Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

I am back from another city centre trip. Things are picking up!!

First off - around 30-50% wearing masks in shops and shopping centres (I thought it would be much higher as it is mandatory now?), barely any retail staff wearing masks as well, not setting a gud example.

2nd off - plenty of people out shopping. I suppose weather allows just that. Very good day out.

Lastly, did Zara on Henry st close permanently? This is really bad... I knew Debenhams were in trouble and obviously that huge empty building will be empty for years to come, but thought that at least Zara will be open and busy?

All in all - as usual people climbing on top of each other inside the shops, like genuinely feels like covid or social distancing is just not a thing like.., felt like July 2019. The normal. Feel bad for pubs though, the 3 week extension is really bizarre. (I actually think they wont re open until mid September or end of September, come 7th of August govt will "prioritise schools re opening over pubs and will need to see low number of cases to proceed with schools etc.") which is extremely pathetic and idiotic, but not surprising.

Medical advice is the name of the game, and ofcourse get those credit guarantee schemes going! Businesses are eager to take on more debt while operating at 50% capacity! :rolleyes::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I'd wager most of the clappy-seals who brayed for lockdown will not be able to make the connection when the realise their pay-packets and welfare payments have been decimated.

People aren't as stupid as you think.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

road_high wrote: »
    The army on the streets thing wasn’t too far from reality tbh. We had Garda checkpoints everywhere with severe movement restrictions only for essential travel. Amounted to the same thing

Except it was completely different from reality...as...the army weren't on the streets.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

The army on the streets thing wasn’t too far from reality tbh. We had Garda checkpoints everywhere with severe movement restrictions only for essential travel. Amounted to the same thing
    I heard that was actually a prerecorded message for the night before the second lockdown :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Penfailed wrote: »
    Except it was completely different from reality...as...the army weren't on the streets.

But what did people expect them to do that the AGS weren’t already doing? The Irish populace were extremely compliment so the army in the streets would have been pointless.
    However I think they could have been put to better use like supervising the chaos that occurred in some supermarkets that was completely unnecessary in the early days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Oh, come off it. Completely at odds with reality!

Early days and 2k limit, I'd pass zero to two checkpoints on the way in to work, maybe five seconds to see my ID badge, "grand, thanks!" and on my way. Way home, zero to one checkpoint.

And the severe movement restrictions, only for essential travel, was exactly what was needed.

What wasn't was the fearmongering "Army will be on the streets tomorrow!" posts on FB and Whatsapp, that led directly to the stupid pasta and toilet paper hoarding.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Golf is my Game

(I actually think they wont re open until mid September or end of September, come 7th of August govt will "prioritise schools re opening over pubs and will need to see low number of cases to proceed with schools etc.") which is extremely pathetic and idiotic, but not surprising.

Id say your right that thats what theyl say but there spot on if they dont. Theres much more important than pubs and for the probelm they can cause their certainly something that should be shut. In fact their probably the first thing that should always be shut down as we go through this and I think closing even the ones with the nine quid food would be a step in the right direction until at least next year. Now they need support so its not fair that their paying all the cost for the more important things staying open so they should get the rest of the country helping them out and all that but staying closed is the best thing. They should be the last thing to reopen when everything OK again or a least stable and handleable in the long term without risk and wondering if its getting worse or better even if that years away from here. Even Ireland with is drink culture will happily get along grand and all without the pubs compared to so many other things that could be closed.

But what did people expect them to do that the AGS weren’t already doing? The Irish populace were extremely compliment so the army in the streets would have been pointless.
    However I think they could have been put to better use like supervising the chaos that occurred in some supermarkets that was completely unnecessary in the early days

It takes a store manager to say "cop the **** on, store limits apply, you're only getting one multipack of toilet paper". Not the army.

They were much better employed doing contact tracing, and an excellent job they did, too!

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Id say your right that thats what theyl say but there spot on if they dont. Theres much more important than pubs and for the probelm they can cause their certainly something that should be shut. In fact their probably the first thing that should always be shut down as we go through this and I think closing even the ones with the nine quid food would be a step in the right direction until at least next year. Now they need support so its not fair that their paying all the cost for the more important things staying open so they should get the rest of the country helping them out and all that but staying closed is the best thing. They should be the last thing to reopen when everything OK again or a least stable and handleable in the long term without risk and wondering if its getting worse or better even if that years away from here. Even Ireland with is drink culture will happily get along grand and all without the pubs compared to so many other things that could be closed.

Completely disagree.

because it's not.
    the job of a union is to look after the interests of it's members, nothing more.
    workers have enough to do without being expected to face abuse or even attack from self entitled individuals who think they are so special as to not follow the rules.

Your right and thats the the big problem with unions in ireland anyways and why reopening the schools could bring problems from the them. Their totaly without morals like and do think whatever they can get for there members is fair game whether is justified or fair on the rest or not so theyl try to exploit a situation like this rather than do whats the best for the country or getting kids back in the class rooms and helping the country work normally again. The problem is they think that looking out for their members is there job which makes them a problem. I think they could be one of the big issues and problems for Ireland this autumn. Looking out for themselves is just part of their culture and nature at this stage that they lose touch with reality and only see what they can get out of it and settling old scores with the goverment and the likes. I would hold much hope that theyl be responsible considering the trouble Ireland and the world is in.

Penfailed wrote: »
    Completely disagree.

Why ? Theyr business is bringing people together for the purpose of a drink. So theres better ways of doing that and its right at the bottom of the priorities. OK so theres the social side, but theres better ways of that too. The pub like we knew is just totally against everything we know about how this thing should be handled but its just ireland has so much tradition of the pub that people tend to want to get it back even though is a big risk for very little in the bigger scale of things in the country running.

Your right and thats the the big problem with unions in ireland anyways and why reopening the schools could bring problems from the them. Their totaly without morals like and do think whatever they can get for there members is fair game whether is justified or fair on the rest or not so theyl try to exploit a situation like this rather than do whats the best for the country or getting kids back in the class rooms and helping the country work normally again. The problem is they think that looking out for their members is there job which makes them a problem. I think they could be one of the big issues and problems for Ireland this autumn. Looking out for themselves is just part of their culture and nature at this stage that they lose touch with reality and only see what they can get out of it and settling old scores with the goverment and the likes. I would hold much hope that theyl be responsible considering the trouble Ireland and the world is in.

Completely disagree.

Why ? Theyr business is bringing people together for the purpose of a drink. So theres better ways of doing that and its right at the bottom of the priorities. OK so theres the social side, but theres better ways of that too. The pub like we knew is just totally against everything we know about how this thing should be handled but its just ireland has so much tradition of the pub that people tend to want to get it back even though is a big risk for very little in the bigger scale of things in the country running.

There's better ways of bringing people together for a drink than the pub? I don't know what you mean by that. There's the social side...but there's better ways for that too? What ways?

I didn't expect them to do anything. I didn't believe the WhatsApp recording when I heard it back then.

(I actually think they wont re open until mid September or end of September, come 7th of August govt will "prioritise schools re opening over pubs and will need to see low number of cases to proceed with schools etc.") which is extremely pathetic and idiotic, but not surprising.

I think I've rarely seen someone on here with less empathy or understanding for other people.

Kids need education. Parents need to get back to work.

How do businesses open if their staff have kids that need childcare and education, but the creches and schools are still closed?

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,532 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Anti pubs people delighted and hoping they stay closed

The same amount of people could be in a packed penny's and not an eye raised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭gral6

PTH2009 wrote: »

Same people can happily march on ''black life matter '' bul**** and officials including useless NPHET don't give a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,039 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Ok, I'll bite.

How did this café owner hear?

A phonecall from Micheál, was it? A text from the RAI, decoded with a secret code ring?

This is as silly as "The army are going to be on the streets on Monday, I heard it from a sergeant I know!" from back in March.

Please don't reply with "I'm just telling you what I heard!"

she told an employee, the employee is family of mine and told me. i know the business owner, not sure why she would say that, obviously she doesn't want it to be true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

#lockdownharder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

21 new cases today. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Lets keep pubs closed. (idiots)

Okay so

Health Secretary Matt Hancock has called for an urgent review into how coronavirus deaths have been recorded in England.

It follows confirmation from Public Health England that reported deaths may have included people who tested positive months before they died.

Other UK nations only include those who die within 28 days of a positive test.

Officials say the publication of daily death figures will be paused while the issue was "resolved".

A note on the government's website read: "Currently the daily deaths measure counts all people who have tested positive for coronavirus and since died, with no cut-off between time of testing and date of death.

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-53443724

What the hell is going on?? Did i read that right? person had covid in march, April, May, long recovered, died from a car accident and has been counted as covid death??

Well if you do that, our noisy neighbor is not doing well with covid. we are doing much better :pac:

Seriously - is covid becoming a big joke?? You had Belgium counting all deaths in March April as covid deaths (without a test....) now this? Can see why youth dont take it seriously.... cant blame them

pgj2015 wrote: »
    she told an employee, the employee is family of mine and told me. i know the business owner, not sure why she would say that, obviously she doesn't want it to be true.

Sure, because thats they way they do it is it, tell some random cafe owner before its anounced nationally, why do people believe and repeat this crap. I heard the moons made of cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,039 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Sure, because thats they way they do it is it, tell some random cafe owner before its anounced nationally, why do people believe and repeat this crap. I heard the moons made of cheese.

The moon is man made and people live inside it. im not sure where the story about the restaurants being closed on monday came from, but sure I wouldn't be one bit surprised if they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

The moon is man made and people live inside it. im not sure where the story about the restaurants being closed on monday came from, but sure I wouldn't be one bit surprised if they are.
    Absolute nonsense,could happen in the future if cases spiraled out of control for an extended period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

What the hell is going on?? Did i read that right? person had covid in march, April, May, long recovered, died from a car accident and has been counted as covid death??

That’s happened here too. There was someone who tested positive in March and died of a heart attack on April and went down as a covid death

And once again - where did the business owner hear this?

Because I'm damn sure the Restaurant Association of Ireland would have had wind of this, and the LVA, and various others, and would not be quiet about it.

The government rarely do anything without floating it first, by leaks, that get reported on mainstream media to see how it'll go down. Not by mentioning it to a random café owner whose employee's relation posts it to boards.ie.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

That’s happened here too. There was someone who tested positive in March and died of a heart attack on April and went down as a covid death

I hear the pitter patter of small feet all the way to a pretty big tribunal in 12-18 months time

PTH2009 wrote: »

Which is fair enough because there much more benefit in having people in a Penneys. Thats the point. Its about minimising the risks, so you cut out the lease needed stuff. The chances being the same or even worse in this situation or that situation doesnt make it right to do it and a lot a lads are missing this point. Thats why pubs should be shut for sure for like 3 months or whatever until we see how the autumn goes and kids back in school and ones back from away for holidays in Europe and the like. Would also give some certainly to the pubs so that they can plan rather than wondering week to week whats the story.

21 new cases today. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Lets keep pubs closed. (idiots)

Why the sarcasm emojis?

21 people now have Covid that didn't have it yesterday. If they had it bad enough to go get tested, they may end up in hospital, ICU, or dead.

It can be asymptomatic or mild. Or it can kill you. Or you can survive it, and have lung or heart damage or exhaustion, or a combination, months after.

But sarcasm emojis and insults.

The country went into lockdown with 34 cases, IIRC.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

This is going on all over the world, the US had multiple gunshot victims counted as Covid deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Which is fair enough because there much more benefit in having people in a Penneys. Thats the point. Its about minimising the risks, so you cut out the lease needed stuff. The chances being the same or even worse in this situation or that situation doesnt make it right to do it and a lot a lads are missing this point. Thats why pubs should be shut for sure for like 3 months or whatever until we see how the autumn goes and kids back in school and ones back from away for holidays in Europe and the like. Would also give some certainly to the pubs so that they can plan rather than wondering week to week whats the story.

This is a British document on the effectiveness of various measures. It is a bit complicated, but basically for R to remain below 1 then something has to be reduced, if you open schools then you cannot also open pub type venues as well.