Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    Did anyone enlighten him to the dangers of what he did there. It's cringeworthy and downright dangerous behavior on his part.
    It's exactly why I'm anti mask as the general public at large and even the minster for health don't know how to use them or realize the dangers, stick the covid you just blocked into your pocket, it'll be grand he says, what an absolute plonker.

What did he do that was dangerous? Face covering in a bag? It's better stored in a clean plastic bag in your pocket than just in your pocket with your keys and wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

Yes: homemade
    AdamD wrote: »
    I agree the messaging has been shambolic, I'm just not sure I agree that they are quite as important as some people make out. However they do make a difference so the government should have pushed it harder and earlier.

I'm not disputing they're useful, though they do not bring the R value below one, our R value has been below 1 for weeks on end with minimal mask use. This is the point I'm trying to get across, a lot of people on the internet are getting very emotional about mask use, but to the man on the street who sees the country opening and cases dropping daily without masks, its a hard sell this late on.

Why are you trying to deem people 'emotional' when they have a point?

Masks on there own could potentially bring the RO below 1, if everybody wore them in public. It's possible because this disease is mainly spread through respiratory transmission and not touch as originally suggested. However it would be foolhardy to just rely on one control measure.

The point about wearing masks is they allow you to do stuff that it is difficult to do without them, like sharing crowded public transport or classrooms. Hence...Masks. I don't see why that is a hard sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Well when our figures continue to drop, despite easing restrictions and despite nobody wearing masks, you can forgive the public for thinking they may not be all that neccesary.

You are clever with your wording but it's just blame spin at the end of the day.

Very noble of you to forgive the public so easily. The truth of the matter is the public are not forming opinions on the usefullness of masks based on dropping figures and easing restrictions they simply are no longer trusting the voice of authority. The shambolic messaging has taken it's toll, Public no longer willing to let GOV melt their brains. They are not listening. You are completely disconnected from knowing how and why the public think and act. Trust has been lost, GOV have not realised it. Don't redirect blame onto public, leave it in the hands of the GOV.
    I agree the messaging has been shambolic, I'm just not sure I agree that they are quite as important as some people make out. However they do make a difference so the government should have pushed it harder and earlier.

I'm not disputing they're useful, but to the man on the street who sees the country opening and cases dropping daily without masks, its a hard sell this late on.

Harder and earlier would not have made a massive difference as your aluding to. Public opinion was formed with the first impression which was GOV's doing. Weigh it up, 3 months of solid unrelenting mask bashing during high spread times V 1 month of limp choose if you want to wear one advice during wind down times. GOV can keep pushing harder n faster it ain't going to hit the spot!

The only way to undo this is as we are all saying on this thread is to educate people about why they should be wearing masks. But first things first the GOV needs to regain trust.

Once again GOV cannot sell something to public who is not listening, majority of sales are emotional anyway not logical. Change of tact needed asap.

but still not wearing it :rolleyes:

Dail chambers play the 2 hour limit rule instead, thanks to speical advice from the very speical Professor Martin Cormica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,505 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

parents bought some masks.... masks that say nto to used or medical purposes or for use a ppe... 1 layer of polyamide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,698 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

parents bought some masks.... masks that say nto to used or medical purposes or for use a ppe... 1 layer of polyamide

Only to be used in the event of an armed robbery.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

For anyone struggling with glasses fogging up I got a good tip from my daughter .Put a folded tissue over your nose under the mask , it actually worked like a treat and no fogging up at all .

Posts like this make you wonder if that large shipment of masks ever arrived from South Korea. HSE not only sending billions out of the country on PPE but spending a small fortune on couriers nationally sending lucky boxes like this one! They were dubbed lucky boxes months, this is not a new trend.

Thankfully BCT(volunteers) have a good radar and picked up the case and client gettin sorted!

https://twitter.com/amymorgangp/status/1273541674522816513

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Yes: other
    Masks is so obvious a way to stop spread. It is direct source control of the entry and exit point of the virus, if everyone wear a mask life could get back to normal much quicker, and wearing a mask is the least restrictive impingement on personal freedom. The way some of the anti maskers go on you’d swear we were living in nazi Germany, have a bit of cop on and common sense and wear your masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

No: I don't care enough
    maninasia wrote:
    This country is also rapidly getting richer compared to many Western countries simply because they didn't half arse the response.
    What's that country if I may ask? Thailand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Yes: homemade
    Was just wondering.
    Can anyone tell me, any country, anywhere in the world where mask wearing is universally accepted but who have had, nevertheless, a bad experience with Covid 19 ?

I honestly cannot think of a single one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭granturismo

No: other
    MipMap wrote: »
    Was just wondering.
    Can anyone tell me, any country, anywhere in the world where mask wearing is universally accepted but who have had, nevertheless, a bad experience with Covid 19 ?

I honestly cannot think of a single one.

China?

The future of masks is clear.

Gotta love the idea of a reusable see through liquid silicon rubber mask with filters and appreciate that it's makers intend to make the final prototype as open-source for all to use, ASAP. Donate or learn more here; https://join.pcf.org/mask Whilst I would argue about the choosen filter location, you just can't knock the attitude.

Operation FFCN update.

Percentage of adults wearing face coverings up from 34 per cent to 41 per cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Seanergy wrote: »
    Operation FFCN update.

Percentage of adults wearing face coverings up from 34 per cent to 41 per cent.

Percentage who reply to survey, we're assuming all replies are truthful. Theres not a hope in hell from being out and about that 41% are wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Yes: other
    Percentage who reply to survey, we're assuming all replies are truthful. Theres not a hope in hell from being out and about that 41% are wearing them.
    From what I've experienced very few people are wearing masks.
    If it's ten per cent of people, it's alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Not a hope that's accurate. Have an interviewer stand in lidl in Galway and see the coughing and sputtering that goes on in there. Masks? Forget it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

Imagine how well we'd be doing now if they'd have done this back in March and our leaders wore masks in the public eye

They know the public is so averse to the word mask and how Asian it is so they had to change it to face covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yes: surgical
    Bit annoying to read Tony Holohan saying the level of mask wearing among the public is “disappointing”. I wonder why that is Tony? Could it be because the government, presumably based on your advice, still haven’t mandated mask wearing?

It’s nowhere near 41%, more like 20% at most.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No: other
    The 'mandatory' use of masks over here in the UK is a joke. Between misuse and mishandling, non-compliance is through the roof. People have them on boarding transport and then removing them from their nose when seated.

Who knew non-compliance would be a thing.

Tony Holohan's wording as of 17th June to a webinar of 1500+ Irish GP's was still not enough direct evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Tony Holohan's wording as of 17th June to a webinar of 1500+ Irish GP's was still not enough direct evidence.

What did he say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

dfx- wrote: »
    The 'mandatory' use of masks over here in the UK is a joke. Between misuse and mishandling, non-compliance is through the roof. People have them on boarding transport and then removing them from their nose when seated.

Who knew non-compliance would be a thing.

I just saw 'an offer' yesterday in a local shop five disposable masks for €9!
    Five disposable masks, for nearly €2 each!

And they recommend them to be changed every couple hours.
    So in worse case If you're outside a lot you use 5 masks in a day. And you're expecting spending €63 a week or €273 a month!

What did he say?

Webinar available to rewatch, sign up is free, just 20 odd boxes to fill out, I couldn't be arsed, maybe you might be, fair play to you.

ICGP National Webinars and Podcasts on COVID-19

cmo-masks.jpg

'An absolute scandal': Ireland has the highest Covid infection rate for healthcare workers in the world, committee told

One nurse was sent home for wearing a face mask during their shift, Ní Sheaghdha said, stating that the worker was told that it was not HSE policy.

The matter became an industrial issue.....

When the HSE face mask policy for healthcare workers was rolled out on 22 April, the infection rate of workers dropped dramatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Yes: to protect myself and others
    'An absolute scandal': Ireland has the highest Covid infection rate for healthcare workers in the world, committee told

One nurse was sent home for wearing a face mask during their shift, Ní Sheaghdha said, stating that the worker was told that it was not HSE policy.

The matter became an industrial issue.....

When the HSE face mask policy for healthcare workers was rolled out on 22 April, the infection rate of workers dropped dramatically.

Heard it on the news earlier... Unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭RoYoBo

Back at the beginning, when few people I encountered were wearing masks, I thought it was insulting to hear the insistence that most people would not be correctly wearing/removing or disposing of masks.

Now, unfortunately, I see the evidence (literally) staring me in the face. The number of people with masks at half mast covering their mouth only, or round their necks, or faffing around with them as they go is unreal. Add to that the amount of used masks thrown off and dumped in car parks to blow around in the wind!

Today, I watched a woman emerging from the local health centre taking off her mask by the front, smoothing it with both hands and then carefully rolling it into a ball before putting it into her handbag. Then, she rubbed her hands all over her face for good measure!

I have no idea how this can be addressed. The problem seems to be that people don't know that they don't know how to use a mask properly, so they don't even attempt to find out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,415 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

MadYaker wrote: »
    Bit annoying to read Tony Holohan saying the level of mask wearing among the public is “disappointing”. I wonder why that is Tony? Could it be because the government, presumably based on your advice, still haven’t mandated mask wearing?

It’s nowhere near 41%, more like 20% at most.

Seeing as most if not all shops have staff who are enforcing queues to allow people in, just make it mandatory for shops to also only allow in people wearing masks. That way people will take it up.

Once people see everyone else wearing them, then it'll become habitual. At the moment there isn't a critical mass of people wearing them so as to make it appear normal to increase uptake.