Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    There's that sugarcoating "everything is grand, nothing to see here" attitude again

There's multiple evidence and examples of lingering and serious after effects of getting this, even if you're not hospitalised
    8 people in hospital, I think we're doing okay, no matter how much you try to convince me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭seanb85

Slovakia was held up as an example of shutting down and getting down to low figures. Opened up at 2 & 3 cases a day. Reported 45 today. No rollback of measures

I think only having 29 deaths so far is solid justification for their early shutdown, mandatory mask measures and border closures.

Also gave them time to get measures in place to manage an increased caseload.

Like everyone else if the increased cases are difficult to control, they may have to resort to cruder measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Why are people suggesting we haven't got this under control? Deaths, hospitalisations, ICU admissions are all staying low. We're clearly picking up a higher number of asymptomatic or very mild cases.

It takes weeks for things to escalate. Florida were claiming it wasn't that serious as initially their death rate was very low. The disease dosent just magically simmer at low levels. That can only happen if all cases all linked to clusters. This is not the case now and the situation has changed very quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

mean gene wrote: »
    Not bad

The only positive I can take from those figures is the 0 deaths. If we accept that 45 new cases is OK it's only a matter of time before they double again.
    There seems to be an attitude amongst some here that our track and trace system is top notch and all clusters are accounted for so we're OK. I'd be more a prevention is better than cure man myself.

Still can't believe people find this case increase surprising, have ye been all living under rocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,926 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I would have thought this was obvious but you can do all of those things and still enjoy going to the pub.

I would have thought this was obvious... but pubs are not necessary and by the nature of what they are and what we engage in there it can and will be a major catalyst in the spread of this disease, after so many people made so many sacrifices to get us ‘on track’ and better... yep the greed hog publicans won’t complain and neither will all the fûckwit attention seekers in ‘need of a chat’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

fritzelly wrote: »
    We have worse figures than from when they delayed it (average 20 a day, we're now at 44) - no way they will go ahead now
    Not worse outside of the isolated clusters though. Which has target testing, track and tracing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

9 in Limerick, 8 in Kildare, 7 in mayo, 6 in Cavan and 4 in Dublin

Must be another cluster in Limerick

Better close Dublin;)

I reckon we're seeing a Kildare-factory situation in Limerick. Small increases last 3 days, with no reason why. Exact same thing as what happened in Kildare earlier this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Wow. Terrible numbers today. We could very easily lose control of this thing at this rate.

45'cases? How many hospitalised?

Not worse outside of the isolated clusters though. Which has target testing, track and tracing
    Our community referrals are incredibly low indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

fritzelly wrote: »
    Never happen - there'll be riots

:pac: This is Ireland not France. It should say "keep your head down" on our flag.

Wow. Terrible numbers today. We could very easily lose control of this thing at this rate.

Nope, this is living with the virus. The only numbers that matter are the numbers in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Murple

Why are people suggesting we haven't got this under control? Deaths, hospitalisations, ICU admissions are all staying low. We're clearly picking up a higher number of asymptomatic or very mild cases.

Or those diagnosed aren’t yet in hospital. Or may have already passed it on to someone who will need hospitalisation or sadly die from it.
    As I read one person putting it:
    “ Hospitals and ICU reflect the past. People can spend a long time in ICU with COVID. New cases reflect the present and give an indication of the future.”
    Spikes in cases diagnosed are often followed by increase in hospitalisations and deaths a week or two later. It has happened in other countries already.
    We have no reason to be complacent...or in denial.

Lol, you must be fcuking joking Fitz

We're an all mouth and no action nation and have been for decades

Water charges anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

0.7 % no mention of this. When it was 0.2 % I think it was mentioned every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Still can't believe people find this case increase surprising, have ye been all living under rocks?

It'll only continue to increase. You'd have to be stupid or holding onto every inch of positivity not to see that the daily case rate will only keep going up.That is the nature of this virus and nothing about it's spreadability has changed since March, so a measure reversal even near back to normal will only allow it to spread as it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Jimi H

I haven’t been following the thread but heard on the radio this morning that a number of those that had tested positive had not been self isolating. Any info on this? Some difficult decisions ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,198 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

There's that sugarcoating "everything is grand, nothing to see here" attitude again

There's multiple evidence and examples of lingering and serious after effects of getting this, even if you're not hospitalised

How the hell is broadly taking the same position as the acting CMO of this country sugar coating ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jesus lads, increase in cases leads to an increase in hospitalizations which leads to deaths.

We are on Virus time not the other way around.

Hopefully these are just manageable once off clusters and we are not seeing a reseeding of the virus in the community wholesale.

Murple wrote: »
    Or those diagnosed aren’t yet in hospital. Or may have already passed it on to someone who will need hospitalisation or sadly die from it.
    As I read one person putting it:
    “ Hospitals and ICU reflect the past. People can spend a long time in ICU with COVID. New cases reflect the present and give an indication of the future.”
    Spikes in cases diagnosed are often followed by increase in hospitalisations and deaths a week or two later. It has happened in other countries already.

The reverse has happened very recently. See Leicester.

GooglePlus wrote: »
    It'll only continue to increase. You'd have to be stupid or holding onto every inch of positivity not to see that the daily case rate will only keep going up.That is the nature of this virus and nothing about it's spreadability has changed since March, so a measure reversal even near back to normal will only allow it to spread as it did.

Come back to me in two weeks

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    The three hours is the more worrying breach of the regulations.

In what way though? Where do you perceive the risk from the extra hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Jimi H wrote: »
    I haven’t been following the thread but heard on the radio this morning that a number of those that had tested positive had not been self isolating. Any info on this? Some difficult decisions ahead.

Here is the statement on the gov website dont know the full details
    https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/4e809-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-31st-july/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

As long as death count doesn't increase, we should be fine.

In what way though? Where do you perceive the risk from the extra hour?

The virus has a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

I am open to correction but I think the clusters in limerick and clare are rumoured to be associated with a funeral where social distancing and the numbers were not adhered to. Take from that what you will.
    Again, not saying this is fact but that's what I'm hearing from people I know in the area.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

They have a very sad, dull life if that's their only social life.
    There's more to life than drinking alcohol.

We can't all have derring-do lives like you fairy though. Some of us just want to live sedate lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Murple wrote: »

Exactly

We are now averaging 44 cases a day and yet people think because the numbers are low in hospital now that they'll stay that way. That's not how this thing works

Have we not learned from April and May?

Anyhoo, time for some fresh air. This daily thread really is becoming an unreadable jokeshop with all the sugarcoaters

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Stephen Donnelly sending out some contradictory messages, claiming a significant proportion of cases today are linked to clusters. 18 out of 45 isn’t a significant proportion.

https://twitter.com/DonnellyStephen/status/1289612321149476865?s=20

https://twitter.com/DonnellyStephen/status/1289608607084867585?s=20