Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

You know what myself and the wife here are absolutely livid with the golf thing from Calleary. I know personally of two people who have lost their business because of the lockdown as well as more importantly losing a extended family member to the virus. I'm sick of this "do as we say, not as we do" approach from those in power whilst the majority of us have had to make major sacrifices since March.

If Calleary isn't sacked this evening the government needs to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

You know what myself and the wife here are absolutely livid with the golf thing from Calleary. I know personally of two people who have lost their business because of the lockdown as well as more importantly losing a extended family member to the virus. I'm sick of this "do as we say, not as we do" approach from those in power whilst the majority of us have had to make major sacrifices since March.

If Calleary isn't sacked this evening the government needs to go.

Its always the way. If the ones making the decisions dont feel the effect of their decisions they dont care and will push it as far as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The Belly wrote: »
    Wait for the...

We all need to tighten our belts or more recently we all partied. It will be some version of that come the budget.

Lol! Except wedidnt party!!! Anyway, hope you lads are alll financiallly alright ! Thsir fiscal incompeteence here is so spectacular here , i really lived prudently for a few years, to leave myself with little exposure to when the band of fools drive things off the cliff again. Didnt expect it to be due to a situation like this admittedly. But i do know, the parties here arent actually incapable of running a country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Lol! Except wedidnt party!!! Anyway, hope you lads are alll financiallly alright ! Thsir fiscal incompeteence here is so spectacular here , i really lived prudently for a few years, to leave myself with little exposure to when the band of fools drive things off the cliff again. Didnt expect it to be due to a situation like this admittedly. But i do know, the parties here arent actually incapable of running a country...

It will be the we all got to stick to together tax and many of the faces in the media and gov will sail of into the sunset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Well Prime Time was a hoot tonight. That Professor from DCU showed everything that is wrong with the Irish academia. He couldn't just disagree with the Harvard professor, oh no, the Harvard was WRONG, and the "we" in the Irish medical profession know best with their only option to follow NZ and Scotland to get to ZeroCovid.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,256 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

JRant wrote: »
    Well Prime Time was a hoot tonight. That Professor from DCU showed everything that is wrong with the Irish academia. He couldn't just disagree with the Harvard professor, oh no, the Harvard was WRONG, and the "we" in the Irish medical profession know best with their only option to follow NZ and Scotland to get to ZeroCovid.

Was that the fella making the statement with his mask on in the studio or the other fella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

He won`t be and they don`t.

He will be gone tomorrow. Early I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

The fact of the matter is these politicians don’t believe in these restrictions themselves. They’re clearly not afraid of the virus at all, big Phil even sauntered into this party from Brussels. Isn’t that a country with a very high instance of the virus currently? The media should be asking this question as a matter of urgency, why are none of these politicians/associates not afraid of catching Covid?
    Meanwhile they’re putting the fear of God into vulnerable groups, constant hyping up of the virus on RTÉ, bringing in extra Gardaí powers despite themselves being by far the worst culprits for disregarding the ‘no party’ rule, and wheeling out a constant train of the zero Covid fanatics - whose ship has sailed long ago. Imagine to still try & use New Zealand as your example, despite being told repeatedly its Geographical location and ours are incomparable, and the little matter that even New Zealand cannot keep it out despite all the measures they’ve taken & are back in lockdown.

Flash back to last Saturday when the video of the pub was circulating, those people ended up fearing for their safety over the outrage fuelled by members of this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

robbiezero wrote: »
    He will be gone tomorrow. Early I reckon.

Dara Calleary gone.
    Phil Hogan, Senators Jerry Buttimer and John Cummins and many others still to come.

Shame of a government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭GocRh

Shaking hands, no masks, no social distancing.
    They should all be sacked and go to quarantine.

"
    A person staying at the hotel with his family told the Irish Times he saw no evidence of social distancing when he witnessed the attendees arriving.

“No masks. No distancing,” said the the witness who asked that his name not be used.

He said he had to push his kids through two Oireachtas members whom he recognised to try to get to the lift.

“My 11 year old who is Covid anxious was hugely upset. The hotel has been brilliant all week on all Covid aspects. This was a really strange event with all that in mind.

“At the reception people were being introduced to each other and shaking hands. No distancing and no masks. We were flabbergasted.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/taoiseach-furious-over-calleary-s-attendance-at-golf-dinner-with-80-in-apparent-covid-rules-breach-1.4335287?mode=amp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

GocRh wrote: »
    Shaking hands, no masks, no social distancing.
    They should all be sacked and go to quarantine.

"
    A person staying at the hotel with his family told the Irish Times he saw no evidence of social distancing when he witnessed the attendees arriving.

“No masks. No distancing,” said the the witness who asked that his name not be used.

He said he had to push his kids through two Oireachtas members whom he recognised to try to get to the lift.

“My 11 year old who is Covid anxious was hugely upset. The hotel has been brilliant all week on all Covid aspects. This was a really strange event with all that in mind.

“At the reception people were being introduced to each other and shaking hands. No distancing and no masks. We were flabbergasted.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/taoiseach-furious-over-calleary-s-attendance-at-golf-dinner-with-80-in-apparent-covid-rules-breach-1.4335287?mode=amp

Covid anxious. Is it a new condition? Half the country must have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Flash back to last Saturday when the video of the pub was circulating, those people ended up fearing for their safety over the outrage fuelled by members of this group.

Exactly, all the grand standing over that Berlin bar last weekend. That was manna from heaven for the government. Deflect from the decision makers and turn the public against itself. So many of them couldn’t condemn it quick enough. “A kick in the guts for all of us who have made sacrifices”. Simon Harris very quiet about this latest flouting of the restrictions I see.

Sickening bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Covid anxious 11 yr olds? That’s as shameful as any of this. What sort of society have we at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

GocRh wrote: »
    Dara Calleary gone.
    Phil Hogan, Senators Jerry Buttimer and John Cummins and many others still to come.

Shame of a government.

Do you expect Phil Hogan to resign as Trade Commissioner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,583 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Covid anxious 11 yr olds? That’s as shameful as any of this. What sort of society have we at all.

How about covid aware 11 years olds.
    Great to see children who can spread the disease demonstrate the maturity to be aware of social distancing.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Great to see children who can spread the disease demonstrate the maturity to be aware of social distancing.

The article specifically mentioned "covid anxious" and "very upset" so stop deflecting.

No surprise really. Hercule Poirot wouldn't have noticed as much "breaches" as the person in the article.

Poor child, the hysteria has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Its not maturity. Its fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Exactly, all the grand standing over that Berlin bar last weekend. That was manna from heaven for the government. Deflect from the decision makers and turn the public against itself. So many of them couldn’t condemn it quick enough. “A kick in the guts for all of us who have made sacrifices”. Simon Harris very quiet about this latest flouting of the restrictions I see.

Sickening bastards.

If there is no tweet from Simon Harris about this, he is a sickening cowardly hypocrite.
    He has been calling out people from Day 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

Sounds like a smart professor

The fact of the matter is these politicians don’t believe in these restrictions themselves. They’re clearly not afraid of the virus at all, big Phil even sauntered into this party from Brussels. Isn’t that a country with a very high instance of the virus currently? The media should be asking this question as a matter of urgency, why are none of these politicians/associates not afraid of catching Covid?
    Meanwhile they’re putting the fear of God into vulnerable groups, constant hyping up of the virus on RTÉ, bringing in extra Gardaí powers despite themselves being by far the worst culprits for disregarding the ‘no party’ rule, and wheeling out a constant train of the zero Covid fanatics - whose ship has sailed long ago. Imagine to still try & use New Zealand as your example, despite being told repeatedly its Geographical location and ours are incomparable, and the little matter that even New Zealand cannot keep it out despite all the measures they’ve taken & are back in lockdown.

Imagine repeating the same non excuses about geography ad infinitum. Now is the time for zero covid. What is special about Taiwan?

Ship hasn't sailed and it makes more sense now as the the hope covid just goes away tactic isn't working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

i_surge wrote: »
    Imagine repeating the same non excuses about geography ad infinitum. Now is the time for zero covid. What is special about Taiwan?

Ship hasn't sailed and it makes more sense now as the the hope covid just goes away tactic isn't working.

Another reason the zero covid approach must be banished from the public discourse comes from the UK. London has greatly eased restrictions, a friend was over last week and was shocked how different it is to Ireland. There are certain theories that herd immunity has been achieved in parts of London too. That means the UK is more likely to continue to ease its restrictions, not go stricter, which means we absolutely cannot even attempt to to try a zero covid approach at this point.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-letter-signed-by-irish-researchers-seeks-policy-rethink-1.4273936

When the armchair pundits online saw this approach as BS from way back in June, it really raises questions about how much we should be listening to the likes of McConckey, Anthony Staines, Gerard Killeen and Tomás Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

You clearly can't tell the difference between fear and maturity.
    Not a good mental health position for a developing child to be in.

Another reason the zero covid approach must be banished from the public discourse comes from the UK. London has greatly eased restrictions, a friend was over last week and was shocked how different it is to Ireland. There are certain theories that herd immunity has been achieved in parts of London too. That means the UK is more likely to continue to ease its restrictions, not go stricter, which means we absolutely cannot even attempt to to try a zero covid approach at this point.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-letter-signed-by-irish-researchers-seeks-policy-rethink-1.4273936

When the armchair pundits online saw this approach as BS from way back in June, it really raises questions about how much we should be listening to the likes of McConckey, Anthony Staines, Gerard Killeen and Tomás Ryan.

That's not a "reason".

Should we follow the UK's example now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,242 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I watched it and when it was over I couldn't remember anything that was discussed, nothing whatsoever.
    The sight of a Professor (DCU) wearing a mask in a spacious TV studio with no one anywhere near him was so ridiculous I didn't know whether to laugh or cry! :o

You clearly can't tell the difference between fear and maturity.
    Not a good mental health position for a developing child to be in.

I'm blaming the adults here and not taking pot shots at kids who are trying to follow the social distancing etc guidelines to keep themselves from picking up a disease which could be fatal to their loves ones.
    Is that fear? I don't know. I'm not going to get drawn into semantic games with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I'm blaming the adults here and not taking pot shots at kids who are trying to follow the social distancing etc guidelines to keep themselves from picking up a disease which could be fatal to their loves ones.
    Is that fear? I don't know. I'm not going to get drawn into semantic games with you.

You described the reactions of an 11year old as maturity when clearly it's not. Don't worry about getting drawn into any game, it's obvious what you are at.

You're the one presenting yourself as an expert on the mental health of children.
    As if.

An 11 year old that is Covid anxious and hugely upset at seeing some people shaking hands. What has this country become folks?

Can't say I am a big fan of this government but I take no pleasure seeing a man forced to resign for attending a function.

Half of these ministers know the restrictions are b*llox anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

i_surge wrote: »
    That's not a "reason".

Should we follow the UK's example now?

The reason I mention the UK is because we share a land border with them and they are practically out the other side. It is utterly pointless to try go off on an extremist isolation approach consequently.

Pointless?

To try achieve something grand

Typical!

"Practically out the otherside" is not an honest statement