Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

they could do a deal, no fly overs for no more Tic-Toc videos

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Roger_007 wrote: »
    You obviously have no idea what it means to a family to have to bury a family member with no formalities and no friend or neighbour to console them. In the case I’m talking about there were six family members in the graveyard who had to travel in three separate cars and then go their separate ways after ten minutes.
    I think it might be worthy of mention, even if only in a collective way.

You don't need to be in some kind of Covid only death related club to understand how painful a passing is and how condolences from a stranger although meant well, don't provide any comfort. It's worse when the person expressing condolences is being portrayed, literally as some kind of super hero. With his track record on cervical check and directing nursing homes to stay open I'd say its extra meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

My Dad died on May 1st. We couldn't have the service for 4 days, because the crematorium was booked up with so many deaths. There was no full funeral, no wake, no removal. We travelled in our own cars. I didn't get to see him after he died. I had to travel 200km for the 15 minute service - which I had to video record myself so that family could see it - , wondering if I was going to be stopped to explain myself at Garda checkpoints, and then head straight back home after. Not a single person has been able to call to my house to console me. We had 8 people at the funeral. I know exactly what it's like. It's fecking hell. I feel like I've no proof that he died, that we went through a mock ceremony of some sort. I still keep on thinking that I need to call him or that I'll go and see him once restrictions are lifted, and then I have to snap myself back to reality - a reality that doesn't seem real.

I then had to travel the 200km back to pick up his Death Notification Form so I can register the death, because the Doctor wouldn't do it, and wouldn't post the document to me, as they said it couldn't be re-issued if it got lost. I don't even know if that's true or not, but I just didn't have the energy to argue.

So yeah, I know exactly what it's like. First hand.

I still don't think it's appropriate or necessary for our Chief Medical Officer to have to offer his condolences to everyone who died of anything every day while he's talking about the specific issue of Covid 19.

that's heartbreaking... I'm really sorry that you and your family had to go through that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

So what do people reckon buy late August will it be ok to go on a little staycation as they hip people call it ?

A hotel or Air bnb out west some where or what kinda restriction might make it Not worth while ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Roger_007 wrote: »
    You obviously have no idea what it means to a family to have to bury a family member with no formalities and no friend or neighbour to console them. In the case I’m talking about there were six family members in the graveyard who had to travel in three separate cars and then go their separate ways after ten minutes.
    I think it might be worthy of mention, even if only in a collective way.

Well actually my Uncle passed away in the states a few weeks ago from a heart attack... we would obviously have traveled. We had to watch his service on a stream. He was easily my Mum's best friend even after 50 years of living over there. He was home every year to stay with her. She couldn't even leave her house to be with her Irish based siblings. Or they with her.

So yeah. I do.

There's more than yourself grieving in this world right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,856 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

So what do people reckon buy late August will it be ok to go on a little staycation as they hip people call it ?

A hotel or Air bnb out west some where or what kinda restriction might make it Not worth while ?

Risky enough booking something like that at this moment in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Few friends and I booked a hoiday at a guesthouse in the west before the pandemic. We let him keep the deposit as he said he hopes to open up in August, so rather than reorganising another holiday we just postponed it til then. Seems reasonable I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

wakka12 wrote: »
    Few friends and I booked a hoiday at a guesthouse in the west before the pandemic. We let him keep the deposit as he said he hopes to open up in August, so rather than reorganising another holiday we just postponed it til then. Seems reasonable I think

Ye I don't see how there would be an issue with a guest house,
    Be nice to get the kids down somewhere in the west with lots of place to play out side and nice beaches to spend the end of the summer on,
    Don't care about pubs just a change of scenery for the kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Reading this thread and others on the same topic 'covid' Christ but the government and media really instilled a serious amount of fear in people. Not such an easy task to unwind.

The media had a duty to report on the virus. Some media went overboard with scaremongering crap. Other media was more factual. They had a duty to report what was happening with this virus abroad and also at home. We saw people dropping on the streets in China back in December.

The government and the media didn't instil fear on purpose. The governments were not trying to cause panic in the populations and described this virus as a flu.

I think it was people here who started responding to the virus by limiting public transport and crowds, not sending children to school, cancelling parades on a local level, banning nursing home visitors, people not going to hospitals/hospital appointments in fear of the virus. It was the government who responded to the people who were beginning to take note of this virus being much more than a flu.

You would need to be made of stone to be not afraid of this virus. I'm not walking around in fear. I'm more relaxed about it since the government got the population on board. I followed the guidelines. I introduced contingency plans on a personal level and starting preparing for this virus in case it got in home. I also decided no holiday this year. I bought healthcare tools like an oximeter and blood pressure monitor to call out stats to the gp if I need to. I prepared with over the counter medicine and crates of water and multi vitamins. I didn't do this out of fear. I did it to be prepared.

The government can unwind the restrictions all they want. I'm going to continue being careful by not joining crowds of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenomra

will be manageable well before then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭growleaves

The media had a duty to report on the virus. Some media went overboard with scaremongering crap.

Most media outlets went way overboard into the worst kind of yellow journalism, constantly raising fanciful parallels to one of the worst pandemics in history (Spanish flu, 50-100 million dead) without proper context.

Rubbishing research by the Oxford U.'s Infectious Diseases Lab with patronising, glib commentary. Refusing to give coverage to medical scientists with a different opinion, which led Joe Soap to think all the credible medical experts were of one opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Worst of all the scaremongering was on here.

You would need to be made of stone to be not afraid of this virus.

I disagree strongly. Elder Evthymios of Kapsala (a monk in the Greek Orthodox Church) said that the Greek government's actions "have created an atmosphere of terrorism, which the media aggravate."

"Yes, the virus exists and we must protect our health and the health of those around us. Fear, however, must vanish, because when man is in a state of fear he cannot think and act rationally and discreetly."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

About half of all shoppers wearing masks in local Aldi this morning, very surprised to see so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Touchee

We booked a few days in Center Parcs in September (before the lockdown). I hope we can go ahead. At that stage, it would be the first holiday in over 12 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

owlbethere wrote: »
    We saw people dropping on the streets in China back in December.

Must have missed that.

You would need to be made of stone to be not afraid of this virus. I'm not walking around in fear.

Thats some contradictory statement tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

growleaves wrote: »
    I disagree strongly. Elder Evthymios of Kapsala (a monk in the Greek Orthodox Church) said that the Greek government's actions "have created an atmosphere of terrorism, which the media aggravate."

"Yes, the virus exists and we must protect our health and the health of those around us. Fear, however, must vanish, because when man is in a state of fear he cannot think and act rationally and discreetly."

Hmmm... this from a representative of an organisation that tells you that you'll spend eternity being tortured in hell if you don't follow their rules. That's rule by fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

blade1 wrote: »
    Worst of all the scaremongering was on here.

There are many posters on the Covid threads , whom I personally believe take perverse pleasure in spreading as much fear and bull**** as they possibly can.
    I used to have respect for the comments of certain posters on this site, now I can dismiss them as hysterical morons.

Hmmm... this from a representative of an organisation that tells you that you'll spend eternity being tortured in hell if you don't follow their rules. That's rule by fear.

No, heaven and hell aren't about following rules laid out by a church. There used to be a sort of Feeney-ite Catholic thinking that went along those lines but it was, and is, false.

In any case fleshing out this digression would bring us off-topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

i think this whole thing has highlighted just how unprepared and incompetent the human race is for any kind of serious world emergency. we can't even agree on the correct way to deal with a global pandemic and multiple countries have turned it into a political football.

if an asteroid comes for us, or widespread famine, global warming, another more serious pandemic, we are truly ****ed. there is simply too much division in the world right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

growleaves wrote: »

No such thing as the absence of fear, everyone faces fear. Its how you confront it that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

ek motor wrote: »
    About half of all shoppers wearing masks in local Aldi this morning, very surprised to see so many.

It seems to be random. I've just come back from Aldi and saw just one person wearing a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

froog wrote: »
    i think this whole thing has highlighted just how unprepared and incompetent the human race is for any kind of serious world emergency. we can't even agree on the correct way to deal with a global pandemic and multiple countries have turned it into a political football.

if an asteroid comes for us, or widespread famine, global warming, another more serious pandemic, we are truly ****ed. there is simply too much division in the world right now.

I have to say, I'm generally a big supporter of the EU, but I think that the lack of unity shown by it in this crisis, and the lack of solidarity shown particularly to Italy at an EU level, is both disappointing and unnerving. It's somewhat ironic that Eurosceptics will use this to bash the EU, when they also would have opposed any centralised or unified effort to confront the crisis, but I do think it's a legitimate failing of the institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Yes we are lucky we got a trial rrun with a relatively mild virus really, it is a big silver lining. Eventually an actual very dangerous virus will emerge, we were completely unprepared globally for this. If it was similar to 2002 SARS tens of millions of people would have died already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

wakka12 wrote: »
    Yes we are lucky we got a trial rrun with a relatively mild virus really, it is a big silver lining. Eventually an actual very dangerous virus will emerge, we were completely unprepared globally for this. If it was similar to 2002 SARS tens of millions of people would have died already

Talking out of your a**e.
    2002-2004 sars only infected about 8,000 and killed 774 people. That virus wasn't as bad because it wasn't contagious and that virus killed itself off as it killed the hosts before it could spread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

ek motor wrote: »
    No such thing as the absence of fear, everyone faces fear. Its how you confront it that matters.

That belongs on one of those motivational posters (and I don't mean that in a good way).

Maybe with a man standing on the edge of a cliff, beautiful canyon during sunset or something? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,791 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The reason for the division ? .... €$£ MONEY.

The majority of the world want health, wellbeing and want to survive, want everyone or as many people as possible to survive... there are still a good percentage of people though who want profitability, no matter the cost... if that means and the price to pay is ‘some’ or even ‘many’ people having their lives snuffed out by covid, kids left parentless, parents burying their children... so be it. ‘MONEY PEOPLE’ of whom we’ve all met one or two in our lives, worship money, a non human success. Their loyalty is to balance sheets. Success for many of us now is living, keeping ourselves healthy.... after this is done and dusted..REMEMBER, every single business, family member, so called friend who wanted to disregard...regulations, social distancing, health to further their business or indeed social aims... fûck em..

If they are willing to put our lives at risk for personal gain in what is and has been the most dangerous and trying time since WW2...we fight back. We don’t give them time, friendship, money...ZILCH.

Boycott every person and business that steps out of line...

These are OUR streets, OUR cities, OUR country, OUR friends, OUR family.....OUR HEALTH....so let’s be RUTHLESS in our attitudes and efforts to maintain the physical and mental health and wellbeing of ALL the above... some little pox bottle crowing on about making more dosh at the expense of any or all the above, can quite frankly fûck off and drown themselves for all I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

I have to say, I'm generally a big supporter of the EU, but I think that the lack of unity shown by it in this crisis, and the lack of solidarity shown particularly to Italy at an EU level, is both disappointing and unnerving. It's somewhat ironic that Eurosceptics will use this to bash the EU, when they also would have opposed any centralised or unified effort to confront the crisis, but I do think it's a legitimate failing of the institution.

agree, the EU has been, at best, completely anonymous during this whole thing. i mean what the hell does the EU exist for if not for dealing with global emergencies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

agree, the EU has been, at best, completely anonymous during this whole thing. i mean what the hell does the EU exist for if not for dealing with global emergencies?

It exists to improve trade between countries and to encourage them not to go to war with each other. I agree that an EU wide health policy at least for international health issues but that is not what it is for.

However that would need to be agreed up front. With no particular legislation it will be a massive overstep for the EU to assume that role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,524 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

There are many posters on the Covid threads , whom I personally believe take perverse pleasure in spreading as much fear and bull**** as they possibly can. I used to have respect for the comments of certain posters on this site, now I can dismiss them as hysterical morons.
    I suppose you include me in that? I'm one that's not happy about us reopening. My reasons for that are that we are letting people in to the country freely and not ordering the wearing of facemasks.
    You see I want to end this virus here and it can be done by quaratine antining all incomers and having everybody in urban areas, shops, public transport etc. wearing facemasks. That way the idiots are less likely to spread it. I also care about the economy but in a lot Ngee term view to many here. I am willing to have less money now in order that everything is good long term. Quarantine and facemasks guarantees we don't have another lockdown. Another location destroys the economy because it makes the future uncertain.
    That's who you'll see countries reopening and then saying everything is ok when cases start to rise again because they know how bad a second lockdown is for the economy.
    So what I'm looking for is the best for the Irish people from both a health and financial standpoint.