Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

Yes: surgical
    In spain you have to wear a mask as soon as you leave the house.... I dont question whether it's good or bad.... obviously they are not exactly the most comfortable thing you can wear. But if it saves lives, helps open the country back up, keeps the R low... I would have no problem.

Also if the police see you in spain without a mask and prove you dont have one on your person. You get fined on the spot... I think there is some weird rule that for whatever reason maybe smoking etc. It has to be around your ears if pulled to for any reason...

These rules may only apply to madrid. I'm not sure about the whole country. Also airports are bot allowed to have folks wait inside and all facilities in the arrival area are closed. Security also on every door incase a few stragglers decide to venture in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,688 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'm on board with masks on buses and shops etc i..e enclosed spaces.
    I have to say mandatory masks outdoors unless it's a large gathering where there would be sustained close contacts does not seem warranted to me.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 73 ✭✭Terminator.

Are masks here to stay

tom1ie wrote: »
    I thought masks were now mandatory in enclosed retail spaces?
    I was in a Tesco in a certain Dublin village a few minutes ago and staff nor customers were wearing masks, I was the only one.
    Walked past a pub which was packed and had no social distancing going on plus doesn’t do food, then went into another shop and one other person had a mask on. Staff weren’t wearing any masks.

From what I can see there’s not many people really giving a ****e at all about “mandatory regulations”.
    I wouldn’t mind put there’s a large Garda station in the village.

Clondalkin by any chance? Just up in Tesco myself and i can confirm, hardly anyone wearing one and no staff wearing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

No: I don't care enough
    Covid or no covid, no. Are you advocating permanent mask usage?

We're in a pandemic. So assume its during Covid.
    Some of the questions on this thread are really worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

odyssey06 wrote: »
    I'm on board with masks on buses and shops etc i..e enclosed spaces.
    I have to say mandatory masks outdoors unless it's a large gathering where there would be sustained close contacts does not seem warranted to me.

I like the fact that if folks are walking outdoors or gathering they are taking whatever measures possible to not spread or contract the virus..

It may seem OTT but I guess we havent experienced what spain ( madrid) has... they were locked up a lot longer than us if I recall correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I met a senior Garda and his family in a shop today and none of them were wearing masks. They said they thought it was a load of bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

No: I don't care enough
    GazzaL wrote: »
    I met a senior Garda and his family in a shop today and none of them were wearing masks. They said they thought it was a load of bollocks.

There's a few posters here meeting Gardai (senior, no less) , paramedics, owners of pharmacies etc.

Is there any actual people in this thread with these actual jobs or do we just have to rely on GazzaL interviewing people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    Covid or no covid, no. Are you advocating permanent mask usage?

That’s part of the new normal. Personally I see it as a great way of identifying the antisocial in society that are ripe for behavioral modification. If people are not doing what is required of them for the greater good as advised by experts then they are antisocial and their behavioral issues need to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,504 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Everyone I met today was wearing a mask, they thought they were brilliant.

Am I doing it right?

Great minds discuss ideas. In the middle, people discuss events. Under that, people discuss people. And at the very bottom, people make up stories about meeting figures of authority to try help their argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Fair play to him for achieving a good career even with that level of stupidity

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 73 ✭✭Terminator.

Can you arrest a Garda?

Like a citizen's arrest

Great minds discuss ideas. In the middle, people discuss events. Under that, people discuss people. And at the very bottom, people make up stories about meeting figures of authority to try help their argument.

You really are one of the wittiest posters on here. I bet you have a PhD, you also sound incredibly educated. The dregs that you speak about need to be whipped into lime. Fines are fantastic but we also need public shaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

A middle aged woman I know collapsed recently. Ambulance was called, treatment given, after investigation paramedics said cause for losing consciousness was surgical mask.

But maybe some randomer on the internet knows more than health care professionals lol

Exactly what investigations did the
    paramedics do ? MRI ? Chest X Ray ? Saturation monitoring overnight ? ECG ?
    Was this all done in the ambulance and the paramedics ruled out any brain injury
    or pulmonary problems there and then ? Or did they have a new machine that confirms it was “ surgical mask syndrome “?
    Nope , sorry but it simply did not happen

Paddygreen wrote: »
    You really are one of the wittiest posters on here. I bet you have a PhD, you also sound incredibly educated. The dregs that you speak about need to be whipped into lime. Fines are fantastic but we also need public shaming.

Thanks. That was an unexpected compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Yes: valved
    Voltairey wrote: »

I highly recommend registering on HSELand website as well, there are training videos there which are helpful if you're unsure of how to put on and take off PPE safely.

Just registered, thanks, they also have online tests, failed the first test I took. Question 3 was my stumbling block.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-18-at-14.17.24-e1595079454714.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yes: to protect myself and others
    Clondalkin by any chance? Just up in Tesco myself and i can confirm, hardly anyone wearing one and no staff wearing one.

No Crumlin village.
    Crazy the lack of mask wearing. I wouldn’t mind but Crumlin village would have quite an old age profile so these people will be the ones most likely at risk and taking up an icu bed if they catch a bad dose of it.
    They’re like turkeys who can’t wait for Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Voltairey wrote: »
    Ordered N95 masks there with washable filters, due to arrive at the end of the month. The surgical ones will do for now. I also found an old pair of glasses and got replacement (non-prescription) lenses, so they can act as an eye shield.

I highly recommend registering on HSELand website as well, there are training videos there which are helpful if you're unsure of how to put on and take off PPE safely.

Where did you buy the n95s with filters?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,085 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yes: to protect myself and others

Ah that’s grand so. Did he have a phd in virology or immunology or something like that?
    Unless he did he’s talking ****e, senior guard or not.

Thanks. That was an unexpected compliment.

You are so welcome. I think you are amazing. A scholar, a gent, passionate, suave, sophisticated, educated, a beacon of light, reason and good education that shines through on these threads.

You're giving me a semi. Keep going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

Paddygreen wrote: »
    You are so welcome. I think you are amazing. A scholar, a gent, passionate, suave, sophisticated, educated, a beacon of light, reason and good education that shines through on these threads.
    my God get a room already will ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

No: other
    Can you arrest a Garda?

Like a citizen's arrest

Arrest them for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Can you arrest a Garda?

Like a citizen's arrest
    Your life will never be the same! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,758 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Does anybody know if people can wear a visor instead of a mask from Monday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Does anybody know if people can wear a visor instead of a mask from Monday?
    Staff in local shop were wearing them today so I don't see why not. It is a face covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Voltairey

Seanergy wrote: »
    Just registered, thanks, they also have online tests, failed the first test I took. Question 3 was my stumbling block.

Screen-Shot-2020-07-18-at-14.17.24-e1595079454714.png
    Yep, they've had a hard time swinging wildly in the guidance. A timely reminder that a huge amount of life now is just following orders and those orders stem from guesswork and agendas.

Here's an N95 like the one I ordered, the one I got is sold out.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/KN95-Black-7-Layer-Face-Mask-1-Valve-Surgical-Disposable-Face-Cover-n95-Masks-UK/283908559704?hash=item421a44d358:g:7dEAAOSwqvJe2S2S

Great business to be in, in fairness. Little to no regulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,415 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

We're the Guards wearing Masks when they boarded the train, were the guards who detained him and met him off the train in Templemore wearing Masks. No way.
    You know that guards are allowed to not wear seatbelts and allowed to use mobile phones while driving.

They're not the normal religious police that you seem to suggest they should be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    Went shopping today, and I saw small kids wearing face masks. If they can wear masks, so can fully grown adults.