Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

21 new cases today. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Lets keep pubs closed. (idiots)

Okay so

Health Secretary Matt Hancock has called for an urgent review into how coronavirus deaths have been recorded in England.

It follows confirmation from Public Health England that reported deaths may have included people who tested positive months before they died.

Other UK nations only include those who die within 28 days of a positive test.

Officials say the publication of daily death figures will be paused while the issue was "resolved".

A note on the government's website read: "Currently the daily deaths measure counts all people who have tested positive for coronavirus and since died, with no cut-off between time of testing and date of death.

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-53443724

What the hell is going on?? Did i read that right? person had covid in march, April, May, long recovered, died from a car accident and has been counted as covid death??

Well if you do that, our noisy neighbor is not doing well with covid. we are doing much better :pac:

Seriously - is covid becoming a big joke?? You had Belgium counting all deaths in March April as covid deaths (without a test....) now this? Can see why youth dont take it seriously.... cant blame them

It’s standard practice following medical intervention to record that in connection with a death until ruled otherwise. I believe it might be 12 months but stand to be corrected. Can’t imagine there are very many of these type of cases however. There are no doubt cases where people no longer tested positive for the virus but died from the damage caused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Golf is my Game

This is a British document on the effectiveness of various measures. It is a bit complicated, but basically for R to remain below 1 then something has to be reduced, if you open schools then you cannot also open pub type venues as well.

Thats it and you hear a lot of people who dont get it. They keep saying if thats OK then this is the same or even safer so it must be OK to do. But they dont understand what their saying. Its the sum of all these things that matters so you have to decide what you can do and what you cant do. You have to seem them as all adding up not just keeping the risk the same. Thats why pubs have to say closed and people also giving out about the 9 euro meal saying whats the point of whether I eat or not for if Il get covid. It reduces the risk becuase it puts a tax on going to the pub at all which loads of lads will decide isnt worth it so you keep the numbers down that does. Pubs just dont contribute enough to the run of the country to be worth taking the risk with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

That’s happened here too. There was someone who tested positive in March and died of a heart attack on April and went down as a covid death

Covid may not cause car crashes but I did hear it can cause heart attacks. So......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Your right and thats the the big problem with unions in ireland anyways and why reopening the schools could bring problems from the them. Their totaly without morals like and do think whatever they can get for there members is fair game whether is justified or fair on the rest or not so theyl try to exploit a situation like this rather than do whats the best for the country or getting kids back in the class rooms and helping the country work normally again. The problem is they think that looking out for their members is there job which makes them a problem. I think they could be one of the big issues and problems for Ireland this autumn. Looking out for themselves is just part of their culture and nature at this stage that they lose touch with reality and only see what they can get out of it and settling old scores with the goverment and the likes. I would hold much hope that theyl be responsible considering the trouble Ireland and the world is in.

well yes, they think that looking out for their members is their job, because it is their job and their only job.
    it's not on them to do anything else, if they do, all the better but anything that doesn't effect their members isn't their problem.
    a union that isn't getting a good deal for it's members is a rubbish one and one i certainly wouldn't be part of.
    it's on government to insure things are as required to get schools open, if they are failing to do that then that's on them, and nobody else.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Talking to a family member earlier who is very pro lockdown. He thinks once the vaccine comes the economy will bounce straight back and the government will throw around money to get the economy going.

I pointed out that there is no vaccine and certainly no date for the whole world to have gotten it.
    I pointed out that the government is spending billions paying people to stay home and do nothing for months. I pointed out all the lost revenue from lack of tourism etc, businesses forced to close. I pointed out that somebody will eventually need to pay for all of this.

So frustrating.

This has become a PR face saving exercise at this point. Our government will literally sign up for 10 years austerity if it makes them look like they put health first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

How can anyone be “pro” lockdown? Amazed at this.

Talking to a family member earlier who is very pro lockdown. He thinks once the vaccine comes the economy will bounce straight back and the government will throw around money to get the economy going.

I pointed out that there is no vaccine and certainly no date for the whole world to have gotten it.
    I pointed out that the government is spending billions paying people to stay home and do nothing for months. I pointed out all the lost revenue from lack of tourism etc, businesses forced to close. I pointed out that somebody will eventually need to pay for all of this.

So frustrating.

This has become a PR face saving exercise at this point. Our government will literally sign up for 10 years austerity if it makes them look like they put health first.

This post seems to be a few months too late. The economy is open.

Pretty much the hole country is pro lockdown so dont know how you can say that. The government, the HSE, the hospitals, the diesease specialists, whe WHO and all the other countrys of the world apart from like Sweden and some. Its clear that it worked and we didnt have a million people getting it and fifty thousand dying and hospitals just putting down the barrier to new patients because their full like people were saying would happen if it hadnt locked down. Id say it was more like a week or two too late like they should have closed air travel and the **** that went to Cheltenham and the likes earlier but overall got it right. Like now its hard to do too because its bad news but they need to stop certain stuff and prioritise whats really needed because continued opening up isnt going to work and will just put us back to March again.

fr336 wrote: »
    This post seems to be a few months too late. The economy is open.

The thousands getting the Covid payment suggests otherwise.

Delaying the inevitable. Companies will have to adjust, just like they have to in non Covid human created recessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Your right and thats the the big problem with unions in ireland anyways and why reopening the schools could bring problems from the them. Their totaly without morals like and do think whatever they can get for there members is fair game whether is justified or fair on the rest or not so theyl try to exploit a situation like this rather than do whats the best for the country or getting kids back in the class rooms and helping the country work normally again. The problem is they think that looking out for their members is there job which makes them a problem. I think they could be one of the big issues and problems for Ireland this autumn. Looking out for themselves is just part of their culture and nature at this stage that they lose touch with reality and only see what they can get out of it and settling old scores with the goverment and the likes. I would hold much hope that theyl be responsible considering the trouble Ireland and the world is in.

Woah.

That's some rant.

Totally without morals?! Seriously?

"Looking out for themselves is just part of their culture and nature at this stage that they lose touch with reality and only see what they can get out of it" describes all of the lobby groups that have been saying "Yes, protect everyone, your measures are great! Well done! But, er... our sector? Our sector is different. Let our businesses open!" Hairdressers, publicans, Michael O' ****ing Leary.

Meanwhile the pronouncements about schools reopening will be made to TDs in the Dáil or Convention Centre, so socially distant they're about 5 metres apart from each other and not sitting for more than two hours at a time, because medical advice. But they'll tell us that, come September, students must wear masks when on public transport, but can take them off and sit only a metre apart when in the classroom for six hours, and the teacher doesn't need a mask either, and that's all perfectly safe...

But teachers' unions are out for what they can get for themselves?

Jesus wept.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

fr336 wrote: »
    Delaying the inevitable. Companies will have to adjust, just like they have to in non Covid human created recessions.

Hopefully they’ll all be allowed to open first.

If not, government have no choice but to extend the Covid payments for the thousands still receiving it.

Hopefully they’ll all be allowed to open first.

If not, government have no choice but to extend the Covid payments for the thousands still receiving it.

Not really though because the do have a choise because at some point you just have to call it a day and say its redundancy so maybe the goverment could bring in a special top up for reduncancy due to covid to help thats more than the normal one.

Why redundancy though?

We could just reopen pubs... like almost every other country in the world.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Anti pubs people delighted and hoping they stay closed

The same amount of people could be in a packed penny's and not an eye raised

alcohol and social distancing don't go together.
    penny's and social distancing are workable as long as the store enforces it.
    gral6 wrote: »
    Same people can happily march on ''black life matter '' bul**** and officials including useless NPHET don't give a ****

black lives matter is not bull but very necessary.
    ENFIT were very concerned i believe, and are certainly far from useless but did a great job.
    21 new cases today. Lets keep pubs closed. (idiots)

Okay so

Health Secretary Matt Hancock has called for an urgent review into how coronavirus deaths have been recorded in England.

It follows confirmation from Public Health England that reported deaths may have included people who tested positive months before they died.

Other UK nations only include those who die within 28 days of a positive test.

Officials say the publication of daily death figures will be paused while the issue was "resolved".

A note on the government's website read: "Currently the daily deaths measure counts all people who have tested positive for coronavirus and since died, with no cut-off between time of testing and date of death.

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-53443724

What the hell is going on?? Did i read that right? person had covid in march, April, May, long recovered, died from a car accident and has been counted as covid death??

Well if you do that, our noisy neighbor is not doing well with covid. we are doing much better

Seriously - is covid becoming a big joke?? You had Belgium counting all deaths in March April as covid deaths (without a test....) now this? Can see why youth dont take it seriously.... cant blame them

compared to the uk we are doing well.
    you don't speak for all youth, plenty of them do take this seriously, as believe it or not some youth are more mature then some adults.

ultimately nobody is pro-lockdown.
    rather we realise it was necessary to suppress the virus as much as feasible so that the country could open up and get on with some sort of normality with small restrictions.
    there was no other way, and if things actually do get bad again lockdown either in local or national form might be needed, hopefully not but if it is, it will be because it is

it doesn't.
    businesses are open and trading, the numbers claiming covid payment are falling, the payment will be closed eventually and only exists for now while businesses get back on their feat, which i believe most will.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Why redundancy though?

We could just reopen pubs... like almost every other country in the world.

we could and would if people behaved themselves and abided by the tiny rules and restrictions that exist.
    however not enough are doing it and the pubs are small contributers, so it's just easier and cheaper to let them stay closed.

Nope, pubs, clubs and huge parts of the entertainment industry are still closed. Thousands of construction workers are still getting the Covid payment.

Most business is running at extremely reduced capacity that is very unsustainable medium to long term.

The Covid payment needs to continue as long as people are been asked not to work.

When it does end, we are going to have lots on social welfare and less working.

The only way to sustain that... higher taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

we could and would if people behaved themselves and abided by the tiny rules and restrictions that exist.
    however not enough are doing it and the pubs are small contributers, so it's just easier and cheaper to let them stay closed.

If people were not abiding by the rules then why are we one of the lowest in Europe for case numbers, the weekly new case numbers are stagnant. Unless your talking personally then we are lucky your an outlier and the vast vast majority are doing what they can to suppress it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

My local Spar was heaving with young people buying booze tonight. It's not good. Things seem to have gone south with the change of government. And I don't mean that in a political point scoring way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

polesheep wrote: »
    My local Spar was heaving with young people buying booze tonight. It's not good. Things seem to have gone south with the change of government. And I don't mean that in a political point scoring way.
    Breaking: People enjoy life on a Saturday night.

Covid19 is here to stay for a long time, deal with it. I'm seeing old people walking around with no masks, they obviusly don't care much for their health but you expect young people to put their lives on hold to 'protect' the vulnerable? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,921 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Lundstram wrote: »

Covid19 is here to stay for a long time, deal with it. I'm seeing old people walking around with no masks, they obviusly don't care much for their health but you expect young people to put their lives on hold to 'protect' the vulnerable? :rolleyes:

I think as opposed to blaming the elderly or the kids, we hold everyone and anybody to account... yes it’s here for a while, a long while... in the mean time we all do our bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

So frustrating.

The government has no real choice, if the disease becomes widespread then rational people will stay at home anyway. There will feck all revenue from tourism if the place is riddled with Covid. The important thing us keep the health service operating and all the other industries, if tourism is reduced then sin é. You can't have everything at the same time while this virus is out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

road_high wrote: »
    There won’t be a welfare “bonus” this year not a snowballs chance
    Will defintely be paid to pensioners anyway, gotta keep the grey vote onside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

When I see politicians say there won't be austerity, I laugh. Because as an accountant I know this cannot continue for much longer, billions in lost revenue, billions in covid payments, majure upgrades in education facilities needed and a major stimulas plan required. Certain sections of society are going to see severe cuts in the future, which won't be popular from an political point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

One td saod isnt it a bit ridiculous that the dail is sittimg in the convention centre, but those working in supermarkets arent dropping like flys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Just rad that the covid payment is set to be extended to spring 2021.... ya really gotta ask what’s so different about Ireland to the rest of Europe that we’re moving along so slowly???

https://www.newstalk.com/news/pandemic-payments-expected-continue-spring-2021-1048207

Just rad that the covid payment is set to be extended to spring 2021.... ya really gotta ask what’s so different about Ireland to the rest of Europe that we’re moving along so slowly???

https://www.newstalk.com/news/pandemic-payments-expected-continue-spring-2021-1048207

We have a very unique situation in Ireland. In the Feb 2020 election, SF would have romped home if they had run more candidates. Many people were sick of FG and FF. Both parties knew that very well. FFG were relying on 5th and 6th counts to get seats.

Covid presented FG with a real opportunity to win people back over. They knew they wouldn't be the main party in power so they afford to sacrifice the economy and act like they are putting people's lives ahead of the economy. Throw in a few quotes from Terminator and Mean Girls in the process and their popularity shot back up.

Now MM is under real pressure not to let things slip. He can't be seen as the guy that prioritized the economy and allowed a 2nd wave to occur.

So we'll borrow billions and billions and billions on our Covid credit card and pray the interest rates on our borrowing won't increase. If the economy collapses, we'll just blame Covid and unprecedented times.

With more stable leadership, I think we'd be witnessing a much different approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Lundstram wrote: »

Certainly not and I've been saying consistently how it is unfair to expect that. My point is that by not relaxing the restrictions, even in line with most of the EU, and vilifying the youth at every turn, the authorities are creating a free for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

polesheep wrote: »
    Certainly not and I've been saying consistently how it is unfair to expect that. My point is that by not relaxing the restrictions, even in line with most of the EU, and vilifying the youth at every turn, the authorities are creating a free for all.

But most restrictions have been relaxed, the way people are going on here you would think it was the first week in April. As for vilifying people, it is proper for attention to turn to people who behaviour is spreading disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Great news!