Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Can you believing everything a company boss or executive tells you, when their very successful business model is to pack as many people as possible into a flying metal tube ?

This video throws some light on the matter.

(BTW Flight time from Hong Kong to Beijing is 3 hours 20 minutes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Can you believing everything a company boss or executive tells you, when their very successful business model is to pack as many people as possible into a flying metal tube ?

I'd be happy to listen to what the ECDC has done regarding air travel and the protocols initiated rather than some You Tube 'expert' that mentions 'freaked out' in her first sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0704/1151347-coronavirus-world/

Lockdowns imposed in Catalonia and Melbourne
    "We have decided to confine the del Segria zone following data confirming a sharp rise in Covid-19 infections," Catalonia's regional president Quim Torra told reporters.

He added that no one would be allowed to enter or leave the area.
    Elsewhere, thousands of residents in several high-rise apartments in Melbourne went into lockdown for at least five days, as officials struggle to control a virus outbreak in Australia's second biggest city.

Shin

shinzon wrote: »

Shin

Any photos for illustration purposes?

Your still on that kick days later your like a dog with a bone but anyways back to the regular scheduled programming.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Ficheall wrote: »
    It would be easier to be fully optimistic about the decreased lethality if there were more concrete info on the aftereffects of covid.

Stuff like this is very concerning. I know it's twitter, but some research debunking it would be welcome!

https://twitter.com/DaniOliver/status/1279155358666305541

This is an interesting aspect of what’s been going on. There doesn’t appear to be much joined up research or at least that’s what it seems. There also appears to be a lot of vested interest information that has nothing to do with science. There also appears to be a lot of misinformation out there pandering to certain audiences who want to be told that certain things are grand as if the virus is more understanding to our travel and past time desires.

Why is it so hard to quantify the effectiveness of masks? This is not rocket science. If I wear a mask , less air particles will be exhaled further from my nose and mouth. This is an irrefutable scientific fact, so how is mask wearing still a debatable element to fighting this virus?

How much of our issues are social, cultural and convenience related? “I’m not wearing a mask”, “I’m not signing up to an app that tells the government where I am”. “I’m not holidaying in Ireland”... How much of the issues are that people will only comply with so much so it’s a “choose your battle” scenario for science where they have to let certain things remain consensus (airports and flying is grand) to try and get other measures implemented.

Seems like there are a lot of things we can do that we just don’t want to do that is more then likely going to lead to things being worse then they need to be.

Your still on that kick days later your like a dog with a bone but anyways back to the regular scheduled programming.

Shin

Well you posted a photo of a packed airport in Houston Texas, alluding to similar scenes in Dublin airport during the week. I'm just surprised you let the opportunity slip to do the same here.

I'd be happy to listen to what the ECDC has done regarding air travel and the protocols initiated rather than some You Tube 'expert' that mentions 'freaked out' in her first sentence.

She does not claim to be an 'expert' but she does interview a scientist who has examined the matter.

Ignore the science again to try to minimize the terrible effects of this virus, just as the reported case numbers tick up one million cases in less than a week ?

Flubro ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

gizmo23 wrote: »
    Well less potency is always a good thing... but we dont know how long or even if immunity happens which would be vital.

Ideal scenarios for me vaccine , immunity through virus mutating to less fatality or even a drug to battle it ( unfortunately with this you will still lose people to it and it will always be the most vulnerable in society the old sick etc.)

Realistically the virus has been around less than a year ( depending who you listen too) so the answer to 99.9% of questions is maybe we dont know enough about it and unfortunately that is the annoying aspect as we cant predict the next move.

There’s actually suggestions that the virus was in Spain in March 2019.

https://www.nytimes.com/reuters/2020/06/26/world/europe/26reuters-health-coronavirus-spain-science.html

Not sure it’s been peer reviewed yet but regardless it’s a good reminder of how much we still don’t know on the virus.

She does not claim to be an 'expert' but she does interview a scientist who has examined the matter.

Ignore the science again to try to minimize the terrible effects of this virus, just as the reported case numbers tick up one million cases in less than a week ?

Flubro ?

I haven't ignored the science, I'm happy to follow the protocols put in place by the ECDC, also Professor Luke O'Neill and Professor Jack Lambert seem ok with air travel once people take the advised steps. I'm just ignoring someone on YT starting off telling us how freaked out she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Shin

Australia was doing so well. I know they are a big country and they are probably not doing as bad in the grand scheme of things but seeing a region go into lockdown is still disappointing. What happened there? Are people getting too confident in their day to day lives and ignoring social distancing?

I haven't ignored the science, I'm happy to follow the protocols put in place by the ECDC, also Professor Luke O'Neill and Professor Jack Lambert seem ok with air travel once people take the advised steps. I'm just ignoring someone on YT starting off telling us how freaked out she is.

MMmmm from the ECDC recommendations

"The RAGIDA guidance for the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS) could be used as a starting point, since scientific evidence on SARS-CoV-2 inflight transmission is still lacking."

Which is exactly what was discussed in the video.

owlbethere wrote: »
    Australia was doing so well. I know they are a big country and they are probably not doing as bad in the grand scheme of things but seeing a region go into lockdown is still disappointing. What happened there? Are people getting too confident in their day to day lives and ignoring social distancing?

I believe they have just locked just 9 estate tower blocks in the Australian city of Melbourne, not an entire region.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

They would be yeah. Those foreign students are needed to fund their lifestyle. The exorbitant fees won't pay themselves.

A region hasn't gone into lockdown. Five tower blocks located in Melbourne have been locked down for 5 days.
    Also Australia reports cases in the same manner as America. Australia is made up of several states so it does not follow to suggest Australia was doing so well or doing so bad.
    Edit
    9 blocks not 5.

They would be yeah. Those foreign students are needed to fund their lifestyle. The exorbitant fees won't pay themselves.

I'm not a fan of GAA but I do agree with the old adage 'play the ball not the man'.
    If you can counter what they have said fire ahead.

Well you posted a photo of a packed airport in Houston Texas, alluding to similar scenes in Dublin airport during the week. I'm just surprised you let the opportunity slip to do the same here.

Been a lot worse said on these threads than me posting a picture of a packed airport but if you want to continue harping on about it off ye go

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

Australia is still doing really well? Locking down localised clusters is a good thing - the key is testing quickly and getting results quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I'm not a fan of GAA but I do agree with the old adage 'play the ball not the man'.
    If you can counter what they have said fire ahead.

I can and I have. It's very funny how they were advocating social distancing etc but suddenly planes are now ok. Why could that be? Makes no sense unless you factor in the vested interest. Which I just highlighted. I'm not playing the man. I'm pointing out that university are in a way dependent on wealthy foreign students. That's a fact. Nice muddying of waters / minimising / deflecting though.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/universities-facing-huge-losses-due-to-fall-in-foreign-students-1.4231675
    Universities expect international student numbers will drop by about 80 per cent in the new academic year and result in the loss of hundreds of millions of euro.
    Research commissioned by the Irish Universities Association estimates that the overseas student market is worth more than €385 million per year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Seems a lot of it stems from failures by the private security contractors in the quarantine hotels. Staff were poorly trained and not supplied with proper PPE.

There's been reports of breaches of protocol including illegal socialising and even suggestions they were having sex with the guests. There's a judicial inquiry being launched into it.

I can and I have. It's very funny how they were advocating social distancing etc but suddenly planes are now ok. Why could that be? Makes no sense unless you factor in the vested interest. Which I just highlighted. I'm not playing the man. I'm pointing out that university are in a way dependent on wealthy foreign students. That's a fact. Nice muddying of waters / minimising / deflecting though.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/universities-facing-huge-losses-due-to-fall-in-foreign-students-1.4231675

Professor Jack Lambert is a consultant at the Mater hospital but he also lectures, so I would suggest he is not dependent on students for income. Professor O Neill has full tenure so whether he has one student or a hundred he still gets paid. Planes are a better place to be than a bus, if you disagree a small bit of research will confirm what I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

We'll probably wind up with a picture of a Cambodian brothel for Catalonia and a western Sahara outhouse for Melbourne knowing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I hope the people panicking over the tiny uptick in Australian cases know Ireland will also probably have cluster spikes of dozens or even hundreds of cases in months to come. You can't keep a highly infectious respiratory illnesses with huge levels of asymptomatic carriers at zero cases indefinitely while maintaining normal lifestyles

The virus gets even closer to tRump.

Tony Guilfoyle's (from Ennis, Co Clare) daughter, who is dating President Donald Trump's eldest son Donald Trump Jr., has tested positive for COVID-19.

https://www.businessinsider.com/kimberly-guilfoyle-don-jr-girlfriend-tests-positive-covid-19-2020-7?r=US&IR=T

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

God she is irritating. Bit tired of youtube videos being posted as proof. Not so long ago we had the supermarket aisle videos showing how we (and the supermarket staff) were all going to get infected from sneezes travelling all over the gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,111 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I searched high and low and I can't find anything bar the 17 Italians training for Ryanair here that caught covid.
    Most other airlines had big clusters and some deaths.
    Why have we no figures for Air Lingus or Ryanair, their staff had to have contacted it and must have been responsible for some transmission.
    Did any of them every give details, it's looking like a cover-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

From the Covid dashboard (https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/), the number of positive tests has increased by 29 since yesterday. There were 8204 tests.

Having looked at this every day for the last week or so, it doesn't really tell us much about how many new positive cases there were today but it is good to see the positivity rate staying low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Tony Guilfoyle's (from Ennis, Co Clare) daughter,

Father Larry Duff?

larryduff.png

How Cuba and Uruguay are quashing coronavirus as neighbours struggle

Two bright sparks in the ongoing disaster that is Latin America's pandemic... More than 5 million confirmed cases of covid-19 there and nearly 250,000 related deaths.

Cuba (pop 11.3 million) with a large ageing population – the oldest in the Americas - They were preparing the whole system for diagnostics two months before the first case was detected. - 2,369 confirmed cases and 86 deaths as of today.

Uruguay (pop 3.5 million) without an authoritarian government, relied on voluntary self isolation, aggressive testing measures and a contact-tracing app. It also closed borders, schools and cancelled public events when the first case was detected - 952 cases and 28 deaths as of today.

What both countries had in common was early aggressive action before or when the first case was confirmed.

We could learn from these poorer countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,176 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Igotadose wrote: »
    The disease hasn't been shown to be transmissable through skin.
    The disease that was cultured from surfaces in a CDC test *did not reproduce* (and those were 'laboratory tests' not the RL)
    The only way you could get the disease through contact, is if you contacted the disease and shoved your fingers up your nose and held them there awhile.

Dispense with social distancing, dispense with the handwashing, mandate masks and the disease will plummet. Japanese live in crowded circumstances everywhere at huge levels higher than the worse you'll see on an Irish beach. Ever been on their subway?

I keep coming back to the same data: countries that mask, do better by orders of magnitude that countries that don't. I'd gladly not drop the social distancing thing if it meant more mask adoption, likewise the handwashing. Washing your hands is VERY good for lots of other illnesses, especially the ones children spread like Norovirus. But not for flu, and not for Covid.

As for the 'wet mask' issue, it rains in Japan, too.

You are wrong .
    Any respiratory virus is spread through infected droplets being transferred to mouth , nose and eyes by aerosol or contaminated hands ( and I never said through the skin ! Don't know where you got that bit from)
    Masks without handwashing are an infection hazard , masks with handwashing are a good protection .
    I am not mask averse , on the contrary , but properly used .
    There has also been guidance about this from Day 1 of this pandemic , on every health service website, everywhere.
    As for the rain in Japan , I won't bother replying .
    Unless you have a Masters in Epidemiology don't try to rewrite the guidelines .