Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I don't know about you. My drivers license has my address on it?
    Just a thought.

Yes but there’s loads of little backroads to slip through. Especially between laois and Kilkenny the “border” flits in and out all over the place. Impossible to police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

Gael23 wrote: »
    Should we all go vegetarian?

If some of us went cannibal, even for a short while, would solve many problems very quickly 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,091 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Exactly, back to earlier type of restrictions on business and social gatherings rather than trying to limit travel would be my guess.

I'm sure these plans are already in place.

You can't repeat the same mistakes and expect a different outcome. Without control of our borders were pissing in the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Boggles wrote: »
    Doctor Glynn said they will not allow this continue and will take action.

Couple of weeks of national restrictions before the schools open?

Or shutting down meat factories?

Steak will be the new toilet paper.

Either way I'm off to the butcher.

I hope Larry Goodman has plenty of masks :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Get to tell my nephew from galway tomorrow to go **** himself after he’s called it the Dublin disease since March. Can’t tell him tonight as he’s in bed, he’s six.
    You need to take a cold hard look at yourself! Facing down small children always ends badly!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

road_high wrote: »
    Yes but there’s loads of little backroads to slip through. Especially between laois and Kilkenny the “border” flits in and out all over the place. Impossible to police.

You are always going to get dickheads.
    Like people who don't quarantine coming back from holidays.
    Like people who subsequently feel poorly but go to work anyway and don't tell their employer.
    Like people who cause an outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

road_high wrote: »

Fast and the Furious - The Backroads Tales!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Probably just a question now of how long will a lockdown of Laois,Kildare & Offaly be necessary for?

Laois had no case for over a month shows how quickly things can change.

Anything to be said for another Mass?

MD1990 wrote: »
    Probably just a question now of how long will a lockdown of Laois,Kildare & Offaly be necessary for?

Laois had no case for over a month shows how quickly things can change.

I think they’ll be fairly hesitant to do it. I can’t imagine the Gardai are exactly relishing the idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭brookers

Blondini wrote: »
    Open the schools!

Is that you Dr. Kelly and all those Irish times journalists who kept repeatedly saying young children dont get it or spread it.....schools wont open. I said it a few weeks ago and I will put money on it.

Sorry to hear about the outbreaks in Kildare etc., but it's also good to hear the silence about shutting Dublin down too. We are not all that bad you boggers!

Trying to keep things lighthearted, but it is not looking good for future community transmission is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,790 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Genie out of the bottle now IMO, it's clutching at straws to talk about clusters in meat plants and how community transmission is low. Give it a week and see how community transmission is then. I hope I'm wrong.

More of a clusterf*ck than a cluster. 7 billion budget deficit in July alone, schools need to open in 3 weeks' time, potentially massive increase in waiting lists in an already dysfunctional health service.

On a personal level I am still angry about being ordered back to the office (public service job) in late June in contravention of government public health guidelines and having been WFH successfully for months. One of the justifications used was that that "things are back to normal", well they clearly aren't and I said that at the time.

You are always going to get dickheads.
    Like people who don't quarantine coming back from holidays.
    Like people who subsequently feel poorly but go to work anyway and don't tell their employer.
    Like people who cause an outbreak.

thousands leave these counties for work daily. And people the other way. Have two family members that work in portlaoise and kildare. But don’t live there...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

You can't repeat the same mistakes and expect a different outcome. Without control of our borders were pissing in the wind.

I meant in the three affected counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

ronano wrote: »
    best place to get irelands current cases per 100000?
    European CDC gives cumulative incidence/number of new cases per 100,000 population over the last 14 days. Updates daily.

Has increased from 4.2 in mid July to 9.9 today.

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

brookers wrote: »
    Is that you Dr. Kelly and all those Irish times journalists who kept repeatedly saying young children dont get it or spread it.....schools wont open. I said it a few weeks ago and I will put money on it.
    That poster is a teacher who's not going back, they definitely know that children spread it :D

GooglePlus wrote: »
    The word "cluster" seems to be the vaccine we have been looking for all along.
    This should win 100 awards for best post of the 20 threads. No matter where they're from, they're all cases that didn't exist a few days ago.
    polesheep wrote: »
    Then you have the group attacks on posters who link facts and try to provide good information and analysis. The baiting and goading to try to elicit infractions or thread bans. In the short while I've been on here I've seen some good posters simply give up in frustration. Just this week we witnessed a group attack on a young lad who only ever came on here to give figures and statistics.
    I'm with you on that, facts and figures (positive and negative) are very important. I wasn't involved in that criticism of ACE and I like plenty of his posts, presumably indicating that I appreciate the fact that he goes to the trouble of sourcing the info every day.
    But you know what? I'm not a bitter person, I'm actually quite personable and I know that the thing to do is not to respond to certain posts, this response being an exception, and to place a good portion of posters on ignore.
    If you think I'm pontificating to others about safety and you can't help but revel in a bad situation I find myself in, I can't understand why you wouldn't just add me to the list. The "attacks on joggers" you mentioned, I can only assume you're referring to this:
    https://mobile.twitter.com/geoff_shenton/status/1259007239903379458?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1259007239903379458%7Ctwgr%5E&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.boards.ie%2Fvbulletin%2Fshowthread.php%3Fp%3D113410188
    Informative video highlighting transmission of the virus when standing, walking and jogging. The virus travels further but has less saturation if moving fast, as you might expect. 5m seems to be the new minimum distance to be behind somebody walking and it's over 10m for someone jogging, and that's before you account for wind and air currents.
    That's all I could find. I don't know where you got the idea I have issues with jogging, unless they're running towards me menacingly. I jog on my own road (up the middle of it at 3am, it's exhilarating)

(I'm joking, I do normal jigging. That's a typo I'm going to leave there)

So I spoke with my relative again and they were more balanced this time around. They got a shock because they didn't expect that I would do that. They thought about the risk threshold themselves a bit and just advised me to watch myself if I'm having a drink. Then they told me that with everything going on, they haven't even seen any of their friends and it's really taking its toll on them. Next weekend, I'm going to relieve them so that they can have their buddies over for coffee. So a bit of good communication and understanding goes a long way and we're all the better for it.

Mind your kin and yourselves everyone.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Genie out of the bottle now IMO, it's clutching at straws to talk about clusters in meat plants and how community transmission is low. Give it a week and see how community transmission is then. I hope I'm wrong.

More of a clusterf*ck than a cluster. 7 billion budget deficit in July alone, schools need to open in 3 weeks' time, potentially massive increase in waiting lists in an already dysfunctional health service.

On a personal level I am still angry about being ordered back to the office (public service job) in late June in contravention of government public health guidelines and having been WFH successfully for months. One of the justifications used was that that "things are back to normal", well they clearly aren't and I said that at the time.

Was there any negotiation on the WFH? The public service are very old fashioned and have that chain to desk mentality ingrained.
    I believe if anyone can do the job as well at home then they should have the option or at least shared time WFH office combination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Italy did It with 2000 euro fines if broken.
    Be nice of course. Then send a letter.

We're too nice though so it'll probably get out of control
    and kids will miss more school.

Ah well sure at least no one got fined.

This is Ireland's problem with everything. Introduce a law with a subtle communication and no warning or penalty. People pay little heed to it with no ramifications and adherence to the rule is half arsed.

Government is too afraid of upsetting the liberals and causing offense. I don't see why we can never introduce consequences for breaking our laws and follow through on them.

Anything to be said for another Mass?
    igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I meant in the three affected counties.

I know I'm just into knee jerk reactions and cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

People do know nearly every country in Europe is going through the same rise in cases dont they, everything is just happening later because our restrictions were longer. We just kicked the can down the road. The virus is here, people will die, can we stop leaving in this make believe world we can best this virus by lockdowns after lockdown.

Sorry to hear about the outbreaks in Kildare etc., but it's also good to hear the silence about shutting Dublin down too. We are not all that bad you boggers!

Tell that to my mate Dave who got Elephants of the balls from an unwashed northsider.

I am usually an upbeat person, but getting a bit despondent now. Sorry.

Will this ever end, and to get there, how do we do it now?

I know the outbreaks in the Midlands and Kildare were from meat factories and so on, but honestly we cannot barricade ourselves in our homes forever can we? I bet those on holliers all around the country are having a ball. Will that result in clusters too?

Fed up now. But that is the fault of idiots who don't care, am including factory managers, Asylum seeker oversight and so on. No one can monitor everyone's movements, but a bit of personal responsibility for the good of all would be lauded. Doesn't seem to be happening now though.

Tell that to my mate Dave who got Elephants of the balls from an unwashed northsider.

What? lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I know this is a typo but I am saving it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

New infections for each county since 26/07/2020
    522299.png

522300.png

What? lol.

Funniest STD I've ever seen, showed it to us before his Ma.

Gruffalox wrote: »
    I know this is a typo but I am saving it. :)

Hilarious, and we need a laugh nowadays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Kh1993 wrote: »
    Surely now is the time to be using the Citywest facilities to deal with the factory outbreaks?

There should be a place in each county for isolating where are these people supposed to isolate in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

niallo27 wrote: »
    People do know nearly every country in Europe is going through the same rise in cases dont they, everything is just happening later because our restrictions were longer. We just kicked the can down the road. The virus is here, people will die, can we stop leaving in this make believe world we can best this virus by lockdowns after lockdown.

What is the end strategy in this make believe "it is here to stay, we have to get back to normal and live with it" world?