Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Yep we’re all doomed! You have what 7 billion ish people in the world? It’s very likely at least one of those people are going to have the virus so the whole world is going to get re infected again with 2nd 3rd 4th......... 100th waves etc

My advice to you is have all your affairs in order and a will made.

Really? You don't see what 1 person was able to do? You need help if you think this is nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

fr336 wrote: »
    I was complimenting you. I appreciate your high quality insights.

I’m sure you were, but these days i share my high quality insights to real people instead of the internet armchair keyboard experts. The conversations are more meaningful and balanced i have noticed.

Really? You don't see what 1 person was able to do? You need help if you think this is nothing.

Yes i have seen what 1 person has done. Hence my post. We’re doomed and to get your affairs in order;-)

I need help? Sure aren’t i agreeing with you that we are fecked. So how is that thinking it’s nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

I’m sure you were, but these days i share my high quality insights to real people instead of the internet armchair keyboard experts. The conversations are more meaningful and balanced i have noticed.

Funny you should say that, this thread has been a lot more meaningful and balanced today. On the whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

pc7 wrote: »
    Genuine question, would you be among the first to take the vaccine if offered? I know I wouldn’t and I’m a huge supporter of vaccines, paid for my kids to get men b before it was on the schedule here, I get flu jab yearly. But if a vaccine gets released this year I’ll hold a while before getting it, too risky (unless built from say bcg or a well used/known vaccine)

If we take away Moderna for the moment, the others in clincal trials are based on well tried and almost 'antiquated' methods. Viral vector is sort of new-ish, but still been round the block for decades. Inactivated virus types have been around for 60-70 years now.
    Really looking forward to the first VLP data, if it's anywhere near the HPV vaccine's efficacy then we can start thinking we've cracked the nut on vaccines vs viruses understanding.

The only really new kids on the block are DNA and mRNA based vaccines. If they do pan out well, then in the future we could have vaccines to market in a couple months. That technology would be beyond amazing to have. But I'm sure there will some kinks to be ironed out over time there.

From my own personal point of view, the science seems to be there and the clinical data also looks ok so far. The challenges ahead would be getting a solid signal on efficacy and the sheer production volumes required. The logistics behind the manufacture and distribution are nothing to be taken lighlty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Georgia, Nevada and South Carolina join Florida and Arizona with record case rises today

https://twitter.com/keithboykin/status/1277002527679156225

Time to act...

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Has anyone got the breakdown (citizen?) of the spread of cases in the uk? Ie what sort of cases per population have we got in Wales, scotland, vs England?
    Interested to find out what the spread is here when cross referencing the political ideologies of the party’s in power in the respective jurisdictions.
    I would imagine it’s much higher in England, so should England be on the quarantine zone or should it be all of the uk on quarantine zone. If so where does that leave Northern Ireland?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

I see that stores like Powercity, Harvey Norman, Currys/DID had stopped installation of built in appliances during covid - was that related to restrictions and would it change from Phase 3 Monday does anyone know?

Actually, I see Harvey Norman are saying they now do it, but Powercity/DID/Currys still saying they won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I'd love to know the death rates for cases from NOW on .... see if it's any less / worse ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

The USA feels like watching Italy x 10. I really hope it doesn't get any worse.

It's a sh1t show allright, it will get a lot worse, with the crappy health care system and lack of paid sick leave, people will have no choice but to go out and work - and the exponential spread will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

pc7 wrote: »
    Genuine question, would you be among the first to take the vaccine if offered? I know I wouldn’t and I’m a huge supporter of vaccines, paid for my kids to get men b before it was on the schedule here, I get flu jab yearly. But if a vaccine gets released this year I’ll hold a while before getting it, too risky (unless built from say bcg or a well used/known vaccine)
    I'd take it 100%. Wouldn't hesitate. If I could do the trials right now I would, but can't due to asthma.

New preprint released today: "SARS-CoV-2 has been circulating in northern Italy since December 2019: evidence from environmental monitoring"
    https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.06.25.20140061v1
    Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) is responsible for the coronavirus disease COVID-19, a public health emergency worldwide, and Italy is among the world's first and most severely affected countries. The first autochthonous Italian case of COVID-19 was documented on February 21. We investigated the possibility that SARS-CoV-2 emerged in Italy earlier than that date, by analysing 40 composite influent wastewater samples collected - in the framework of other wastewater-based epidemiology projects - between October 2019 and February 2020 from five wastewater treatment plants (WTPs) in three cities and regions in northern Italy (Milan/Lombardy, Turin/Piedmont and Bologna/Emilia Romagna). Twenty-four additional samples collected in the same WTPs between September 2018 and June 2019 were included as blank samples. Viral concentration was performed according to the standard World Health Organization procedure for poliovirus sewage surveillance. Molecular analysis was undertaken with both nested RT-PCR and real-rime RT-PCR assays. A total of 15 positive samples were confirmed by both methods. Of these, 8 were collected before the first autochthonous Italian case. The earliest dates back to 18 December 2019 in Milan and Turin and 29 January 2020 in Bologna. Samples collected in January and February in the three cities were also positive. Our results demonstrate that SARS-CoV-2 was already circulating in northern Italy at the end of 2019. Moreover, it was circulating in different geographic regions simultaneously, which changes our previous understanding of the geographical circulation of the virus in Italy. Our study highlights once again the importance of environmental surveillance as an early warning system, to monitor the levels of virus circulating in the population and identify outbreaks even before cases are notified to the healthcare system.

Some may ask: why did it take until February to cause major issues? A redditor had a fantastic answer to this.
    Exponential growth is very slow before it gets the chance to ramp up. People here might have heard this analogy before, but I'll quote it again:

"If it takes water lilies that double their spread every day 50 days to cover the entire lake, on what day would they cover a half of that lake?"

The answer, obviously, is day 49. More to the point, day 45 would have had only seen the lilies cover 3,125% of the lake. Day 40 would have had been 0,0976% - from that little of an amount, the lilies would proceed to take over the entire lake in 10 more days.

So, it's the same way with this pandemic. I think there now enough of an evidence from anywhere in the world to say that absent an (effective, early) intervention to lower R0 inside the country, it takes about 3,5 months for the virus to blow up into a devastating contagion. Here is the data set so far:

Italy: introduction in (mid?) December - explosive epidemic in late February-early March.

France: same as above - introduction in December or even November (if you trust the CT scan analysis) - explosive epidemic by March, that wasn't as dramatic-looking, but still had one of the world's largest tolls.

Russia: Patient Zero is now believed to arrive into Moscow in January, and Moscow started posting thousands of cases per day in late March.

Brazil: Genetic analysis I linked to earlier now points at introduction in February - three months later, there was the explosive growth in May.

Wuhan, China: In line with all the above, emergence in November would perfectly track with the explosive epidemic in January.

I also think that the corollary is that effective Test - Trace - Isolate measures (often aided by a lockdown) performed during those 3,5 months are in fact able to stop the pandemic in its tracks, or slow it to a crawl, as was most famously shown by South Korea, Vietnam, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand, along with perhaps a few others (Malaysia?)

I believe this a thorough enough look at the available data, but I would be interested to see if anyone has counter-examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

New preprint released today: "SARS-CoV-2 has been circulating in northern Italy since December 2019: evidence from environmental monitoring"
    https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.06.25.20140061v1

Some may ask: why did it take until February to cause major issues? A redditor had a fantastic answer to this.

The plot thickens. So maybe it’s not the wuhan virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It is interesting but still that explanation seems a bit bro sciency to me. How could uncontrolled virus ciruclation in France and Italy for apparently 3.5 month result in the virus only being finally 'introduced' to the enormous country of Brazil with huge European migration patterns in February?

If this theory were to be true Brazil should have had a large outbreak at the same time as Europe. If it was circulating in france and Italy in December it is just not possible that not a single infected individual from these countries visited or returned to Brazil until February

bb1234567 wrote: »
    It is interesting but still that explanation seems a bit bro sciency to me. How could uncontrolled virus ciruclation in France and Italy for apparently 3.5 month result in the virus only being finally 'introduced' to the enormous country of Brazil with huge European migration patterns in February?

If this theory were to be true Brazil should have had a large outbreak at the same time as Europe
    Brazil is incredibly spread out with regards to population. I suppose that would entirely depend on where it's first introduced.

An interesting study to undertake would be comparing Portugal's timeline with Brazil's. I assume they would be closely linked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,897 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Nevada reporting 1099 new cases, by far its highest one day increase
    ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Thats a big increase from the usual 3 or 4 hundred a day. I had to check it myself as it isn't on any of the local news sites at all weirdly, and usually they are on top of reporting the daily cases. 4180 tests performed yesterday and 1099 new cases. Thats shocking. I wonder were some backlogged cases added because it really seems out of nowhere! I guess we'll find out more when it's finally picked up by the media.

Back to this, as I said earlier I was very surprised to see this number as its completely out of line with our recent trends. Turns out it was a backlog.
    Clarification from SNHD: Today, the Southern Nevada Health District reported 971 new cases of COVID-19. After a review of the case data, it was determined the increase in reports was due to a delay in laboratory reporting. More than 240 of the cases reported were from laboratory reports dated June 23, and more than 380 were from reports dated June 24.

Southern Nevada health district includes Vegas and obviously is where the bulk of cases in the state are, so this backlog explains the large increase on Friday.

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Back to this, as I said earlier I was very surprised to see this number as its completely out of line with our recent trends. Turns out it was a backlog.

Southern Nevada health district includes Vegas and obviously is where the bulk of cases in the state are, so this backlog explains the large increase on Friday.
    Ah okay that's good so. I was kinda skeptical because Nevada is basically entirely desert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,897 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Ah okay that's good so. I was kinda skeptical because Nevada is basically entirely desert!

Our cases are going up slightly, but not to that extent yet. Positivity rate is still under 6%, which is high but not drastically so. Testing is way up as all close contacts of positive cases are now tested and casinos are regularly testing all employees, its also easy for anyone to get a test, even without symptoms.

Most people were were wearing masks already and now they are mandatory so hopefully that will help slow things down a bit. Now if only they would put roadblocks between here and Arizona and California we'd be grand lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

Finally this thread gets back to informing, educating, debating. It's great to read so thank you the posters involved. One problem with the non stop positivity crowd and willing the virus away is that it's a virus - it doesn't care about positive or negative, good or bad. It is what it is and has been such March. Some people don't want it to be a bad situation so they'll live in lala land and say everything is basically fine while ranting at others. I'm feeling ten times more confident than I was in March though - at least now the governments are taking prevention seriously rather than business as usual and we learn more about Covid every day. I for one am still grateful to be here and not lose out in the lottery of death statistics.

This virus has been waltzing though the population long before March.

Look up Military Games in Wuhan last Hallowe'en.

Danno wrote: »
    This virus has been waltzing though the population long before March.

I genuinely think these were the spark. It's not reported enough how conincidental that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Danno wrote: »

What's the short version of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I see that stores like Powercity, Harvey Norman, Currys/DID had stopped installation of built in appliances during covid - was that related to restrictions and would it change from Phase 3 Monday does anyone know?

Actually, I see Harvey Norman are saying they now do it, but Powercity/DID/Currys still saying they won't.

I suppose going in to people's homes you don't know what kind of cesspit of an unhygienic kip you will enter, a hazmat suit would be needed for some places and the animals that occupy them.

I have been going into peoples homes all through the lockdown, thankfully i successfully protected myself throughout it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I have been going into peoples homes all through the lockdown, thankfully i successfully protected myself throughout it.

Fair play, it can't be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Well, did any of the athletes get antibody tests? It's not particularly compelling , just that they got sick, and because the illness was bad that they think it was covid. I assumed there would be more to the story. Many other communicable respiratory diseases exist like... I'm not saying it's even unlikely that it was one of the first major outbreaks but there's no info in that article posted that makes that timeline seem all that convincing

Try to understand this mentalness...

EbjFNqdXgAA0pCJ?format=png&name=medium

https://twitter.com/latimes/status/1276740793668157440

Three of my friends left Vietnam and flew back to America early on because they thought America would be far safer.. And then you see that. Whoops.

It's all self inflicted.

I'm actually angry now to see the level to which the greatest country in the world has been reduced and debased by it's "leadership".

It's dangerous. They either have their whatever fcuking amendment or Jesus as an excuse for doing nothing.

It's all self inflicted.

I'm actually angry now to see the level to which the greatest country in the world has been reduced and debased by it's "leadership".

It's dangerous. They either have their whatever fcuking amendment or Jesus as an excuse for doing nothing.

The US is relentless these days in its ability to make the entire rest of the world think what in the name of God is going on.

But I see Trump as the manifestation of massive issues and division, not the cause. And I think the US was destined to have this outcome to Covid-19 regardless of who was president. A country where most people think nationalised healthcare is too socialist was never going to actually do social distancing and masks properly, and it was always going to try and open up too early.