Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

amacca wrote: »

I think a lot of people dont realise how resilient a lot of kids can be.....they are not all fragile faberge eggs.

Thankfully, we could learn a thing or two from them, so resilient and adaptable. Most of them will have coped very well with all the changes this year has brought, better than some adults I know.

I'm sure they'll be all fine and are looking forward to going back too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

I remember someone saying something similar about masks.

The mediocrity of the just get on with it "pragmatists"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

I suppose at least they are brave enough to head into the unknown school environment this year, that takes balls.

Don't think they have a choice.

Why does it take balls? It's completely safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Go get one and report back, then picture getting small kids to cooperate with that once a week.

Depends on who administers the test. My wife is a nurse and has been tested 8 times since April. 3 of which she described as an awful experience, the rest barely noticeable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

I take it you haven't had one so because I know grown men who'd rather avoid a repeat test.
    The test is absolutely grand, it's a straightforward medical procedure. It's a nasal swab, not a trip to the proctologist. What kind of cowardly wimps are the grown men you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭isup

Thankfully, we could learn a thing or two from them, so resilient and adaptable. Most of them will have coped very well with all the changes this year has brought, better than some adults I know.

I'm sure they'll be all fine and are looking forward to going back too.

The kids will ok but what about their family's and teachers? I really don't understand how the government are saying they are returning safely to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Have you had a covid test yourself? It's not a pleasant experience.

I think subjecting children to that on a weekly basis without any indication that they are infected is a waste of time, money and would be distressing for the children.

You can expect that many parents won't consent to medical testing of their children. If there is a suspected case then the person should be triaged and tested as they are now, through their own GP and testing centre.

Mandatory medical testing for kids to go to school, get a grip it would never be authorised.

You obviously don't keep up with the briefings so as they are creating a nicer one for children. Do keep up fringy.

s1ippy wrote: »
    The test is absolutely grand, it's a straightforward medical procedure. It's a nasal swab, not a trip to the proctologist. What kind of cowardly wimps are the grown men you know?

Test discomfort is one of a series of weak excuses for inaction in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

With billions being spent on vaccine development, rapid easy testing is being ignored. Imagine if a rapid saliva test like a pregnancy test existed- I could allow us to eradicate the disease if people could be trusted to use it, places like schools could easily test as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

The saliva swab tests are coming down the line. I'd agree, regular nasal swabs are not ideal but a quick saliva test would be very manageable.

sideswipe wrote: »
    With billions being spent on vaccine development, rapid easy testing is being ignored. Imagine if a rapid saliva test like a pregnancy test existed- I could allow us to eradicate the disease if people could be trusted to use it, places like schools could easily test as well.

Plus testing has been instrumental in the non mediocre countries that got things much more right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Planning a house party at my gaff, limited to 6 though. Hang on, I can invite 30 if ye bring schoolbooks with ye..... no wait, I can invite 40 but we have to say Mass. Or ... I can invite 50 but two of ye have to get married.....no wait I can invite 80 of ye if ye bring your golf clubs ����

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

The saliva swab tests are coming down the line. I'd agree, regular nasal swabs are not ideal but a quick saliva test would be very manageable.

Id have no issue with children getting regular saliva tests, but not the nasal ones. My eldest is utterly phobic in medical settings due to a near-death experience as a toddler and subsequent hospital visits that left her utterly traumatised to the point she will scream if she sees someone in scrubs. If they did nasal exams in school, she'd never set foot in the door again.

khalessi wrote: »
    Planning a house party at my gaff, limited to 6 though. Hang on, I can invite 30 if ye bring schoolbooks with ye..... no wait, I can invite 40 but we have to say Mass. Or ... I can invite 50 but two of ye have to get married.....no wait I can invite 80 of ye if ye bring your golf clubs ����

Miss, Miss ... my Ma says I don't have to wear a mask at the party and I've to call her if any of those stupid teachers give me any hassle.

isup wrote: »
    The kids will ok but what about their family's and teachers? I really don't understand how the government are saying they are returning safely to school.

Nobody is returning safely to school. Nobody. There will be clusters, kids sick, teachers and assistants sick, bus drivers sick, parents sick and/or having to quarantine and an inevitable spread to the old and vulnerable and the HSE in meltdown. Online learning should have been given huge focus and resources and upped to a very high level but it wasn't and now up to us all to make the decision for our own families. Not easy.

s1ippy wrote: »

Some testers put the swab so far up your nasal cavity it feels like it’s behind your eye, it’s then twisted. Left my wife with a very bad headache and she took sick leave for the day, takes a fair bit for her to take sick leave.

Yeah I had the same and right down the throat gagging too. I saw Ryan Tubridy getting one live on air and the reality was completely different :o

I get the same gag reflex when I read some of the waffle on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Balagan1 wrote: »
    Nobody is returning safely to school. Nobody. There will be clusters, kids sick, teachers and assistants sick, bus drivers sick, parents sick and/or having to quarantine and an inevitable spread to the old and vulnerable and the HSE in meltdown. Online learning should have been given huge focus and resources and upped to a very high level but it wasn't and now up to us all to make the decision for our own families. Not easy.
    This situation is completely heartbreaking. For the older teachers that cant afford to just resign, for the teachers with family members with underlying conditions. For parents with kids that are at risk due to medical conditions. And, now people are turning on each other. As human beings we have to take care of each other. Stop with the selfishness. Kids can learn online, home schooling is a very viable option. We can at least see that just bringing kids back half time to reduce the numbers and allow distancing is the way to go until a vaccine or even for ever if no vaccine.

Why are we allowing terrified teachers to even happen. Its outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭combat14

up in bray today nearly wet myself laughing at everyone queuing to get into the shops .. what's the point, what's the point anymore .. a million student start to go back next week and anyone who has been inside a school with hundreds of teenagers knows there will be absolutely no social distancing throughout the whole country in a few day times ..

time to enjoy the last few days and weeks before the country is locked down again..

This situation is completely heartbreaking. For the older teachers that cant afford to just resign, for the teachers with family members with underlying conditions. For parents with kids that are at risk due to medical conditions. And, now people are turning on each other. As human beings we have to take care of each other. Stop with the selfishness. Kids can learn online, home schooling is a very viable option. We can at least see that just bringing kids back half time to reduce the numbers and allow distancing is the way to go until a vaccine or even for ever if no vaccine.

Why are we allowing terrified teachers to even happen. Its outrageous.

Betty, you're a breath of fresh air in a sometimes toxic teacher-bashing thread.

Take care.

Blondini wrote: »
    I get the same gag reflex when I read some of the waffle on this thread.

You do have the capacity to understand that the testing can be a different experience for different people and that the tests can be administered incorrectly or without the same amount of care or attention and this can mean some people have a testing experience which is very unpleasant? This isn’t some kind of theory or your level of tolerance for pain or how much of a snowflake you are, it’s been talked about for months now that the level of discomfort someone feels when they get tested ranges from person to person.

You do have the capacity to understand that the testing can be a different experience for different people .

Okay.

My "capacity" to understand in all probability is superior to yours but thanks anyway.

I've no gripe whatsoever with you. Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

You do have the capacity to understand that the testing can be a different experience for different people and that the tests can be administered incorrectly or without the same amount of care or attention and this can mean some people have a testing experience which is very unpleasant? This isn’t some kind of theory or your level of tolerance for pain or how much of a snowflake you are, it’s been talked about for months now that the level of discomfort someone feels when they get tested ranges from person to person.

Yes definitely depends on the tester . My SIL had it done prior to a surgical procedure and said the tester was inexperienced and went really far back . She felt it behind the eyes
    She had another test a few weeks later for another admission and it was absolutely fine .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

Okay.

My "capacity" to understand in all probability is superior to yours but thanks anyway.

I've no gripe whatsoever with you. Yet.

It has to be Boards employees getting a cut out of the traffic of this thread. It's genius.

Betty, you're a breath of fresh air in a sometimes toxic teacher-bashing thread.

Take care.
    Blondini Its not just teacher bashing at this stage, its everyone bashing at each other. It seems to be lets just blame someone. Hence the govt are now to blame for a golf party. That is absolutely ridiculous and its got to stop. The reality of the situation is now we have to take care of each other wether you like FF or FG or SF it dosent matter. We all know politics is a game and now is not the time for spectators. I dont have faith in any single person in govt. Its just their job and they are again selfish. We have to rise above this and realize that its in our own hands to keep each other safe. When schools go back there is going to be community spread , without a doubt. Schools have to stop this and say half time only. Social distancing is the only way to stop this virus.

Social distancing is the only way to stop this virus.

Social distancing is effective and helps push out the peaks over the course of the epidemic, along with the other interventions such as the lockdown restrictions.

The main purpose of those restrictions was to prepare our medical services and testing capabilities during the initial peak.

Sustaining social distancing and lockdown measures over several months is not feasible because of the social fallout and of course the economy.

So we move to the next step to try to push out that curve some more, a combination of testing, isolation, and contact tracing.

Social distancing is not the only way but is part of an overall strategy, and people will over the course of time naturally stop socially distancing.

We could get lucky and the virus naturally downgrades or vanishes, we could be left dealing with it for years until we've got herd immunity or we might get a vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Warbeastrior

Just sickens ya to see the government massively spaced out in The Convention Centre at a massive daily cost to protect themselves but they then decide to send staff and students back to schools that are in most cases overcrowded.
    Criminal stuff.

Social distancing is effective and helps push out the peaks over the course of the epidemic, along with the other interventions such as the lockdown restrictions.

The main purpose of those restrictions was to prepare our medical services and testing capabilities during the initial peak.

Sustaining social distancing and lockdown measures over several months is not feasible because of the social fallout and of course the economy.

So we move to the next step to try to push out that curve some more, a combination of testing, isolation, and contact tracing.

Social distancing is not the only way but is part of an overall strategy, and people will over the course of time naturally stop socially distancing.

We could get lucky and the virus naturally downgrades or vanishes, we could be left dealing with it for years until we've got herd immunity or we might get a vaccine.
    Yes you are right people will give up SD because of greed and selfishness and lack of caring for each other. Thats so called democracy. But Im hoping the majority of people will see through this and stop it Its a sad world that can put but I thought unions would step in there. Is that not the case? How are we allowing

each other at risk and turn on each other. People are deferent and thats how this is maintained

Yes you are right people will give up SD because of greed and selfishness and lack of caring for each other. Thats so called democracy. But Im hoping the majority of people will see through this and stop it Its a sad world that can put but I thought unions would step in there. Is that not the case? How are we allowing

each other at risk and turn on each other. People are deferent and thats how this is maintained
    We need to protect our kids , our healthcare workers and our teachers. Not just politicians pensions.