Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

The world recorded the highest number of new infections on record yesterday.

If you believe this country won't have restrictions imposed if we see 300 cases a day then more power to you.

If it's 20 cases in some random town that can be dealt with locally but ultimately when health capacity is threatened restrictions are put in place because there is no other choice at that point.

This risk is most acute when winter illness season starts. We are at the best time of year to control spread and have capacity.

This is leading to complacency along with the success of measures. The only reason we are in the position we are in now is as a direct result of those measures.

The measures people are complaining about.

Kermit are there any subjects you don't know loads about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I think if you want an alcoholic drink you have to have a substantial meal costing a minimum €9 euro.

oh thats good to know. Would love to support local business and I normally sit outside myself anyhow. thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

speckle wrote: »
    oh thats good to know. Would love to support local business and I normally sit outside myself anyhow. thanks

They'll need all the support they can get. Hopefully you will be still charged the same for your loyalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

No idea of the legal side of times or how things will be enforced when it comes to pubs not following guidelines. My brother owns a pub in Dublin city center and was chatting to him the other day. When he opens back up. He's of the impression that any repeated violation of guidelines can see his pub closed down or not have license renewed. That's what has been communicated to him from the group his pub is part of. Said he'll be instructing his staff to follow the guidelines to the letter after I joked about heading in with mstes. Not sure if he's overly cautious or whether there is much of a threat legally for individual pubs. Can't see the entire pub industry being closed again unless things get really bad and evidence shows pubs are the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

speckle wrote: »
    So I still wont be able to go to my local for my pot of tea and slice of cake for two euros till July. Yet I can do a round trip of 50km to a cafe in town and have a pot of tea by itself which is more expensive.

Think that'll be grand. You wont get any pub saying no to you popping in some morning for a pot of tea and a cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

My understanding of the pub rules and I could be wrong, the new rules are there to prevent people from getting drunk because it is the drunkenness that has the potential for carelessness on social distancing, cough and sneeze etiquette, hand washing. Gone are the days where you go into a pub for a cold drink or two and stay for more. Them days are gone for now anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,345 ✭✭✭joeguevara

No idea of the legal side of times or how things will be enforced when it comes to pubs not following guidelines. My brother owns a pub in Dublin city center and was chatting to him the other day. When he opens back up. He's of the impression that any repeated violation of guidelines can see his pub closed down or not have license renewed. That's what has been communicated to him from the group his pub is part of. Said he'll be instructing his staff to follow the guidelines to the letter after I joked about heading in with mstes. Not sure if he's overly cautious or whether there is much of a threat legally for individual pubs. Can't see the entire pub industry being closed again unless things get really bad and evidence shows pubs are the cause.

Does he own the pub or is it part of a group. So a few days ago he was told by group that he must follow guidelines or he will be closed down or license won’t be renewed even though the GUIDELINES were only published last night. Was he also told of the army patrolling from a leaked WhatsApp message.

For the first 3 weeks that they operate as restaurants they'll have to follow the guidelines fairly much to the letter. Its after 20th July where that gets a bit more difficult with some of the guidelines being completely unworkable.

But I agree there's not a chance there'll be mass clousures. As far as the guidelines are concerned I'm pretty sure the only piece that's actually on a legal footing is the substantial meal to be €9 or more when operating as a restaurant which they are for 3 weeks.

owlbethere wrote: »
    My understanding of the pub rules and I could be wrong, the new rules are there to prevent people from getting drunk because it is the drunkenness that has the potential for carelessness on social distancing, cough and sneeze etiquette, hand washing. Gone are the days where you go into a pub for a cold drink or two and stay for more. Them days are gone for now anyways.

Well no they aren't gone. They're gone for phase 3 while any pubs open as restaurants, pubs as we know pubs are due to open in phase 4 20th July.

Pubs with food service wanted to open with restaurants so for 3 weeks they operate as restaurants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

The world recorded the highest number of new infections on record yesterday.

If you believe this country won't have restrictions imposed if we see 300 cases a day then more power to you.

If it's 20 cases in some random town that can be dealt with locally but ultimately when health capacity is threatened restrictions are put in place because there is no other choice at that point.

This risk is most acute when winter illness season starts. We are at the best time of year to control spread and have capacity.

This is leading to complacency along with the success of measures. The only reason we are in the position we are in now is as a direct result of those measures.

The measures people are complaining about.

Highest recorded number of cases yes but as well you know the recording of cases among many countries hasn't exactly been up to scratch until now. Number of cases means very little in the context of the seriousness of covid 19.

What you'll also see is the death rate is falling consistently despite higher recorded cases.

Which is good news on two fronts: 2.It's obviously not as lethal as first thought 2. Countries have prepared better to deal with overstretch in hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Who's in denial other than you? Our numbers are all trending downward . The population has largely done what is required. A tract and trace system is being put in place. A requirement for a further countrywide lockdown has been dismissed by both Nphet and the government if a second wave occurs. It will be more localised if it does occur. Now I know anything positive is upsetting for you but the only one in denial seems to be yourself.

Who is in denial depends entirely on ones perspective.
    It’s plausible Kermit is exaggerating the future threat to Ireland, however it’s also plausible you and your band of Merry men are completely underestimating the threat to Ireland that could hit us in the near FUTURE.

We are in a good place now, no doubt about it, but as Kermit has said, globally, we have seen the highest number of New infections Yesterday and a lot of countries are seeing their numbers go on a sharply upward trend.
    But ya know the virus knows we are Irish so it’ll leave us alone cause we are sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

They'll need all the support they can get. Hopefully you will be still charged the same for your loyalty.

Looking foward to that cuppa tea. Have had no one in the house for months, my choice. Have had great neighbour chats over the walls 4meters away. My last thing I did was have a cuppa tae in the beer garden with hand santiser in tow before. And who knows when I can play live music again. The small things in life are beautiful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

One cause for optimism on this point is I heard (on the Pat Kenny show) that apparently Australia has had a 90% drop in cases of winter flu which presumably would be attributed to social distancing, hand washing, etc

China was branded a second surge by some on here yesterday, all bad news etc and yes they've put measures in place but I presume we won't see the below posted about China today ??

"The Chinese capital reported 21 cases today, down from 31 yesterday, and these were among 28 new cases recorded across the whole country. The figure included four from Chinese travellers returning from outside the country and three in the city of Tianjin and Hebei province, both of which border Beijing."

tom1ie wrote: »
    Who is in denial depends entirely on ones perspective.
    It’s plausible Kermit is exaggerating the future threat to Ireland, however it’s also plausible you and your band of Merry men are completely underestimating the threat to Ireland that could hit us in the near FUTURE.

We are in a good place now, no doubt about it, but as Kermit has said, globally, we have seen the highest number of New infections Yesterday and a lot of countries are seeing their numbers go on a sharply upward trend.
    But ya know the virus knows we are Irish so it’ll leave us alone cause we are sound.

'you and your band of merry men'? Why the pathetic and childish jibe?
    Nothing got to do with being sound, cop on . We have implemented SD, hand hygiene, cough etiquette which have all shown to be effective in suppressing the virus.
    You posting behaviour demonstrates you have an issue responding to those you disagree with in an adult manner, have you asked yourself why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Most western european countries implemented proper lockdown.

Many other places did not.

The gains are only temporary for those who took the measures.

Ultimately life has changed until a definitive vaccine can be produced and that's not certain. But they'll soldier on.

The positive thing is that at this stage the population is getting adjusted to the changes in society.

There are some mandatory actions that need to be introduced like on face masks but I think the public are adjusting well.

Avoid parties !! Not good for social distancing and you might kill the vibe... (just banter)

'you and your band of merry men'? Why the pathetic and childish jibe?
    Nothing got to do with being sound, cop on . We have implemented SD, hand hygiene, cough etiquette which have all shown to be effective in suppressing the virus.
    You posting behaviour demonstrates you have an issue responding to those you disagree with in an adult manner, have you asked yourself why is that?

Seriously though, why do you think the resurgence of the virus won’t happen in Ireland, even though it’s happening in so many other places, which have mostly tried to bring in the same measures we have?

Do you remember in the early days of the virus emerging in Ireland and one of the governments press briefings. I think maybe it was around about the time of St Patricks day, Leo mentioned anyone who is hospitalised with covid19, don't need to pay, the state will pick up the tab. It was something like that. It was announced around about the same time as the covid19 payment.

There wasn't much mention of it in the news. Does that still apply now that we have a new government? As in will hospital treatment be payed for if you get sick with covid19 and need to be hospitalised?

One cause for optimism on this point is I heard (on the Pat Kenny show) that apparently Australia has had a 90% drop in cases of winter flu which presumably would be attributed to social distancing, hand washing, etc

As you suggest, everything we have been doing will mitigate against the usual consequences of flu season. We may even see a fall in flu season fatalities. Would be interesting to see flu related deaths for 20/21 versus pervious years sometime in 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

a 13 month old baby died of Corona virus in the UK in last 24 hours, and there were no apparent underlying conditions. How is this possible? Possibly a condition the parents were unaware of maybe? How are random deaths like these occurring is there any indication yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

joeguevara wrote: »
    Does he own the pub or is it part of a group. So a few days ago he was told by group that he must follow guidelines or he will be closed down or license won’t be renewed even though the GUIDELINES were only published last night. Was he also told of the army patrolling from a leaked WhatsApp message.

He owns it. Owns 2 actually. Not a group as like a chain. The LVA or whatever it is he's a member of.

He's talking about whatever guidelines will be in place. Not specific ones released yesterday. He's not opening his 2 as restaurants. July 20th is the only date for him. And what happens then isn't clear. But he seems to be of the impression through talking to other pub owners that any acting the bollix can have consequences.

Don't know what ****e you're on about army patrolling and whatsapp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

https://twitter.com/paschalsheehy/status/1273609627599548423?s=21

Fantastic scene. My grandmother is still alive after two previous stints on life support in the Bons ICU in the last two years. Fantastic staff there, great to see this. Record length in ICU.

Seriously though, why do you think the resurgence of the virus won’t happen in Ireland, even though it’s happening in so many other places, which have mostly tried to bring in the same measures we have?

Did I say there wouldn't be a resurgence? Instead ofthinking up if childish jibes read what is wrote. I said there wouldn't be a country wide lockdown and gave the reasons why I believe that. You can read back through my posts but I'm not repeating myself.

There was campaign over there pushing people into taking up the flu vaccine. They wanted more of the population to uptake the flu vaccine because of the covid19. They don't want the flu and the covid19 going around together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Fantastic scene. My grandmother is still alive after two previous stints on life support in the Bons ICU in the last two years. Fantastic staff there, great to see this. Record length in ICU.

Thats fantastic, what an absolute warrior she is

Did I say there wouldn't be a resurgence? Instead ofthinking up if childish jibes read what is wrote. I said there wouldn't be a country wide lockdown and gave the reasons why I believe that. You can read back through my posts but I'm not repeating myself.

In bad humour today plumb?
    So your giving out about a poster posting negative yet factual posts, but at the same time you potentially believe there will be a resurgence anyway. :confused:
    I don’t believe there will be a national lockdown either, for the simple fact that it wouldn’t be accepted. We are in agreement there.

owlbethere wrote: »
    There was campaign over there pushing people into taking up the flu vaccine. They wanted more of the population to uptake the flu vaccine because of the covid19. They don't want the flu and the covid19 going around together.

This would be a nightmare here. They really need to make it mandatory for front line workers and teachers etc to get the flu Jab.

In bad humour today plumb?
    So your giving out about a poster posting negative yet factual posts, but at the same time you potentially believe there will be a resurgence anyway. :confused:
    I don’t believe there will be a national lockdown either, for the simple fact that it wouldn’t be accepted. We are in agreement there.

My humour is irrelevant to this site, just like the childish jibes maybe drop the personal jibes aswell.
    Nothing factual about a second lockdown as suggested by Kermit and again I informed him why.

My humour is irrelevant to this site, just like the childish jibes maybe drop the personal jibes aswell.
    Nothing factual about a second lockdown as suggested by Kermit and again I informed him why.

Asking about your humour really isn’t personal tbh. But anyway I agree with you there won’t be a second lockdown even though there may be a need for one, purely because a second lockdown would not be accepted by the people
    I just hope we don’t get a resurgence and for whatever reason buck the global trend.

Absolutely fantastic