Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    They can also choose who to let on the bus. No payment, no boarding. It can work the same with masks.

We’ve already seen that drivers don’t care who’s on the bus. They were told, only 17 per double decker, they allowed a lot more on. They don’t want any hassle. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

Aid if someeone gets on with a mask, then removes it. What happens?

There might be some scumbags who will break the rules but if we are told to wear it to help prevent the spread of covid19 then I think most people will comply, it seems to be this way in UK, Germany, Spain etc after they made masks mandatory on public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭NotMOL

We’ve already seen that drivers don’t care who’s on the bus. They were told, only 17 per double decker, they allowed a lot more on. They don’t want any hassle. .

I've had a different experience, I was trying to catch a bus the other day but none were stopping because they all reached the 17 person limit

NotMOL wrote: »
    I've had a different experience, I was trying to catch a bus the other day but none were stopping because they all reached the 17 person limit

I’d direct you to @dublinbusnews Every day they get complaints of overcrowded buses. I’ve been getting the bus every week day since the pandemic started.

From today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Chicoso

From today

What's that all about

Bus direction?

Bus police?

Chicoso wrote: »
    What's that all about

Bus direction?

Bus police?

DB want to know what route she’s on. They’ll do nothing about it though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    From today

I wouldn't get on a bus if things were like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I wouldn't get on a bus if things were like that.

They've been like it for a while now. I've not been on 1 bus yet where the driver has stopped letting people on. Used DB in and out to work all week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Chicoso

They've been like it for a while now. I've not been on 1 bus yet where the driver has stopped letting people on. Used DB in and out to work all week

How would they though

They're not getting paid or capable of enforcing anything

Are DB drivers behind a screen like bus eireann drivers? Maybe the drivers couldn't give two fcuks because they aren't the ones sitting beside passengers on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Yes: homemade
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytbMUXzp_aE

Excellent documentary about how South Korea dealt with the virus.
    3 minutes in they explain that in January they had determined that asymptomatic transmission occured with this virus. Also they developed a test with a 6 hour turnaround.

It took Holohan until May to discover some "Emerging Science" that now suggests that asymptomatic transmission is an issue and this was why they changed their minds about face masks.

In Feb 2020 his Taoiseach went on telly and told us 80% of the people who contract this disease will experience very mild of no symptoms at all. I assume this 80% were still going to spread it however. Is that not sort of the same as asymptomatic?

Chicoso wrote: »
    How would they though

They're not getting paid or capable of enforcing anything

By not stopping at stops when the bus is full. Hardly rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Supply definitely is a factor but you could have a billion masks on standby if there is no legislation and legal enforcement it doesn't matter

You could have 1 billion drones or Garda on standby but without a government legislation cannot be passed.

Supply is the first factor and the answer to your question. Let's not deal in definetly a factor or could have's let's deal with what we got or in this case what we do not have.

The Garda are still waiting for their mask supply, not sure but it is running 3-4 weeks late? And absolutely I would have the Garda enforce poor mask wearing on grounds of being a danger to themsemselves and others.

20 euro fine on the spot fines for heads who aren't acting the bollox, genuinely went out the door without it characters. 2 masks should be issued in reciept of paying the fine, one to be worn then and there the other for the pocket.

Simple mask dispensers could be installed inside the door of the bus for 1 euro a pop. Loads of dispnesers installed thoughtout europe months ago.

And if non mask wearer's are acting the bollix, maybe detained in a quarantine facility for testing etc...duration 48+hrs....pref 14 days for hardcore dickheads, something to knock the buzz completely out of their spabrains.

Word would get around fast enough that not wearing a mask is zero craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Seanergy wrote: »
    You could have 1 billion drones or Garda on standby but without a government legislation cannot be passed.

Supply is the first factor and the answer to your question. Let's not deal in definetly a factor or could have's let's deal with what we got or in this case what we do not have.

The Garda are still waiting for their mask supply, not sure but it is running 3-4 weeks late? And absolutely I would have the Garda enforce poor mask wearing on grounds of being a danger to themsemselves and others.

20 euro fine on the spot fines for heads who aren't acting the bollox, genuinely went out the door without it characters. 2 masks should be issued in reciept of paying the fine, one to be worn then and there the other for the pocket.

Simple mask dispensers could be installed inside the door of the bus for 1 euro a pop. Loads of dispnesers installed thoughtout europe months ago.

And if non mask wearer's are acting the bollix, maybe detained in a quarantine facility for testing etc...duration 48+hrs....pref 14 days for hardcore dickheads, something to knock the buzz completely out of their spabrains.

Where are other countries getting their supply and why can Ireland not access this supplier?

You really need to read through the thread, alot of posters on here have put time into researching and answering these and many of the kneejerk questions that keep arising.

I will stick to home turf on this question because if I venture into giving you a country or 2 as examples there is a tendancy on this thread to bash examples by country by examples by other countires and one ends up in circle of garbage communication.

• Spain and France are getting their supplies from Limerick .

• Ireland cannot access this supplier because the HSE were too slow to act.

We have one supplier of masks, surgical and kn95(or similardon't know the exact spec) Irema, based in Limerick. By the time the HSE approached them for masks Irema were already caught up in contracts with Spain and France and had no vacancy to make masks for the HSE. That was for the first few months until HSE imported a machine into Irema in early MAY, so now they have one machine making masks domestically, all other masks are being airbridged.

The gardai aren't waiting for their supply, they have them. Mate of mine who's a garda wore it for 1 day and then his station decided not to wear them. It was difficult to hear what was being said over the radios

Maybe the Garda should have put them over their mouth and nose instead of over their ears!

Supplies have not been delivered according to my source. Who's your mate? name and number, and I will disclose my source!

I think your friend is wearing them wrong. They aren't worn over the ears. You can hear perfectly fine when worn over the mouth and nose.

Maybe the Garda should have put them over their mouth and nose instead of over their ears!

Supplies have not been delivered according to my source. Who's your mate? name and number, and I will disclose my source!

Haha name and number, good luck. Posted on here multiple times what I've heard from him, posted overtime was gone before it was even announced. You honestly think I'm going to give the name and number of a garda your off your rocker. Major station in DMR is all your getting.

Yeah they couldn't hear what was being said because of the mask, calls over the radios weren't audible, his station ditched them.

I think your friend is wearing them wrong. They aren't worn over the ears. You can hear perfectly fine when worn over the mouth and nose.

Again as I've replied to said poster, radio calls weren't audible when the masks were used.

His station ditched them after that, there was a serious incident and response was delayed as nobody could make out what was being said over the raidos.

Clearly they couldn't hear perfectly fine over radios, but im sure you'll dispute that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Again as I've replied to said poster, radio calls weren't audible when the masks were used.

His station ditched them after that, there was a serious incident and response was delayed as nobody could make out what was being said over the raidos.

Clearly they couldn't hear perfectly fine over radios, but im sure you'll dispute that
    Is this a worldwide phenomenon or just anther thing that is unique to good old Ireland.

MipMap wrote: »
    Is this a worldwide phenomenon or just anther thing that is unique to good old Ireland.

Who knows, maybe its an Irish thing.

They ditched them after 1 incident anyway

It's been in the news for weeks that guards will wear face masks where distancing is difficult. I find it hard to believe how guards working for the good of public will ditch the use of face masks.

And have you seen a Garda wearing a face mask yet??

They're supposed to wear them in squad cars not seen any wearing them.

What I've posted is the experience of one station, beleive it or not I dont really care but in that station they aren't wearing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

They're supposed to wear them in squad cars not seen any wearing them.

What I've posted is the experience of one station, beleive it or not I dont really care but in that station they aren't wearing them

I see plenty texting while driving, parking in cycle lanes/double yellows/footpaths but I haven't seen any wearing masks yet.

Met an eastern European garda at a checkpoint a few weeks back. Right little attitude he had on him too. No mask or gloves though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭phormium

I did indeed see a Garda on the beat on his own wearing one a few days ago in my local town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I think it was clear from the outset that masks/face coverings were useful in preventing the spread. Many Asian countries have been wearing them outside home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Yes: surgical
    I seen someone on the news walking in the background wearing a bandanna!
    I thought that's a great idea. If it's effective! Couldn't tell you if it is, as it's quite a light material.

job seeker wrote: »
    I seen someone on the news walking in the background wearing a bandanna!
    I thought that's a great idea. If it's effective! Couldn't tell you if it is, as it's quite a light material.

The longer I'm in this thread the more I realise it is important for all of us to be able to make quick face coverings from a multitude of objects, and this basic shape is one of them.

I favour a more stable build for everyday use but there can always be a time and a place for a makeshift cover.

no-sew-bandana2.png