Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,646 ✭✭✭Robson99

I heard that management in plants were not informing workers of positive tests until end of shift so as not to unset the line. As well only worker with positive test were told to isolate, workers either side of them on the line where they were in very close contact were allowed back to work and these workers tested positive a week later. They did not stagger the entrance and exit from the halls but allowed the general stampede as well as at the toilets. The canteens were a disaster a couple hundred workers crowding in for a lunch break's and all staff from different section(slaughter line, boning halls and packing area's were taking breaks at the same time. The HSE had to intervene to get them to change processes.

You can see the change in the construction sector after going back as management have taken proactive steps to encouraging distancing. As well management are checking that workers travel to work in as small a groups as possible
    Bass don't you know Larry and co can do no wrong in some people / organisations eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Robson99 wrote: »
    Bass don't you know Larry and co can do no wrong in some people / organisations eyes.

We saw the processor propaganda machine at work last year claiming there was virtual riots at the factor gates. We have seen it with factory beef prices where every bit of negative news is amplified. They are very fast to find other to blame. Yet they have been caught with there fingers in the till so often and yet lads who should know better are telling us they are as straight as the line on a peelers head

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭foundation10

I heard that management in plants were not informing workers of positive tests until end of shift so as not to unset the line. As well only worker with positive test were told to isolate, workers either side of them on the line where they were in very close contact were allowed back to work and these workers tested positive a week later. They did not stagger the entrance and exit from the halls but allowed the general stampede as well as at the toilets. The canteens were a disaster a couple hundred workers crowding in for a lunch break's and all staff from different section(slaughter line, boning halls and packing area's were taking breaks at the same time. The HSE had to intervene to get them to change processes.

You can see the change in the construction sector after going back as management have taken proactive steps to encouraging distancing. As well management are checking that workers travel to work in as small a groups as possible

The same tone was coming across in an interview this morning by Cormac Healy on morning Ireland. He did not acknowledge that there was a problem in the industry and was overall very defensive trying to bring the discussion back to a high number within a few plants. This is on a day after it has been reported that there was over a 60% increase in case numbers during the past week. He showed no sign of empathy and his overall interview came across poorly and was at sea throughout the interview. He was not able to communicate what processors were doing to contain the virus and dithered his way through the interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭dryan

kk.man wrote: »
    Any prices?

Midlands area here.
    Got a call from agent over the weekend looking for cattle for local factory. (First time that has happened).
    3.60 base on offer + haulage.

Came out to look at cattle (Steers) yesterday evening and have a few fit to go.
    Told him i wouldnt deal at the above quote and come back with an improved offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭leoch

our local factory only killing 4 days now i think so thats them backing them up now .....chating to our factory rep yesterday base for heifers 3.65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

It is not unreasonable for a younger single healthy adult to be less worried. Know a lot of lads like that. The statistics tell us that it is mostly older people with underlying conditions that are at most risk.

Not giving out about it
    But the media are blowing it all out of proportion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Jjameson wrote: »
    The travellers behaviour would be more like the above than the migrant labour.
    Slaney meats have a workforce of 900. I’d be up that way a good bit and the Brazilians don’t have children, eat much takeaways or go to mass. The Eastern European’s to a point are more permanent but they are very compliant and hygiene aware.

So do you want the working conditions to carry on as normal and then lock them away outside of working hours? As long as they only infect one another and not the “locals”?
    Has the maid got your morning tea ready Master!!?

You have to laugh at the farmers leading the charge on this...... unfortunately they're like the boy that cried wolf too often and when a real problem comes along they'll be ignored, it'll be ''sure this is the boys stuck in larry again''

The workers and the public are who are “leading the charge”.
    A guy by the name of Kristopher Shekleton who is a very good guy from my understanding with no farm, cattle but a strong interest in public health.

It does suit my own narrative of not believing in high input, high output export driven beef industry to highlight again how it’s of no great value to anyone but an 8 family processing cartel and their cronies. Beef produced at volume below the price of production for the producer and large volume low paid work in barbarous conditions, and the money going home to South America.

Dispensable family Farms and dispensable labour. Simon Coveneys Mecca.

Indeed and I'm sure even you are getting the benefit of slave labour somewhere.
    You're no good in business nowadays unless you're cut-throat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,835 ✭✭✭✭Water John

That a sad view of the world. Know a good few who have done well, offering a good product or service. Really depends on how one looks at life. For example the McHales and Concannon JFC. Good to work for and so have very loyal workforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,646 ✭✭✭Robson99

wrangler wrote: »
    You're no good in business nowadays unless you're cut-throat

The Greasing of the right Paws goes a lot further

Water John wrote: »
    That a sad view of the world. Know a good few who have done well, offering a good product or service. Really depends on how one looks at life. For example the McHales and Concannon JFC. Good to work for and so have very loyal workforce.

Farmers are as cut -throat as any, they'd preach shop local and buy 100mls away for feck all difference. you see it being bragged about here on boards all the time.
    Is € 50 fair for relief milking, that's taking advantage of the recession as far as I'm concerned
    Plenty of migrants living in caravans working on farms. I know farmers providing and charging for accomadation
    As for those two firms, what are they paying their hauliers, it's common knowledge that truck drivers are poorly paid.
    They're not paying well or they wouldn't be in business. we outsource nowadays if the product isn't cheap enough .
    Farmers have no problem screwing others but some farmers whinge incessantly when they're the victim.
    Is it now time to investigate farmers treatment of migrants, proper evidence of poor treatment doesn't seem to be required, Barstool experts seems to be a necessity and, of course, social media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭straight

Farmers are as cut -throat as any, they'd preach shop local and buy 100mls away for feck all difference. you see it being bragged about here on boards all the time.
    Is € 50 fair for relief milking, that's taking advantage of the recession as far as I'm concerned
    Plenty of migrants living in caravans working on farms. I know farmers providing and charging for accomadation
    As for those two firms, what are they paying their hauliers, it's common knowledge that truck drivers are poorly paid.
    They're not paying well or they wouldn't be in business. we outsource nowadays if the product isn't cheap enough .
    Farmers have no problem screwing others but some farmers whinge incessantly when they're the victim.
    Is it now time to investigate farmers treatment of migrants, proper evidence of poor treatment doesn't seem to be required, Barstool experts seems to be a necessity and, of course, social media

Ah lad. That's an unfair and scathing comment. Massive generalisations and prejudice. Everyone that comes in my gate is paid first and paid well. There doesn't seem to be anything left for myself. I'd love to have a hauliers wage.

straight wrote: »
    Ah lad. That's an unfair and scathing comment. Massive generalisations and prejudice. Everyone that comes in my gate is paid first and paid well. There doesn't seem to be anything left for myself. I'd love to have a hauliers wage.

Same here, OH says I'm too soft, but my allergy to letting my tax money go to the PS is too strong :D
    No prejudice, I'm just after remembering I even know (dairy) farmers with houses rented to beef factory workers, :eek: is that a venial sin or mortal sin.
    The whole scenario is a joke

leoch wrote: »
    our local factory only killing 4 days now i think so thats them backing them up now .....chating to our factory rep yesterday base for heifers 3.65

Where are they backed up?????

Yea and Drive time were giving the HSE a grilling this afternoon too, there's years of inefficiencies coming home to roost there too.
    There's gonna be no utopia in handling this pandemic and throwing blame around will solve nothing

God isn’t that some load of rubbish
    I suppose they have to create some news
    In a months time you’ll hear the same thing from the construction site probably be worse because a older work force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Who2

The workers and the public are who are “leading the charge”.
    A guy by the name of Kristopher Shekleton who is a very good guy from my understanding with no farm, cattle but a strong interest in public health.

It does suit my own narrative of not believing in high input, high output export driven beef industry to highlight again how it’s of no great value to anyone but an 8 family processing cartel and their cronies. Beef produced at volume below the price of production for the producer and large volume low paid work in barbarous conditions, and the money going home to South America.

Dispensable family Farms and dispensable labour. Simon Coveneys Mecca.

Kristofer hasn’t a clue about what’s happening, he just loves jumping on whatever bandwagon he can get an argument out of. He has illusions of being a politician that has worked himself so far into a corner that aontu were left with him.
    His main issue is he has too much time on his hands since the pubs are closed.
    While it mightn’t be popular wranglers right here, why the big push to close the factories? Do you really think it will affect them more than us or is it just “this is my chance to get a boot in”.
    You’ll find the meat factories will do the minimum to keep operating legitimately it’ll be enough to keep going and any government realistically can’t afford to close them down in this pandemic. Public panic alone could cause food shortages, even with 90%!exported everything or anything pulled into the exchequer is going to be needed to keep things half right.

They were so bloody efficient closing all the small independent Abattoirs 20 years ago. Which would be invaluable in containing a pandemic.
    There was talk of a Brazilian chap being in a bad way last week in a midlands hospital touch and go but I think he has pulled through.

That's more rubbish too, we've a processor (Troy Meats) here beside us that has started and grown over the years that the begrudgers say that the government and Larry were trying to close them down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Duke92 wrote: »
    God isn’t that some load of rubbish
    I suppose they have to create some news
    In a months time you’ll hear the same thing from the construction site probably be worse because a older work force

When meat factory staff are making up 40%of vivid cases it's hardly surprising that it making the news. Construction and other industry have learned. Was in a hardware shop today everything completely changed in a few weeks. The same with building sites. Only 20customers allowed into the Dairygold superstore in Limerick a friend was telling me.

It's important that all industries do there part.

Slava Ukrainii

The figures don’t lie. One medium sized abattoir survived in Wexford but only 2 small ones left in the county out of 33 in the mid 90’s. And the cause was over zealous civil servants who inspected themselves out of jobs.

Like farming nowadays, next generation taking over not wanting the work,
    The best butchers I know chose their carcases in a local factory and are doing very well. they hang them themselves and even dry age some.
    Their Grandfather had a renowned facility,their father had hip replacements at 20 ish and blamed it on the work in the slaughtering, he retired early forties after the second hips These guys bought him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭I says

When meat factory staff are making up 40%of vivid cases it's hardly surprising that it making the news. Construction and other industry have learned. Was in a hardware shop today everything completely changed in a few weeks. The same with building sites. Only 20customers allowed into the Dairygold superstore in Limerick a friend was telling me.

It's important that all industries do there part.

Look I’m at the stage dealing with covid in my job since it started. Learn this and learn that, me hole people are still not getting it. No matter the signs/slogans we still have fcuking idiots coming into work with symptoms (ah it’s only a cold I’ll be grand)by lunchtime the gob****e is being sent home as the symptoms get worse. And the contact tracing starts and more people get sent home to isolate due to not keeping social distancing protocols. I’m only waiting for cases and deaths to rise again as people just aren’t getting what we are dealing with. All precautions can be put in place but people will still think it’ll never happen to them.
    The civil service has been shown up for the lazy shower of clueless, arse scratching wasters that they are. New cases not reported properly, making a bollox of the test results(wrong diagnosis).
    You see it yourself ya ring the department and the person who answers might be months from retirement and still hasn’t a notion as they’ve been carried in the job by someone who can do it.
    Yet the Hse will come down on shops and pubs for not being able to adhere or enforce social distancing. Yet the cost cartels can do what they like. The real problem here is the pitiful wages these fcukers are allowed to get away with paying, any wonder it’s a **** show and getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,835 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If you give any wrong signal, a lot of people seize as their, opt out clause, for responsibility. The one the Govn't had, specifically Coveney, was the Keeling pickers. No problem with having to bring them here, but they should have been isolated for 14 days. Blindsided other Govn't Ministers, Health Dept never even asked.
    Iv'e heard it quoted, by somebody who should know better, as his excuse.

I says wrote: »
    Look I’m at the stage dealing with covid in my job since it started. Learn this and learn that, me hole people are still not getting it. No matter the signs/slogans we still have fcuking idiots coming into work with symptoms (ah it’s only a cold I’ll be grand)by lunchtime the gob****e is being sent home as the symptoms get worse. And the contact tracing starts and more people get sent home to isolate due to not keeping social distancing protocols. I’m only waiting for cases and deaths to rise again as people just aren’t getting what we are dealing with. All precautions can be put in place but people will still think it’ll never happen to them.
    The civil service has been shown up for the lazy shower of clueless, arse scratching wasters that they are. New cases not reported properly, making a bollox of the test results(wrong diagnosis).
    You see it yourself ya ring the department and the person who answers might be months from retirement and still hasn’t a notion as they’ve been carried in the job by someone who can do it.
    Yet the Hse will come down on shops and pubs for not being able to adhere or enforce social distancing. Yet the cost cartels can do what they like. The real problem here is the pitiful wages these fcukers are allowed to get away with paying, any wonder it’s a **** show and getting worse.

HSE were shown up badly on drive time, there'll be more deaths, and maybe then something will happen. The descriptions given today were frontline not adhering to common sense.
    The only reason we're doing well in this is 90% of the ordinary people are staying at home,,,, but they eventually have to go out to work.

HSE were shown up badly on drive time, there'll be more deaths, and maybe then something will happen. The descriptions given today were frontline not adhering to common sense.
    The only reason we're doing well in this is 90% of the ordinary people are staying at home,,,, but they eventually have to go out to work.

That’s when the politians take over and the Ill and older aged can like it or lump it. Money has to be earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭lalababa

Events happen week by week and month by month, recession, brexit, climate change activists, vegans, am nimal rights , covid in factories, 'the market dictates', people on the beef price tracker and the Mart tracker arguing whether or not they can make a twist on such and such an animal, you name it , you got it. But it's all spin. Wrangler posts away against the petty and small time/short term bull**** going around. And alot of his stuff is contrarian and maybe bitter.
    But he's right about one thing , the market does dictate : there are buyers and sellers. (Admittedly only a few buyers..ha ha). They both talk to each other and come to an agreement. But in this case The buyers dictate . It's time for the sellers to cop the f**k on. And reduce down to f**k numbers and start doing a bit of dictating themselves or become slaves!! Reduce numbers and don't take less than 4!

I says wrote: »
    That’s when the politians take over and the Ill and older aged can like it or lump it. Money has to be earned.

People are getting fed up with this lockdown now, me included,, I'd be considered high risk and am even at the stage of saying ''bring it on''
    I walked 8k with the dogs yesterday, then left in the dogs and went on to do another 4k, such is the boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

Any update on prices and where too please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

richie123 wrote: »
    Any update on prices and where too please.

Wrong thread for that.

People are getting fed up with this lockdown now, me included,, I'd be considered high risk and am even at the stage of saying ''bring it on''
    I walked 8k with the dogs yesterday, then left in the dogs and went on to do another 4k, such is the boredom.

Fair play but when the choice comes and it will, the lockdown only deferred it, the people to save will be younger whether you’re fit or not as the system won’t cope. In Italy the over 65s were not saved when push came to shove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

This is it. My parent are now allowing my kids into their house as they are sick of not being able to play with them. I'm not saying it's right, but it's happening.