Bikes on donedeal, ebay, adverts etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Unfortunately, there are plenty overpriced 20-year-old bikes on the Deal, alas when a nice runabout at a keen price comes about it gone like the wind. Not one of those that have been angled grinded and welded back together! Had my eye on a red 600cc in limerick yesterday but it has a deposit on it the evening. With winter around the corner I expect a few bargains will start popping up ... well, I hope anyway.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Unfortunately, there are plenty overpriced 20-year-old bikes on the Deal, alas when a nice runabout at a keen price comes about it gone like the wind. Not one of those that have been angled grinded and welded back together! Had my eye on a red 600cc in limerick yesterday but it has a deposit on it the evening. With winter around the corner I expect a few bargains will start popping up ... well, I hope anyway.

Me too, just need a runner for a few months and halved my budget as I have a budget for a 650cc but be keeping that for the A licence bike. Yea with the weather bring crap hopefully it’ll hold off someone buying the bike I’ve had my eye on :D. Hopefully you’ll get a bike you’re looking for soon, I didn’t think ppl would take a deposit and trust the other person. Is that the norm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭The QuietMan

@blade1

Get checking down the back of the couch for some spare change matey

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/aprillia-touno-v4-1100-factory/25624812?campaign=3

Anyone see any 125 for sale pop them up here please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

@blade1

https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/aprillia-touno-v4-1100-factory/25624812?campaign=3

Would it be immoral to start a go fund me page for a Tuono? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

blade1 wrote: »
    Any vices left at this stage? Give up something sinful and start saving? You must be very nearly pure now :D

(pure or poor :: )

Never lol

Any vices left at this stage? Give up something sinful and start saving? You must be very nearly pure now :D

(pure or poor :: )

I could start selling my body but social distancing would make it hard even for a sexy fūcker like myself! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

Just throwing this out to youse.

Im looking for a cheap classic 15years +, got a million years no claims that will expire in March so need to insure something to keep it until I get back on my feet and get something decent.

Yea that’s the stuff I’ve been looking at in the ad. First thing caught my eye was looking at the rear brake arm too but in fairness the seller isn’t hiding it by including it in the pictures, is that just a rust clean up job or replacing the arm? Yea I’m impressed by how it looks in regards to condition and the color is nice too, it’s a definitely noticeable bike on the road. I like the proposed work done to it. I definitely wouldn’t pay the asking price.

You could have this for less
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagebikes-for-sale/yamaha-virago-535/25705551

My A1 licence is only up to 125cc, cool bike though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

My A1 licence only always up to 125cc, cool bike though.

How about one of these?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-varadaro/25574946
    Good little bikes and not too bad performance wise for a 125.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Acquiescence

My A1 licence only always up to 125cc, cool bike though.

What's the craic with your licence again..

They wouldn't let you progress to A2 so you've to tool around on a 125 for an indeterminate period of time?

What age are you if you don't mind me asking?

What dyou plan on using the bike for?

CJhaughey wrote: »
    How about one of these?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/motorbikes-for-sale/honda-varadaro/25574946
    Good little bikes and not too bad performance wise for a 125.

That or a TDR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭zubair

That or a TDR.

XD

TDR or not at least its a bit more realistic in price. Could get that for below asking.

Of course :D :pac:

That or a TDR.

JT has one, seen it the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Wouldn't mind a TDR 250 myself.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind a TDR 250 myself.

Mmmm indeed, crazy money when they do pop up though.

What's the craic with your licence again..

They wouldn't let you progress to A2 so you've to tool around on a 125 for an indeterminate period of time?

What age are you if you don't mind me asking?

What dyou plan on using the bike for?

To get road experience for few months till spring I’m looking at and get the A licence then with the hours banked. I’m 40, bike for pleasure and see how it grips me from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Shanzze

To get road experience for few months till spring I’m looking at and get the A licence then with the hours banked. I’m 40, bike for pleasure and see how it grips me from there.

I did my IBT a few weeks ago on a Honda CBF 600. No experience bar driving a car. Did you feel the instructor was holding you back from the bigger bike. Maybe I just had to get on with it as they didn't have any smaller bikes on the day. Did you go with the hope of riding a bigger bike?

Shanzze wrote: »
    I did my IBT a few weeks ago on a Honda CBF 600. No experience bar driving a car. Did you feel the instructor was holding you back from the bigger bike. Maybe I just had to get on with it as they didn't have any smaller bikes on the day. Did you go with the hope of riding a bigger bike?

Yea you were in the deep end, fair play though. 125 was there then 500 n 2 600’s. No I felt like I had more time then I actually did, on the whole I thought I done fairly good for someone with no experience. My instructor was completely honest with me which I appreciate more then anything. After a chat on break I applied myself better and realised I needed to get this quick or have nothing to show for it. Yea would of loved the A licence but I’m a slow learner at times and then I excel when I get the basics rolling. With more trust in the bike early doors I could of gotten the A but I've hours to use so don’t have to dip into my pocket again in terms of IBT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I’m 40, bike for pleasure and see how it grips me from there.

Dunno why, but I always imagined you as a young fella on his early 20s.

Haha I’m far more secure in all other aspects of my life just not biking at the moment lol

@blade1

Just spotted this one for a lot less money! :)

https://i.postimg.cc/prQ3HCg8/Screenshot-20200821-113011.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭zubair

Will I be able to flat foot it though?

zubair wrote: »
    Will I be able to flat foot it though?

One foot flat I reckon :pac:

Can it do burnouts :p

I'm anti messing on dangerous bikes!