Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

pjohnson wrote: »
    A study showed those against masks actually have lower IQ's. So stupidy does relate to refusal to wear masks.
    I met the owner of a chain of pharmacies in a shop today and neither he nor his family were wearing masks. He must be a thicko according to your logic.
    A middle aged woman I know collapsed recently. Ambulance was called, treatment given, after investigation paramedics said cause for losing consciousness was surgical mask.

But maybe some randomer on the internet knows more than health care professionals lol

The pro-mask nazis don't give a **** about anyone else. The same eejits wanted everyone locked in their houses until there wasn't a case of Coronavirus left in the entire world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Yes: surgical
    Yes they went to hospital and no I did not suggest that everyone who wears a mask loses consciousness. Your reading comprehension abilities are poor and it is simply mot worth my time talking to you.

Really my reading comprehension, you wrote " after investigation paramedics said cause for losing consciousness was surgical mask."

Tell me what am I not comprehending?

Maybe because I am a nurse, one of those health care professionals you referred to, is the issue and the fact she was brought to hospital may indicate it was not the mask because I would reckon the A/e notes did not record LOC due to mask wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

A middle aged woman I know collapsed recently. Ambulance was called, treatment given, after investigation paramedics said cause for losing consciousness was surgical mask.

But maybe some randomer on the internet knows more than health care professionals lol

There are always random anecdotes out there when the exception proves the rule.

There has been plenty of car accidents where people are thrown forward, and the seatbelt caused fractures and contusion. Maybe we should stop using seatbelts too?.

What an outright farce of a lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    Punishment has to be the key to changing behavior and making people do what they are told. The fine is great but I think there should also be an element of public shaming. As far as I know I think Saudi Arabia puts thieves on public display in Perspex boxes or cages. That could be a way to go for Ireland when it comes to punishing the antisocial who refuse to don masks. Public shaming is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,179 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No: other

things-that-happened-this-29862691.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,044 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Punishment has to be the key to changing behavior and making people do what they are told. The fine is great but I think there should also be an element of public shaming. As far as I know I think Saudi Arabia puts thieves on public display in Perspex boxes or cages. That could be a way to go for Ireland when it comes to punishing the antisocial who refuse to don masks. Public shaming is the way to go.

Steady paddy I'm after getting a warning for saying we should shoot them....throw cotton balls is about as much as your allowed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,343 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It’s lockdown or masks lads, pick one. A lot of people seem to be under the impression that we can just go back to the way things were last year and it’ll all be grand. It’s time to grow up and start dealing with reality.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes: other
    ParkRunner wrote: »
    I’m all for freedom of speech, freedom of expression and protecting human rights but there is a responsibility on everyone to protect themselves and protect others.
    There is also a need to legislate for morons who are present in scary numbers in society. If morons didn't exist in significant numbers many if not most laws wouldn't need to exist.
    khalessi wrote: »
    Paramedics would know that wearing masks does not cause loss of conciousness.
    The only way that a surgical mask could cause a loss of consciousness is if you rolled one up and shoved it down someone's throat. Maybe someone having a panic attack from one, but panic attacks rarely cause a loss of consciousness, though part of the attack is thinking it will.

Claiming a "paramedic" said a mask caused such is the kind of utter bullsh1t one finds among the hard of thinking on WhatsApp and Facebook groups. It's a complete and utter nonsense, otherwise doctors and nurses would be falling down like flies and surgeons couldn't work. Then again this wilful ignorance is out there among the thickest ends of the interwebs and a few doctors have gone online wearing one for hours while taking O2 blood readings and guess what? No effect at all.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

MadYaker wrote: »
    It’s lockdown or masks lads, pick one. A lot of people seem to be under the impression that we can just go back to the way things were last year and it’ll all be grand. It’s time to grow up and start dealing with reality.

The reality is we all went shopping without wearing masks throughout the peak of the pandemic and new cases dropped to **** all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

No: I don't care enough
    GazzaL wrote: »
    The reality is we all went shopping without wearing masks throughout the peak of the pandemic and new cases dropped to **** all.

Did we do any other measures at the peak of the pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Weren't there restrictions in place that some people referred to as lockdown and shops were closed and those that were open had restrictions and still do.

Youd wonder why they were low.

Now we have lifted restrictions and R number between 1.2 -1.8 no wonder they are making mask wearing mandatory.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes: other
    There really aren't enough facepalm memes out there...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,558 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

MadYaker wrote: »

It's easier for some to cling to lies about masks causing people to pass out, and masks being part of some new world order conspiracy to muzzle us - than to face up to reality:
    The virus is here and killing people and we haven't muzzled it yet.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,044 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Here's one for you I hadn't thought of when I was giving out about the chap coughing directly at the cashier, had a lady in before lunch, had the mask on but started coughing and put her hand on the mask to block the cough. Anything to be concerned about there.., I cleaned my hands after but she didn't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

khalessi wrote: »
    Weren't there restrictions in place that some people referred to as lockdown and shops were closed and those that were open had restrictions and still do.

Youd wonder why they were low.

Now we have lifted restrictions and R number between 1.2 -1.8 no wonder they are making mask wearing mandatory.

If someone can prove that retail outlets are the primary cause of this, fine, but its illogical to think they are. The public health authorities are telling you that its social gatherings that are the cause.

This thread has now hit peak retard and it's one of the shorter posts. You could write a thesis on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yes: to protect myself and others
    I thought masks were now mandatory in enclosed retail spaces?
    I was in a Tesco in a certain Dublin village a few minutes ago and staff nor customers were wearing masks, I was the only one.
    Walked past a pub which was packed and had no social distancing going on plus doesn’t do food, then went into another shop and one other person had a mask on. Staff weren’t wearing any masks.

From what I can see there’s not many people really giving a ****e at all about “mandatory regulations”.
    I wouldn’t mind put there’s a large Garda station in the village.

Wibbs wrote: »
    There really aren't enough facepalm memes out there...
    This thread has now hit peak retard and it's one of the shorter posts. You could write a thesis on it.

The numbers don't lie, lads. The numbers don't lie.

Thanks for the personal abuse. Retard is a disgraceful term to use too btw.

And your post is the kind of nonsense that doesn't help either. Retail outlets have been by and large open, and the number dropped. Now their increasing slightly you're saying it's the same retail outkets open all along that are now the primary cause of a rise, when before, without masks, there was a drop. Illogical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

McGiver wrote: »
    Every day a new anti-mask argument.

We're coming to the "damages your scrotum" stage really.

It's gonna be aliens soon at this pace.

While whole world wears masks, Ireland is arguing about them.

As someone else said, individuals with lower cognitive abilities don't respect and adhere to the guidelines, so it's no wonder since we've known we've plenty of absolute idiots in this country for a long time. We're not much better than the US anymore really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What's wrong with wearing a mask?

Wearing a mask is mandatory for a few months on public transport and in enclosed spaces where I live. Everyone just wears one and gets on with their lives. In the few months that it's been mandatory I have yet to see a single person not wearing one. Just put it on and don't be an idiot, it's not exactly a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Voltairey

Ordered N95 masks there with washable filters, due to arrive at the end of the month. The surgical ones will do for now. I also found an old pair of glasses and got replacement (non-prescription) lenses, so they can act as an eye shield.

I highly recommend registering on HSELand website as well, there are training videos there which are helpful if you're unsure of how to put on and take off PPE safely.

Wow. Hit a nerve there!! Haha!

Yeah, it cracked me up. Stupidest thing I've read in ages.

jester77 wrote: »
    What's wrong with wearing a mask?

Wearing a mask is mandatory for a few months on public transport and in enclosed spaces where I live. Everyone just wears one and gets on with their lives. In the few months that it's been mandatory I have yet to see a single person not wearing one. Just put it on and don't be an idiot, it's not exactly a big deal.

I'm not sure many are disputing the benefit in certain scenarios. Retail outlets who are at the same capacity as during lockdown mandating it is illogical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Here's one for you I hadn't thought of when I was giving out about the chap coughing directly at the cashier, had a lady in before lunch, had the mask on but started coughing and put her hand on the mask to block the cough. Anything to be concerned about there.., I cleaned my hands after but she didn't...

Would you rather she was wearing no mask and done the same? I wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,348 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

tom1ie wrote: »
    I was in a Tesco in a certain Dublin village a few minutes ago and staff nor customers were wearing masks, I was the only one.
    Walked past a pub which was packed and had no social distancing going on plus doesn’t do food, then went into another shop and one other person had a mask on. Staff weren’t wearing any masks.

From what I can see there’s not many people really giving a ****e at all about “mandatory regulations”.

Not yet : there is no law currently compelling shop staff or customers to wear masks, but it may come in soon.

Arrival wrote: »
    Would you rather she was wearing no mask and done the same? I wouldn't

Covid or no covid, no. Are you advocating permanent mask usage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,558 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

tom1ie wrote: »

I think shops from Monday.
    Gardai have very little powers re: pubs ignoring the social distancing, all they can do is object to licence renewal. They, or some other government body monitoring health and safety, should have been given the powers to shut down irresponsible establishments.

And on the other hand, the significant majority of the people I passed waiting for buses on the Northside from Clare Hall to Fairview were wearing masks.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy