Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Morrison J

fritzelly wrote: »
    Not looking good at all for Phase 4

Not looking good for phase 3 even if we can't keep cases down. We'll be back down to phase 2 if this trend continues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

They have a very sad, dull life if that's their only social life.
    Says the person with 1935 post on Covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Strumms wrote: »
    I proposed that he should sit tight, remain part of the solution, and refrain from being part of the problem and possibly the cause of it.

Whats that got to do with what I asked though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

Wow. Terrible numbers today. We could very easily lose control of this thing at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Morrison J wrote: »
    Not looking good for phase 3 even if we can't keep cases down. We'll be back down to phase 2 if this trend continues.

No we won't. Sustained 100 + a day is what they've said is the threshold to look at rolling back anything and even at that it wouldn't be a full rollback as per De Gascun recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,515 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

wadacrack wrote: »

In fairness, it's only mirroring what's happening elsewhere. Virtually nowhere in Europe has the new case numbers down to single figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Never happen - there'll be riots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,926 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There's more to life than drinking alcohol.

Precisely... use some of your covid payment, get in Netflix, a bit of fitness gear, iPad, learn to use it, walk, get a dartboard.... the pub isn’t life, be less of a narrow minded selfish grim fûcker and expand your hobbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Our case numbers rn are very manageable. The only thing that actually matters is deaths and the number in hospital.

Strumms wrote: »
    Precisely... use some of your covid payment, get in Netflix, a bit of fitness gear, iPad, learn to use it, walk, get a dartboard.... the pub isn’t life, be less of a narrow minded selfish grim fûcker and expand your hobbies.
    Christ, another god-awful disgusting comment.

Strazdas wrote: »
    In fairness, it's only mirroring what's happening elsewhere. Virtually nowhere in Europe has the new case numbers down to single figures.

Slovakia was held up as an example of shutting down and getting down to low figures. Opened up at 2 & 3 cases a day. Reported 45 today. No rollback of measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,704 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Gael23 wrote: »
    If pubs were allowed open it would put an end to house parties and allow people enjoy themselves in a controlled way

One night of that and it'll be back to having a few cans in the gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,531 ✭✭✭ongarite

Still >25% of daily cases are health care workers.
    Baffling at this stage IMO.
    By end of year nearly every health care workers could have had COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

You asked what it had to do with flouting regulations, I stated that it is less important than the fact we have factories spreading infection.

So we should have just said f*ck it and ignored the restrictions because the nursing homes were spreading infection before ......

Pubs will need to stay closed. Too dangerous.

The price of alcohol north and south will need to rise significantly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Says the person who is on boards all day everyday discussing covid with people who you don't even know

Exactly. Away with fairies is constantly on this posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

Why would we roll back to phase 2?? These factories and construction sites where all the outbreaks have happened have been open since phase 1...in fact some probably never closed.
    Unless there are outbreaks associated with hairdressers and restaurants I haven't heard about.
    "We" won't be going back anywhere...you might see localised closures of businesses but not collectively. There is no country, in the EU anyways, doing national lockdowns anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Strazdas wrote: »

Yea we will require lockdowns similar to those area's.The hope was that we could avoid that but this week has been a big blow. Too many cases now are community transmission and cannot be traced effectively. The talk about it just been clusters etc is not accurate. Its a case now of seeing how bad it gets but it looks like we could be back having 100 daily cases pretty quickly

Pubs will need to stay closed. Too dangerous.

The price of alcohol north and south will need to rise significantly too.
    There we go, the anti-pub comment in response to non-pub related clusters, right on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Morrison J

No we won't. Sustained 100 + a day is what they've said is the threshold to look at rolling back anything and even at that it wouldn't be a full rollback as per De Gascun recently

We're trending towards 100 a day though no? Talk of stage four is nonsensical until we prove we can manage stage 3. If we can't manage stage 3 then the logical move it to head back to stage 2.

wadacrack wrote: »
    Yea we will require lockdowns similar to those area's.The hope was that we could avoid that but this week has been a big blow. Too many cases now are community transmission and cannot be traced effectively. The talk about it just been clusters etc is not accurate. Its a case now of seeing how bad it gets but it looks like we could be back having 100 daily cases pretty quickly
    You do realise that the % of cases that are community transmission has not changed? 33% is the average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,060 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Any county figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Lol, you must be fcuking joking Fitz

We're an all mouth and no action nation and have been for decades

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Any county figures
    i posted them a page back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

Gael23 wrote: »
    If pubs were allowed open it would put an end to house parties and allow people enjoy themselves in a controlled way

Cos no-one ever decided they hadn't had enough craic when the pub closed, and decided to have a house party, inviting loads of newly-found friends.

21/26 counties reporting no cases yesterday, 16/26 reporting no cases today, it's hardly widespread chaos. The same counties keep popping up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭Wild Field 1831

The Irish don't do riots. When told to jump they ask how high.

Last serious riots were in 1981 over the hunger strikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Our case numbers rn are very manageable. The only thing that actually matters is deaths and the number in hospital.

There's that sugarcoating "everything is grand, nothing to see here" attitude again

There's multiple evidence and examples of lingering and serious after effects of getting this, even if you're not hospitalised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Croagh Patrick?

I doubt it to be honest. Place is full of Dubs and Northerners though.