Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,345 ✭✭✭joeguevara

hmmm wrote: »
    Pubs closed voluntarily during March because public opinion turned (pretty violently) against them and the small group of customers who ignored the public mood. It wasn't the government that shut them down.

Any sensible publican would want to avoid similar scenes over the next few weeks and months. For most people the virus is something they are still concerned about and want to keep under control.

Vast majority of pubs had already closed when the mood turned and only a couple of the larger super pubs were open. But as I said that was when a virus was rampant and spreading like wild fire. We don't have that now (not yet). They are not going to follow basesless and ridiculous guidelines unless they are statutotry or are grounded in sanity. ANd they cannot be forcibly closed unless there is a legal basis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

you have face mask on until your food arrives, that doesn't happen in EU countries. Face mask can come off as soon as your seated which is my whole point. So long as your seated in bars in France for example you don't need to wear one. In the door sit down and mask off until you want to go to the toilets

Surely you have to talk to the waiter/waitress/bartender? If it's table service, they'll be coming to your table to take your order, so it's fairly cop on to keep the mask on until the food has been served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

shinzon wrote: »

Its quite strange that theres no mention of the elephant in the room which is the amount of drink a table can order during there meal. Your going to get people wanting to get pissed and once that happens your pretty much guaranteed all rules out the window.

Shin

In the initial phase it should be easy enough to handle.

In later phases dealing with drunks is the biggest issue. Tony Holohan et all are not going to say it like that out loud but of course they are well aware of that problem.

I'm sure publicans are not exactly thrilled at the prospect of trying to regulate them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Dr Holohan and the government has said on a few occasions that the country will not be locked down again even if a second wave occurs. People would be better listening to those that make the decisions instead of someone who wishes to post negativity at every opportunity.
    Yeah, its more likely to be localised confinement in response to clusters and locking down those workplaces/regions where the issues happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Are we locking down again? Where is this news? Oh wait, it’s not going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

kippy wrote: »
    Yeah, its more likely to be localised confinement in response to clusters and locking down those workplaces/regions where the issues happen.

Thats what has already been suggested, but there is a small cohort here who for whatever the motive keep pushing the country wide lockdown if things escalate again. It's almost like they enjoy winding up and frightening others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Surely you have to talk to the waiter/waitress/bartender? If it's table service, they'll be coming to your table to take your order, so it's fairly cop on to keep the mask on until the food has been served.

As I've said that's the practise in other countries.
    Why would I keep a mask on when I'll be drinking before the meal arrives ? Hardly going to keep pulling it up and down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I’d be more concerned about ventilation in pubs. Not all pubs are equal in this regard. If it was possible to keep all windows and doors to open or opened at intervals to maximise air changes then that would help.

I understand that the economics of some pubs / restaurants is not compatible with public health measures. I don’t think the solution is to attack the public health measures. Of course we live in a democracy so if vintners convinces enough people it’s safe for it to be viable then so be it. It doesn’t change the science around how this thing spreads.

Here’s a Forbes article with some ideas on what to avoid.

Stuffy / cosy pubs would be top of my list to avoid like the .....

https://www.forbes.com/sites/brucelee/2020/05/30/where-coronavirus-is-more-likely-to-be-airborne-5-places-to-avoid/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Are we locking down again? Where is this news? Oh wait, it’s not going to happen.

If he posts about it enough times maybe he'll will it into existence? Or maybe find an example of a spike of 4 cases in Madagascar, that'll do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭phater phagan

Why would I keep a mask on when I'll be drinking before the meal arrives ? Hardly going to keep pulling it up and down

There was a hilarious video on one of the Jimmy Kimmel quarantine shows on Youtube. A guy in a Las Vegas casino playing at the slot machines with a mask and then sliding a lit cigarette under the mask. Did any other posters see it? Classic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

How do you know you'll be drinking before the food arrives? Restaurants and pubs aren't even open. Cop on would suggest that they limit their interactions with people as much as possible, so food and drink served at the same time.

But it's Ireland, so no cop on is needed here really.

AdamD wrote: »
    If he posts about it enough times maybe he'll will it into existence? Or maybe find an example of a spike of 4 cases in Madagascar, that'll do it.

I heard if you look in a mirror and say 'lockdown' three times it will happen in 7 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I heard if you look in a mirror and say 'lockdown' three times it will happen in 7 days.
    Gotta have the red shoes on, though!

I hear if you remain in denial long enough problems just magically disappear :)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Thats what has already been suggested, but there is a small cohort here who for whatever the motive keep pushing the country wide lockdown if things escalate again. It's almost like they enjoy winding up and frightening others.

I'm confused. Why did you say almost?

I hear that its quite uncommon for people to be able to predict the future

Who's in denial other than you? Our numbers are all trending downward . The population has largely done what is required. A tract and trace system is being put in place. A requirement for a further countrywide lockdown has been dismissed by both Nphet and the government if a second wave occurs. It will be more localised if it does occur. Now I know anything positive is upsetting for you but the only one in denial seems to be yourself.

A lot of people tend to forget that unlike other countries worldwide our contact tracing system has been in place since the beginning and is likely to prove invaluable in the future. We’re well set up to deal with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

hmmm wrote: »
    If someone is pissed and stays sitting, it's not a problem. If they stand up and start going around visiting other tables they're now a problem.

I think people are forgetting this is a phased re-opening of society, and there is no guarantee we move to the later stages. The next stage is essentially restaurants - if we see a spike in cases as a consequence, we won't be moving to the stage afterwards where pubs can open (just for the purpose of getting a drink). It's in the interest of the industry to manage the next phase properly, because every pub is at risk if a spike in new cases can be traced back to pubs. They are not going to want people falling around the place blind drunk, or even roaring and shouting at a TV when someone is trying to have a meal with granny and the family.

Main problem with getting pissed is one tends to start speaking a lot loudly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Then they won't open. Pubs will be inspected and those who don't follow the rules will be outed on social media anyway.

If you believe we will be seeing images of packed pubs you are seriously mistaken.

Next time this country has to shut up shop the majority of them won't reopen and most sensible publicans know that which is why most will follow the rules.

The pubs that don't will be told to close.

Anybody outing pubs on social media will be quickly shut up, with any number of taunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Yeah... all sounds like a not very enjoyable experience to me. Don't think I will be joining the campaign to get back to the restaurants or pubs, at least not at this sacrificial experimental stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,204 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Some pubs never even shut ffs. One pub in the village over from my home place was open most Saturday nights during lockdown. Wasn't packed or anything but a fair bunch of regulars in there by all accounts. The Guards raided them 3 times as lads were posting it on social media. They are still reopening proper on June 29.

I find it hard to believe a pub defied the closure order 3 times and is now allowed reopen operating under restaurant rules.

Who's in denial other than you? Our numbers are all trending downward . The population has largely done what is required. A tract and trace system is being put in place. A requirement for a further countrywide lockdown has been dismissed by both Nphet and the government if a second wave occurs. It will be more localised if it does occur. Now I know anything positive is upsetting for you but the only one in denial seems to be yourself.

The world recorded the highest number of new infections on record yesterday.

If you believe this country won't have restrictions imposed if we see 300 cases a day then more power to you.

If it's 20 cases in some random town that can be dealt with locally but ultimately when health capacity is threatened restrictions are put in place because there is no other choice at that point.

This risk is most acute when winter illness season starts. We are at the best time of year to control spread and have capacity.

This is leading to complacency along with the success of measures. The only reason we are in the position we are in now is as a direct result of those measures.

The measures people are complaining about.

The world recorded the highest number of new infections on record yesterday.

If you believe this country won't have restrictions imposed if we see 300 cases a day then more power to you.

If it's 20 cases in some random town that can be dealt with locally but ultimately when health capacity is threatened restrictions are put in place because there is no other choice at that point.

This risk is most acute when winter illness season starts. We are at the best time of year to control spread and have capacity.

This is leading to complacency along with the success of measures. The only reason we are in the position we are in now is as a direct result of those measures.

The measures people are complaining about.
    I 'll go with the evidence in the wider community not some lad on Boards. Simon stated in the Dail the RO number was .7 it's going to get more difficult to give a figure as the infected numbers are so low. SD will continue as it's a habit now for people as will hand hygiene. I get the feeling you really hope to get the chance to say '' I told you so''. Prepare yourself for disappointment.
    Is it time for the misery update yet, or is that later on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Anybody outing pubs on social media will be quickly shut up, with any number of taunts.

There will be certain doomsday posters on here walking around their local pubs taking pictures from the outside to try and prove points no doubt

As far this walking into a pub wearing a mask, and wearing it at all times when not eating and drinking :D:D:D:D:D. Yeah, that'll happen

For what its worth i think this soft opening of pubs for 3 weeks before full opening is a good idea. Will ease people in gently, shouldnt see rushes and Que's on the 1st day open like seen when Penny/Woodies/Ikea ect. opened back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

So I still wont be able to go to my local for my pot of tea and slice of cake for two euros till July. Yet I can do a round trip of 50km to a cafe in town and have a pot of tea by itself which is more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭gipi

I find it hard to believe a pub defied the closure order 3 times and is now allowed reopen operating under restaurant rules.

Might be a different story when it comes to their licence renewal ?

speckle wrote: »
    So I still wont be able to go to my local for my pot of tea and slice of cake for two euros till July. Yet I can do a round trip of 50km to a cafe in town and have a pot of tea by itself which is more expensive.

I think if you want an alcoholic drink you have to have a substantial meal costing a minimum €9 euro.

gipi wrote: »
    Might be a different story when it comes to their licence renewal ?

If the pub really did defy the closure order the publican and several of his customers will already have received a court summons.