Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Yes: valved
    What's their campaign all about? Was it just a photo shoot of themselves standing on an empty bus telling us to well masks while shopping or on public transport?

They would want to do a better job on educating people. Seen some lad in a shop talking to the shop assistant and his mask on his chin. That defeats the purpose. Whatever about masks on chin while outside. Why bother with a mask if you're inside a shop and it sitting on your chin? It's not a fashion accessory.

The brainwashing has started on the radio, everyone will be wearing them in a few days time, without knowing why, perhaps. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,702 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Seanergy wrote: »
    Does it have a nose strip? if not inserting one or glueing one should help considerably. Also make sure your glasses are sitting out well over the edge of the mask. Normally those two things along with soaped glasses work. Obviously we all have diferent sized faces and some masks are better than others for not dissapating heat out of the top nose bridge area.
    I'm currently looking at putting beads of silicon along the top edge's as a seal for reusable masks.

I find breathing out through nose helps, as the airflow vents to the sides. Breathing out through mouth creates a backdraft towards the eyes.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

is_that_so wrote: »
    You've called people autistic, sheep and a whole load of other epithets so what's anyone supposed to take from that? No idea what FFCN is so I've no opinion on it.

You're entitled to your opinions but don't be surprised if some people see them as downright browbeating.

That's strange because when I use the search box for this thread, there are 4 returns for word sheep, none of them mine.

Stop making things up about me, read my posts in full, instead of grabbing your headline key words and practising push down politics on me and my posts.

FFCN™ stands for fudge face covering numbers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Shop in cork receives backlash after asking people to wear masks. If people don't understand why and kicking up a fuss about it, they are very selfish.

https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/cork-shop-owner-shocked-boycott-18436630?fbclid=IwAR3koyaUTcdE-gpsETOiDAZItgOhMotVv2kbiv-76P9y1w1IT3geGz1CGjQ

What's their campaign all about? Was it just a photo shoot of themselves standing on an empty bus telling us to wear masks while shopping or on public transport?

They would want to do a better job on educating people. Seen some lad in a shop talking to the shop assistant and his mask on his chin. That defeats the purpose. Whatever about masks on chin while outside. Why bother with a mask if you're inside a shop and it sitting on your chin? It's not a fashion accessory.

Yeah, the bus shoot could have been it A, it felt more like a last minute insurance rush by FG to get a photo op doning fc's before the formation of new coalition and the take over starts. Micheál Martin rallied a hard empahise on the importance of face coverings in the Dail last week, thurs maybe, the puss on Leo's face during it said it all really. FC's could be further entangled in cross party politics now.

Minister for Health nearly got going on education in a video snipet I saw of him infront of the bus. He actually blurted out fc's protect the wearer and nearly started to explain droplet transmission before he cut his own tongue off.

GOV.IE website and HSE video on face coverings still containing same hazardous instructions as last month when fc's were orginally launched. Says it all really. Nothing new education wise on GOV websites.

GOV ain't trying to educate, campaign is all about saving face from the limp first attempt last month and popularising it through fudging numbers without having to mandate.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    I find breathing out through nose helps, as the airflow vents to the sides. Breathing out through mouth creates a backdraft towards the eyes.

Great advice though it's not just because the airflow vents out the sides of the fc/mask instead of being top heavy.

If you put your hand up to your nose and mouth and breath out of one then the other can you detect any difference?

The outbreath from the nose is cooler than the out breath from the mouth.

Directional force and temperature both at play.

Less heat = less fog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Yes: surgical
    "Artificial intelligence being used to check Dubai taxi drivers & passengers are wearing face masks"

https://www.taxi-point.co.uk/post/artificial-intelligence-being-used-to-check-dubai-taxi-drivers-passengers-are-wearing-face-masks

Meanwhile, in Ireland, our spineless government won't make them mandatory even on packed buses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,052 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Shop in cork receives backlash after asking people to wear masks. If people don't understand why and kicking up a fuss about it, they are very selfish.

https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/cork-shop-owner-shocked-boycott-18436630?fbclid=IwAR3koyaUTcdE-gpsETOiDAZItgOhMotVv2kbiv-76P9y1w1IT3geGz1CGjQ

Yep saw that one too. As usual selfish ignorant clowns in action. People got educated well in last three months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,052 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    "Artificial intelligence being used to check Dubai taxi drivers & passengers are wearing face masks"

https://www.taxi-point.co.uk/post/artificial-intelligence-being-used-to-check-dubai-taxi-drivers-passengers-are-wearing-face-masks

Meanwhile, in Ireland, our spineless government won't make them mandatory even on packed buses!

It's because they have more important things to think about, pubs are taking over the news and of course the rules for them to allow them open. Can you imagine how much brain capacity takes it to come up with them ideas:D Masks are different story, everything around that problem was handled way too bad, so few shots on empty bus and begging people to wear them. Think in their eyes makes it sorted. Let the public to get on with it, whatever way they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Yes: other

It's sad to see the owner giving in, but it's great to see other customers arguing against the antimaskers and their flawed arguments.
    There's a lot of misinformation going around, some of which you can see below.

https://twitter.com/djtgoodie/status/1272481360859537410?s=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Yes: surgical
    In Dublin at least I'd say that less than 3-4% of people actually wear masks. It is complete and utter craziness and for the life of me I don't understand why more isn't made about this. Wearing a mask is the absolute least anyone can do to help the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

It's actually alarming just how many ****ing idiots there are on that, and in the social media posts about the campaign. How do these people actually function day to day, they're honestly so thick it's unbelievable. Imagine trying to have a conversation with some of them, you'd be better off trying to chat with a chimp

The_Brood wrote: »
    In Dublin at least I'd say that less than 3-4% of people actually wear masks. It is complete and utter craziness and for the life of me I don't understand why more isn't made about this. Wearing a mask is the absolute least anyone can do to help the situation.

Yeah it makes no sense whatsoever considering we had high adherence to the lockdown guidelines

Govt: "You must stay at home for the next 3 months, isolated from your family and friends, to help slow the virus spreading"

Irish people: "STAY THE **** AT HOME!"

Vs

Govt: "You should wear a mask while in shops and on public transport, while being able to get out and about again, to help slow the spreading"

Irish people: "HA, I WILL IN ME ****."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I hate wearing these medical blue/light blue papery masks. Thank god they are to only be used once. No way am I buying another box for near €1 per mask. A lad as good looking as me should not be hidden behind these face nappies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,702 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I hate wearing these medical blue/light blue papery masks. Thank god they are to only be used once. No way am I buying another box for near €1 per mask. A lad as good looking as me should not be hidden behind these face nappies.

I didnt get enough points for medical course.
    But now when I wear one I am Dr Drake Ramoray.
    There is a sitcom plot in there somewhere...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Big downside to poor mask policy is it's gunna attract the wrong crowd and put off the right crowd. Welcome to ireland, spit where ye may!

Untitled-3.png

Arrival wrote: »
    Yeah it makes no sense whatsoever considering we had high adherence to the lockdown guidelines

Govt: "You must stay at home for the next 3 months, isolated from your family and friends, to help slow the virus spreading"

Vs

Govt: "You should wear a mask while in shops and on public transport, while being able to get out and about again, to help slow the spreading"

Well when our figures continue to drop, despite easing restrictions and despite nobody wearing masks, you can forgive the public for thinking they may not be all that neccesary. Sure they may help, but its difficult to believe they are the be all and end all when we're progressing without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

No: I don't care enough
    AdamD wrote:
    Well when our figures continue to drop, despite easing restrictions and despite nobody wearing masks, you can forgive the public for thinking they may not be all that neccesary. Sure they may help, but its difficult to believe they are the be all and end all when we're progressing without them.
    Give it 2 more months. Imports start shortly. UK especially, then US, France, the list go on. It will keep circulating and being exported and imported across the globe once international travel resumes.

AdamD wrote: »

If you had the power to go back to February/March and redo this all, wouldn't you support masks along with the other measures, knowing what we know now? If yes, it is because you understand the importance to behave proactively. Right now the numbers are low in the community, as they were at the start, due to the extreme lockdown, but we know that the virus is still in existence and ready to jump to whatever people it can. All it takes is for it to spread from one random person to another random person out in the community for contact tracing to start becoming more difficult. Measures like masks and social distancing will help us slow the speed of this all happening and another wave starting. The more people wearing masks, the more effective they become and the more isolated and traceable the virus stays

Now you likely know and understand all this already, but the general population doesn't seem to. There's a lot of ignorance surrounding this whole topic, and this campaign should really be going into overdrive to try and address this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭maninasia

Yes: homemade

If you understand the huge difference between maintaining RO =0.9 and RO = 1.1, which seems minor, then you'd know why masks are important.

They bring the RO value down below 1.

That tiny difference, is the difference between the virus becoming extinct in society or rampant within a couple of months.

It seems the Irish government has failed to communicate this properly, led the taoiseach who 'isn't convinced' yet he's a medical doctor wasting his time playing around on the telephone instead of communicating effective health messages to the whole population.
    (Ok so it seems it took him until June 15th to get his head out of his arse)

What is the R number?
    https://www.bbc.com/news/health-52473523

Merkel explains.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22SQVZ4CeXA

I live in a country where there has been no virus detected for two months. Most of the population have been wearing masks in public since January. There's never been any lockdown. Kids in school except for a two week extended break. Job loss minimal. Economy is still fairly cruising along. Covid deaths in single digits. Hospitals proceeding with routine operations and check-ups. Government has only very small stimulus program, not necessary to go into public debt or raise taxes. Construction workers back on site months ago. Factories churning out PPE and all kinds of products, no production stoppage. No need to pay China BILLIONS in Euro for a virus that they gifted us all, the state broadcaster crowing as they send 'the biggest jet in the world' for low quality PPE, paying top dollar from rapidly dwindling public funds. Funds that you will pay for in more tax . It's embarrassing to look at it from afar. Then the same crew come in and get to swap their jobs between them again. You just cost the country tens of billions of Euro , thousands of deaths especially in care homes and you get to keep your job.

This country is also rapidly getting richer compared to many Western countries simply because they didn't half arse the response.

Even with the local success and no cases for two months masks are still mandatory on public transport along with other social distancing and incoming strict quarantine requirements. You don't stop being vigilant and enacting appropriate measures until you have a population that is vaccinated or effective drug treatments available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,505 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

But but but but..."science" was divided on it a fortnight ago.

I was lead to believe masks increase the transmission of Covid 19.

I'm so confused.

If you had the power to go back to February/March and redo this all, wouldn't you support masks along with the other measures, knowing what we know now? If yes, it is because you understand the importance to behave proactively. Right now the numbers are low in the community, as they were at the start, due to the extreme lockdown, but we know that the virus is still in existence and ready to jump to whatever people it can. All it takes is for it to spread from one random person to another random person out in the community for contact tracing to start becoming more difficult. Measures like masks and social distancing will help us slow the speed of this all happening and another wave starting. The more people wearing masks, the more effective they become and the more isolated and traceable the virus stays

Now you likely know and understand all this already, but the general population doesn't seem to. There's a lot of ignorance surrounding this whole topic, and this campaign should really be going into overdrive to try and address this issue
    I agree the messaging has been shambolic, I'm just not sure I agree that they are quite as important as some people make out. However they do make a difference so the government should have pushed it harder and earlier.
    maninasia wrote: »
    If you understand the huge difference between maintaining RO =0.9 and RO = 1.1, which seems minor, then you'd know why masks are important.

They bring the RO value down below 1.

That tiny difference, is the difference between the virus becoming extinct in society or rampant within a couple of months.

It seems the Irish government has failed to communicate this properly, led the taoiseach who 'isn't convinced' yet he's a medical doctor wasting his time playing around on the telephone instead of communicating effective health messages to the whole population.
    (Ok so it seems it took him until June 15th to get his head out of his arse)

What is the R number?
    https://www.bbc.com/news/health-52473523

Merkel explains.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22SQVZ4CeXA

I live in a country where there has been no virus detected for two months. Most of the population have been wearing masks in public since January. There's never been any lockdown. Kids in school except for a two week extended break. Job loss minimal. Economy is still fairly cruising along. Covid deaths in single digits. Hospitals proceeding with routine operations and check-ups. Government has only very small stimulus program, not necessary to go into public debt or raise taxes. Construction workers back on site months ago. Factories churning out PPE and all kinds of products, no production stoppage. No need to pay China BILLIONS in Euro for a virus that they gifted us all, the state broadcaster crowing as they send 'the biggest jet in the world' for low quality PPE, paying top dollar from rapidly dwindling public funds. Funds that you will pay for in more tax . It's embarrassing to look at it from afar. Then the same crew come in and get to swap their jobs between them again. You just cost the country tens of billions of Euro , thousands of deaths especially in care homes and you get to keep your job.

This country is also rapidly getting richer compared to many Western countries simply because they didn't half arse the response.

Even with the local success and no cases for two months masks are still mandatory on public transport along with other social distancing and incoming strict quarantine requirements. You don't stop being vigilant and enacting appropriate measures until you have a population that is vaccinated or effective drug treatments available.
    I'm not disputing they're useful, though they do not bring the R value below one, our R value has been below 1 for weeks on end with minimal mask use. This is the point I'm trying to get across, a lot of people on the internet are getting very emotional about mask use, but to the man on the street who sees the country opening and cases dropping daily without masks, its a hard sell this late on.

a lot of people on the internet are getting very emotional about mask use,

It's not just people on the internet the Health Minister was giving it welly in the Dáil yesterday.

But trying to label people as some sort of emotional retards because they advocate for the effectiveness of mass mask usage during a once in a lifetime pandemic is top work, fair play to you.

Not condescending at all, it's not like a fortnight ago we were told they were useless and will end up infecting everyone.

Boggles wrote: »
    It's not just people on the internet the Health Minister was giving it welly in the Dáil yesterday.

But trying to label people as some sort of emotional retards because they advocate for the effectiveness of mass mask usage during a once in a lifetime pandemic is top work, fair play to you.

Not condescending at all, it's not like a fortnight ago we were told they were useless and will end up infecting everyone.

Except I didn't do that. But carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,732 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

No: other
    Minister Simon Harris took his own face covering from his pocket in the Dáil as he said it is public health advice to now wear face coverings. He said just like we pick up our keys and wallet and phone we should also now have our masks with us

but still not wearing it :rolleyes:

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

Vs

To me this shows that the average person spouting the "STAY THE **** AT HOME!" but then refuse to wear a mask doesn't care about saving lives they just do it for social media likes

Except I didn't do that. But carry on.

But sure the man on the street....something...something/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Did anyone enlighten him to the dangers of what he did there. It's cringeworthy and downright dangerous behavior on his part.
    It's exactly why I'm anti mask as the general public at large and even the minster for health don't know how to use them or realize the dangers, stick the covid you just blocked into your pocket, it'll be grand he says, what an absolute plonker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Did anyone enlighten him to the dangers of what he did there. It's cringeworthy and downright dangerous behavior on his part.
    It's exactly why I'm anti mask as the general public at large and even the minster for health don't know how to use them or realize the dangers, stick the covid you just blocked into your pocket, it'll be grand he says, what an absolute plonker.

Better in his pocket than in the air infecting everyone else.