Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

tom1ie wrote: »
    Is it though? If we have low community transfer we aren’t too bad.
    If community transfer starts going an upward trend we could be in trouble.
    As far as I can remember community transfer cases were at 4 for the last few days, it’s at two now.
    I really find it very hard to believe that the current low level of detected community cases won't grow over the next couple of weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

This might be a stupid question but why is it OK that its mainly clusters?

Surely a cluster just means it can be traced back to a likely source so for example Person A picks it up in a meat plant and goes to visit his mate (person B). Person B then goes home to his girlfriend (person C) and she catches it. Person C goes to her work and gives it to Person D. Is that not all a cluster?

Person D might never have been near a meat processing plant and think "ah sure its grand its just the meat processing plants" I'm jot sure that is a whole lot better for person D than had they got it through "community transmission"

The idea is that they have traced the path of the virus successfully and have a chance and testing an isolating all contacts of cases. All well and good and ze Germans did well to trace and contain some similar clusters a while back, but the worry is do we have the resources to manage multiple, potentially large outbreaks at once.

I guess it’s not good news having high case numbers over the last week, but it is better news than having the same numbers as being untraceable.

Some here see no positives in clustering and consider a case is a case, others may see it as positive that it’s traceable. Personally I see it a bit dehumanised to shrug it off as ok as these are all potential hospitalisations or deaths, but as a picture of overall public health it’s not terrible, basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Aren't we one stupid nation that we can't adhere to guidelines and now the R Rate is up again. Fzuk sake. Few people are to blame here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

Surely now is the time to be using the Citywest facilities to deal with the factory outbreaks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

Dont worry Peter. You wont have to return if its unsafe. Lets just see how things unfold. There is no way ASTI can possibly force their members into unsafe conditions and the way the virus is spreading appears to show schools are not safe. Teachers are the most important group of people we have in Ireland and we should never put their lives at risk. Hang on there Peter.

Fair enough,but do you expect full pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

is_that_so wrote: »
    If they can track a case to a cluster they know where it came from and can do contact tracing and manage that cluster. Random cases in the community are of more concern because they are harder to track.

Thats just potentially one link in the contact tracing though? They still look for everyone that a positive case is in contact with - which in general is after the fact

The way everyone is going on youd swear it means that its just people working in the meat factory that are getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭blackcard

If I was from Laois, Offaly, or Kildare, I would be getting my hair cut tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Watching it here, they also keep pointing out that at the moment its the factories that are the big issue and they're doing what they're doing in terms of issuing warnings for the 3 counties to ensure there isn't community transmission.

Multiple times they've said the current situation is not a reflection of the community situation and thats the way they want to keep it.

2 community transmission cases today

What's the median incubation for this disease?
    Kinda makes it hard once cat out of bag.
    Pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic spread are real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Boggles wrote: »
    Doctor Glynn said they will not allow this continue and will take action.

Couple of weeks of national restrictions before the schools open?

Or shutting down meat factories?

Steak will be the new toilet paper.

Either way I'm off to the butcher.

local restrictions to the 3 counties would be my bet but how you manage that is the question ?
    Can you effectively impose restrictions of 3 counties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Kh1993 wrote: »
    Surely now is the time to be using the Citywest facilities to deal with the factory outbreaks?
    It is being used. I think I heard a number of over 100 in residence in the last week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

People saying it’s ok it’s contained to meat factories, take the one in kildare town those workers all live in kildare or neighbouring towns and all use local shops , hairdressers, barbers and takeaways and a lot would have second jobs . I know one Lithuanian who works in the chilling in kildare who shares a house with 8 others ..
    The chance of community transmission from these workers is huge in the local communities.
    While they might know where the out breaks are the risks from the large numbers infected in such small communities is scary.

blackcard wrote: »
    If I was from Laois, Offaly, or Kildare, I would be getting my hair cut tomorrow

Should have got it last week.
    More likely of catching it now.

local restrictions to the 3 counties would be my bet but how you manage that is the question ?

Maybe similar to the uk where it’s less about travel in and out but more around certain businesses closing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,548 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You can ask the people nicely and reaffirm the message and hope for compliance, stick guards all over the place.

But to answer your question, no.

What's the median incubation for this disease?
    Kinda makes fit hard once cat out of bag.
    Pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic spread are real.

Yes I understand that, hence the doubling down & extra public health measures in the counties mentioned.

I said the current situation which is exactly what they've been talking about.

The public health teams, testing tracing etc to ensure we (hopefully) don't see community spread in the coming week, 2 weeks etc.

Its literally what they've just been talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

blackcard wrote: »

How do you police the hundreds and hundreds of crossings into say Kilkenny or Carlow if they lockdown these three?
    If I’m going to Dublin I transit through Kildare....

You can ask the people nicely and reaffirm the message and hope for compliance, stick guards all over the place.

Italy did It with 2000 euro fines if broken.
    Be nice of course. Then send a letter.

We're too nice though so it'll probably get out of control
    and kids will miss more school.

Ah well sure at least no one got fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

More like Direct Provision Clusters, but the government won't call them that, direct provision is Ireland dirty little secret!

harr wrote: »
    People saying it’s ok it’s contained to meat factories, take the one in kildare town those workers all live in kildare or neighbouring towns and all use local shops , hairdressers, barbers and takeaways and a lot would have second jobs . I know one Lithuanian who works in the chilling in kildare who shares a house with 8 others ..
    The chance of community transmission from these workers is huge in the local communities.
    While they might know where the out breaks are the risks from the large numbers infected in such small communities is scary.
    Nobody said it is OK. It's where they are at present. Glynn made an appeal to people in that part of the world to be vigilant and to contact their GPs for any symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Ohmeha wrote: »
    I really find it very hard to believe that the current low level of detected community cases won't grow over the next couple of weeks

Agreed but I’m only commenting on the current situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Aren't we one stupid nation that we can't adhere to guidelines and now the R Rate is up again. Fzuk sake. Few people are to blame here.

Indeed. The difference is stark when you compare us to New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,091 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

That's not correct, we got it to New Zealand close to 0 as possible.
    It was leo decided to not control our borders, don't forget that, any blood from here on in is due to him being a soft **** and not making tough decisions.
    Don't ever attempt to pin the current cluster fcuk on the citizens of Ireland again.

road_high wrote: »
    How do you police the hundreds and hundreds of crossings into say Kilkenny or Carlow if they lockdown these three?
    If I’m going to Dublin I transit through Kildare....

I don't know about you. My drivers license has my address on it?
    Just a thought.

Yeah that's what I was thinking, we'd prefer if you did this and that etc, checkpoints and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Yes I understand that, hence the doubling down & extra public health measures in the counties mentioned.

I said the current situation which is exactly what they've been talking about.

The public health teams, testing tracing etc to ensure we don't see community spread in the coming week, 2 weeks etc.

Its literally what they've just been talking about.

Indeed. This is exactly why we have the measures and preparations in place. It’s sad to see the chicken lickens all running around losing their heads about this.

More like Direct Provision Clusters, but the government won't call them that, direct provision is Ireland dirty little secret!
    Glynn said they are not concerned about them and that they have been addressed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Maybe similar to the uk where it’s less about travel in and out but more around certain businesses closing.

Exactly, back to earlier type of restrictions on business and social gatherings rather than trying to limit travel would be my guess.

I'm sure these plans are already in place.

Get to tell my nephew from galway tomorrow to go **** himself after he’s called it the Dublin disease since March. Can’t tell him tonight as he’s in bed, he’s six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

froog wrote: »
    They are worried about it aswell if you are watching the press conference.

They should be, clusters aren't that easy to manage and cases that slip (inefficient contact tracing, asymptomatic cases...) can result in community transmission.
    After all it takes 1 case to start an outbreak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭i_surge

That's not correct, we got it to New Zealand close to 0 as possible.
    It was leo decided to not control our borders, don't forget that, any blood from here on in is due to him being a soft **** and not making tough decisions.
    Don't ever attempt to pin the current cluster fcuk on the citizens of Ireland again.

Mix of both factors but a very good point.