Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,342 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    And yet I heard an expert on the radio this week say it was the other way around, that washing hands was more important than masks. Can't remember which expert or station as the talk shows seem to have a fair few of them doing the rounds

So, for me anyway, the best and most sensible policy is to do both

Your expert isn't as expert as you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

cnocbui wrote: »
    Your expert isn't as expert as you think.

Never said he was my expert

I said he was presented as one on a radio show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Record cases in the US for the 3rd day in a row - 40,173.
    And that’s what exponential growth looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Yeh, have been getting watery eyes too, so could be. It's just that my sister returned with flu from that region of the Alps in late Februaru that has kind of peaked my interest to get an antibody test now

Sounds like a bad dose of hayfever to be honest. Had the same myself with the throat and eyes, got a stronger antihistamine off the doctor and haven't had as much trouble since, bad hayfever season this year by all accounts, seems to be alot more with it. Probably down to how dry the weather was too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Mental

UK and USA attempting stealth herd immunity maybe

As weak as the Irish Government have been in some (not all) parts of this, I'm sure as feck glad I'm here and not in UK or America (or indeed Brazil or Sweden)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

You'll have to do a bit better than the daily express pulling quotes from the mirror and a TV Doctor. Nowhere else can I find says anything like this. To suggest its a symptom without any actual papers or data to back it up its very misleading.

There's a HSE campaign to educate people on the differences between hayfever and covid.

I remember a couple of days ago talk that people who had less severe symptoms developed fewer antibodies. If that is true, doesn't that mean vaccines aren't going to work? Or is there something else a vaccine does?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

You'll have to do a bit better than the daily express pulling quotes from the mirror and a TV Doctor. Nowhere else can I find says anything like this. To suggest its a symptom without any actual papers or data to back it up its very misleading.

There's a HSE campaign to educate people on the differences between hayfever and covid.

The sister was away on holidays, came back with a flu. Pretty sure there's no such thing as contagious hayfever.

Maybe this might be good enough for you, this can affect every organ in the body. Can also cause eye issues, if you remember Mary Lou talking about her experience on the late late show. This disease has so many different symptoms. But I forgot, boards knows best.

https://www.aol.com/article/news/2020/06/26/scientists-just-beginning-to-understand-the-many-health-problems-caused-by-covid-19/24537809/?fbclid=IwAR1Hv7fL_-8Pri3vyOuhsiw8vp3x_ntdydCcD_T1s97c0tC9mTuHejZRcDo&guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cHM6Ly9tLmZhY2Vib29rLmNvbS8&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAAM75UVEMnxLPXrXJ-ZKAiw0ENZQ0alst2SOKQAJDiQAli3mEqR2fqKb5eZL4dzgz9MFQh4E-t-JWQBFpSlZsVHSvuodq6zZCpuE1duTSleWUvP3GXab7ws8NJJxXuCknFR4ooWYKDZ6f5z1Bopdf2aOKqbDrXTjqgGWpXSJcZ_jX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,897 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

CDC said yesterday that they now believe that the true number of infections in the US is more like 23 million. So really it seems that the number of daily new cases detected is pretty irrelevant really. Its clearly been spreading unnoticed for a while to get to that level and for every one case they confirm, there are 10 cases that aren't tested at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    CDC said yesterday that they now believe that the true number of infections in the US is more like 23 million. So really it seems that the number of daily new cases detected is pretty irrelevant really. Its clearly been spreading unnoticed for a while to get to that level and for every one case they confirm, there are 10 cases that aren't tested at all.

Yeh it's almost totally meaningless. A more important thing to watch for are percentage of tests coming back positive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Let's be honest we could write a trilogy book series of predictions and craziness on this thread
    Does craziness include going through a person's posts for at least an hour to pick holes in everything they've predicted incorrectly?
    I agree that we really need to be strict on border checks with GB, especially coming off boats. Tell them they have to self isolate for 14 days or don't come at all.

I know if they are that bothered they will come through the North but we can't make it easy for them.
    Alert the Gardaí of the registration number of their car loudly and for them to hear. No welcome for these people until their country has this under control, we've made so many sacrifices.
    Micky 32 wrote: »
    Today I saw two women in their 30’s greeting each other on the street with a hug and kiss on the cheek .
    They could have been married to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭Polar101

Seems to be updated to 47,341 now.

Brazil with 46,907, so that's almost half of the worldwide new cases in those two countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

The sister was away on holidays, came back with a flu. Pretty sure there's no such thing as contagious hayfever.

Maybe this might be good enough for you, this can affect every organ in the body. Can also cause eye issues, if you remember Mary Lou talking about her experience on the late late show. This disease has so many different symptoms. But I forgot, boards knows best.

https://www.aol.com/article/news/2020/06/26/scientists-just-beginning-to-understand-the-many-health-problems-caused-by-covid-19/24537809/?fbclid=IwAR1Hv7fL_-8Pri3vyOuhsiw8vp3x_ntdydCcD_T1s97c0tC9mTuHejZRcDo&guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cHM6Ly9tLmZhY2Vib29rLmNvbS8&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAAM75UVEMnxLPXrXJ-ZKAiw0ENZQ0alst2SOKQAJDiQAli3mEqR2fqKb5eZL4dzgz9MFQh4E-t-JWQBFpSlZsVHSvuodq6zZCpuE1duTSleWUvP3GXab7ws8NJJxXuCknFR4ooWYKDZ6f5z1Bopdf2aOKqbDrXTjqgGWpXSJcZ_jX

I say if you had 50 Siblings, there’d be something wrong with every single one of them. You’re like a wet sponge that needs a good drenching out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

That Palm Beach County commissioner’s public meeting in Florida just keeps on giving.

Politicizing a public health measure is the definition of incredible stupidity but not surprising for these 'Trump girls', considering the stance and attitude of the bigoted racist jingoist brain-damaged orange baboon in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Light at the end of the tunnel ?

Far-UVC Light Safely Kills Airborne Coronaviruses

Conventional germicidal UVC light (254 nm wavelength) can be used to disinfect unoccupied spaces such as empty hospital rooms or empty subway cars, but direct exposure to these conventional UV lamps is not possible in occupied public spaces, as this could be a health hazard to skin and eyes.

To continuously and safely disinfect occupied indoor areas, researchers at Columbia University Irving Medical Center have been investigating far-UVC light (222 nm wavelength). Far-UVC light cannot penetrate the tear layer of the eye or the outer dead-cell layer of skin and so it cannot reach or damage living cells in the body.

The researchers had previously shown that far-UVC light can safely kill airborne influenza viruses and more recently seasonal coronaviruses. These viruses are structurally similar to the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. In a separate ongoing study, the researchers are testing the efficacy of far-UVC light against airborne SARS-CoV-2. Preliminary data suggest that far-UVC light is just as effective at killing SARS-CoV-2.

“Because it’s safe to use in occupied spaces like hospitals, buses, planes, trains, train stations, schools, restaurants, offices, theaters, gyms, and anywhere that people gather indoors, far-UVC light could be used in combination with other measures, like wearing face masks and washing hands, to limit the transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and other viruses.”

Press release :- https://www.cuimc.columbia.edu/news/far-uvc-light-safely-kills-airborne-coronaviruses

Published report in Nature :- https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-67211-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Can't see that mentioning anything you were trying to counter with.

Did you just pick the first one you Googled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

cnocbui wrote: »
    If I give you a fiver, would you quit with the optimism? I'ts selfish people like you who are the problem and will prevent us reaching 0.

That's an absurd comment. And I'm not sure you meant optimism, although I am confident about the future. What did I say or do that was selfish? I've been more or less cocooned at home for months and haven't even hugged my grandchildren. When in a shop (once a week at most) I wear a mask.
    I simply pointed out that a test positivity rate of 0 is improbable, as the virus is not eliminated and will not be eliminated until we have a vaccine.

So, keep your insults for those that may deserve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭kippy

That Palm Beach County commissioner’s public meeting in Florida just keeps on giving.

Politicizing a public health measure is the definition of incredible stupidity but not surprising for these 'Trump girls', considering the stance and attitude of the bigoted racist jingoist brain-damaged orange baboon in charge.

People are idiots. Unfortunately the internet has given them a platform like no other.

US and UK are in dire straits in many ways and Trump having the gall to question China and other countries on their reporting of figures.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Light at the end of the tunnel ?

Far-UVC Light Safely Kills Airborne Coronaviruses

Conventional germicidal UVC light (254 nm wavelength) can be used to disinfect unoccupied spaces such as empty hospital rooms or empty subway cars, but direct exposure to these conventional UV lamps is not possible in occupied public spaces, as this could be a health hazard to skin and eyes.

To continuously and safely disinfect occupied indoor areas, researchers at Columbia University Irving Medical Center have been investigating far-UVC light (222 nm wavelength). Far-UVC light cannot penetrate the tear layer of the eye or the outer dead-cell layer of skin and so it cannot reach or damage living cells in the body.

The researchers had previously shown that far-UVC light can safely kill airborne influenza viruses and more recently seasonal coronaviruses. These viruses are structurally similar to the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. In a separate ongoing study, the researchers are testing the efficacy of far-UVC light against airborne SARS-CoV-2. Preliminary data suggest that far-UVC light is just as effective at killing SARS-CoV-2.

“Because it’s safe to use in occupied spaces like hospitals, buses, planes, trains, train stations, schools, restaurants, offices, theaters, gyms, and anywhere that people gather indoors, far-UVC light could be used in combination with other measures, like wearing face masks and washing hands, to limit the transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and other viruses.”

Press release :- https://www.cuimc.columbia.edu/news/far-uvc-light-safely-kills-airborne-coronaviruses

Published report in Nature :- https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-67211-2
    Yeah, this has been known for quite a while. There are already some normal UV solutions out there. One thing about this form is that you do not want to anywhere near it or it'll mess with your cells as well in a very bad way. It is a preferable option to something like distancing and face masks, which we cannot do forever.

kippy wrote: »
    People are idiots. Unfortunately the internet has given them a platform like no other.

US and UK are in dire straits in many ways and Trump having the gall to question China and other countries on their reporting of figures.....
    People who don't think like me are idiots, you mean? I guess you still fully expect to use the internet as a platform for your views on "idiots".

One would imagine there is a genetic component in your sister's ability to attract disease. We have one of those too just as there others who could stand up to being flattened by a train. I wouldn't be too quick to take a swing at the users here, it includes you too!

is_that_so wrote: »
    People who don't think like me are idiots, you mean? I guess you still fully expect to use the internet as a platform for your views on "idiots".

No, people are idiots. Myself included.
    If you start with that perspective, then give them the opportunity to prove you wrong.

Clearly anyone who uses the logic outlined in that specific video to argue against wearing a face mask is an idiot.
    So you refute this?
    There are lots of people who don't think like me or have views different to my own, they are also idiots till they prove otherwise.

No, people are idiots. Myself included.
    If you start with that perspective, then five them the opportunity to prove you wrong.

Clearly anyone who uses the logic outlined in that specific video to argue against wearing a face mask is an idiot.
    So you refute this?
    There are lots of people who don't think like me.
    I didn't watch the video because I don't have an awful lot of interest in what she might have to say. At a guess she's very angry and angry people often do not make much sense but I don't have any interest in making sweeping judgements about the person herself. The mask wearing is a choice in our situation save in specific circumstances. I respect that.

I didn't watch the video because I don't have an awful lot of interest in what she might have to say. At a guess she's very angry and angry people often do not make much sense. The mask wearing is a choice in our situation save in specific circumstances. I respect that.
    They are all idiots, using the logic that they are using.
    I don't really care one way or another about mask wearing but the spreading of the logic in that video could and no doubt does influence what others do.
    So again, I wouldn't hang my hat on defending the idiots in that video specifically if I were you.

They are all idiots, using the logic that they are using.
    I don't really care one way or another about mask wearing but the spreading of the logic in that video could and no doubt does influence what others do.
    So again, I wouldn't hang my hat on defending the idiots in that video specifically if I were you.
    I am defending her right to have that opinion, I really don't share that militancy they have in the US towards masks. As for video, this is the danger of it, it can set out what the message it chooses. From personal experience during this it can also be consumed unthinkingly by people, who are otherwise smart in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

People who don't think like me are idiots, you mean?

No, the people in that video are absolute dribbling simpletons, idiots is not apt enough.
    I didn't watch the video

But you felt qualified to comment on it.

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Just watched a segment on Sky News about Britain negotiating air bridges.

They seem to be of the impression that countries are rushing to let in British holiday makers and that it's the British government who will decide around the world who is blessed with their tourists.

Not once mentioned that any country might say no. You'd almost think other countries had no choice in the matter.

I am defending her right to have that opinion, I really don't share that militancy they have in the US towards masks. As for video, this is the danger of it, it can set out what the message it chooses. From personal experience during this it can also be consumed unthinkingly by people, who are otherwise smart in their lives.

FFS.
    That doesn't make them any less of an idiot or you either for that matter in backing up their "right to have an opinion" based on the most ridiculous of logic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Yeah, this has been known for quite a while. There are already some normal UV solutions out there. One thing about this form is that you do not want to anywhere near it or it'll mess with your cells as well in a very bad way. It is a preferable option to something like distancing and face masks, which we cannot do forever.

Far UV-C is fine. It wont mess with your cells.
    https://www.cuimc.columbia.edu/news/far-uvc-light-safely-kills-airborne-coronaviruses

Boggles wrote: »
    No, the people in that video are absolute dribbling simpletons, idiots is not apt enough.

But you felt qualified to comment on it.

Nice one.

You're welcome.