Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭lalababa

Yes: surgical
    Went into 3 charity shops in Cork, most punters ..no mask ...in two shops till person no mask...into the metropole hotel...no guests had masks , neither the servers. WTF??
    Went to the hotel bar, two cops conducting inquiries on another matter...I do believe they had masks on..fair play. The bar next door had all the food/masks/distancing requirements ...the bar next to that the distancing was 2x the width of the back of a light timber chair..ie 2-3 inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭the_pits

I was wondering if someone could help me out here, I thought it was mandatory to wear face mask while shopping in Ireland.

I wear one when in shops since Monday 20th but have noticed a few shoppers not wearing one, (maybe medical reasons who knows), but when I ask at when paying for my shopping about mask wearing I am told either not compulsory here or they have no idea what's going on.

Can someone enlighten me on what's going on please TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes: valved
    In short - staff and customers should all wear masks or visors.

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2020/0715/1153527-mandate-calls-for-masks-to-be-mandatory/
    Thursday, 16 Jul 2020
    The Government has announced that face coverings must now be worn in all shops, retail settings and shopping centres.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/covid-19-garda-to-enforce-mandatory-masks-in-shops-as-last-resort-1.4307033
    Garda would be called to enforce the mandatory wearing of face coverings in shops and retail stores only as a “last resort” when the regulations are introduced, Minister for Justice Helen McEntee has said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

is_that_so wrote: »
    It isn't law yet, not until we get regulations. May well be a clause that doesn't require them to do so and it's hard to arrest yourself!
    I'm aware of that I just think when it becomes law maybe our police force by setting an example should get the ball rolling before it's made mandatory. I also think it's the same with the parents who are in the shops with kids. Get them used to putting masks on because in 10 or 20 years we could be still using masks so why not get used to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I'm aware of that I just think when it becomes law maybe our police force by setting an example should get the ball rolling before it's made mandatory. I also think it's the same with the parents who are in the shops with kids. Get them used to putting masks on because in 10 or 20 years we could be still using masks so why not get used to it now.

10-20 years of madness ahead of us ? Omg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others
    The government never set a date for when the masks in shops would be mandatory, did they? So all we have is the word that they are mandatory, a ridiculously high fine that nobody's actually going to pay and no real enforcement of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No: I don't care enough
    Point me to where the contact tracing and community transmission reports say 'Tesco - Ballyfermot'

Can you demonstrate that the reports in question are already that granular?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Overheal wrote: »
    Can you demonstrate that the reports in question are already that granular?

So the answer is 'no'. Thanks.

dalyboy wrote: »

I mean one day we stopped throwing our feces out the window and washing our hands and it just never stopped! Wake up sheeple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Could be that mask-wearing in crowded public spaces will become de rigueur in the coming years even if covid-19 is eradicated, as it is in Japan and other Asian countries...

So the answer is 'no'. Thanks.

So the answer is ‘no.’ Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Well the polio problem went on for over a decade so why not this mad prick of a virus? Hopefully with medical science being a lot more advanced maybe we're better prepared to deal with it but I wouldn’t rule it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I don't think you can effectively police mask wearing and the authorities know it. Before you say other countries can, we're not other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,967 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And hilariously this placebo is counterproductive as people wearing masks inevitably believe they are protected against transmission and often break the 2M distance rule

And people without masks never break it... right.
    Also remember mandatory masks were brought in to allow public transport capacity to lncrease with a reduction is distancing to 1metre.
    2 metres is not sustainable for all retail.
    Masks are.

The evidence from US states is that R number went down after masks were made mandatory versus before.

So there is no evidence it is counter productive.
    Available evidence suggests the opposite.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Could be that mask-wearing in crowded public spaces will become de rigueur in the coming years even if covid-19 is eradicated, as it is in Japan and other Asian countries...

Wrong. The reason the Asian countries wear masks is because of the smog in their cities. I’ve been in Asia and they are very polluted alright. The reason they wear masks is NOT for virus protection.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Also remember mandatory masks were brought in to allow public transport capacity to lncrease with a reduction is distancing to 1metre.
    Masks are.

The evidence from US states is that R number went down after masks were made mandatory versus before.

Grand so. By that logic then if everyone wears a mask for 1-2 months the virus is eradicated from world wide society. Everyone breath a sigh of relief. We have the cure. ..... cloth

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Masks are.

Oh and why 5 months into the pandemic are these masks so essential? My staff at the local supermarket (300 staff) didn’t have one infection in this 5 months. It’s a mystery isn’t ? Or is it magical ? Not one of them were wearing masks during this time either ? Care to explain why it’s all of a sudden mandatory if it’s already PROVEN that it’s unnecessary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

digzy wrote: »
    Can someone please suggest where I can buy comfy face coverings online please
    I don’t want the ones that just have a little elastic around the ears.
    Are kids under 7 expected to wear these too?
    A buff might suit you better than a mask if that's your preference?

Alternatively I ordered masks from here (in a child size) and found them to be good - they also came with a plastic bit that you can hook the ear loops onto so they are sitting behind your head rather than pulling on your ears.

Children under 12 don't have to wear them but my young lad is 8 so old enough to understand bits on the news and has a basic understanding of the virus. He's the kind that would worry if he wasn't wearing a mask among people who are, and he doens't find them uncomfortable or anything so I've got them for the odd occasion I do need to bring him to a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Yester

I don't like wearing masks. I guess you would get used to them but I'm glad I only have to wear one once a week while shopping. Which are the best/most comfortable one's to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

Oh and why 5 months into the pandemic are these masks so essential? My staff at the local supermarket (300 staff) didn’t have one infection in this 5 months. It’s a mystery isn’t ? Or is it magical ? Not one of them were wearing masks during this time either ? Care to explain why it’s all of a sudden mandatory if it’s already PROVEN that it’s unnecessary?

You do know that masks aren't just for shop staff don't you?
    The staff that come into most contact with people are sitting behind perspex screens. Are you walking around in a perspex box or is the tinfoil hat sufficient?

It's not magical. Vastly reducing the amount of people in the shops, perspex screens, telling older people to stay away, telling people not to shop as groups, 2m distancing, closing non essential shops, were all measures used in shops and many are being relaxed now.
    Would you prefer to keep it the way it's been the last few months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,196 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No: other
    Yester wrote: »
    I don't like wearing masks. I guess you would get used to them but I'm glad I only have to wear one once a week while shopping. Which are the best/most comfortable one's to get?

I got two from here: www.unicycle.ie . Don't think their online shop is open yet, I bought mine from my gym which was reselling them (10 euro each). Super comfortable, almost forget I was wearing them. They also have the strip of metal to adjust nose fit so glasses don't fog up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Wrong. The reason the Asian countries wear masks is because of the smog in their cities. I’ve been in Asia and they are very polluted alright. The reason they wear masks is NOT for virus protection.

False. Asia has a mixed history of mask wearing which continues to this day.

Many people, many reasons.

No need to SHOUT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Yes, just look at all those masks at a Japanese baseball game.

?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcalifornia-times-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com%2F53%2F00%2F2d3d8f6cbc0992ec0eb1510600d8%2Fla-tr-baseball-in-japan-photos-20190221-002

And take a look at same at the Beijing Olympics.

shutterstock_30653431.jpg?itok=Tsa1ZK9y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So not a single person in Japan ever wears a mask to prevent the spread of viruses?

That's one of the reasons.
    Their previous experience of SARS is another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Oh and why 5 months into the pandemic are these masks so essential? My staff at the local supermarket (300 staff) didn't have one infection in this 5 months. It's a mystery isn't ? Or is it magical ? Not one of them were wearing masks during this time either ? Care to explain why it's all of a sudden mandatory if it's already PROVEN that it's unnecessary?

Were you in a high transmission area for Covid? Was Covid allowed to really get going in Ireland, or did something happen that slowed transmission dramatically nationally? Also how are you so familiar with the health of 300 local supermarket workers? Even if the risk was close to nil as you believe, is it worth the risk when so much is at stake in terms of people dying, being hooked up to a ventilator for months, or even "mild" cases producing serious effects? I find your attitude reckless, but you seem to be in the majority.

First and foremost is health. One of the biggest factors Japanese wear masks isn’t some outwardly self-preserving case of thinking everybody else is sick, but rather the opposite. Often times, it’s to prevent one’s own germs or sickness from spreading in public places; a critical point in the often extremely densely populated cities of Japan. As of 2015, Tokyo has a population of 9.273 million. This is Tokyo. One city. To put it more in perspective, the country of Japan is approximately the size of the state of California. In fact, it’s a bit smaller, but with about 89 million more people in Japan than in California—the state with the US’s biggest population.

With this many people packed into this small of an area, risk of contagion and disease is much higher. Japanese are taught the importance of prevention at an early age. When I worked in the public school system, it was all over the walls and bulletin boards as posters advocating personal hygiene. Students were made to wear masks when they participated in serving lunch to their peers, and it was always okay to wear a mask at any time if they felt they might be sick.

Public toilets encourage everyone maintain a high level of cleanliness in order to respect themselves and others. Not doing so is considered disrespectful—and you don’t want to be disrespectful in Japan! It’s therefore more a point of making sure others don’t get sick, as opposed to making sure one doesn’t get sick. Makes sense, right?

https://gogonihon.com/en/blog/why-do-japanese-people-wear-masks/#:~:text=One%20of%20the%20biggest%20factors,densely%20populated%20cities%20of%20Japan.

Overheal wrote: »
    I mean one day we stopped throwing our feces out the window and washing our hands and it just never stopped! Wake up sheeple
    Yeah, mask wearing won't last 20 years.

No. I spent several months in those countries last year (China/Korea/Japan) and in any given situation - e.g. public transport, shops etc. I don't think I ever saw more than 20% of the public wearing a mask. its simply not de rigueur in those countries. On a particularly smoggy day the number of users will definitely spike and those are the pictures you see. But on an average day they just aren't used that often.

Well I reject the entire premise of your argument. Nothing of the sort has been proven.

You don't know that they didn't get an infection. Nor if customers did.
    Community transmission in most cases means we don't know all the steps in the chain of infection.

Masks are one of the measures that help to reduce the R factor
    Social distancing, limits in shops, business closures, perspex screens, cocooning etc are others.
    Compared to some of the other measures, masks have less side effects economically.
    And remember this measure applies to all retail, not just supermarkets.
    So as other restrictions ease, we need other measures to balance that out and help to reduce the R factor.
    Hence the large scale adoption of masks in country after country, and US state after US state.

AdamD wrote: »
    Yeah, mask wearing won't last 20 years.

6364.jpg

flumask.jpg

1918_flu_nlm_nlmuid-101396929-img.jpg
    No. I spent several months in those countries last year (China/Korea/Japan) and in any given situation - e.g. public transport, shops etc. I don't think I ever saw more than 20% of the public wearing a mask. its simply not de rigueur in those countries. On a particularly smoggy day the number of users will definitely spike and those are the pictures you see. But on an average day they just aren't used that often.

I've already addressed your incorrect generalizations in my last post.