Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    Does anybody know if people can wear a visor instead of a mask from Monday?

The visor doesn't protect others around you. If you cough or sneeze, droplets can get out from the sides and bottom of the visor which can still infect others if you have covid. But the visor does protect you. So it's best worn with a face mask so that you protect others and you protect yourself as well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes: other
    GazzaL wrote: »
    The numbers don't lie, lads. The numbers don't lie.
    OK let's break it down to really simple terms: Forget masks entirely. Why did the numbers drop over the last few months? Lockdown, businesses closed, pubs, all shops but for the basics, cinemas, concerts etc, public transport essentially stopped, social distancing and restriction of internal travel.

What would have happened if we didn't do those things? Numbers would have gone up. Obviously, because when we did the numbers dropped.

OK, now lockdown is effectively over, there's no restriction on internal travel, businesses are reopening and more will with each passing week, public transport is up and social distancing is only practical in some internal spaces. So what will happen with the spread of this virus that is still out there in the wild and what can we do to lower that risk?

Then again conversations with brick walls are only amusing for so long.
    Thanks for the personal abuse. Retard is a disgraceful term to use too btw.
    Actually ten even five years ago you wouldn't have blinked at "retard", it's only gone verboten in the last few years, which shows just how easily influenced you actually are.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

tom1ie wrote: »
    No Crumlin village.
    Crazy the lack of mask wearing. I wouldn’t mind but Crumlin village would have quite an old age profile so these people will be the ones most likely at risk and taking up an icu bed if they catch a bad dose of it.
    They’re like turkeys who can’t wait for Christmas!

At least one of the 'locals' stepped up, even though the neggers will be shouting tax break at Conor.

ICU a merry christmas.

'It was like Christmas': Doctor hails Conor McGregor after unexpected PPE donation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Wibbs wrote: »
    OK let's break it down to really simple terms: Forget masks entirely. Why did the numbers drop over the last few months? Lockdown, businesses closed, pubs, all shops but for the basics, cinemas, concerts etc, public transport essentially stopped, social distancing and restriction of internal travel.

What would have happened if we didn't do those things? Numbers would have gone up. Obviously, because when we did the numbers dropped.

OK, now lockdown is effectively over, there's no restriction on internal travel, businesses are reopening and more will with each passing week, public transport is up and social distancing is only practical in some internal spaces. So what will happen with the spread of this virus that is still out there in the wild and what can we do to lower that risk?

Then again conversations with brick walls are only amusing for so long.

Actually ten even five years ago you wouldn't have blinked at "retard", it's only gone verboten in the last few years, which shows just how easily influenced you actually are.

Lockdown is effectively over? Tell that to pub owners. Tell that to people who are going undiagnosed and untreated for non-COVID illnesses.

It's disgusting that you try to justify the use of the word "retard" as an insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No: other
    Wibbs wrote: »

It's a word I would always have blinked at because I was brought up properly! 5-10 year olds is about the level of it.

Fair play to ye. We used to think Americans were weird for caring so much about cúnt and then we went and started caring about words as well for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yes: to protect myself and others
    Lockdown is effectively over? Tell that to pub owners. Tell that to people who are going undiagnosed and untreated for non-COVID illnesses.

It's disgusting that you try to justify the use of the word "retard" as an insult.

So because pubs that don’t serve food are closed, lockdown is not over?
    I think that says more about you tbh.

Voltairey wrote: »
    Yep, they've had a hard time swinging wildly in the guidance. A timely reminder that a huge amount of life now is just following orders and those orders stem from guesswork and agendas.

Here's an N95 like the one I ordered, the one I got is sold out.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/KN95-Black-7-Layer-Face-Mask-1-Valve-Surgical-Disposable-Face-Cover-n95-Masks-UK/283908559704?hash=item421a44d358:g:7dEAAOSwqvJe2S2S

Great business to be in, in fairness. Little to no regulation.

I couldn't believe Cormican was starring in the PPE vid's, he's a recipe for ill health. He did everything in the video nice and slowly but when it came to taking the mask off he changed tempo and whipped it off way to fast, complete fail. You'd never guess that lad is on 150,000+ annually.

Thanks for sharing a link to what you bought but I'm making my own, calling them not95's, heat sealed 3 ply non woven material in duckbill shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭little bess

Yes: surgical
    Just relaying something I've directly witnessed which contradicts what the other poster is implying. Awful lot of smug bravado on these pages from petty tryants and smug hypochondriacs, wouldn't hurt for them to be a little appreciative of the fact that mask wearing raises distinct challenges for some people.

Yes it raises distinct challenges for some people, especially for those with disabilities.

I have severe hearing loss and wear hearing aids. Wearing a mask is a pita, I’ve lost one of my aids a couple of times now, as they get caught and come flying off when taking the mask off. Communication is more difficult as I often rely on watching people’s expressions and lips, and now their voices are more muffled.

But I’ll still wear a mask and have been since March, it’s the right thing to do. Pisses me off big time people complaining about wearing them when it’s not even a lot of hassle for them to do so.

tom1ie wrote: »
    So because pubs that don’t serve food are closed, lockdown is not over?
    I think that says more about you tbh.

I rarely frequent pubs, and when I do it's to watch a sporting event and/or have a meal. I have empathy for other people though, and I know that pub staff and pub owners are suffering at the moment. Not that the mask nazis give a **** about anyone besides themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yes: to protect myself and others
    I rarely frequent pubs, and when I do it's to watch a sporting event and/or have a meal. I have empathy for other people though, and I know that pub staff and pub owners are suffering at the moment. Not that the mask nazis give a **** about anyone besides themselves.

Yeah but you do realise that if virus cases go up we go back into a proper lockdown (maybe regionally, maybe not). In that case it won’t just be pub owners that dont serve food suffering.
    Wearing masks is a tool to prevent this happening.
    It’s kinda strange that you are giving out about a tool we have to help us stay out of a proper lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Majority of pubs are open.

If you want to support them, book a meal, have a few pints.

The staff may be wearing masks though, so keep an eye out for a shady figure in the background with a German accent.

Boggles wrote: »
    Majority of pubs are open.

If you want to support them, book a meal, have a few pints.

The staff may be wearing masks though, so keep an eye out for a shady figure in the background with a German accent.

I've already been out for a couple of meals in pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Empathy??? Yeah right. Just full of crap. Masks are here to help keep infections low to avoid more lockdowns, more deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

The visor doesn't protect others around you. If you cough or sneeze, droplets can get out from the sides and bottom of the visor which can still infect others if you have covid. But the visor does protect you. So it's best worn with a face mask so that you protect others and you protect yourself as well.

Six weeks till visors and masks are mandatory to leave your house! Maybe full PPE, just to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Six weeks till visors and masks are mandatory to leave your house! Maybe full PPE, just to be safe.
    There actually was a poster who said they were doing that. Don't recall who though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I rarely frequent pubs
    I've already been out for a couple of meals in pubs.

Okay then.

is_that_so wrote: »
    There actually was a poster who said they were doing that. Don't recall who though.

They're protecting you!

Boggles wrote: »
    Okay then.

There's no contradiction there. I'm not in pubs every weekend. In the interest of supporting businesses, and to socialise, I've been out for a couple of meals :)

Found this helpful, maybe others in thread will also.

https://twitter.com/NursingNotesUK/status/1284118755023486980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Went shopping today, and I saw small kids wearing face masks. If they can wear masks, so can fully grown adults.

Mastering the minimal skills involved in donning and doffing masks and face coverings seems to be causing problems for some in here, yet no such problem in trotting out multiple excuses as to why masks can't be worn.

This lack of oxygen thing is pure baloney - you breathe in approx. 0.5 Litre of air per breath and exhale the same amount. There's no room between one's face and inside of the mask, to store it, so in effect you don't breathe your exhaled air back in. Yes masks feel hot and stuffy, that's because the exhaled air is near body temperature - 37C instead of around 20C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,415 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

railer201 wrote: »
    Mastering the minimal skills involved in donning and doffing masks and face coverings seems to be causing problems for some in here, yet no such problem in trotting out multiple excuses as to why masks can't be worn.

This lack of oxygen thing is pure baloney - you breathe in approx. 0.5 Litre of air per breath and exhale the same amount. There's no room between one's face and inside of the mask, to store it, so in effect you don't breathe your exhaled air back in. Yes masks feel hot and stuffy, that's because the exhaled air is near body temperature - 37C instead of around 20C.

I was running to catch a flight in the airport, wearing a mask I was struggling to breathe. So it's not as simple.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's a word I would always have blinked at because I was brought up properly! 5-10 year olds is about the level of it.
    "Brought up properly" :pac:
    Seanergy wrote: »
    I couldn't believe Cormican was starring in the PPE vid's, he's a recipe for ill health.
    Cormican? That's all you needed to say really. His pronouncements throughout have either being way behind the curve or two months too late.
    Not that the mask nazis give a **** about anyone besides themselves.
    Please god tell me you're on a wind up, because if you're not the irony is truly astounding. :D

While I find some of the pro mask people can be more than a tad overwrought even panicky at times, at least they're coming from a place of some logic, the anti mask people beggar my belief in the all too common thought process and it was already beggared enough before this pandemic.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I was running to catch a flight in the airport, wearing a mask I was struggling to breathe. So it's not as simple.
    Can be a personal thing too and maybe depends on the type of mask? I tried one of the cloth ones and found it too restrictive and given the choice between one of those and a full on half face P3 respirator I'd take the respirator and they most certainly do restrict breathing to some degree because of the high level of filtration involved. A surgical mask on the other hand may as well not be present as far as breathing restriction goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

My post is aimed firstly at the anti-mask posters in here, whose aim is rubbishing the concept of mask wearing, not people like yourself who are experiencing genuine difficulties in using them.

Secondly, to make the point that discomfort, does not necessarily indicate a lack of oxygen, rather just the sensation of hot moist air in contact with one's face.

railer201 wrote: »
    giphy.gif

Right, so all covid patients in hospitals should really be wearing masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

No: I don't care enough
    Right, so all covid patients in hospitals should really be wearing masks.

You have seen the way doctors and nurses dress when treating these patients haven't you.

You are just trolling right? Or is this really the best you can do?

timetogo1 wrote: »
    You have seen the way doctors and nurses dress when treating these patients haven't you.

And it's still not working. Are you saying they shouldn't be wearing masks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Sconsey

timetogo1 wrote: »

If you look back you'll see the best he can do is make stuff up and try to pass it off as facts. Best to ignore him really he is just making it up as he goes.