Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

ah yeah, i can do that. just laughing at having missed something so obvious...

I did something similar the other day. Saw a segment that now falls inside my 5km, so decided to make an effort. I thought it was a drag to a roundabout and back so I paced myself accordingly only to see when I checked my progress on Strava that it's only as far as the roundabout. Doh!
    Tried it again today but the wind was too strong in my face - and I didn't really have the legs anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

went for a lunchtime spin, intervals up to and on N11 and a little hill climb up Fosters Ave to Goatstown and back home through clonskeagh.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

A couple of circuits of the Phoenix Park this morning, the first pushing fairly hard and the second just enjoying myself. Stopped a few times to take photos without worrying about average speed and even met up and chatted (at a distance) with a cyclist I had met on last year's Paris2Nice.

Lots more cyclists out than on Monday (incl one Boardsie) and I only encountered a few cars when crossing the main road. If it's within your 5k circle, it's the place to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,691 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Traffic levels on the increase on my commute, still not bad, but some roads i'm starting to see a pick up in the numbers..
    And of course some think they are on the German Autobahn...

When the ease of restrictions coming along on the 18th roads will have a lot more motor congestion with speeding vans and trucks, not to mention families packed back into the SUV's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Went for a solo spin this morning and then out for a spin with the kids. After 3km we stopped for a drink and my rear tyre just popped and went flat. Changed the tube and that went flat straight away. Walked home while the kids went on ahead.
    Looked closer at the tyre after getting home and found nothing. Fixed the tube and refitted it. Pressure held up to about 80 psi and then suddenly went flat. Took it all apart again and found a hole in the rim tape so the tube must have been pushing through and puncturing on the spoke nipple.
    Covered the hole with some thin plastic and taped it into place. New tube and all good now.
    So much for showing the kids how to fix a flat!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

I didn't get a cycle in today but the amount of people I saw cycling while walking the dog was really great to see.
    Shame that it will probably only be this year that we see so many cycling.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

anyone else notice that strava doesn't seem to distinguish elapsed time and moving time now?
    i'm just back and my elapsed time (which is the field displayed on the strava website) and moving time (which is the field shown in the app) are identical, and match what my garmin says is total elapsed time.
    have they abandoned the moving time calculation?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

though now i'm beginning to think i always incorrectly assumed that strava recalculated based on the garmin data, and superimposed their auto-pause over it - but actually don't...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is strange. On my spin this evening, my Garmin has the following:
    Total Time: 1:43:16
    Moving Time: 1:42:39
    Elapsed Time: 1:52:48

whereas Strava just has:
    Moving Time: 1:44:13
    Elapsed Time: 1:52:47

https://strava.app.link/aCRmUKdmk6

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Strava is from GPS data I would think.

When you come to a complete stop it takes gps much longer to realise and may even not realise at all if there are large structures near by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Did an hour in Phoenix Park, 3rd time this week. Judging by the flybys of others though, the 5k limit seems to be a suggestion rather than a rule.

retalivity wrote: »
    Did an hour in Phoenix Park, 3rd time this week. Judging by the flybys of others though, the 5k limit seems to be a suggestion rather than a rule.

Yes, from last Monday onward(they didn't even wait for the 5km limit on Tuesday) my strava is full of people going wherever they want.

It is strange. On my spin this evening, my Garmin has the following
    i realised that auto-pause was disabled on my garmin - i don't know if i'd ever turned it on, but strava seem to claim that this should be immaterial, that they recalculate regardless of whether it's recorded on a third party device or not:
    When uploading rides Strava will use the recorded GPS data to calculate our own version of your moving time. During the upload process, whether you recorded with our mobile app or a third-party device, Strava relies on a speed threshold to determine whether or not you are resting. Your device or platform may be using a different method than Strava when calculating your stats. For example, consider the process of determining how much resting vs moving time is in an activity. What constitutes a rest? Is it when you're at rest for 1, 3, 10, or 20 seconds? And what does your speed have to fall below in order for you to be considered at rest? 1 second might capture too many false positives and 20 seconds may be too strict. One calculation isn't necessarily correct or incorrect, but we do feel we're using standards that most athletes would agree upon.
    https://support.strava.com/hc/en-us/articles/115001188684-Moving-Time-Speed-and-Pace-Calculations

Yeah, I'm not sure what it is because the same people were sticking to the 2km rule and as you said the 5km one opens up some decent loops for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Beautiful this morning, left work at 7am, felt a bit tired so I thought I might shorten the spin home. In the end I managed 34km including a lap of Swords. Loads out walking & cycling even coming up to 8am, great to see. These are possibly people who would otherwise be commuting on public transport to work, maybe out early in advance of working from home.

anyway, the highlight of my ride today was being able to flag down a garda car and tell them the chap on a scrambler they were chasing had evaded them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Enduro

retalivity wrote: »

There's a lot chatter regarding golf restarting. And a lot of talk of who lives within 5km of their club. I've yet to see it mentioned how they are going to work with the fact that lots (possibly the majority) of these golfers will not have the full course withing their 5km, and no chatter at all about how they will deal with this. The impication seems to be that it would be ridiculous to confine yourself to only parts of the course that are within the limit.

So maybe they are operating "golf club rules". They live within 5km of the PP, so the whole of the PP is their club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Enduro wrote: »
    There's a lot chatter regarding golf restarting. And a lot of talk of who lives within 5km of their club. I've yet to see it mentioned how they are going to work with the fact that lots (possibly the majority) of these golfers will not have the full course withing their 5km, and no chatter at all about how they will deal with this. The impication seems to be that it would be ridiculous to confine yourself to only parts of the course that are within the limit.

So maybe they are operating "golf club rules". They live within 5km of the PP, so the whole of the PP is their club!

I was talking about lads who did a pass of phoenix park, then went out to howth or up sally gap, or away out to maynooth and beyond.

Looking at my strava many people seem to have decided that 20km is now the radius limit for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Looking at my strava many people seem to have decided that 20km is now the radius limit for them

Someone I was following posted a 130k ride along the Royal Canal and followed it with the return trip the next day. Bad enough doing it but putting it up on Strava :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Seems to be the way around Drogheda as well. People who should know better going well outside the 5km radius. Think alot of people have just given up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Quite alot of generous spins in my area today also.

If I'm being honest I'll be between 5-8km radius for near 3 hours tomorrw, no more though & back to the turbo for the week after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭f1000

Being indoors for so long has had a serious effect on my mediocre fitness. Have had 3 outings this week within my 5km radius.

Average of around 14km @ 14km/h per ride. Need to address those numbers :P

Day 1, grand

Day 2, bollixed trying to finish the last stretch

Day 3 (today), decided to up my cadence instead of pushing gears, much better.

Relaxing with recovery beer now ;)

Seems to be the way around Drogheda as well. People who should know better going well outside the 5km radius. Think alot of people have just given up on it.

Yeah seen a few taking the piss from Drogheda.

I actually find it fun to plot a route on the google maps staying within the rules. Going to cover a few roads I haven't been down in a long time or ever tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

I actually find it fun to plot a route on the google maps staying within the rules. Going to cover a few roads I haven't been down in a long time or ever tomorrow.

Same as. All my routes this week are pre-planned from Strava and I've had some of the most enjoyable days in years. I've been on roads I previously didn't know existed as I've bypassed them to go further away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

f1000 wrote: »
    Being indoors for so long has had a serious effect on my mediocre fitness. Have had 3 outings this week within my 5km radius.

Average of around 14km @ 14km/h per ride. Need to address those numbers :P

Day 1, grand

Day 2, bollixed trying to finish the last stretch

Day 3 (today), decided to up my cadence instead of pushing gears, much better.

Relaxing with recovery beer now ;)

If only there was a clue :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Up stocking land to the viewing point (inside my 5km) again this morning and punctured descending outside Cruagh wood. Not a bother, took the wheel off, replaced the inner tube, put her back on, tried pumping her up and nothing much happening. Replaced with the second spare after checked the tyre carefully, tried pumping it up again, still no joy so took the walk home. Tried pumping up with the track pump when I go in and it was grand. Wouldn't mind but the mini-pump I was using has served me well for years, time for a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

64km yesterday involving the 5km radius around the town. Bloody cold in the shade but it was nothing compared to this morning's commute. 1c when I was leaving the house, so much for May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭JMcL

Only 21km today @7am in biting cold and underdressed. Went out the back of the house which is a sun trap and it felt ok, so I headed out with just the summer gloves. After being exposed to the northerly breeze and shade I nearly had to turn back after 10 minutes as my fingers were in agony, but soldiered on. Worked up a bit of circulation but still cut it short. On the plus side, the Galibier Mistral was flawless and kept my core at a nice temperature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Didnt think it was too cold this morning, only had a pair of showerspass rainproof gloves on as they're lighter than my winter ones. Think I need to get a Mistral, have a Tourmalet but it can get quite wet/damp if not using a base layer.