Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,583 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

MipMap wrote: »
    How about you have a little respect and explain to S1ppy why you disagree with him?
    A stupid image doesn't cut it.
    Nobody likes a hurler on the ditch. Have the guts to express an opinion sometimes and let it stand on it's own merits.
    You disagree with his post because ...?
    Or you just want to slag him off because he is fair game and you are on safe terrirtory?

3f9f870bfea67141df1c344a86424644.jpgg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Deaths in Latin America at almost 100,000 now. That part of the world is on an abysmal trajectory and is already nearing levels of deaths per capita as Europe , but an end was in sight in Europe when the high deaths were being reported , it appears that this will just continue indefinitely in Latin America for the foreseeable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭Polar101

Renjit wrote: »
    I'd say test all inbound travelers for covid-19. RT-PCR test to confirm. It is probably the best way to keep things in control.

It might be possible to do so right now, but when air travel opens up - probably not. Last year there were around 33 million passengers using Dublin airport, so that's about 90k a day. Let's say half of them are arrivals, so 45k a day - that would be 315k a week.

Even with heavily reduced passenger numbers, I don't see how it would possible to test everyone.

If we want to prevent the virus from spreading via international travel, then the only way is not to have international travel. And it looks like that's not going to be an option. It helps if you ban flights from "bad" countries, but you might have passengers taking several flights and arriving from wherever. So it's not really all that easy to control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

s1ippy wrote: »
    We haven't eaten anything which hasn't been able to sit for three days or be cooked for min 20 mins before consumption. Bacon is tastier than ham anyway, just cook it up when it arrives and freeze the slices you're not going to eat that few days.

No offence intended here but thats just taking things to a completely new level. I understand from your previous posts you have at risk family but letting things sit for 3 days is completely ridiculous.

Its a different level of paranoia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Honestly, mental health is the big loser with this virus, people need to focus more on their quality of life than the length of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,056 ✭✭✭Ficheall

No offence intended here but thats just taking things to a completely new level. I understand from your previous posts you have at risk family but letting things sit for 3 days is completely ridiculous.

What's the downside of letting things sit for three days? Sure, your patisserie goods, for example, are fecked, but the vast majority of stuff you eat will last three days no problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Why does it bother you what somebody else does?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Why does it bother you what somebody else does?

People are allowed opinions on other posts on a discussion forum you know!

petes wrote: »
    People are allowed opinions on other posts on a discussion forum you know!

They can have opinions but to include 3 insults to what a poster does us a bit too much
    - completely new level
    - letting things sit for 3 days is completely ridiculous
    - different level of paranoia

It clearly bothers them if they can throw insults like that to what someone else does.

They can have opinions but to include 3 insults to what a poster does us a bit too much
    - completely new level
    - letting things sit for 3 days is completely ridiculous
    - different level of paranoia

It clearly bothers them if they can throw insults like that to what someone else does.

I don’t see those as insults. Just factual statements that are a reflection of an irrational fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

ZX7R wrote: »
    Just to correct you,
    The first Italian doctor to come forward with the allegation of the virus becoming weaker is not a celebrity doctor as you say.he is a head doctor from a hospital in Lombardi .

His name is Alberto Zangrillo, he is Berlusconi's personal physician, the absolute definition of a celebrity doctor.

Now he could have came out and said we may evidence that the virus is losing potency. But no. He said.
    We’ve got to get back to being a normal country,” he said. “Someone has to take responsibility for terrorizing the country.”

Perfectly normal.
    And he also has made his papers available for pir review to both the Italian ministry of health and the WHO.

Really, Link?

The reality is, worldwide they are monitoring the virus and constantly analyzing the data. This sums up what is more than likely happening in Italy.
    Currently there is a world-wide effort to establish if the genetic makeup of SARS-CoV-2 is changing, allowing us to determine if there is any underlying cause of any change in COVID-19 disease. With data from more than 35,000 whole virus genomes, there is currently no evidence that there is any significant difference relating to severity. While this may change in the future, for now it seems likely that there are other reasons why the observed cases look different.

“One explanation for this change in observations might be because of a declining number of cases, where that has been achieved. We know that the virus can infect many (and perhaps the majority) of people without producing any obvious or serious symptoms, while even in those with clear symptoms, 80% have mild disease. During a major outbreak, those mild or inapparent cases are likely to be overlooked. However, in a situation where the numbers of severe cases are falling, there may be time to start observing people with less severe symptoms – giving the impression that the virus is changing.

- Prof Martin Hibberd, Professor of Emerging Infectious Disease, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

I don’t see those as insults. Just factual statements that are a reflection of an irrational fear

It's not an irrational fear though. We were told it can live on packaging for 3 days. Leaving things to sit that doesn't need refrigerating isn't doing any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Boggles wrote: »
    His name is Alberto Zangrillo, he is Berlusconi's personal physician, the absolute definition of a celebrity doctor.

Now he could have came out and said we may evidence that the virus is losing potency. But no. He said.

Perfectly normal.

Really, Link?

The reality is, worldwide they are monitoring the virus and constantly analyzing the data. This sums up what is more than likely happening in Italy.

- Prof Martin Hibberd, Professor of Emerging Infectious Disease, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Sadomasochism-Gay-Men.jpg.webp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Perfectly normal.

Really, Link?

As I said in my previous post to you,he was not the first doctor in Italy to make the accusation.
    Another doctor from a Lombardy hospital was the first.
    Plenty of info from Italian media about it

As I said in my previous post to you,he was not the first doctor in Italy to make the accusation.

Shh we want bad news and stuff we can torture ourselves over ...

here's BBC saying no travel till 2022 ..

http://www.bbc.com/travel/story/20200621-will-travel-be-safer-by-2022?referer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.bbc.com%2Fnews

I can see the journalist here wearing a mask restricting the air whilst tightening the nipple clamps...

Some people are f*cking loving this

He was, there was a 2nd Doctor but he wasn't from a Lombardy hospital, he works in a hospital in Genoa.

Could you link your claim where they published data on it and have sent it to the agencies for review?

Would love to a look.

Some people are f*cking loving this

they sure are. It is showing up a side of people that I didn't really know existed. I know that people in general tend to have a negativity bias toward bad news, but people here seem to take it to another level, and take some kind of perverse pleasure in creating a narrative of ongoing misery.

Sadomasochism-Gay-Men.jpg.webp

Jaysus looks like someone had a good weekend, fair play to you.

they sure are. It is showing up a side of people that I didn't really know existed. I know that people in general tend to have a negativity bias toward bad news, but people here seem to take it to another level, and take some kind of perverse pleasure in creating a narrative of ongoing misery.

You'll notice Spain and Italy not appearing much in the news lately - as it's mainly good news down here.

whereas 2 months ago it was pretty much all the coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Yes, people who think covid is an ongoing misery are perverts.

Another great point, Woody. Good job! Keep it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭Polar101

1 million Australians in the state of Victoria advised to stay local after "2nd wave" hits, but lockdown isn't enforced. Some restrictions re-introduced and lifting of restrictions slowed down.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/jun/22/coronavirus-victoria-covid-19-melbourne-outbreak-hotspots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Jaysus looks like someone had a good weekend, fair play to you.
    I'm impressed he could even find that photo, I wouldn't even know what to google - it is google you use, right?

What's the fascination some people have about pouncing on every bit of possible bad news as evidence of "perversion" and "misery"? It's a virus and a global emergency, there will be good and bad news. What are they so afraid of and why are they repeatedly hitting refresh on the thread? They should really get that anxiety looked at, they sound terrified that a chink of reality might creep into their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

What are you on about??? How is it useless? It is factual information. You obviously have an agenda on this thread.
    That it hasn't rained in Antarctica for about 1 million years is factual, not terribly useful but interesting. It doesn't take an awful lot of thinking to realise that the league table of pandemics down the ages is equally interesting but not terribly useful. Pandemics from 1918 and beyond may have some things worth looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's not an irrational fear though. We were told it can live on packaging for 3 days.
    Ebola can live longer.

But we don't worry about Ebola because the odds of someone with Ebola having handled your box of cornflakes is very small.

But it turns out now that the odds of someone with Covid having handled it 3 days ago is also insanely low. Letting stuff sit for 3 days was probably an extreme but understandable measure a month ago if you have at risk people in the house.

Each to their own, everyone is entitled to manage their risk as they see fit, but I would be concerned that if you're still scrubbing the house in bleach and having panic attacks when a stranger walks by, then you might need to disconnect from social media and catastrophising.

Here and Twitter are the absolute pits for gossiping and fearmongering. If you're spending all day online, you need to take a week off and come up for air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The Irish branch of the Trump and Bolsonaro admiration society lúdramáns seem to have sunk to a new low.

Gone are the posts about 'sure it's only a little flu' 'doom mongers', 'hysteria', 'negativity' and 'take a break from the internet', now we are being subjected to their homoerotic fantasies !

OK, so explain to me what has changed since March? Has the virus become non-infectious? Has the population somehow managed to gain mass resistance to it? If not, nothing has changed and we just have a much lower number of infections, much like we did at the start of the outbreak but the reproductive number may well kick back upwards if we drop all the social measures we have been using to reduce it, and with huge impact.

We put *HUGE* effort into a lock down and social distancing which was imposed by the government and the virus died back because it wasn't able to spread. Great, so we reset the clock to maybe February.

The use of masks has been rolled out across pretty much all of Northern Europe, in countries that have had more success than we have in controlling this. It's also been used in Asia with considerable success.

Also the things like hand washing and sanitising need to keep going.

If we don't do that, biology will just be biology and we are back to square one and facing into another lockdown.

It took it a few weeks to go from a few cases to very large numbers of cases and it is very definitely capable of just doing that again. Rinse and repeat.

I went shopping yesterday - SuperValu. Shop packed, everyone buzzing around. No social distancing, I'd say 2% mask use and I saw a load of people who walked right past the hand sanitisers and didn't even bother and one lady was coughing loudly (which I assume was hay fever) in the middle of the shop and straight into her hands.

The last thing I want is a second lockdown! It would be economically disastrous but if we stop taking this seriously before there's a vaccine or at least before there's medical treatments that actually work, that's precisely where we're heading and we could end up joining the anglophone sphere of conspiracy theory driven idiots on this one.

As for the 2022 it was a typo :rolleyes: - should have been 2021.

Also the virus has *NOT* been eradicated. It's merely been suppressed. There's an enormous difference between those two statements and particularly when you're talking about something that has the capability of multiplying exponentially.

The reality is we are still detecting new cases today and we will be seeing mass movement of people again to and from other parts of Europe and beyond in the weeks ahead. We cannot let our guard down on this or we will end up costing ourselves billions. We need to continue the small measures like hand sanitisers, masks and so on to maintain normality until we have vaccine or immunity or the virus becomes less of a threat due to either better drugs or it mutates to the point it's not very effective anymore (which some theorise is what happened to SARS). At the moment that is not the case and we still have more or less exactly the same problem we had in February.

I mean just look at Germany! They were doing very well on this and now they're back up at a very high viral reproductive rate again.

There's no point in declaring victory when the flight's not won and your opponent, which more like the T2000 of viruses, is just a bit dazed.
    German issue is localised not widespread. The difference now is that the prevalence of the virus is way down, a risk of 1/1m of catching it according to some. We also know a lot more about it even if that may not be much. This post seems to be about an eradication strategy It certainly seems strongly influenced by fear. We can't do all of that for as long as you imagine because it brings us into that area of the cure being many times worse than the disease.

It's not an irrational fear though. We were told it can live on packaging for 3 days. Leaving things to sit that doesn't need refrigerating isn't doing any harm.

It is a massively irrational fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Polar101 wrote: »
    1 million Australians in the state of Victoria advised to stay local after "2nd wave" hits, but lockdown isn't enforced. Some restrictions re-introduced and lifting of restrictions slowed down.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/jun/22/coronavirus-victoria-covid-19-melbourne-outbreak-hotspots
    Family celebrations send parts of Australia back into coronavirus restrictions

Australia is battling a coronavirus outbreak in its second largest city – fuelled by family gatherings and birthday parties – that has resulted in large parts of Melbourne being shut down in an attempt to halt the spread of the virus just weeks after authorities lifted restrictions.

Family gatherings and birthday parties

Meanwhile in Ireland - "let's get the pubs open" because priorities

Family gatherings and birthday parties

Meanwhile in Ireland - "let's get the pubs open" because priorities
    Because 50,000 jobs+. There has to be a balance.

AdamD wrote: »
    It is a massively irrational fear

It really isn't.

Another post saying they witnessed someone coughing into their hands in the shop and went about touching things with their dirty hands. Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

I see more kids in shops now, kids are filthy, dirty hands on them and touching things as well.

Just because we have low numbers, doesn't mean the virus is gone. And I'm sure there's people who won't get tested either.

Wiping shopping and letting things sit for a few days is far from irrational in the middle of a pandemic.