Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Anyone whinging about wearing masks for a few hours should remember healthcare workers wearing them for up to 12 hours
    I have seen photos of their bruised faces from wearing them to treat their patients . They just did it because its the right thing to do

And they use masks with a tight seal around the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No: I don't care enough
    GazzaL wrote: »
    Fair play to her, but everyone's different. When a woman who was struggling to breath asked me if I minded if she took her mask off, what am I supposed to say? I'm not going to tell someone to keep their mask on and risk collapsing or worse! People need to take personal responsibility.

Personal responsibility is wearing the mask, though.

This isn't just Karen going 'ah feck, I'm sick now' it's 'ah feck, I got everyone I know sick.'

The least-worst of things I could suggest to these sensitive-constitution types is to select a mask with a valve: yes, these valves do far less to help others, but they do something at least. Then they should have no issue being within the compliance of mandates though, which haven't targeted these exhaust valves:

3mtm-particulate-respirator-8511-n95.jpg
    Emily_LEFT_x850.jpg?v=1588877274

Those 'struggling to breathe' types would be best off just wearing a fitted cloth mask without one, and slowing down their level of activity if they plan to be socialites.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

fae7749f4a3f04c8.png?1595012387

Oh lord, have you learned anything at all in this mask thread?

Asymptomatic, presymtomatic. Would you like to be home schooled, it's never too late to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others
    He has got to be trolling. Nobody could be that dense, surely?

IG]

Inane.

You quarantine for 14 days. Grand. Go to the store, now you have to quarantine all over again. You'd get one trip out every 14 days not wearing a mask by this logic, as you can never be sure you did not come into contact with the virus, or are an asymptomatic carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No: other
    Come on your a conspiracy theory mod, the scamdemic must becoming more obvious by the day. Toasted sandwich and a pint your safe as a house, pint with no sandwich your going to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,181 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Overheal wrote: »

Those 'struggling to breathe' types would be best off just wearing a fitted cloth mask without one, and slowing down their level of activity if they plan to be socialites.

Purely psychological issue anyway imo. Felt a little bit breathless the first time I tried wearing one but that went away once I got used to having something over my mouth. I've actually done quite a bit of high intensity exercise wearing one (the fitness studio I go to mandates them) and haven't had any issues other than it getting a little bit warm and uncomfortable.

109831469_10221434083028768_7603130059865279483_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_sid=110474&_nc_ohc=89Kjd_qFSpYAX92gER3&_nc_ht=scontent-mia3-2.xx&oh=b8fd140bef098e0aec60f16e44559b0c&oe=5F3628D1
    Come on your a conspiracy theory mod, the scamdemic must becoming more obvious by the day. Toasted sandwich and a pint your safe as a house, pint with no sandwich your going to die.

How Ireland bungles its pub politics does not change whether the virus is a hoax or not, and it is not.

Stark wrote: »
    Purely psychological issue anyway imo. Felt a little bit breathless the first time I tried wearing one but that went away once I got used to having something over my mouth. I've actually done quite a bit of high intensity exercise wearing one (the fitness studio I go to mandates them) and haven't had any issues other than it getting a little bit warm and uncomfortable.

There's always been this regular at our gym that even last year, always wore a fitted mask, but it was one with double valves.

We haven't been back inside to the gym since this started, though, so I couldn't tell you what he's up to now.

I definitely am uncomfortable wearing one in this abysmal 90+ F/30+ C heat but I instead defer to waiting to do my errands after dark when things have cooled off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,669 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Spoken like a true Communist.

"The sole end for which mankind are warranted, individually or collectively, in interfering with the liberty of action of any of their number, is self-protection. That the only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others."
    - John Stuart Mill

If you think that's communism you are as mis-informed about politics as you are about masks.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

My fiancé has Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS). She indeed has an invisible disability. She indeed gets faint wearing the mask. It is indeed 35 degrees Celsius outside. She indeed feels weak and requires a rest period after these episodes.

Yet she indeed wears the mask for others when we venture out in public, we both do, because it is the right thing to do. She recognizes as someone who is immune compromised with Asthma and POTS that she as much relies on others wearing the mask as others do, especially those who like her may have an invisible disability.
    Fair play to your Fiance and then you have people giving out about not wearing masks bceause they're selfish pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

fae7749f4a3f04c8.png?1595012387
    give it a rest, I wear a mask because it is the right thing to do, protect others.

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    give it a rest, I wear a mask because it is the right thing to do, protect others.

Why do you suspect you've got the virus?

Why would anybody suspect they don't have the virus?

odyssey06 wrote: »
    If you think that's communism

It sure looks like it, everyone is worth the same except government employees, you can't travel freely, your forced by law to adhere to social guidelines. Even the department of health can't overrule bad government decisions.
    Have a missed something?

Tork wrote: »
    Why would anybody suspect they don't have the virus?

It's not in my community and hasn't been for a long time. If I was in Dublin I'd be a little more sceptical about my chances of having it. Hence we have this massive city/rural divide on the right course of action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

5AVtqMQ.png

FYP - Gotta hand it to you, you're great craic ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,669 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It sure looks like it, everyone is worth the same except government employees, you can't travel freely, your forced by law to adhere to social guidelines. Even the department of health can't overrule bad government decisions.
    Have a missed something?

Yes I think you have missed the definition of communism.
    Nothing you have said there has anything to do with communism.

You can't travel freely? There are multiple posts from you earlier in the thread demanding mandatory enforced quarantine of incoming travellers to this country.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm one of these people that have been asked to wear a mask while indoors in retail establishments ect and have decided to just do what's asked of me because wearing one isnt going to do anyone any harm.....

If I was asked to carry a fully loaded machine gun into shops and empty the rounds I wouldnt...... I dont have a gun licence anyway ....

It's not in my community and hasn't been for a long time. If I was in Dublin I'd be a little more sceptical about my chances of having it. Hence we have this massive city/rural divide on the right course of action.

I'm glad "your community" is living in a hermetically sealed bubble where nobody is going on holidays, coming to visit or is venturing too far. Is the local shop for local people, perchance?

railer201 wrote: »
    FYP - Gotta hand it to you, you're great craic ! :D

Tell me about it I feel like a bull in a cattle pen :D

bde1fbcb8018398a.png?1595012563

Tork wrote: »
    I'm glad "your community" is living in a hermetically sealed bubble where nobody is going on holidays, coming to visit or is venturing to far

Nah i'm just glad I spend most of my time on the west side these days, not missing Dublin.
    A lot of countries don't have a problem, were all treated as if we're Dubliners though and that pisses me off no end.

https://twitter.com/higginsdavidw/status/1284177516299784197?s=20

Have a missed something?

Communists also drink water.

Except any single ruralite could have traveled to a covid hotspot and you wouldn't even know it.

The numbers don't back up that theory and haven't for a long time. I'm pretty good at following the general guidelines, don't think I've any finger prints left from all the hand washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Yes: surgical
    Tell me about it I feel like a bull in a cattle pen :D

bde1fbcb8018398a.png?1595012563

I dont trust governments as far as i can throw them but its interesting how conspiracy theorists spend less time scrutinising what theyre actually doing than coming up with conspiracy theories as a distraction. In fact, maybe "they" want these theories to be spread.

Tell me, if there were a pandemic and you were the government, what would you do? If it was worse than Covid just let it wipe out parts of your population?

Very easy to stand on the sidelines and shout about facebook conspiracy theories and "look at all the sheeple im way better than that!" Im more an instagram man myself - you learn more from pointless photos than you ever will on lamebook

Communists also drink water.

Take the red pill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Hand in Your Pants

Just wondering, would the people here who strongly support the new measures regarding mandatory masks be supportive of similar measures should they occur requiring mandatory vaccination? Not a trick question, just curious.

fr336 wrote: »
    Tell me, if there were a pandemic and you were the government, what would you do? If it was worse than Covid just let it wipe out parts of your population?

I'd have brought in mandatory Quarantine in February the same time I stocked up on enough sanitizer at cheap prices to last until January.

The numbers don't back up that theory and haven't for a long time.

I think you understand better about how this works than that.