Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

RobitTV wrote: »
    Ryanair are not holding back they are still posting the routes online for people to view and book

https://twitter.com/RyanairPress/status/1265686287396331520
    https://twitter.com/Ryanair/status/1265985267690807296

I'll be flying to either Italy or Cyprus next month, they can get my money.

I can even get my haircut while over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

RugbyLad11 wrote: »

You happy to be quarantined when you come back?

fr336 wrote: »

There is no quarantine, we only need to fill in a form which has our adress but they can't make us quarantine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭prunudo

That only lasts till June 18th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Brilliant :)

I hope more follow suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,442 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I hope more follow suit

Yup hoping to take a week somewhere in July or August, just trying to see what week suits with work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭VonLuck

And I'm sure everyone tells the truth in an opinion poll....
    Only have to take a look at the local garda Facebook page to know people are breaking the 5k rule today. It's as plain as day its not being stuck to.

In my local district Gardaí today turned back more than 100 cars with people having travelled from places like Clonee, Dundalk and all parts of Dublin. More than 40 fixed charge notices were issued for illegal parking.

Opinion polls are widely used and are a very good indicator of the public's attitudes. Look at election opinion polls for instance.

You're exhibiting a clear case of confirmation bias. You've seen a large number of people in your area, therefore everyone must be behaving like this. For every 1 person you see there, there could be another 10, 50 or 100 sitting in their home not travelling anywhere. You don't see these people so you choose to ignore them.

I hope more follow suit

I m going end of August to Spain.

I wouldve liked to go to Berlin in July but tickets were pricey, I ll need to check out Munich etc.

All in all very hungry to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

This patrolling access to beaches is nonsense in and of itself as well.

If anything, social distancing has been subliminally a custom on them long before social distancing became part of the lexicon. I mean, who goes to a beach and plonks themselves in the middle of people? You always look for a secluded spot if you are wanting to stay a while, and if you are walking the shore or whatever, you (and whoever else) are keeping to yourself anyway.

I suppose though, I live close to the coast so maybe I am more "street-wise" than the bleedin' Dubs coming down :D

VonLuck wrote: »
    Opinion polls are widely used and are a very good indicator of the public's attitudes. Look at election opinion polls for instance.

You're exhibiting a clear case of confirmation bias. You've seen a large number of people in your area, therefore everyone must be behaving like this. For every 1 person you see there, there could be another 10, 50 or 100 sitting in their home not travelling anywhere. You don't see these people so you choose to ignore them.

Ok so I was also in various parts of Dublin today I wasn't in my area so I'll take what the Gardai say at face value, it's not hard to argue with having seen the crowds at the beach the last 2 weeks, anyway on my travels through Dublin today I saw the same thing, people in large groups everywhere, beaches packed, do I need to go on and theres not a hope in hell they were all within 5k, people asking people for directions to the nearest shops for ice cream, if your within your 5k you know where the shops are. So no that's not confirmation bias, I see what I see, what you see is what you see. I could say the same thing, you might decide to ignore the fact that people are moving more than 5k, that's grand.

Its extremely wishful thinking to think the vast majority are still obeying this, take a look all around you. The 5k travel rule is long gone. More and more people I know have travelled down the country this weekend too, to go see family, these are people who up till a week ago wouldn't have left the local area. When the most obeying of people start to move outside you know its done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

This patrolling access to beaches is nonsense in and of itself as well.

If anything, social distancing has been subliminally a custom on them long before social distancing became part of the lexicon. I mean, who goes to a beach and plonks themselves in the middle of people? You always look for a secluded spot if you are wanting to stay a while, and if you are walking the shore or whatever, you (and whoever else) are keeping to yourself anyway.

I suppose though, I live close to the coast so maybe I am more "street-wise" than the bleedin' Dubs coming down :D
    ffs... Dublin isn't in the Midlands. Get a map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,198 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's like kids waiting for Christmas this is. Is not dying not a good enough reason to WAIT? Enjoy the rest of 2020. There will be more sunny days. There will be more bank holidays. I shudder to think how the west would do in a war these days.

We did wait, the numbers are now low enough for people to get out and about despite the negative spin of RTE which tries to hit us with as much doom and gloom as possible on a daily basis.

By all means lock yourself away if you want but don't expect everyone else to do the same.

Ok so I was also in various parts of Dublin today and saw the same thing, people in large groups everywhere, beaches packed, do I need to go on and theres not a hope in hell they were all within 5k. So no that's not confirmation bias, I see what I see, what you see is what you see.

So no I'm not ignoring them but its extremely wishful thinking to think the vast majority are still obeying this, take a look all around you. The 5k travel rule is long gone.

Just because you keep saying it, that doesn't make it true. You're basing everything on your own anecdotal evidence and is not a true reflection on the reality.

If a poll was done next week showing what you're claiming is true, then I would fully accept that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I never had much respect for authority government etc

But all this bravado on this issue is not sitting well with me at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Think i might go to Zante / Zakynthos in Greece in July. Would be a really great break way from here.

For the first time in months i'll be able to feel normal again and actually interact with other people on holiday.

Just because you keep saying it, that doesn't make it true. You're basing everything on your own anecdotal evidence and is not a true reflection on the reality.

If a poll was done next week showing what you're claiming is true, then I would fully accept that.

Likewise your also basing everything off your own belief and thats fine but its plain as day, if people are breaking the rules they're going to be less inclined to tell an opinion poll, if your telling them your voting preference your not making an admission of guilt. People are afraid to tell others they're over the 5k, the lynch mobs do be out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There is a smack of total immaturity coming off some of the posts. But I suspect there are a lot of bored Leaving Cert students knocking around now, no exams, no work and all that.

If there are adults here and I suspect there are. Consider the message you are giving to your children. It's OK to do this, feck the Government and the scientists/health advisers, I know best laddie and lovie, down to the beach we go.

Honestly have to say that this spot of the internet is FULL of impatient people who have not thought it through at all. The majority of people do not agree with you chomping at the bit or breaking the rules either. Join your own club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

You are clearly not affected by any of these screening programmes being called.

Good for you.

Whether someone is affected or not doesn't take away from the fact that your, "mass murder" statement, is hysterical nonsense.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭prunudo

There is a smack of total immaturity coming off some of the posts. But I suspect there are a lot of bored Leaving Cert students knocking around now, no exams, no work and all that.

If there are adults here and I suspect there are. Consider the message you are giving to your children. It's OK to do this, feck the Government and the scientists/health advisers, I know best laddie and lovie, down to the beach we go.

Honestly have to say that this spot of the internet is FULL of impatient people who have not thought it through at all. The majority of people do not agree with you chomping at the bit or breaking the rules either. Join your own club.

Far from it, I think this thread should be admired. It shows that some people aren't afraid of critical thinking. They can look for alternative points of view, see how other countries are behaving rather than blindly following and believing everything we are being told here from a care taker government, a hapless media or career civil servants.

Likewise your also basing everything off your own belief and thats fine but its plain as day, if people are breaking the rules they're going to be less inclined to tell an opinion poll, if your telling them your voting preference your not making an admission of guilt. People are afraid to tell others they're over the 5k, the lynch mobs do be out.

I have no beliefs one way or the other, neither pro nor anti-lockdown. I rather accept the facts when presented as opposed to making up my own interpretations of what I see.

You claim that people wouldn't be truthful in a poll, but on the other hand you're saying they're openly flouting the law. I mean if the latter is true, surely there's no greater way of showing you don't care about breaking the law by doing it very publicly!

So following these rules for two and a half months is a sign of immaturity? while the cases decline and the rest of Europe is slowly getting back to some sort of normality.

What else should we do at this rate? the public have done what they were told. The curve has been flattened and we avoided overwhelming the health system.

We have done our job. People wan't to get back to work and to live normal lives again while also acting safely.

LeeroyJ. wrote: »
    Germany, like the Czech republic made wearing masks mandatory. There is a staggering amount of people here though that want the economy to reopen but will fight tooth and nail against wearing mask to help stop the spread and protect others. Wearing mask indoors should have been made mandatory a long time ago and still should once retail reopens.its a tiny concession to help people keep safer and feel safer

Sure someone on this very thread was calling mask wearers 'shamers' at one stage.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

So following these rules for two and a half months is a sign of immaturity? while the cases decline and the rest of Europe is slowly getting back to some sort of normality.

What else should we do at this rate? the public have done what they were told. The curve has been flattened and we avoided overwhelming the health system.

We have done our job. People wan't to get back to work and to live normal lives again while also acting safely.

Europe is actually getting back to normality rather quickly, posted this earlier but

"BELGIAN SCHOOLS OPEN FURTHER

Belgium will move to the next stage of reopening schools at the beginning of June, Prime Minister Sophie Wilmès announced late on Wednesday after coordinating with the regional governments, which are responsible for education.

Classes resumed on May 18 for certain grades at both primary and secondary schools. As of June 2, nursery schools will fully reopen, Wilmès announced. Social distancing will not be required. Children of all grades at primary schools will resume classes as of June 8. Further opening of secondary schools will be discussed at a later date."

We are falling behind dramatically as a nation. Getting silly how far behind we are... Our minister for education cant even promise schools re opening in September.

What else should we do at this rate? the public have done what they were told.

You have done what you were told and now you don't want to do what you've been told.

What if the public had wanted to stop following the lockdown restrictions 4 or 5 weeks into it? Would you still be saying the public have done what they were told, albeit for a month instead of 2.5 months?

You've kind of drawn your own line on what constitutes sufficient compliance.

polesheep wrote: »
    I said: "I suspect it was because we have such an appalling health service and any other response would have led to it being quickly overwhelmed."

You said: "You suspect? There was no secret made of the fact that that was the reason."

Yeah. I was referring to everything you typed after the 'and'.

As with all things like this, the time when people stop conforming vs the time they admit publically that they aren't conforming won't match up. Walk through your local town today, that'll tell you more than a poll.

You have done what you were told and now you don't want to do what you've been told.

What if the public had wanted to stop following the lockdown restrictions 4 or 5 weeks into it? Would you still be saying the public have done what they were told, albeit for a month instead of 2.5 months?

You've kind of drawn your own line on what constitutes sufficient compliance.

The curve has been flattened and we avoided overwhelming the health system. That was the goal and the entire reason behind the lockdown.

We have achieved the objective. The public have came together and completed the task and they have done what was asked of them.

I don't want to open up everything tomorrow morning, but the phased plan needs to be accelerated in a safe manner and in a way that works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

You only have to look out the window to see people don't really care anymore. Children having a 5 a side soccer match here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

bush wrote: »
    You only have to look out the window to see people don't really care anymore. Children having a 5 a side soccer match here.
    Shocking to see people outside, in a low risk scenario.