Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

I have 300 on the dot active - assuming 92% recovery rate

I hoping that the 92% figure will increase when they give their next update.

For example we only went over 25k cases on June 1st. We are now on 25,509 cases confirmed 34 days later. So only 2% of our cases have happened in last 34 days

Edit. With deaths at almost 7% it's hard for that 92% to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,259 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I have 300 on the dot active - assuming 92% recovery rate

Great to see. Would be good if they published it on regular basis just to gauge it but guess with new cases and cases taking few weeks to be declared inactive may not change a huge amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

How do we get the recovered total, seeing as we don’t retest positive cases to see if they show a negative? I always thought that after two weeks you were considered recovered, or am completely wrong?
    You can't get an exact number of recoveries, that's not possible. It's estimated to be 92%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

You can't get an exact number of recoveries, that's not possible. It's estimated to be 92%.

Stupid question but wouldnt it be just total cases reported minus dead minus active?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

How do we get the recovered total, seeing as we don’t retest positive cases to see if they show a negative? I always thought that after two weeks you were considered recovered, or am completely wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Stupid question but wouldnt it be just total cases reported minus dead minus active?

It’s the other way around, as the active number isn’t reported. The active cases is calculated using recoveries, and we only have a % to work off rather than a published recovery number. When they did daily briefings we’d usually get an exact figure on a Wednesday or Thursday.

Yeah it seems like it’s assumed recovered rather than a retest. It’s technically the same as other countries as most will test negative 11-14 days after symptoms initially appear.

There are outliers that suffer symptoms for months afterwards but most of these anecdotally have tested negative in the usual window, even though they probably shouldn’t be considered recovered. Then there are a few stories of others testing positive 70-80 days later, even without symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

It has to be just a theoretical number, most people who have tested positive would be self-isolating at home. So I don't think there would be any kind of recovery monitoring going on. Probably different for those who require hospital care, but they'd be in the minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Active basically refers to people who are still contagious and therefore a threat to others. Hence the 2 week rule.

Recovery can take longer as we all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,870 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Neighbor arrived back from Florida approx 10 days ago and so far he has been in Galway and Kerry visiting friends and drinking at house parties, I thought there were checks done on people who arrive back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Great to see we are doing so well. The Coronavirus forum on Reddit makes for bleak reading, majority of posts are regarding the current state of the US and it seems like another lockdown is inevitable for some states. One poster was utterly incredulous at the fact that Greece and Lithuania were doing better and said they were embarrassed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

JJayoo wrote: »
    Neighbor arrived back from Florida approx 10 days ago and so far he has been in Galway and Kerry visiting friends and drinking at house parties, I thought there were checks done on people who arrive back?

Doesn't seem like it's being strictly enforced. I know someone who came home from Australia for a visit and was meant to isolate on their own but broke it after less than a week to visit their family... they were never checked on afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Doesn't seem like it's being strictly enforced. I know someone who came home from Australia for a visit and was meant to isolate on their own but broke it after less than a week to visit their family... they were never checked on afaik

Who is supposed to check on them? The guards? If so that’s crazy, they have enough to be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

They check you sign the mandatory isolation form. You may or may not get a phone call from a Garda. You can still leave your place of isolation for essential reasons. Tbh it's a joke implemented (and sorry for this ) to appease the curtain twitchers.
    If Garda rings mobile , conversation goes like this" Are you at your address?" Answer "yes" Garda response "Grand so".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    tom1ie wrote: »
    Who is supposed to check on them? The guards? If so that’s crazy, they have enough to be doing.

There was something on the news last week that around half of people who they tried to check up on were not got by phone

The thing is, he’s probably fine, and it will just reinforce his decision when no one gets sick. But the odd person taking a similar won’t be so lucky and I don’t think you can really convince people of the severity of the consequences of their actions until they really experience it.

There was something on the news last week that around half of people who they tried to check up on were not got by phone

Right so, this form that doesn’t do anything is supposed to negate the potential risk of people from hotspots coming into the country.
    Has anyone in the media or, god forbid, in the government or opposition made any comment on how this procedure is unfit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

FFS I'm sick of this virus - more transmissable! Sigh. Any good news?

They check you sign the mandatory isolation form. You may or may not get a phone call from a Garda. You can still leave your place of isolation for essential reasons. Tbh it's a joke implemented (and sorry for this ) to appease the curtain twitchers.
    If Garda rings mobile , conversation goes like this" Are you at your address?" Answer "yes" Garda response "Grand so".

Not always the case. Mechanic I use is Polish. Rang him up on the Tuesday after phase 2 as my wife’s car was giving trouble. Told that they would be only be reopening on the Thursday and to drop it in. Went in with it the Thursday morning and he was closed. Rang him up and it turns out they had went back to Poland for a few weeks during lockdown, and had just returned on the Sunday. Guards had rang him and told him they would be checking the premises to see if they were open before quarantine was over. He remained closed until the two weeks were up and told me they called to the house also.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Do not discuss other users. It's off topic and unfair to the individual

I recommend ye watch this video, this is Keflavik airport in Iceland. This is the way it should be done - either get your test when you arrive or do the mandatory 2 weeks quarantine in the airport hotel. If you pay for the test before you arrive it's cheaper than the amount you have to pay when you arrive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ7ps9TJ4ys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I recommend ye watch this video, this is Keflavik airport in Iceland. This is the way it should be done - either get your test when you arrive or do the mandatory 2 weeks quarantine in the airport hotel. If you pay for the test before you arrive it's cheaper than the amount you have to pay when you arrive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ7ps9TJ4ys

The thing about doing a test when you arrive, if you picked up an infection while flying, it wont show up positive on arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

The thing about doing a test when you arrive, if you picked up an infection while flying, it wont show up positive on arrival.

Or if someone tests positive on arrival, shouldn't the entire crew and passengers isolate for 2 weeks?
    There doesn't seem to be an easy solution to find a balance to protect a country while trying to salvage the hospitality sector.

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Or if someone tests positive on arrival, shouldn't the entire crew and passengers isolate for 2 weeks?
    There doesn't seem to be an easy solution to find a balance to protect a country while trying to salvage the hospitality sector.

It's not easy.

The sooner we get a vaccine the better. I miss my old life and holidays.

The chances of you picking it up on a plane with state of the art air filtration is limited lets be honest

It's not easy.

The sooner we get a vaccine the better. I miss my old life and holidays.

Be honest though. Will you be offering up your arm for the first batch of shots?
    I know it doesn’t work like that and thered be certain demographics offered the vaccine first, but if you were one of the first to be offered this vaccine would you take it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

The chances of you picking it up on a plane with state of the art air filtration is limited lets be honest

I see the Texas goverment rated air travel as a moderate risk. So not great. I love flying and support the airlines in flying again but the "state of the art" air filtration seems a bit PR heavy.

There's a two row rule with infections and flying. Unless you get a few rows to yourself, there is always a chance of picking it up.

fr336 wrote: »
    I see the Texas goverment rated air travel as a moderate risk. So not great. I love flying and support the airlines in flying again but the "state of the art" air filtration seems a bit PR heavy.
    The texas government aren't exactly covid experts based on their case numbers....

tom1ie wrote: »
    Be honest though. Will you be offering up your arm for the first batch of shots?
    I know it doesn’t work like that and thered be certain demographics offered the vaccine first, but if you were one of the first to be offered this vaccine would you take it?

I'm not an anti-vaxxer but probably won't be the first to take it either. Especially a vaccine that they rush through.