Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

So Tony condemned the march and said a second wave is probably unlikely.

Suppose still not enough for the permanently outraged here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Good post, spot on, no hysterical ranting .
    I was following restrictions for a long time, doing it alone, missing human contact. But in May when Tony Holohan could only say our numbers “are not low enough” but not saying what “low” was , I began to lose faith. Night after night of finger wagging , telling us off, not realizing people’s spirits were breaking more and more, depression creeping in, Leo and Simon sniggering about hair cuts and new curtains, I made the decision to go back hiking to the mountains (alone) and visit my vulnerable sister 40km away who also lives alone.

I’m very glad I did and have no regrets now when I see the huge groups and gangs everywhere. Everything I did was alone, and I live alone. But at this stage I really don’t blame people , even those in groups.

...except when you originally told your hiking in the mountains story, you met a friend (socially distanced IIRC) and went against the advice of Mountain Rescue Ireland.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Good well then lift the bloody restrictions and let people get back on with their lives!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I get the the impression varadkar and holohan could tell half of you to walk off the cliffs of moher and youd do it...

I get the impression that you are talking out of your hoop.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Unless his recommendations to government reflect that a second wave is unlikely and we can open many of the essential services which have been shut for the past three months (including many which save lives), not to mention allow hard-pressed people get back to work and save their livelihoods (with adequate protection measures of course) then no, it's not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

To all of you 350 euro a week lovers, bad news

"CHANGES to the pandemic unemployment payment will be tabled by the government shortly as it was revealed that 64,000 people have returned to work since the reopening began.

She said the government needs to examine how the payment fits into its plans to keep Ireland healthy and get the country working again.

“We are currently considering this and will soon bring forward proposals for some changes,” she said.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/minister-signals-changes-to-pandemic-payment-as-64000-are-back-at-work-39253468.html

All good things come to an end. Translation = we have ran out of money and will be reducing the 350 a week payment. This reminds me of Boris Johnson, its time to get back to work. Stay alert :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Penfailed wrote: »
    ...except when you originally told your hiking in the mountains story, you met a friend (socially distanced IIRC) and went against the advice of Mountain Rescue Ireland.

Well she did say she’ll go back up alone, so what’s your problem?:rolleyes:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It is accepted that this thread has become the main one for those looking for restrictions to be lifted. That's been the case through all 4 iterations of it. Even the other "main" thread is seeing a move in sentiment towards easing restrictions

However I do think that posters should consider their views are not necessarily in the mainstream. A poll a few days ago suggested around 70% were "supportive" of the approach being taken in Ireland, and I suspect there are a lot of people still closely following the guidelines. I don't think "regulars" in this thread should assume their views are prevalent among the wider population

Having said that I do believe they should accelerate things, but suspect any changes we see from next week will not go very far beyond the published roadmap. Even the travel restrictions are being touted as possibly being removed from Phase 3 and the 20km limit will still kick in for next Monday. In the absence of a functioning government I can't see the politicians putting much pressure on to ease things further. Equally Britain and England in particular are arguably taking quite a risky approach to lifting restrictions. I'm sure NEPHET will be paying close attention to what happens over the water as that will better test the impact of relaxing many restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Arghus wrote: »
    Most haven't got themselves banned.

Think the banning ratio between the pro and anti side is pretty even really.

Lol there are pro-restrictions posters writing in here every day, but don't forget to say "It's an echo chamber in here".

There's an echo all right - its the echo of people calling this thread an echo chamber.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Arghus - I asked you this but don’t know if you saw it. If you already answered my apologies.

I would genuinely like to know what your thoughts are on this?

- do you think the current plans to ease out to August are appropriate? Noting also that it is moving to a new normal?

- do you think that the 2m social distance requirement is sensible (noting Germany has a 1.5m requirement) and that such a requirement will reduce health care capacity and make many business unviable?

- would you agree that an accelerated reopening with proper safeguards on the basis of risk may be more effective than an unregulated free for all?

- do you have any concerns in respect to the governance and structures influencing Government decisions (note today’s Irish Times with unnamed sources providing opinions ahead of the Nphet meeting on Thursday)?

- do you think blanket travel restrictions are necessary or perhaps better to have safe corridors based on risk?

My view is that this is a dangerous disease, that the decision to lock down was the right one at the time, but also that the Government has made a mess out of the last month in terms of easing this. They have been all over the place on messaging. The “plan” is overly complicated, is too long, is incoherent in terms of managing risk, and that this will be damaging in terms of bringing the people with them.

Beasty wrote: »
    Equally Britain and England in particular are arguably taking quite a risky approach to lifting restrictions. I'm sure NEPHET will be paying close attention to what happens over the water as that will better test the impact of relaxing many restrictions

Britain has handled this terribly the whole way through and hasn't suppressed the virus as much as us or other European nations, so aren't comparable. Why should NEPHET pay close attention to them instead of Denmark/Austria/Switzerland who have eased restrictions three weeks ago and are planning to lift them further? Surely they should be taking their que from documented evidence of those who have gone before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

I hope you're not taking this stuff seriously and are just passing time. Any semblance of reality has long gone on this thread. A dozen outliers ranting and that's about it.

Outliers my hole. After yesterday most of them realised they are being taken for mugs with the carry on. Any semblance of reality about the value of restrictions went out the window when a mass gathering has yet to be condemned by any of the Government.

Gotta love the pretend intellectual snobbery that you and your ilk espouse. You would be all over this thread like ringworm if you had a semblance of a point to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Here is one for Arghus, the Grand High King of Lockdown Land:

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2020/06/02/prof-lockdown-neil-ferguson-admits-sweden-used-science-uk-has/

Not that I’d believe a word that comes out of Neil Ferguson’s mouth.

Now Now some gender balance,lets not forget Away with the Fairies,the lockdown queen,a date night between those two would be some crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Unless his recommendations to government reflect that a second wave is unlikely and we can open many of the essential services which have been shut for the past three months (including many which save lives), not to mention allow hard-pressed people get back to work and save their livelihoods (with adequate protection measures of course) then no, it's not enough.

Unless we can get back on with our lives then No its not good enough.

Its like people arriving just want to get Tony mad

A third of arrivals in Ireland are not answering phone for self-isolation checks
    Over 6,000 Irish people have returned from abroad since start of pandemic

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/a-third-of-arrivals-in-ireland-are-not-answering-phone-for-self-isolation-checks-1.4268936

In theory i appreciate how some may think we are "rushing" and want to open up too quickly, but in reality covid just passes through our airport day in day out. To wait for it disappear while haemorrhaging the exchequer is too foolish at this stage.

Seeing how they cant enforce the quarantine, surely gotta open up quicker? either that or adopt North Korea regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

major bill wrote: »
    Good well then lift the bloody restrictions and let people get back on with their lives!

I handed my keys to the pub back to the owner a couple of weeks ago. If I hadn't it would be open now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Outliers my hole. After yesterday most of them realised they are being taken for mugs with the carry on. Any semblance of reality about the value of restrictions went out the window when a mass gathering has yet to be condemned by any of the Government.

Gotta love the pretend intellectual snobbery that you and your ilk espouse. You would be all over this thread like ringworm if you had a semblance of a point to make.

Quod erat demonstrandum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Not ****ing boo said by Leo about the protestors how utterly predictable. They have no clue how to reopen the country and have put all their trust in an over zealous CMO who's only consideration is the public health.
    10 cases today and they are constantly expanding the testing criteria. Openly said you can't get this in the community. So why are we dragging this out? We never had a peak, a surge and restrictions have been lifted weeks and the numbers have continued to fall.

Does anyone in our government have the balls to consider the bigger picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Eh, he absolutely cruised in.
    250 below the quota on Count 1 with the transfers of a vote-catcher running mate to come.
    Elimination order would then decide whether he gets in on count 2 or count 12, but he was 100% guaranteed to get there given those initial votes.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_West_(Dáil_constituency)#2020_general_election

Wasn't he the first ever sitting Taoiseach to not get elected on the first count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

A lot has changed in the month since I was banned. Seems like the virus is fading in most countries, some of the restrictions such as the limit on travel need to go asap, don't think we're ready for things like pubs yet. Restaurants should be open a few weeks earlier than originally planned too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

If your a pub owner, hairdresser ,restaurant or any other unnecessarily closed business

Open your doors next Monday 8th June and leave these experts and their puppets Leo and Simon continue to believe that this is still an issue here.

For god sake 10 cases in 5 million people and who cares if it’s weekend figures.

We’d need to be seeing cases in the 4-500 range to keep this crock of sh1t going.

It’s an absolute embarrassment at this stage. Let’s win back our country and stop listening to Dr Tony say we might be able to move on to phase two at the end of the week.

Going by the roadmap I'm not meant to open until the 10th August (enclosed retail) but I'm opening Monday and I hope others do too. If the HSE or gardai want to shut me down be my guest.

More on those quarantine checks

"The committee heard about 1,400 calls are being made every week to passengers who arrived through Dublin airport, of which two thirds are “successful”.

These calls may be to a mobile phone or a landline. Two checkup calls are made to new arrivals, one on the second day after their arrival and one on the twelfth day.

“If it’s to a mobile phone how do you know where somebody is when you phone? Do you just ask them?” committee chair and independent TD Michael McNamara asked.

“Exactly yes,” a Department of Health official responded."

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/a-third-of-arrivals-in-ireland-are-not-answering-phone-for-self-isolation-checks-1.4268936

Something tells me these quarantine checks arent working at all :rolleyes:

rob316 wrote: »
    Going by the roadmap I'm not meant to open until the 10th August (enclosed retail) but I'm opening Monday and I hope others do too. If the HSE or gardai want to shut me down be my guest.

After yesterday they have absolutely no right to shut you down. Especially if Saturday's is allowed to go ahead.

rob316 wrote: »
    Not ****ing boo said by Leo about the protestors how utterly predictable. They have no clue how to reopen the country and have put all their trust in an over zealous CMO who's only consideration is the public health.

If only there were other countries which have reopened several weeks ago where cases continue to drop which we could use as a template. No, let's just ignore them and just keep saying "we are not there yet".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Second wave not inevitable says Holohan

Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan said a second wave wasn't inevitable.

He said they're encouraged by the pattern that European countries have experienced as a result of easing restrictions, even though, they are just a few short weeks into it.

RIP to the #SecondWave

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    If only there were other countries which have reopened several weeks ago where cases continue to drop which we could use as a template. No, let's just ignore them and just keep saying "we are not there yet".

Your post is a cause for concern. In fact anyone who thinks the worst is over, well I just have a cause for concern about that.

Remember that?

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0511/1137786-covid19-figures-ireland/

"Concern over public belief that worst of virus is over

Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan has said there is cause for concern that some people believe the worst of the coronavirus is behind us. "

What was that scaremongering all about? Tony needs to go. That was 12th of May.

RobitTV wrote: »

He said they're encouraged by the pattern that European countries have experienced as a result of easing restrictions, even though, they are just a few short weeks into it.

RIP to the #SecondWave

What else can he say at this point? Thousands were able to scoff at our measures yesterday and get away with it and apparently they might be doing it again on Saturday.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Well she did say she’ll go back up alone, so what’s your problem?:rolleyes:

She said she did everything alone...except she didn't...and she went against the advice of Mountain Rescue Ireland. Other than that, no problem.

RobitTV wrote: »

RIP to the #SecondWave

Then logically we should get a few short weeks of eased restrictions at the very least. There are countrieswwith restaurants, bars, hairdressers, etc. open for weeks but case continue to drop. If a resurgence does happen, we will see it in those places first and can act accordingly here. It's as if there is something about the virus in Ireland which is different to everywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Penfailed wrote: »
    She said she did everything alone...except she didn't...and she went against the advice of Mountain Rescue Ireland. Other than that, no problem.

Well she’s a very bold woman isn’t she. At least we can say thank you for small mercy’s that we have you to put her back on the straight and narrow.