Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

It doesn't really. You can't sue a pub if you get thrown out for being too drunk. That's your own fault if your acting the idiot

First thing the pub has to prove you were drunk and then if they remove you physically and hurt you, they will claim

polesheep wrote: »
    Are you referring to your own drinking habits? You have no right to assume the drinking habits of others.

Referring to the drinking habits i see in a town or in the city on a Thurs/Fri/Sat night.

Also the effect it has on A&E on those nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Lads please do not forget it was fg who went on non stop about ff economic suicide over a decade ago . Their sending us into the financial abyss, is a conscious decision! Far more inexplicable than how the last bust came about. I dont think there was any need to enter recession, if they hadn't gone lockdown crazy and announced the flat e350 rate and wage subsidy at colossal cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Good news for Belgium:

Belgium will reopen bars, restaurants and other areas of social and cultural life from 8 June, but not nightclubs, a government minister said.

"All sectors will reopen, but not for night clubs unfortunately," David Clarinval told La Premiere television.

Tourist attractions, camping sites and movie theatres would resume, along with sports training and matches behind closed doors.

He said Belgians would be allowed to meet more people, abolishing a rule that said a maximum of four people were allowed to visit the same household.

"All numbers are green," Mr Clarinval said, as Belgium reported only 70 new cases of Covid-19 today.

With a population of 11.5 million, Belgium is one of the nations hardest hit by Covid-19, but it began phasing out lockdown measures at the beginning of May.

It has so far reported a total of 58,685 cases and 9,522 deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭road_high

is_that_so wrote: »
    French, Italians and Spanish all did that very tight cordon and it was effective from the population control side of things.

DID being the operative word. Do they still have the same restrictions as us? Yes or no will do

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Lads please do not forget it was fg who went on non stop about ff economic suicide over a decade ago . Their sending us into the financial abyss, is a conscious decision! Far more inexplicable than how the last bust came about. I dont think there was any need to enter recession, if they hadn't gone ott and announced the flat e350 rate and wage subsidy at colossal cost.

Recession was coming anyhow.

Companies need to get rid of the deadwood also

Recession was coming anyhow.

Companies need to get rid of the deadwood also

Possible, but its speculation. I take great solace in the fact though, that they have made the situation far worse than it needs to be. Or you think " ah shure we arec having recession anyway, fcuk it if its minor or severe " :rolleyes:

road_high wrote: »
    DID being the operative word. Do they still have the same restrictions as us? Yes or no will do

Tourism accounts for one in eight jobs in Spain, the world’s second most visited country after France and contributes more than 12 per cent of Spanish GDP.

This explains the rush to open. In saying that they are not reopening fully either. We had to cancel our holiday to France due to the restrictions there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

Won’t get anything new from that dimwit. He’ll need to copy what he hears or told from group think. He doesn’t have a formal 3rd level education, this is all way beyond his station.

Surely our government would be better if all walks of life of Ireland were represented within it. Why should a politician have to have a 3rd level education? Which politicians have been drastically better because of theirs? We complain when they don't think of the common man or woman and are too far removed from the average person.

Surely our government would be better if all walks of life of Ireland were represented within it. Why should a politician have to have a 3rd level education Which politicians have been drastically better because of theirs? We complain when they don't think of the common man or woman and are too far removed from the average person.

They are the common people, peasants like the rest of us. They are hardly trump!

The guards should no get enforce this bull**** of shutting businesses.

They all just need to re open. The Gardai will retreat and drew Harris will announce its unenforceable. I could see the problem now getting staff to work. If the €350 is likely similar to retail staff wages, or even more if part time. They might claim it’s “too risky” after months of brainwashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Few tweets here with quotes from Simon. Nothing new from him really. More ifs and buts and no risk taking.
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1268137308202639361?s=19

"We don't want a situation that looks good on paper but that would result in the loss of more lives".

We already have that Simon, though we won't be able to quantify the cancer deaths for a while yet, but I'm sure the lawyers will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

They are the common people, peasants like the rest of us. They are hardly trump!

The rental market perhaps wouldn't be so out of control if the government had more renters and less landlords.

Tourism accounts for one in eight jobs in Spain, the world’s second most visited country after France and contributes more than 12 per cent of Spanish GDP.

This explains the rush to open. In saying that they are not reopening fully either. We had to cancel our holiday to France due to the restrictions there.

Correct. Also the germans and nordics, may be against bailing out southern Europe again. At least they can be seen as being proactive now, which would increase good will, if aid is needed

Possible, but its speculation. I take great solace in the fact though, that they have made the situation far worse than it needs to be. Or you think " ah shure we arec having recession anyway, fcuk it if its minor or severe " :rolleyes:

Someone here said, the economists never get it wrong, economists were all saying the recession would be here by end of the summer before this happened.

The same economists are now saying we be out of the recesssion by dec, if that is true, its not the recession we are due, a bigger one is coming

The rental market perhaps wouldn't be so out of control if the government had more renters and less landlords.

Not just landlords. Arent all decision makers here first and foremost home owners ? If they are landlords its icing on the cake. They all have a vested interest in rip off house prices. Watch realestate4ransom on YouTube!

Surely our government would be better if all walks of life of Ireland were represented within it. Why should a politician have to have a 3rd level education? Which politicians have been drastically better because of theirs? We complain when they don't think of the common man or woman and are too far removed from the average person.

In a very technical and scientific discipline like health, yes I absolutely would expect some level of formal third level as a minimum. You need to be on some level with the consultants etc. It’s not snobbery, it’s perfectly logical. One might avoid the Covid 18 faux pas and worse

The rental market got what it deserved. The people ran the landlords out of the market in the last recession, so what comes around goes around.

Be crazy to be a private landlord in this country, better protection outside Ireland as i found out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://www.albawaba.com/news/greece-suspends-flights-qatar-after-12-passengers-test-covid-positive-1360154

Greek summer tourism isn't going too well so far..12 passengers from Qatar test positive on a flight to Greece. Europe can have summer tourism or no further coronavirus outbreaks..not both

Greece is actually testing people, this may be sustainable to some extent.

Unlike ourselves where tourism is irrelevant or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://www.albawaba.com/news/greece-suspends-flights-qatar-after-12-passengers-test-covid-positive-1360154

Greek summer tourism isn't going too well so far..12 passengers from Qatar test positive on a flight to Greece. Europe can have summer tourism or no further coronavirus outbreaks..not both

This appears to be a repatriation flight and not a plane load of holiday makers, they were tested and will now isolate for 2 weeks.

nine people from Pakistan with Greek residency papers, two Greeks traveling from Australia and a member of a Greek-Japanese family

Well if you looked it up, you would see its 6.2% - 5.8% of gdp. Over 2% of that comes from tourism in the country.

More people will be staying at home this year, so camping etc will get very busy from 20th of July

And our economy is not in tatters like Spain and Italy were before Covid

Listening to PT on RTE lastnight it would appear that the Govt/tourist board have written off the Irish tourism season for 2020/2021.

This will see many small B&B/pubs/small tour companies go out of business permanently.

More people will be staying at home this year, so camping etc will get very busy from 20th of July

Domestic tourism won't rescue the Irish tourism industry, can't recall the percentage of how it contributes to the industry overall, I think it's 10% so very low.
    We need to scrap the ridiculous 14 day quarantine and stop trying to discourage international visitors.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Listening to PT on RTE lastnight it would appear that the Govt/tourist board have written off the Irish tourism season for 2020/2021.

This will see many small B&B/pubs/small tour companies go out of business permanently.

B&B's were already going bust due to Air BnB

Sounded pretty much the same to me as well.

We must know something here in Ireland that everyone else opening up around Europe doesn't seeing as we've the slowest reopening and only now are we putting travel restrictions in place for those coming into the country which are pointless now and should have been done in March. The only country to persist with these 5k and 20k travel restrictions within the country too. The mind boggles

We’ll see. The massive deficit will be softening a lot of coughs. We can’t afford this kind of frivolous closure. Autumn could be a quite a busy one, though I expect Spain et al will be very competitively hoovering up the visitors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Im hoping the change in weather will change the lockdown enthusiasts view of the whole thing. A few weeks of rain with no BBQs, kids pools etc and they might start questioning the govs re-opening. Im firmly of the view many people will soon forget about this virus when it starts impacting their own pockets/lifestyles - many people have simply had it too good these last few months and are living in denial about the fiscal misery that is incoming.

The only country to persist with these 5k and 20k travel restrictions within the country too. The mind boggles

A Doctor of Virology from UCD says that the 5k, 20k restrictions are pointless and are a massive contributor to the decimation of any domestic tourism industry due to people being stopped from travelling.
    Local populations in rural places like Kerry cannot sustain the Cafe's and Restaurants which will soon open, so the HSE need to scrap these ridiculous distance limits now!