If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

AdamD wrote: »
    Are there numbers out of every other city in Europe or do we just base it off worst case scenarios?

Sweden ain't doing bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Lefty2Guns wrote: »
    Only came across this recently, my fathers good friend died of a heart attack while at work. The hospital couldn't release his body until they tested him for COVID 19. They wanted to see if he died WITH C19 even though he had a heart attack. He would have went down as a COVID related death if he had it. Madness, how many more of those death stats are the similar? Government should be releasing those figures.

If the Covid caused the heart attack then it should be counted.

The chances of dying while having Covid without it having contributed to your death are very small.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Irish pubs are operating completely differently, so they can’t be compared.

That was graphically demonstrated over the weekend, and too many of the "substantial meals" that are supposed to be part of the pubs that are open are nothing like, in content or value. A bag of chips from the next door chipper shared between 4 people at a table is not what was intended, or required.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Neowise

I don’t think that’s really fair when Scotland don’t have the same reopening procedures in place as we do.
    From what I gather there is no time limit, food requirement or booking necessary for Scottish pubs and while they have the rule of staying seated, it was neither adhered to nor enforced.
    Irish pubs are operating completely differently, so they can’t be compared.

One publican was reported to have put up an electric fence, normally used to restrict the movement of cattle, around his bar to stop punters trying to order at the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

That was graphically demonstrated over the weekend, and too many of the "substantial meals" that are supposed to be part of the pubs that are open are nothing like, in content or value. A bag of chips from the next door chipper shared between 4 people at a table is not what was intended, or required.

One pub in Dublin does not reflect on all pubs nationwide.

I have been to easily 9/10 different venues over the last 6 weeks, some more than once, and can confirm that all except one pub obeyed the rules to a tee.
    The one that disobeyed let us stay for half an hour later than they were supposed to, but other than that, all government guidelines were met.
    I felt safe and looked after.

And unless you are going to argue that the ‘substantial meal’ offers any protection from the virus, you don’t really have an argument. The whole point of it is to deter people from making multiple bookings in multiple venues and for the most part it’s working.
    Whether that means the customers are eating bags of chips from the chipper next door or an expensive steak is irrelevant because the concept is the same.

The pubs doing this are breaking no rules, they are providing meals as per the government guidelines via a third party vendor.

You simply cannot write off the whole pub trade based on the behaviour of one of them, or on clusters in another country with completely different rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Thierry12 wrote: »
    About 3 times less than Pneumonia then, that kills 20 a week

alo, the 5 miss-counted in August that were fom May/June.

another lockdowns what we need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I bet it [pneumonia] doesn't kill 20 per week at the moment. Mostly classified as covid.

If you're in ICU because of Covid, you might die of pneumonia, but it's not the root cause of death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,778 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So the 105mins remains if you're not 2m away from others but if you are you can stay for as long as its open ?

I'll go in on my own and try and sit at a table where I'm as far as possible from others.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Are hotel bars open for guests? Away in a few weeks, and wondering if they'll be open for a few pints (with food of course).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

If you're in ICU because of Covid, you might die of pneumonia, but it's not the root cause of death

So if an elderly individual in a nursing home with advanced cancer, COPD or Alzheimers, contracts covid and dies is it a covid death?

If the same comorbidities were present in 2019 and a nasty flu was the cause of death would it be recorded as flu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Kiith wrote: »
    Are hotel bars open for guests? Away in a few weeks, and wondering if they'll be open for a few pints (with food of course).

Yep. Each hotel seems to be doing their own thing though. Food and 105 minutes and out. Some there are no restrictions and can stay in the bar. Others are making you take your drinks into the lobby and will happily serve you there. Depends really!

Yeah hotels are all over the shop. Very little info on what was happening in the two I stayed in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Kiith wrote: »

I was in a bar in a hotel in Dublin last month, I was there with guests, there was no need to buy food with your drink. Staying in a hotel in Kerry this month, I had to buy food with my drink, and they were enforcing the time limit.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Any hotel I have stayed in over the last few weeks have given me a drink how and when I want it, and rightly so.

I got a bit of crap off a staff member in a place a few Mondays ago, but that was out of sheer laziness as opposed to the staff member giving a hoot over virus prevention or anything like it. I called her out on it too and she backed down fairly sharpish... and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭PommieBast

I don’t think that’s really fair when Scotland don’t have the same reopening procedures in place as we do.
    Not sure about Scotland but just got back from Hertfordshire where there is a huge variation in what pubs are doing. Aside from the 100mins rule some places are actually stricter than Irish requirements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Can someone clarify this for me:

What's the basis of the 105 time limit where physical distancing is reduced to 1 metre?

Somebody on here before was saying it would mean somebody at the table next to yours would be considered a close contact, but the clinical definition from the outset has been somebody who is within 2 metres of you for 15 minutes so that can't be the case.

What's the rationale?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

What's the basis of the 105 time limit where physical distancing is reduced to 1 metre?

Somebody on here before was saying it would mean somebody at the table next to yours would be considered a close contact, but the clinical definition from the outset has been somebody who is within 2 metres of you for 15 minutes so that can't be the case.

What's the rationale?

Who knows. Sure you're grand for 7 hours at 1m in a school. Maybe try reciting the times tables in the pub. Try a bit of algebra to increase your immunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Neowise wrote: »
    One publican was reported to have put up an electric fence, normally used to restrict the movement of cattle, around his bar to stop punters trying to order at the bar.

It was a strip of metal with a “Warning! Electric Fence” sign on it. Not an actual electric fence ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

What's the rationale?

It's a random figure plucked out of the air by Merrion street, you can sit on a Ryanair for 240 mins after a few beers at the airport terminal before you board...
    You can go see a movie with 50 people or whatever the new figure is today and sit in a cinema with them for 210 mins....

Someone will come on now and refute the above and say it's to stop punters in a pub having more alcohol than they should and licking each other and every door handle in the place to get the virus and the meal will reduce their desire to do so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Neowise

It was a strip of metal with a “Warning! Electric Fence” sign on it. Not an actual electric fence ffs.

Really?

https://www.rte.ie/news/newslens/2020/0714/1153304-electric-fence/

Looks like an electric fence to me.

Not just reported on rte btw.

https://www.google.com/search?q=electric+fence+pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Surely that in itself is contrary to safe practice of public health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,778 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Taken from a local pubs Facebook, jesus it's like school but im going for a few tomorrow and enjoy. Obviously I will be obeying the rules

'**********UPDATED GUIDELINES **************

Due to the recent updated guidelines , as of today we must point out the following rules !

▪️Please wear your mask on entering the pub and only remove when you are seated 🪑 , the mask is also to be put back on when leaving the premises .

▪️There will be hand sanitizers now attached to each table for you to use

▪️While we are taking walk ins we will also be taking bookings for tables

▪️We remind all customers you must remain seated at all times except to use the toilet or go for a cigarette . We will have enough staff on to ensure your tables are served at all times with table service

▪️Tables of 6 is the max number at any table

▪️We would ask anyone who’s doesn’t feel well to not come to the premises . This is a matter of public health for both yourself and the safety of our customers & staff .

Please remember we are operating as RESTAURANT not a bar so only those consuming food on the premises will be served alcohol !

Anyone looking for alcohol only will not be served .

Our main priority is to keep everyone safe . We ask you to please adhere to all the guidelines at all times to ensure a safe time at our bar'

Neowise wrote: »

“However, while he is determined to enforce social distancing on his premises to protect staff and customers alike, he does concede one thing - the fence has not been switched on.”

So a strip of metal with a sign.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Taken from a local pubs Facebook, jesus it's like school but im going for a few tomorrow and enjoy. Obviously I will be obeying the rules

'**********UPDATED GUIDELINES **************

Due to the recent updated guidelines , as of today we must point out the following rules !

▪️Please wear your mask on entering the pub and only remove when you are seated 🪑 , the mask is also to be put back on when leaving the premises .

▪️There will be hand sanitizers now attached to each table for you to use

▪️While we are taking walk ins we will also be taking bookings for tables

▪️We remind all customers you must remain seated at all times except to use the toilet or go for a cigarette . We will have enough staff on to ensure your tables are served at all times with table service

▪️Tables of 6 is the max number at any table

▪️We would ask anyone who’s doesn’t feel well to not come to the premises . This is a matter of public health for both yourself and the safety of our customers & staff .

Please remember we are operating as RESTAURANT not a bar so only those consuming food on the premises will be served alcohol !

Anyone looking for alcohol only will not be served .

Our main priority is to keep everyone safe . We ask you to please adhere to all the guidelines at all times to ensure a safe time at our bar'

Thank god the virus doesn’t transmit once your seated or your have to keep your mask on between bites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

What's the rationale?

Premier League games last 105 mins, including half time. Pubs couldn't be turfing lads our before the game finishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Thank god the virus doesn’t transmit once your seated or your have to keep your mask on between bites.

I am seriously not getting where the confusion seeps in.

These measures are to allow us to continue with the pubs open etc. They are preventative measures.

They are merely to help stop it spreading as fast. Not to stop it altogether. Not to kill it.
    Slow it down.

Then hopefully by the time winter rolls in we can still lead some sort of normal life, while holding out for a vaccine. We won't be outside as often. Even in the rain and wind this evening, people were out walking etc.. Those numbers will decrease unless we have a mild winter.

Every step we take to slow it down helps. I am not so much worried about getting it as aI am about spreading it, so I am happy to try and help slow it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The logic is simple. As you walk by people on the way to your table then you're not spreading the virus to the them.

Remember some pubs are large and you could be walking by a lot of tables and people to get to your table.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    How so compared too everyone else who are still going to pubs around the country ?

Pretty much anyone poring through restrictions/looking for llopholes at the present time in order to spend an evening however weird or restrictive in the pub likely has a drink problem. Admitting it is the first step to fixing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Pretty much anyone poring through restrictions/looking for llopholes at the present time in order to spend an evening however weird or restrictive in the pub likely has a drink problem. Admitting it is the first step to fixing it.

same as you poring through posts to be a total :confused:

bit sad to judge people

What about judges? Sad acts altogether?