Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

And it’s still only essential trips you’ll be allowed to do within those 20km. Bit of a joke

The 2k/5k/20k restrictions were/are for exercise and recreation only.

You can, and always could, travel as far as necessary for essential matters, including work, shopping, medical care and a host of other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Well well, this isnt MOL, what dirt have pro lockdown people got on this guy?

"Aer Lingus wants quarantine period axed to resume flights in July
    Clarity on travel rules needed to help ‘reboot’ Irish tourism says airline chief Sean Doyle"

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/transport-and-tourism/aer-lingus-wants-quarantine-period-axed-to-resume-flights-in-july-1.4269013?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fbusiness%2Ftransport-and-tourism%2Faer-lingus-wants-quarantine-period-axed-to-resume-flights-in-july-1.4269013

He should be more demanding though, get rid of quarantine in June altogether.

'What dirt have pro lockdown people got on this guy?' - you mean the guy who'd be set to earn €100'000s if they open up travel? Yes, he doesn't have a bias at all.
    And it’s still only essential trips you’ll be allowed to do within those 20km. Bit of a joke
    That's stupid. If we managed for the last 12 weeks on 2km and 5km for "essential trips", then we obviously dont need to go 20km for "essential trips"! Visiting vulnerable parents , dropping off food, sitting outside window was permissible anyway.

So the 20km shouldn't be flagged as "essential trips" but to give us back some freedom to do whatever the hell we like. It doesn't affect me anyway as I have gone further than 20km many times for the last few weeks. But for those following these restrictions to the letter of the law this is still restrictive. It also makes no sense anymore, our numbers are so low. I hope most people are just getting on with their own lives and trips now regardless................

Considering the amount you two post in these threads, you'd think you'd be able to understand the Phases by now. 20km is not for essential trips only. In fact, there was never a restriction of any kind for essential trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

magic17 wrote: »
    You hit the nail on the head. Tonight there will be 50-100 new cases and the same tomorrow. The doom and gloom merchants will be out in force saying it's because of the restrictions in Phase 1, the government and Tony will say they're extremely worried. Phase 2 will be in doubt.

We'll get to Friday and the numbers will fall again and the government will announce we're moving to Phase 2 as if it's some sort of a favour they're doing us.
    Phase 2 was always coming, they just didn't want to see this one clock up a whole lot of new cases. The announcement on Friday is really little more than a formality at this stage and dare I say a vindication of the cautious approach. It will be interesting to see what transpires for the later phases. I, for one, do not expect it to follow the roadmap as laid down and I anticipate movement on some things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭vid36

I also think hotels could be moved forward to June 29, to encourage staycations.

vid36 wrote: »
    I also think hotels could be moved forward to June 29, to encourage staycations.
    I don't think people will need too much encouragement on that score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭seamusk84

So it's a fairly overcast and generally miserable day in Dublin city and the first day of no sun and some of the cafes and Delis that were operating as takeaways are letting people sit inside today and eat which wasn't supposed to be until phase 3. Most people called it and said it would happen and its pretty clear it's happening and will happen. What's the chances of them being closed or getting a slap on the wrist, slim I'd say.

Fair play to the businesses making a go of trying to get back on their feet

I second that.

But it's the 1 Meter/ 2 Meter thing we actually need movement on to save business.

Ideally the Government will come out on Friday and say their are falling into line with WHO guidance and switching to 1 Meter.
    That is the only way your pubs, restaurants, cafe's, public transport, hotels and workplaces will have a chance of getting back above water in 2020.

Here's hoping.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭vid36

seamusk84 wrote: »
    I second that.

But it's the 1 Meter/ 2 Meter thing we actually need movement on to save business.

Ideally the Government will come out on Friday and say their are falling into line with WHO guidance and switching to 1 Meter.
    That is the only way your pubs, restaurants, cafe's, public transport, hotels and workplaces will have a chance of getting back above water in 2020.

Here's hoping.....

Well if bars, restaurants, public transport etc can operate in places like Germany, Netherlands and Australia with 1.5m distance, I don't know why we can't here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Well if bars, restaurants, public transport etc can operate in places like Germany, Netherlands and Australia with 1.5m distance, I don't know why we can't here.

Not sure how bars will work in Ireland considering we can't drink responsible.

Maybe shut them at 10pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭road_high

So are barbers opening opening soon ? I heard they are trying persuade the government???

Plenty working away privately. If you’re a regular in one just text them and see what’s possible. Plenty of mobile ones too I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

I can see a scenario where we go to 1.5m, especially if numbers in the countries you mentioned stay stable.

1m is a complete non-runner tbh. It may be WHO advice, but the vast majority are going for a greater distance and I can't see us going from one of the highest to the lowest in one go.

We'd have to scrap the 20Km limit which is in place until 20th July I believe.
    Very few people would stay in a hotel within 20KM of their house.

Yep, its very frustrating. Social media will be full of, "numbers increasing again" tonight even if we have 15 cases. Yesterday somebody actually said "10 too many"

Genuinely believe if you handed these lot a piece of paper and asked them to (Broadly, I know there are different types) define a virus they would not have the first clue. The level of education in Ireland is the pits and really shows itself in a panic situation

We'd have to scrap the 20Km limit which is in place until 20th July I believe.
    Very few people would stay in a hotel within 20KM of their house.

That 2,5,20 kn rubbish is the biggest pile of dung they dreamt up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Maybe shut them at 10pm

You could just **** out people who are unwilling to behave themselves? I don't know why the attitude in Ireland always seems to have to be 'if there's the slightest chance of anyone acting the maggot we better ban it for everyone'.

Is there some belief that no Italian, Spaniard or French person is going to have a few too many and have to be ****ed out of a pub this week or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

road_high wrote: »
    Genuinely believe if you handed these lot a piece of paper and asked them to (Broadly, I know there are different types) define a virus they would not have the first clue. The level of education in Ireland is the pits and really shows itself in a panic situation

I think you could say that about any country tbh. The problem with Irish people is the hyper conservatism combined with the obsession with what the UK are doing. We left the UK, they left the EU, but we still can't seem to stop saying "ah but sure we're doing better than the UK so we're grand". It's like a lame horse comparing itself to a donkey. We're either in the EU and behave accordingly or we aren't. How much time do you think they spend worrying about what we're doing? Half of them don't even seem to know we're an independent country!

That 2,5,20 km rubbish is the biggest pile of dung they dreamt up
    Most people most things most of the time! Compliance = Control of population movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

A frightening number of people have outsourced their critical thinking facilities to Dr Tony and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

keane2097 wrote: »
    You could just **** out people who are unwilling to behave themselves? I don't know why the attitude in Ireland always seems to have to be 'if there's the slightest chance of anyone acting the maggot we better ban it for everyone'.

Is there some belief that no Italian, Spaniard or French person is going to have a few too many and have to be ****ed out of a pub this week or what?

Compo culture protects them though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Few tweets here with quotes from Simon. Nothing new from him really. More ifs and buts and no risk taking.
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1268137308202639361?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Compo culture protects them though

It doesn't really. You can't sue a pub if you get thrown out for being too drunk. That's your own fault if your acting the idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Few tweets here with quotes from Simon. Nothing new from him really. More ifs and buts and no risk taking.

What a load of nonsense

"Perhaps the quickest plan is a slow plan that can be sped up."

We arent asking for "the quickest plan" we are asking for a normal plan that incorporates economy, healthcare and the future of economy and healthcare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Maybe shut them at 10pm

Are you referring to your own drinking habits? You have no right to assume the drinking habits of others.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Most people most things most of the time! Compliance = Control of population movement.

Fine to do in badly effected clusters. Non sensical elsewhere and no other countries are bothering with it. But sure we’re special

Not surprising. He's not keen to give us 18 COVIDs Part Deux!
    On top of that, people do go out of their way to find or manufacture inconsistencies between the various mouthpieces.

Fine to do in badly effected clusters. Nonsensical elsewhere and no other countries are bothering with it. But sure we’re special
    French, Italians and Spanish all did that very tight cordon and it was effective from the population control side of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://www.albawaba.com/news/greece-suspends-flights-qatar-after-12-passengers-test-covid-positive-1360154

Greek summer tourism isn't going too well so far..12 passengers from Qatar test positive on a flight to Greece. Europe can have summer tourism or no further coronavirus outbreaks..not both

Won’t get anything new from that dimwit. He’ll need to copy what he hears or told from group think. He doesn’t have a formal 3rd level education, this is all way beyond his station.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://www.albawaba.com/news/greece-suspends-flights-qatar-after-12-passengers-test-covid-positive-1360154

Greek summer tourism isn't going too well so far..12 passengers from Qatar test positive on a flight to Greece. Europe can have summer tourism or no further coronavirus outbreaks..not both

Yes one small outbreak let’s freak out and cancel all forms of life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

So it's a fairly overcast and generally miserable day in Dublin city and the first day of no sun and some of the cafes and Delis that were operating as takeaways are letting people sit inside today and eat which wasn't supposed to be until phase 3. Most people called it and said it would happen and its pretty clear it's happening and will happen. What's the chances of them being closed or getting a slap on the wrist, slim I'd say.

Fair play to the businesses making a go of trying to get back on their feet

The guards should no get enforce this bull**** of shutting businesses.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Everything the past month or so has proven to be that the health system and government is based on a bunch of spineless halfwits that are afraid to lose their cushy jobs and let the general population become the victim months down the line when their livelihoods are gone.

I am based in Clondalkin and I reckon about a quarter of shops are not going to reopen again