed above and still be a pub, because there are some restrictions in place but normally the establishment wouldn't have some of what is listed dispite serving food.

if they normally operate as a pub then they are a pub.
    so not automatically restaurant.

If you go to a rave in a warehouse, which is going to be a warehouse the next day, it's still a rave........... How you normally operate isn't available right now, operating as a resteraunt is.

Not everyone goes to the pub to get drunk as some of the anti pub brigade would think. The pub is part of the community where people catch up to have a chat,watch the racing or football over a few pints or even a coffee. Especially the older people. My mates dad who is 88 used to go to the pub everyday for 2 or 3 pints just to get out out of the house and have a chat with the lads. He is missing the pub alot as he finds it lonelier at home especially since the wife passed away and the pub is the only thing he looks forward too. One of my locals would have had 10 or 15 of the older lads in the place at 9 in the morning for there few pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Not everyone goes to the pub to get drunk as some of the anti pub brigade would think. The pub is part of the community where people catch up to have a chat,watch the racing or football over a few pints or even a coffee. Especially the older people. My mates dad who is 88 used to go to the pub everyday for 2 or 3 pints just to get out out of the house and have a chat with the lads. He is missing the pub alot as he finds it lonelier at home especially since the wife passed away and the pub is the only thing he looks forward too. One of my locals would have had 10 or 15 of the older lads in the place at 9 in the morning for there few pubs.

Maybe they could open and not sell alcohol. I seen one pub doing that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 253 ✭✭Xtrail14

Another saloon in a nearby village opened up with the purchase of a €10 toasted sandwich maker from Lidl, Got them over the line no longer moist.

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Maybe they could open and not sell alcohol. I seen one pub doing that.

Same regulations on indoor gatherings would apply so I can't see why they would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Same with my local. The owner wasn’t exactly making a killing only keeping a service open to the community. It’s still closed and the word is now that it’s gone gone never to open again. Community destroyed. Thanks gov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭HBC08

Ah, triggered by the truth were we?

See you in the pub for a pint and a snack box ;)

Mask protests,tick
    Gemma,tick
    paranoid agenda,tick
    5G,tick
    Sheeple,tick
    Triggered,tick

All in relation to a reasonable discussion on pubs opening.
    Goodbye MrStuffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭HBC08

Same regulations on indoor gatherings would apply so I can't see why they would.

My local has had extensive work done all through lockdown and summer making it all into snugs and corners with partitions and clever design.
    It opened on weds with 10 tables available selling only tea coffee and muffins.
    This is not an option for almost any other pub I realise.