Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    Yeah it's not really in their job description to be fair but not sure how else they will enforce it bar just hoping everyone complies with it.

Yeah not sure how this is enforceable. Even with a transport police in the UK non compliance is quite high, here who is there to stop people on DART and Luas. There's not a chance unions will agree to bus drivers enforcing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Yeah it's not really in their job description to be fair but not sure how else they will enforce it bar just hoping everyone complies with it.

While I am in the relax things camp, I am in full agreement of face masks particularly in crowded indoor spaces. There is self compliance and there is messaging but the odd bit of policing presence can help also. Dispose guards to a train station with some signage and the message gets through quickly. Have them handing out free masks also as well as at LUAS stations and happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

schmoo2k wrote: »
    Its the flue I feel sorry for - it will have no opportunity to take hold this year...
    :D:D:D

To be honest this sounds like a last cabinet solo run from Shane Ross. It'll be up to government on how to move forward based on NPHET advice.

"Minister for Transport Shane Ross is to bring a memo to Cabinet tomorrow, which would make the wearing of face coverings on all public transport compulsory.

The National Public Health Emergency Team will meet tomorrow to discuss Phase 3 of the roadmap for easing restrictions.

The Government will then decide tomorrow afternoon how to proceed."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Saw Dr. Fauci in US too saying it could be ready by end of this year/start of next. Might be a bit optimistic but good sign either way!

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/coronavirus-vaccine-fall-2020-winter-2021-fauci-a9582066.html

Some great news on the vaccines. Can we all just slow down, distance and wear masks (it's not for forever) until we get the vaccines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

'The issue was discussed at a Cabinet sub-committee meeting on Wednesday and it is expected that the mandatory mask rule will take effect in the next week or two, although no date has been set.'

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/masks-to-be-made-compulsory-on-public-transport-1.4287678

'The issue was discussed at a Cabinet sub-committee meeting on Wednesday and it is expected that the mandatory mask rule will take effect in the next week or two, although no date has been set.'

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/masks-to-be-made-compulsory-on-public-transport-1.4287678

Said on the other thread its a memo to cabinet which is a recommendation to start a disuccsion, up to cabinet to see how its possible to make it law. Was described recently as legally difficult, this week is also likely to be the last cabient meeting. Keep in mind Ross also brought a memo to cabinet 2 weeks ago on dropping the 14 day self isolation and nothing was done about it. It was just simply deferred to another meeting. Dont be surprised if the can is kicked down the road to the next government.

It would also require advice from NPHET and a change of tactic from them too.

Still a good bit to go before it would come into force.

Then even if/when it does, compliance in the UK hasn't been high and they have a transport police

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Here's an interesting read that mentions other vitamins and supplements that can help.

I'm taking vitamin d, c, b vitamins, magnesium, zinc, fish oil, probiotics and bromelain.
    Makes sense. I hear they are all staples required to keep fairies flying.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0624/1149351-covid-19-ten-things-to-know/

I'm generally a fan of his but the bit that says "Wearing a mask decreases your risk of spreading or catching the virus by 99%." seems highly questionable

Immunologist and founder of the TCD Biomedical Institute Professor Luke O'Neill says people need to continue adhering to public health guidelines to keep Covid-19 suppressed.

Here's 10 things he thinks you should know now about Covid-19:

1. Avoid the 'Three C's' in order to minimise the risk of catching the virus
    • Closed spaces
    • Close contact
    • Crowds.

2. Stay outdoors By being outdoors, you decrease your risk of getting the virus by 19 fold.
    3. Believe that you have the virus but have no symptoms.
    4. Wear a mask when you can't maintain a 2 metre distance. Wearing a mask decreases your risk of spreading or catching the virus by 99%.

Wash your hands, go into the supermarket, do your shopping, leave the supermarket, take your mask off and wash your hands. You do not need to wear a mask outdoors.

* Children are not advised to wear masks, but if two from different households are in an enclosed space together, then wearing a mask should decrease the risk.

5. Travel.

By Air
    • Only go to an airport if it has a proper testing regimen. This means that if you arrive at the airport and you have Covid-19, you cannot go in.
    • Everyone should wear masks on a plane. There should be great hygiene and great air circulation, but planes are well known for spreading viruses.
    • Don't go to countries where the virus is still rampant.

By Boat
    • Stay up on deck.
    By Car
    • Keep windows open if you are in a car with someone who is not from your household. Wear a mask to decrease your risk by 99%.
    • Wipe down the car after use just in case. The more you spend with someone the greater the risk.
    • One hour in a car with someone poses a greater risk than if you spend five minutes in the car with them.
    6. Hugs If you hug your grandchildren, make it a quick hug.
    7. Groceries There is no need to wash or wipe down your groceries after you have taken them home from the shop. (There is a tiny risk someone has coughed over your cream crackers, but it is very unlikely.)
    8. Swimming pools Don't be concerned about using a swimming pool. There is no worry that the virus is lurking in the water. However, if the facilities themselves are crowded, that is where the risk lies.
    9. Camping If you are going camping with people who are not from your household bring more than enough tents to ensure that they are not overcrowded and wear a mask. Be outdoors as much as possible.
    10. Home Visits Keep visits outdoors when seeing people who have travelled to Ireland from another country.
    When visiting homes of others you can minimise the risk by bringing your own towels and hand sanitiser.

***Exercise caution when deciding whether to use childcare facilities if you have been cocooning due to being in a high risk category. Risk can be mitigated if you wear a mask, and follow hygiene guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If I never hear his voice again it willl be too soon

"Well Pat"

**** off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

If I never hear his voice again it willl be too soon

"Well Pat"

**** off

Ah he's grand. Such amazing positivity from him all the time

What he's said about masks above though seems a bit mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Said on the other thread its a memo to cabinet which is a recommendation to start a disuccsion, up to cabinet to see how its possible to make it law. Was described recently as legally difficult, this week is also likely to be the last cabient meeting. Keep in mind Ross also brought a memo to cabinet 2 weeks ago on dropping the 14 day self isolation and nothing was done about it. It was just simply deferred to another meeting. Dont be surprised if the can is kicked down the road to the next government.

It would also require advice from NPHET and a change of tactic from them too.

Still a good bit to go before it would come into force.

Then even if/when it does, compliance in the UK hasn't been high and they have a transport police

I'll take the Irish Times as a source, thanks.

It can't be that legally difficult if dozens of other countries and US states have done it.

And it's not really a public health issue in NPHET's domain as they've already been advising it for c. 6 weeks with little success.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Beasty wrote: »
    Makes sense. I hear they are all staples required to keep fairies flying.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,583 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Needs to be done to increase capacity safely, but I don’t envy bus drivers policing it.

Saw one bus driver today tell someone today to get off he was full (was already told he couldn't get on in the first place) - wasn't moving til he got off

So some are quite capable of putting their foot down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,443 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

While I am in the relax things camp, I am in full agreement of face masks particularly in crowded indoor spaces. There is self compliance and there is messaging but the odd bit of policing presence can help also. Dispose guards to a train station with some signage and the message gets through quickly. Have them handing out free masks also as well as at LUAS stations and happy days.

Ah yeah I've been wearing one for last while myself so its habit really at this stage! Pity they didn't bring it in bit sooner so it would be habit for more people

I'll take the Irish Times as a source, thanks.

It can't be that legally difficult if dozens of other countries and US states have done it.

And it's not really a public health issue in NPHET's domain as they've already been advising it for c. 6 weeks with little success.

Fire away take the Irish times source. If it walks through cabinet then its not an issue what so ever and goes exactly as they've said.

Its just a fact that a memo doesn't mean it automatically walks through. It's up to cabinet now to discuss and see if they can make a decision. Cabinet has to take into account NPHET advice and that of the attorney general when bringing something into law and only last week this was described as legally difficult. Now unless that advise has changed this week, maybe it has.

The point is a memo doesn't automatically mean it'll come through cabinet unscathed.

And yes it is NPHETs domain also as it'll mean they'll have had to change advice to government, previously it was not enough evidence to make it mandatory.

I'm not arguing for or against them here by the way, just making the point that it may not be as straightforward as memo goes in memo passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

"Wearing a mask decreases your risk of spreading or catching the virus by 99%."

probably true if you and everyone you meet is wearing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,157 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I agree with masks in crowded indoor spaces like supermarkets and other outlets, together with PT.

The more people use them, others who may (sorry) feel like eejits will get the message and it will become the norm eventually.

I don't know who a mask will harm, but I know who No Masks might. So easy and yet so difficult in many ways. And I know the mixed messages early on didn't help. But hey, move on and put a mask on when mingling indoors. Not that difficult is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I honestly think our lack of action with masks is due to continuing issues with PPE - I think our healthcare worker infection numbers back this up considering they rise every single day. Just a theory though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,443 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I honestly think our lack of action with masks is due to continuing issues with PPE - I think our healthcare worker infection numbers back this up considering they rise every single day. Just a theory though.

I think it might have explained it at start but then secured a lot especially shipments from China. And lot of emphasis now is that its face coverings so people can make their own or buy reusable washable ones. I guess now its that economy ie reopening and that more people will need to and want to use public transport too so might explain timing at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Sorry, explain a quick hug to me..and to a kid? After months of not allowing them, does it mean we are ok for a quick hug just the once on a visit or multiple 'quick hugs'.. ffs.

RTE have a two part documentary about Ireland's COVID battle with inside access to ICU at St. James', coming this Monday and Tuesday at 9:35.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gq5RnEMn0po

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Sorry, explain a quick hug to me..and to a kid? After months of not allowing them, does it mean we are ok for a quick hug just the once on a visit or multiple 'quick hugs'.. ffs.

close contact = risk. closer contact = more risk, more contact = more risk, longer contact = more risk.

ffs is right, use your own judgement, common sense. (but they can't say that out loud, because common sense isn't that common)

According to the dashboard we are now in single figures in ICU. HSE update not released yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

fr336 wrote: »
    One thing I'd say about aircraft is remember the woman who had Covid who flew into Dublin from Italy and then onto Belfast? I don't remember hearing of any other passengers or crew on the flight getting it. Doesn't mean they didn't, maybe they had very mild doses, but maybe none of them did. Just one example but aircraft, so far, don't seem to be top of the list for vectors.

Yes , but that is just one .
    The SARS Covid 1 was spread on a flight I think .
    Also not sure of those HEPA filters can filter out viruses .., bacteria , yes.

HSE Daily Operations Update

31 in hospital down from 37.

9 in ICU down from 11, 0 deaths last 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,342 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

WHO says the current use of oxygen for SARS-2 patients is greater than the production rate.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,342 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Yes , but that is just one .
    The SARS Covid 1 was spread on a flight I think .
    Also not sure of those HEPA filters can filter out viruses .., bacteria , yes.

They don't need to filter out the virus, only the droplets containing them.

HSE Daily Operations Update

31 in hospital down from 37.

9 in ICU down from 11, 0 deaths last 24 hours.

Excellent, really didn't expect the numbers in hosptial to keep dropping steadily this week. Thought we'd hit a level that would just become a constant.

Perhaps 20 in hosptial by Friday night?