Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will schools be able to go back in September? (Continued)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

In relation to School buses for PP, like others, I flagged the issue weeks ago, it was so feckin obvious. Now we await the clusterfcuk solution a week out.

Also mentioned today was the attitude of parents. I'm a parent of a first year PP student. I tried to kick start some kind of debate/reaction with other parents and met a wall of indifference/ignorance. There was no interest from any of them in relation to expressing our concerns to politicians/local school/BOM etc. A few of the more religious types mentioned God and prayer. They even suggested that I should focus on the revised prayer service being held outdoors on the schools opening day for first years. I also got the usual working parents baloney in terms of staggered attendance.

I'm at a loss. I got the school reopening plan last Monday online. The printed version arrived yesterday. There is a huge amount of effort in it, but it won't be enough. My bottom line is still the same. The School bus plan for PP is to change, but Dail Eireann will commence in a 25K a day convention centre that provides SD for less than 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Unusual approach, blurs the lines between you a teacher and a representative of your school (which is what you are seen as whether you agree or not) and your students parents.

It might explain why you have so many pesky parents annoying you all the time.

I don't know what my children's teachers know or feel. I know how my kids are getting on in school and what they are up to day to day, I know their academic weaknesses/strengths but that's about it.

The name change hasn’t prevented judgemental, sanctimonious claptrap.
    Perhaps there is a very good reason the teachers keep you at arm’s length.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Sunday Sunday

Grandeeod wrote: »
    In relation to School buses for PP, like others, I flagged the issue weeks ago, it was so feckin obvious. Now we await the clusterfcuk solution a week out.

Also mentioned today was the attitude of parents. I'm a parent of a first year PP student. I tried to kick start some kind of debate/reaction with other parents and met a wall of indifference/ignorance. There was no interest from any of them in relation to expressing our concerns to politicians/local school/BOM etc. A few of the more religious types mentioned God and prayer. They even suggested that I should focus on the revised prayer service being held outdoors on the schools opening day for first years. I also got the usual working parents baloney in terms of staggered attendance.

I'm at a loss. I got the school reopening plan last Monday online. The printed version arrived yesterday. There is a huge amount of effort in it, but it won't be enough. My bottom line is still the same. The School bus plan for PP is to change, but Dail Eireann will commence in a 25K a day convention centre that provides SD for less than 200.

Don't be surprised if people aren't interested when you are so quick yourself to dismiss their views be that religion or individual concerns or personal circumstances.

Most parents are just happy their kids are returning to some sort of normality and don't tend to want to rock the boat.

Trying to kick start a reaction from other anxious parents is not the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭amacca

iamwhoiam wrote: »

I fully understand that teachers would be frustrated with the ones who obviously don’t care . They are in every walk of life but focusing on them is not totally fair to the others who are supportive and encouraging

My frustration on this thread is that a few teachers have nothing good to say about parents but will persistently focus on the bad ones . Making snide remarks about parents eyc . And it is also odd that they are not called out on it by other teachers which gives the impression of the wagon circling

I suppose i can undrrstand that...look i think its human nature that the more negative exoeriences tend to be more memorable....and if they are continually not dealt with in a fair manner then thst amplifies it particularly when you are talking about a persons wirkplace where they are isolated most of the time andcwhen tey are not they are being badgered with mostly meaningless tick the box pass the buck administrative work packed full of self serving guff...

For me it was intolerable hypocrisy to be paying lip srvice to inclusiveness and improving educational provision and the system for etc and turn a blind eye to this type of stuff while valuing PR or the latest failed old initiative from the UK (with about 10 years of a lag) reheated and served up as "reform" while ignoring the elephants in the room and then what it all boiled down to was more meaningless window dressing and the ultimate shrug of the shoulders when any real issue that could have improved provision was brought up.....indeed there was active discouragement of bringing it up (understandable really as feck all can be done about it....but not excusable in my book) ...i have no doubt tgat or similar versions of it sre playing themselves out in a lot of places in the country.

But more relevant to this discussion....what i think is really amplifying the issue of that cohort that cant co-operate wont co-operate (even minimally) is the fear that all the rules in the school code of behaviour etc that should be followed wont be followed by them and that there wont be a hell of a lot teachers can do except muddle through as usual while nothing is done accept try sweep as much as possible under the carpet.....and the school will get it in the neck if there is an incident they csnt sweep under the carpet...despite the fact they are given woefully inadequate tools to deal with it.....you cant just send them home as there is a legal issue if anything happens etc etc

I hope im wrong...and perhaps i will be but i cant see that cohort playing ball pandemic or not and i cant see schools given any support dealing with them either.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭LaLa2004

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Looking at all these nice primary and secondary schools they're visiting, nothing like the schools I went too.

According to schooldays.ie, Nagle Community College has 200 students. Micheál should have gone to one of the many post-primary schools with 1000+ students to address the real issues of social distancing in schools.

The name change hasn’t prevented judgemental, sanctimonious claptrap.
    Perhaps there is a very good reason the teachers keep you at arm’s length.

Not judgemental, just offering the poster advice, if they are having trouble with parents then this could be some of the reason why, the lines have been blurred and parents feel its OK to intrude on them.

I don't need to know too much about how my kids teachers feel, that's kind of personal and does nobody any favours if there's an issue with boundaries.

By all means teachers and parents can be friendly but it's a professional relationship at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

markodaly wrote: »
    And which suggestion is actually standing up to scruitney at the moment? Yours?
    What is the plan from the TUI or the ASTI or are they busy just poking holes?

We have had many teachers on this thread, give their own half baked solution to the problem, are you going to have a go at them?

I said my piece and ill repeat, teachers and the Dept. of Education are simply incapable of changing their ways and becoming project managers rather then teachers. Its expected, teachers teach, they dont have a much of a notion about operations or managing a project.
    The Dept of Education dont have the ability either, so they come up with a half baked plan that has the best chance of working. A hope and see approach.

This is the chickens coming home to roost by the way. Decades of teachers looking for pay rises against deep dysfunction in the education system and lacking infrastructure. Oh, you want to have a go at me for that? Fine, but show me the last time the teachers striked for an increase for the education budget dedicated to infrastrucutre?

Normally we see infrastructure issues on the news as the teachers bring it up. For example the teachers and parents of my school marched on the Dail a number of years ago regarding the fact 60% of our school buildings were prefabs and had mould, the stench was amazing.

And I old enough numerous times since the 70s as kid and adult when teachers have raised issues over school buildings and called on the government about education matters right the way through today.

What happens is the publicity is enough to get the problem sorted before striking. So we ended up with vast improvements to our building. But it should not take marching on the Dail or striking teachers to get the obvious done.

It is always the go to point which shows shallow thinking in my view, one of three, teacher pay, teacher holidays, when did ye last strike?

If you look at newspapers you will see letters from teachers, newspaper reports and tv new reports about teachers complaining about infrastructure. Striking always is a lst resource there are many other means first, some public some not.

Don't be surprised if people aren't interested when you are so quick yourself to dismiss their views be that religion or individual concerns or personal circumstances.

Most parents are just happy their kids are returning to some sort of normality and don't tend to want to rock the boat.

Trying to kick start a reaction from other anxious parents is not the way to go.

Such presumption. Cool your jets.

I started a discussion with other parents. Then I listened to the feedback. I've only reported here what the reaction was. I never dismissed anything during the chats.

Pull in your neck there.

Just read an email from BE in relation to PP school bus service. Received early this evening. Where possible a 50% reduction will happen on the existing fleet. However the bus service will continue with existing guidelines until extra capacity can be provided. If you want your child to opt out they will refund you. No date for when they can provide the 50% capacity across the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Just read an email from BE in relation to PP school bus service. Received early this evening. Where possible a 50% reduction will happen on the existing fleet. However the bus service will continue with existing guidelines until extra capacity can be provided. If you want your child to opt out they will refund you. No date for when they can provide the 50% capacity across the service.

Ahh the infamous 'where possible' phrase. Expect buses to just stay as they normally are so.

Such presumption. Cool your jets.

I started a discussion with other parents. Then I listened to the feedback. I've only reported here what the reaction was. I never dismissed anything during the chats.

Pull in your neck there.

Oh sorry, my mistake. I thought you "tried to kick start some kind of debate/reaction with other parents and met a wall of indifference/ignorance".

My bad, I mean you couldn't possibly have been trying to stir up a load of parents who are as anxious as you are about first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭marilynrr

That is a relief. I was beginning to think my child would not be able to get to school.

Oh sorry, my mistake. I thought you "tried to kick start some kind of debate/reaction with other parents and met a wall of indifference/ignorance".

My bad, I mean you couldn't possibly have been trying to stir up a load of parents who are as anxious as you are about first year.

They aren't anxious. They don't seem to care about any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,798 ✭✭✭✭josip

Blondini wrote: »
    It was the turnout for the whole school. 500 students. 5PM until 8.30PM.

That's very considerate of your school.
    Out P/T meetings are during working hours (5PM) and 6 minutes allocated per parent(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

In fairness the reopening of schools is not just a teacher isssue, plenty of parents are shtting themselves also.

But I do have to admire the fact the first thing teachers did NOT do was to scupper the whole thing. Have to hand it to them.

Not an ideal situation for anyone, but we shall see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

josip wrote: »
    That's very considerate of your school.
    Out P/T meetings are during working hours (5PM) and 6 minutes allocated per parent(s)

Oh, this was before the introduction of teacher detention Croke Park Hours :pac:

In fairness the reopening of schools is not just a teacher isssue, plenty of parents are shtting themselves also.

But I do have to admire the fact the first thing teachers did NOT do was to scupper the whole thing. Have to hand it to them.

Not an ideal situation for anyone, but we shall see.

Yes they've done the best possible, I'm for the most part pleased with our local schools arrangements and the recent engagement from them too.

I feel their hands were tied with a lot of things but hoping the first few weeks is not too difficult to get everything settled down.

They really had an unacceptable amount of notice to get things in order and probably the worst and most anxious summer break for a lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

I'm in next week, I've no illusions about it, I as an SNA will help my kids to the absolute best of my ability, but I will be social distancing, I will be wearing a mask, and I will not be touching any students books or equipment. I move between 7 students, all in different classes and years, so as obtuse as I might look to my management or the public I am doing it for the safety of my students, their families and my own family. If it looks like I'm not doing my job, they can report me all they want. This virus is not make believe.

I'm the same. My teaching is going to have to change, for the worst I might add. I have to do so though for my loved ones and my own safety. No one else really cares so I will look after myself.

Government(safely distancing themselves in the convention.centre), department(hiding behind their precious plan). None of them give a damn if a few teachers or SNAs die. Collateral damage to them with their view that you have to break a few eggs to make an omelette. Disposable is what we are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

As a parent of a child who has an SNA (supposed to be full time with her but the school chops and changes as suits them). The idea that the plan is to bull on as normal with SNAs switching between kids as if it was any other day at the office horrifies me.

To be clear I lay no blame at the feet of yourselves, I am well aware of how much taking the Mick goes on with schools towards ye.

I'm the same. My teaching is going to have to change, for the worst I might add. I have to do so though for my loved ones and my own safety. No one else really cares so I will look after myself.

I'm just going to go with the flow. In the back of my head a voice is saying it will be ok. Just wear the mask the visor, hazmat suit and wash hands it will be fine. I will be with the junior infants and should be fun getting them all settled.

khalessi wrote: »
    I'm just going to go with the flow. In the back of my head a voice is saying it will be ok. Just wear the mask the visor, hazmat suit and wash hands it will be fine. I will be with the junior infants and should be fun getting them all settled.

If I was to do what I would naturally do then I'm in amongst my children all day, every day. Down on my hunkers helping, explaining, cajoling.

We have to change to protect ourselves.

If I was to do what I would naturally do then I'm in amongst my children all day, every day. Down on my hunkers helping, explaining, cajoling.

We have to change to protect ourselves.

I can only be one way, and that is what I will do with d visor and mask, on my hunkers chatting away. Precautions as best as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Government(safely distancing themselves in the convention.centre), department(hiding behind their precious plan). None of them give a damn if a few teachers or SNAs die. Collateral damage to them with their view that you have to break a few eggs to make an omelette. Disposable is what we are.

As you say, no one cares about us educators, we are all out for ourselves and each other, stay safe for you and you families

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭combat14

looks like our schools will have this to look forward to shortly:

41 Berlin schools hit by Covid-19 infections barely two weeks after pupils return

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/berlin-schools-hit-by-covid-19-infections-fortnight-after-pupils-return-1.4335979?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

You teachers have to put up with an ungodly amount of imbeciles.

Even the well meaning ones are so exhaustingly stupid that I'm amazed you have the will to keep breathing.

This thread has been a real eye-opener for me.
    They're everywhere, and they're so, so stupid. I don't know how you put up with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

gabeeg wrote: »
    You teachers have to put up with an ungodly amount of imbeciles.

Even the well meaning ones are so exhaustingly stupid that I'm amazed you have the will to keep breathing.

This thread has been a real eye-opener for me.
    They're everywhere, and they're so, so stupid. I don't know how you put up with it.

It's a bit of comic relief to sneer at them.

I have a new favourite (sorry Sunday Fringe), it's the mastermind himself, the bould Marko :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Munsterman12

Reopening schools in kildare at present is stupid.

The lockdown in Kildare is stupid, changes nothing. People coming and going from the county all day every day.

It's purely a media strategy at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Blondini wrote: »
    It's a bit of comic relief to sneer at them.

I have a new favourite (sorry Sunday Fringe), it's the mastermind himself, the bould Marko :pac:

Meh Marko lacks stamina. He pops up throws a few barbs and disappears again for the week. He lacks commitment to the cause.
    The Fringemeister is a model of consistency, although I'm hoping that her alter ego is a hint that she will take Sundays off. No matter how often she is challenged, and shown to be wrong, she persists. She consistently told us that masks would not be required, and under no circumstances would her children be forced to wear masks. I presume she has registered for homeschooling.
    She will take a stance and defend it despite all evidence to the contrary. When the evidence is irrefutable she will deflect and move the point of the argument.
    She is totally committed to this thread and her duty to put those teachers in their place.
    Marko's approach is far too scattergun to compete. He lobs a few grenades and runs for cover.
    Sunday Gal on the other hand, her philosophy can be summed up as follows

She works all night, She posts all day, to tell the teachers what she has to say
    Ain't it sad
    And still there never seems to be a compliment to pay
    That's too bad
    In her dreams she had a plan
    If she got a teacher man
    She wouldn't have to work at all, She'd fool around and have a ball
    Money, money, money
    Must be funny
    In the teacher's world
    Money, money, money
    Always sunny
    In the teacher's world